AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

aliesterfiend
post Aug 27 2017, 04:15 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 27 2017, 02:47 PM)
Currently it is selling for full price. Gotta wait for next Steam sale.
Will probably be on sale when warhammer 2 come out on 28 september.

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Aug 28 2017, 03:54 PM
aliesterfiend
post Aug 28 2017, 09:16 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Aug 28 2017, 08:50 AM)
Getting about 50FPS avg on my R7 1700 & GTX970 @ Ultra setting @ 2560x1080 res. I frequently get the out of video memory message and my video settings will be downgraded a bit.
4GB is not enough RAM for ultra texture. Need to use the system memory to prevent downgrade.
aliesterfiend
post Sep 9 2017, 12:41 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 9 2017, 10:26 AM)
Only when game is light on CPU and less threaded, Intel mainstream CPU excels. If the game is better threaded and heavy, Ryzen will give better gaming experience. Also, big multiplayer games that is properly optimized works better on more CPU cores.
Sadly Total War series still like Intel so much. Wanna see how Warhammer 2 perform before deciding to go Ryzen or stick with Intel.
aliesterfiend
post Sep 16 2017, 09:41 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

How far geneally can OC 1500X with B350 mobo? Can reach 4.0? Using the included cooler.
aliesterfiend
post Nov 4 2017, 02:38 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Nov 4 2017, 12:21 PM)
It was reported a month back, story was also picked by LY https://www.lowyat.net/2017/144070/amd-ryze...-working-cores/
Lucky those few guys who got the already unlocked and re-unlocked Ryzen 5 lol...
Does it need to unlock via bios or anything?

Anyway, planning to get 1500X and Asus B350 mobo. Any recommendation for RAM DDR4 3000 ? Planning to use 2x8GB.

The cheapest but supported out of the box.

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Nov 4 2017, 03:02 PM
aliesterfiend
post Nov 5 2017, 06:58 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

What's the recommended aircooler for 1600x ? Easy to install ?
aliesterfiend
post Nov 6 2017, 02:25 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Nov 6 2017, 12:51 AM)
Lots of AIO coolers to choose from, 120 radiator, 240 radiator etc.
If air cooler, hyper 212 is a good budget one. Add a little bit more can get cryorig H7 which performs better also.
Thanks. Easy to install?
aliesterfiend
post Feb 9 2018, 06:35 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 9 2018, 11:16 AM)
You must consider,

Ryzen 5 2400G is like Ryzen 5 1400, and Ryzen 5 1400 is RM 739.

Ryzen 3 2200 is around Ryzen 3 1200 and if you've actually used Ryzen 3 1200 you'll find it handles games pretty well, and does better than other processors at that price point.
Any 1500X or 1600 equivalent for the 2xxx series?
aliesterfiend
post Feb 14 2018, 06:39 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 13 2018, 03:25 PM)
ehh I tested DDR4-2400 vs 3200 already, at least for the gaming benchmarks.

Done for the 2400G.
Any comparison benchmarks between 1500X and 2400G ? The CPU performance I mean.
aliesterfiend
post Apr 26 2018, 12:30 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 22 2018, 09:40 PM)
1st gen, as in 1800X to 2700X, not worth it.

However if from 1700 to 2700X, then I think it can be considered.
What about from i5 3570 to 2600X ? Expected gain?
aliesterfiend
post Apr 27 2018, 08:36 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Apr 26 2018, 10:09 PM)
i5 3570, 4c4t processor, 6mb cache
3.4ghz/3.8ghz turbo boost.

Ryzen 5 2600x, 6c12t processor, 19mb cache
3.6ghz/4.2ghz turbo boost.

based on paper spec, i guess the 2600x wins all the way  rclxms.gif

for i5 3570, i think you compare with Ryzen 3 1300x enough
Then I guess it's good to upgrade finally. I'm torn between atickingvwith Intel or move to AMD considering games I'm playing takes advantage of Intel better IPC.
aliesterfiend
post Mar 25 2019, 09:13 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Anyone using Ryzen 2600X or 2700X with aftermarket cooler and would like to sell their stock cooler to me? 😁
aliesterfiend
post Apr 7 2019, 11:55 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Acap1986 @ Apr 7 2019, 07:00 AM)
Hi all,  rm3.8k for intel 8700 set without gpu... And ryzen 2700x for rm3.7k...which one better... Iam sorry i dunno where to ask hahaha... And for 2700x,  come with asus strix b450f gaming good mobo or not? And the cpu cooler need i get better or stay with amd stock cooler? For cooler i going to h212x rgb
If you get the 2700x and then buy h212x, can you sell me the ryzen stock cooler? 😁
aliesterfiend
post Apr 29 2019, 10:45 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 29 2019, 08:19 AM)
Hi guys, recently built a rig with AMD Ryzen 5 2600 and using stock cooler..noticed that the temp for idling is around 45-50'c..is it normal? And when i load some games like GTA5, NFS Payback, Dota 2, and etc, the CPU temp can go as high as 85'C and GPU temp can go up to 90'C in few minutes..mostly i play games also less than 30mins..

Below is my rig spec:-
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Asus B450M-Plus TUF Gaming
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000Mhz 8GBx2
Thermaltake Versa H17
Thermaltake Smart BX1 RGB 80Plus Bronze 650W
PowerColor Red Devil RX 580 8GB
Samsung 860EVO 250GB

If i would like to upgrade the CPU cooler, will CRYORIG H7 better than stock cooler?
Maybe the cooler/cpu not properly seated? Mine usually max around 75c though mostly hovering around 72c. I've not played the games you listed but Total Wars are pretty CPU intensive games.

aliesterfiend
post Apr 29 2019, 11:33 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 29 2019, 11:02 AM)
U got a very nice temp there for both CPU and GPU..
Back to your question, if the cpu/cooler seated not properly, i guess my PC will having hard time to boot up or even running..  biggrin.gif
Is either air ventilation not good or the setting issue..

Do you mind to share your CPU cooler fan rpm for reference when you playing game?
You can boot even when not installing fan 😁 but probably temp will straight go to 100c.

I mean maybe one of the screw no tighten properly. Did you use the thermal paste that comes with the cooler or after market one?

Air ventilation may also caused high temp. Before I use ryzen, my i5 was running pretty hot until I added 2 fans on the top of the case.
aliesterfiend
post Apr 29 2019, 12:42 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 29 2019, 12:35 PM)
I got install 2 additional 12CM fan..1 at top..1 at front..gpu and ssd temp got reduce when idling..but not CPU..

Now the setup for fan is..front is intake..top and rear is exhaust..
Try to reinstall the cpu fan with after market termal paste.

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Apr 29 2019, 12:43 PM
aliesterfiend
post May 4 2019, 12:30 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ May 4 2019, 10:54 AM)
Ok guys, here is an update for my issue..I was planned to go lowyat to buy Noctua 2000rpm 140mm fan, but unfortunately, Viewnet and CZone also dont have..I got no time to search around..so i get 2 units cheap ID-Cooling WF-14025 140mm(1600±10%RPM, 2.14mmH2O and 76.8CFM)..

My current setup is like this
2x120mm exhaust - Rear, Top
2x 140mm intake - front

CPU temp at idle not much diff, if got also 2-3'c at around 44-48'c..
GPU temp at idle is around 37-42'c..

When load game, CPU go up to 76'c..GPU go up to 81'c..
I guess i should just let it be, no point to spend so much.. sweat.gif
I use some no name cheap fans (rm 20 each, dunno what brand) and help reduce temp inside.
aliesterfiend
post May 17 2019, 04:46 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Alexdp21 @ May 17 2019, 04:06 PM)
Hi all Sifus,

I recently upgrade to Ryzen setup as per my siggy. At first im using the Segotep GP600G 500w PSU and able to enable XMP profile of my ram. Its profile is 15-17-17-35 at 3000Mhz 1.35v. However according to CPU-Z and Bios it only ran at 16-17-17-35 at 2933MHZ. After sometimes when gaming or under heavy load, it will crash, screen goes blank and reboot. The issue occurs randomly at load. Sometimes it last 5mins, sometimes it last 1 hour. I thought might be a problem with either my PSU or GPU.

So I change PSU to Cooler Master V750 (semi modular) I could not even boot the PC when enabling the XMP profile. I could only run at stock speed at 2133Mhz and it run fine without any crash.

Any idea why? Got a bad ram? or motherboard compatibility?

Here is the screenshot of the Thaiphoon.
I remembered reading somewhere that ryzen prefers even numbers like 16, 18 etc. What motherboard you use (cant see siggy as I'm on mobile) Does it allow to manually key in the ram speed? Mine I did not use xmp but manually set my ram to run at 3200mhz.

I have occasionally have crash like you do and I suspect my psu not adequate especially when I oc. However of you changed psu and it still happened and ram cant detect actual speed then maybe your mobo got issues. Have you tried updating the bios?

aliesterfiend
post May 17 2019, 06:43 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Alexdp21 @ May 17 2019, 05:09 PM)
Its Asrock B450 itx/ac. It does allow manually put the timing for ram settings. Its currently on 1.70 bios. But I think updating to 3.20 will not change anything as it only add support for newer Athlon ge series according to changelog.

The psu is used actually but is much higher wattage than the previous unit. But yeah issue still there
My case (top output fans) feels very hot whenever my system rebooted (only during gaming, never other). However, the same thing happened when I was using i5 3570 before upgrading to ryzen. In any case the cpu and gpu temp is normal (max 75c using stock cooler).

Have you tried other stick of rams to see if the issue persist?
aliesterfiend
post May 21 2019, 03:25 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Updated my bios to F40. I guess I'm ready for Ryzen 3 and Navi? 😁

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0302sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:37 PM