22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hardware Lenovo Miix 510 Review and AMA, Coz there's no actual thread for it lol

TSEiraku
post Feb 11 2017, 08:30 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Dat moment when you freeze up and realise you're gonna soon end up with either an upgraded Miix...

... or a dead Miix.

Thankfully, everything went well, and I successfully switched out the SSD, repasted the SoC (you can recycle the old paste but, it's already open so why not), and turns out the copper heatpipe has its own thermal pad for the SSD so I refrained from adding my own (multiple layers of TP lessens its effectiveness).

Now migrating data over with Macrium Reflect Free.

Looking back, I wouldn't really say it was as "easy" as the normal pop-the-hatch-replace-components you normally do with full-sized laptops, but it's "doable" at least with proper precautions taken.

For one, I should have had a printed copy of the service manual close by, as a PDF copy is pretty useless once you need it and you realise the phone that it's on... is video recording your disassembly process lol.

At least replacing the main battery, BIOS clock cell, ventilation fan or WiFi card is much, much easier, without having to pull off the heatsink assembly (as is necessary in this case).

Oh, and there's actually plenty of space for a dual-sided 1TB (and soon, 2TB) SSD. It helps that the other side is covered with TP as well, which is pretty nice.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 12 2017, 12:51 AM
TSEiraku
post Feb 13 2017, 12:26 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

PSAs added to the front page for new users.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 13 2017, 12:44 PM
outpace
post Feb 17 2017, 11:31 AM

574 posts

Thanks for informative posts.

Miix 720 is selling for S$1,999.00 in Singapore
12QHD2880x1920 400nits
512GB PCIe NVMe SSD
8GB DDR4
i5-7200U (3.1Ghz)
Windows 10 Pro, TPM ready

https://www.hachi.tech/product/019120007979...8gb-ram-512-ssd

In convert it into Malaysia pricing like HP, then it should be about RM5K
X360 Spectre i5 sell for 1999 in Singapore, RM5200 in MY.

TSEiraku
post Feb 17 2017, 11:47 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Feb 17 2017, 11:31 AM)
Thanks for informative posts.

Miix 720 is selling for S$1,999.00 in Singapore
12QHD2880x1920 400nits
512GB PCIe NVMe SSD
8GB DDR4
i5-7200U (3.1Ghz)
Windows 10 Pro, TPM ready

https://www.hachi.tech/product/019120007979...8gb-ram-512-ssd

In convert it into Malaysia pricing like HP, then it should be about RM5K
X360 Spectre i5 sell for 1999 in Singapore, RM5200 in MY.
Not bad. The 510 with SSD and Win upgrade should only be slightly cheaper, but with no Hello webcam, Kaby Lake Proc, TPM and that QHD screen.

On the other hand, the 510 has a better warranty: Full 2 years international AND ADP. Also, there's the digitizer on that 720. Hopefully it's proper Wacom but Lenovo HAS gone the Elan + Wacom way before (with the 700) so it's a bit suspect unless someone clarifies in a review, or tests it out.

Why is this bad? Elan + Wacom requires saperate drivers and performs slightly worse than full Wacom. It might, or might not, concern you.

Also the 700 is well known for issues (sudden death, battery drain, keyboard folio zonking out), while so far my 500 has been relatively trouble free. God knows how the 720 is gonna be like, but so far folks out of China are reporting about the same level of fan noise as the 510 at least, nothing more yet.

Otherwise it's a toss up really. Upgraded 510 i5 vs 720 i5 for 500-ish more, entirely up to you.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 17 2017, 11:53 AM
Mystycat
post Feb 17 2017, 01:43 PM

82 posts

Hi all, wanted to get a new laptop since the current laptop is dying after 5 years of usage.
First time getting a 2-1 laptop so wanna ask that is it all specs comes with the pen, because I saw online retailers mentioned that i3 also comes with pen and keyboard
TSEiraku
post Feb 17 2017, 04:38 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Mystycat @ Feb 17 2017, 01:43 PM)
Hi all, wanted to get a new laptop since the current laptop is dying after 5 years of usage.
First time getting a 2-1 laptop so wanna ask that is it all specs comes with the pen, because I saw online retailers mentioned that i3 also comes with pen and keyboard
That was what I was told too. And then suddenly mactreouser mentioned that it wasn't included with the i3, at least at the shop he went to. Which is rather odd, but considering that the i3/4GB only comes with a 1-year warranty (as mentioned by shirogawawa ), it's not unimaginable that Lenovo might just omit the pen as well.

The Active Stylus itself is readily available from eBay for about 150-200 though (plus a 2 week shipping wait), so it's not a huge loss if you're set on getting the i3 version. The digitizer will all still be there, you'll just need to get the pen.

Anyways, do make sure you confirm the inclusion of the pen with whoever you're buying with before you commit to anything.

Other than that, I've put the other differences between the models in the PSA at the bottom of the First post on Page One, so do check that out. They still all share the same basic chassis though.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 17 2017, 04:42 PM
rosihan
post Mar 4 2017, 12:22 AM

*\(-_-)/*
1,223 posts

just received mine
the i3 model
yep they included stylus and sleeve oso
bbhing98
post Mar 4 2017, 12:50 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(rosihan @ Mar 4 2017, 12:22 AM)
just received mine
the i3 model
Could you provide some review on the performance, screen size,battery life and physical look of the device? Feeling really tempted to buy
TSEiraku
post Mar 4 2017, 01:22 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(rosihan @ Mar 4 2017, 12:22 AM)
just received mine
the i3 model
Thanks for the confirmation bro. Clears a lot of doubt regarding the status of the pen with the i3 version. Don't be shy to post up here if you have any questions or if you have anything you wanna share.

I gotta ask though, did you get an backlighted keyboard as well? Not sure if the i3 SKU included it or not.

QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Mar 4 2017, 12:50 AM)
Could you provide some review on the performance, screen size,battery life and physical look of the device?  Feeling really tempted to buy
Full review you can check out my site: https://goo.gl/VMpmoQ

Got direct size comparison with the Surface Pro 3 as well (sorry no SP4 to compare), and physical characteristics are all exactly the same between the i3 model and the i5 model, so my points would probably be still quite relevant.

As for performance and battery life, however, you need to wait until rosihan chimes in with his impressions. I expect the i3 to have oooookay performance for normal tasks and slightly better battery life compare to the i5, but that's just my assumption.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Mar 4 2017, 05:16 AM
rosihan
post Mar 4 2017, 07:20 AM

*\(-_-)/*
1,223 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Mar 4 2017, 01:22 AM)
Thanks for the confirmation bro. Clears a lot of doubt regarding the status of the pen with the i3 version. Don't be shy to post up here if you have any questions or if you have anything you wanna share.

I gotta ask though, did you get an backlighted keyboard as well? Not sure if the i3 SKU included it or not.
Full review you can check out my site: https://goo.gl/VMpmoQ

Got direct size comparison with the Surface Pro 3 as well (sorry no SP4 to compare), and physical characteristics are all exactly the same between the i3 model and the i5 model, so my points would probably be still quite relevant.

As for performance and battery life, however, you need to wait until rosihan chimes in with his impressions. I expect the i3 to have oooookay performance for normal tasks and slightly better battery life compare to the i5, but that's just my assumption.
yup i got the backlighted one thumbup.gif
for battery performance i currently testing it
ive just completed 2hr+ on tablet mode
gt lots of wedding invitation this week dunno got time o not sweat.gif
TSEiraku
post Mar 4 2017, 08:49 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(rosihan @ Mar 4 2017, 07:20 AM)
yup i got the backlighted one thumbup.gif
for battery performance i currently testing it
ive just completed 2hr+ on tablet mode
gt lots of wedding invitation this week dunno got time o not  sweat.gif
No problem Bro, enjoy your Miix.
outpace
post Mar 5 2017, 12:42 AM

574 posts

Miix 510 i5 is with Window 10 Home, the seller said it's rooted, cannot upgrade to Window 10 with purchasing a new software. So those "license keys" that you can purchase from naughty sellers at RM100 would not be viable. Can anyone confirm this?

Tempted to buy the i7 version, might as well just go for i7 LTE for at RM4600 which is 1200 more than the i5 version, get Window Pro 10 and LTE connectivity.

I take note of what @Eiraku mentioned about the unnecessary heat and shorter battery life, 1000 more

bbhing98
post Mar 5 2017, 12:47 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Mar 5 2017, 12:42 AM)
Miix 510 i5 is with Window 10 Home, the seller said it's rooted, cannot upgrade to Window 10 with purchasing a new software. So those "license keys" that you can purchase from naughty sellers at RM100 would not be viable. Can anyone confirm this?

Tempted to buy the i7 version, might as well just go for i7 LTE for at RM4600 which is 1200 more than the i5 version, get Window Pro 10 and LTE connectivity.

I take note of what @Eiraku mentioned about the unnecessary heat and shorter battery life, 1000 more
I wonder if there's LTE on any i5 models? Because i intent to get the i5 specs instead of i7 for the price
outpace
post Mar 5 2017, 01:08 AM

574 posts

I don't see any them on lazada or lelong, but it's selling much more expensive in other currency.

http://www3.lenovo.com/sg/en/laptops/ideap...0/p/88EMMX50735

not cheap, S dollars 1400
shirogawawa
post Mar 5 2017, 02:56 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

rooted windows 10 ? doh.gif sweat.gif rclxms.gif
shirogawawa
post Mar 5 2017, 02:57 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

wowo, rm 4600 such a high price offered bye.gif
outpace
post Mar 5 2017, 09:21 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Mar 5 2017, 02:56 AM)
rooted windows 10 ? doh.gif  sweat.gif  rclxms.gif
I don't quite understand that, the shop fella said unlikely i can upgrade to Window 10 Pro from Home, it's installed or "root", something like that..

Anyway I look at Pro and Home difference, not much features that I needed badly, so decided to stick with Miix 510.
kurtkantoi
post Mar 5 2017, 11:59 AM

1,461 posts

Is this the cheapest benchmark I can use for i5/8G RAM/256GB? Impress with the review in this thread and Eiraku on tehnomedia.

TSEiraku
post Mar 5 2017, 01:53 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Mar 5 2017, 11:59 AM)
Is this the cheapest benchmark I can use for i5/8G RAM/256GB? Impress with the review in this thread and Eiraku on tehnomedia.
I guess, but market price can be kinda... unpredictable... Especially when you factor in physical shop discounts (sometime they suka suka hati give discounts also lol). But that seems to be an okay price if the seller is trustworthy.

Also you can try bodek shirogawawa and see if he can gip you discounts lol.

And thanks for the compliment of Technomadica.com (sorry the name so berbelit one lol). I do aim to please, so do drop in from time to time for more gadget reviews and features if that interests you.

outpace I have never read about rooted Windows either. That said, yes, Win 10 does use a BIOS/UEFI based Key (so yeah, it's rooted in the "ber-akar" sense), but that can be overridden with any other Key you have - naughty or otherwise - as long as it's a VALID Key.

Also, you can always "upgrade" to Pro yourself through the store if you have an extra 400.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Mar 5 2017, 03:46 PM
outpace
post Mar 5 2017, 04:02 PM

574 posts

If you want touch screen and below 1.3kg, the second closest will be Acer ...... with poorer battery performance, clamshell Asus UX360

Had been reading review and testing for these segment, Eiraku's one is impressive and he knows what he has bought. thumbup.gif
and hope to upgrade the SSD like he does.

Thanks for enlightenment Sifu

This post has been edited by outpace: Mar 5 2017, 04:03 PM

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:49 PM