AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

yimingwuzere
post Dec 12 2020, 02:45 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 12 2020, 09:40 AM)
Cyberpunk works better on intel likely better memory latency?
For gaming, it's generally this formula in descending order: Ryzen 5000 > Intel 6+ cores > Ryzen 3000 > Intel hyperthreaded quadcores > the rest.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Dec 12 2020, 02:47 PM
yimingwuzere
post Dec 13 2020, 10:34 PM

990 posts

Apparently someone found that Cyberpunk uses a GPUOpen library that doesn't correctly detect SMT functionality in Ryzen CPUs, causing the game to not utilize its extra threads. More info and workaround to increase FPS here: https://www.reddit.com/r/pcgaming/comments/..._processors_re/
yimingwuzere
post Dec 15 2020, 04:55 PM

990 posts

How... disappointing.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 16 2020, 01:40 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Dec 15 2020, 10:22 PM)
Miracle happened. Order success.
Bad news is order mentioned no shipping date and stated not available. Payment also not collected.

Try:
https://www.amazon.com/AMD-Ryzen-5800X-16-T...r/dp/B0815XFSGK

Dotatech is selling the same CPU for RM2.5k. Amazon charge me $487.94 (Included overseas shipping & handling, Import Fees Deposit)
That's odd, how did you get yours past checkout?
yimingwuzere
post Dec 16 2020, 07:35 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Dec 16 2020, 03:15 AM)
Persistence. i try every 5~15 minutes
Tried my office address, same result. Same goes when keying in a Singapore address. Persistence doesn't seem to work either cry.gif
yimingwuzere
post Dec 16 2020, 11:13 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Dec 16 2020, 09:39 AM)
5950x and 5800x can be found at some smaller reseller (definitely not at Lyp). u just got to do the homework and search them out.
5950 at scalper price + bundled with mobo , 5800 bundled with mobo (normal price) depending on which reseller u buy.
Problem is none of them have the mobo I want bundled together. Hence trying to buy separately.

Who knew, AMD would shit the bed on supply after laughing at Nvidia and making all those empty gestures on how they will combat botting and promised there's more stock than RTX cards?
yimingwuzere
post Dec 21 2020, 05:00 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Nov 14 2020, 10:37 PM)
Try Newegg, amazon charges import tax for those that ship to Malaysia. Personally after the courier and tax charges, difference not much. Also shipment might take forever and custom might give you problem. For the warranty I would advise you buy local. Support local! LOL.
No idea about Newegg (last time I bought from them was years ago) but with Amazon they will charge you for tax together with shipping. If the tax charge is not incurred on your purchase (or it was less than the taxes amount) you'll get refunded for the remainder of the costs, if it exceeds Amazon absorbs the tax price.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 23 2020, 02:14 PM

990 posts

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Initial-Rocke...s.511144.0.html

RKL ES @ 4.5GHz loses to 5800X, although this is to be expected. Question is, how high will a 11900K clock?
yimingwuzere
post Dec 23 2020, 04:41 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(BFGWong @ Dec 23 2020, 04:39 PM)
5 months after launch and no Renoir Ryzen-4xxxG CPU yet? Anyone know any rumour of when it can be purchased on retail?
At the rate things are going, 5xxx APUs will launch first.
Zen2+3 are on the same process node so I won't be surprised AMD cans the 3000/4000 series CPUs quickly to sell more 5000 series - higher speeds = higher profit margins anyway.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 24 2020, 09:25 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 24 2020, 07:42 PM)
Dark hero 1999 what a steal. Instant buy
Only x570 unify and dark hero in this list I consider.

The others are pure garbage, non future proof after 4 to 5 years.
In what way are the B550 boards all "pure garbage" and "non future proof" unlike the X570 Unify/Dark Hero?

Future CPUs? Zen4 is going to use DDR5 memory and thus change sockets to a possible AM5.

VRMs? Everything is sufficient for 6 cores, even the trashiest motherboards.

Chipset features? I think most users would prefer no chipset fan even if it meant they lose all but one M.2 PCIE4 slot.

Dark Hero pricing is nice here, but it's overkill for most people, let alone people who are asking these questions on what to get.

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Dec 24 2020, 08:14 PM)
What kind of intensive program?

Adobe After Effects?

Refurbished Ryzen CPU; how much RM averagely cost?  hmm.gif
i3...< RM600.
Zen2+3 is overpriced right now due to lack of supply. If you're buying a new PC right now mostly for gaming and you're on a budget, get a 10400F, the cheapest Z490 board that meets your needs, and some DDR4-3200 RAM sticks.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Dec 24 2020, 09:26 PM
yimingwuzere
post Dec 25 2020, 04:50 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Dec 25 2020, 03:57 PM)
i spend around 20-30k back in the past.. with inflation it’s about 50k today’s money on a 1366 i7, SLI gtx285, etc... annnd 2 years after that purchase. cannot use already.
You bought that rig two years too early.

Buying 2600K and a 7970 in 2011 would have set you for 6+ years easily with just incremental GPU upgrades to max everything on 1080p e.g. GTX970/1070 - consoles and Bulldozer underperformance has stagnated the tech/performance race for a long time until recently.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 25 2020, 11:39 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Dec 25 2020, 07:50 PM)
Another "low class forum" thread inkambing. Price is crazy right now and its funny how they blame global pricing and problem for it and instantly raise price. But when global pricing actually go down, example 2080ti. It takes them few weeks and the actual brand to post on fb about price reduction before they themselves reduce the price.
AIBs aren't going to reduce prices of 2080Ti like that unless Nvidia provides them rebates, or unless they're desperate to clear stock.

As for price hikes - they can do that easily by using supply vs demand justification and exploit the desperate.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 26 2020, 12:42 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Dec 25 2020, 11:52 PM)
Still doesnt answer local shop "global pricing" justification. Its only "global pricing" if its favour them.
They will say anything to justify price hikes because most of them are scalping too. In some cases, the local distributor is doing the same too!

You won't see big electronics stores in the US or Western Europe doing the same thing.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 26 2020, 04:12 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Dec 26 2020, 10:45 AM)
those who using 3700/3800 now why do you want to upgrade? suddenly these  6 cores not enough?
WTB 3600/3700X at reasonable prices relative to gaming performance vs Intel tongue.gif

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Dec 26 2020, 03:35 PM)
my previous company bought an epyc to replace the xeons platform that they have been loyal for over 15 years but the epyc kept crashing... crash untill the software team(me) and the executive board decided to migrate to cloud and the server guy who has been maintaining the servers over 7 years who is the one who recommended the epyc server kena made redundant. laugh.gif

The server is use to run alot of SQL and the disk and memory read write is super heavy. Somehow the Epyc suck terribly in this area.. and have alot of data corruption.
IIRC the best server CPUs for databases are those heavily cut down Xeons with 20/28 cores disabled etc. All they need is raw clockspeed and cache. One of the few use cases where Zen chiplet design can never be superior to monolithic CPUs.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 26 2020, 06:19 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Dec 26 2020, 04:40 PM)
not really, would be interesting to know how epyc perform in real world usage too. If im not mistaken amazon cloud EC2 instances is running on epyc. Seems to be running ok.. maybe also because they have failover mechanism on the VM.
I'm using AMD EC2 instances for work, they're slightly slower but suits my needs better because the instances are also slightly cheaper than Intel ones.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 27 2020, 02:43 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Dec 27 2020, 02:39 PM)
now using FX4350 really old CPU
Everything you can buy is a massive upgrade at this point.

Maybe camp for someone offloading their 8700K/9700K rig on the cheap?
yimingwuzere
post Dec 28 2020, 01:51 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 28 2020, 01:17 PM)
EGS sucks. Udontconnect sucks. Origin sucks.

All these launchers are trash.

Everyone should just link their games to GOG galaxy, so much faster, very lightweight and has a good interface.
Almost any application using Electron too, they all rely on a resource hungry web engine for the user interface.

Visual Studio Code
Slack
Discord
Github Atom
The list goes on and on too.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 29 2020, 11:34 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 29 2020, 11:04 PM)
Stupid purchase wasting money when game can half price next Christmas
If you want to play that argument you can already get an original copy of the game at half price now with VPNs. And are you going to post the same thing whenever a new game releases?

Just because I buy 99.99% of my games on discount doesn't mean I must force my opinions on waiting for sales onto everyone.
yimingwuzere
post Dec 31 2020, 11:09 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 31 2020, 10:39 AM)
Ryzen 3 4350G:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5079610

Rather get i3-10100F + RX 570 4GB at that price.
Can't see anyone going for this at all unless they absolutely need integrated graphics on AM4. Even then with the asking price, might as well get a 3200G or something else.

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Dec 31 2020, 11:00 AM)
I bought 5800x for RM2099 at Sri Computers. Together with mainboard & RAM almost 2 weeks ago.

Now looking for reasonable price RTX 3070  hmm.gif . Currently using my GTX 1080.
A certain local website is going to offer a very limited number of 3070s at a discounted price very soon. Happy hunting!
yimingwuzere
post Dec 31 2020, 02:33 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Dec 31 2020, 02:28 PM)
Since when 3070 SRP is RM1.5k?
They're very thick skinned to lie like that.
Hence why I said "very limited units".

I won't be surprised if it's just one GPU at that price, and the rest is at Zotac RRP and require full PC bundling.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.2464sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:16 AM