Hi guys, I am driving vvt executive 2016, planning to change the rim from r14 to r15.
I am eyeing advanti mp650u, is it going to increase FC even if I am maintaining the new tyres width?
New Saga VVT Club V1 Thread, ~For New Saga owners~
Sep 5 2019, 11:29 AM
480 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Hi guys, I am driving vvt executive 2016, planning to change the rim from r14 to r15.
I am eyeing advanti mp650u, is it going to increase FC even if I am maintaining the new tyres width? |
Sep 5 2019, 02:38 PM
Sep 8 2019, 09:43 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Sep 16 2019, 04:28 PM
my Silverstone Kruizer NS800 reached its end of life few days ago (Saga 2017). 32k KM milleage, 2 years.
I changed all of them to Conti CC6 @ RM720 (not sure if it is a good deal) Now the grip and handling improved quite a bit(not sure if it is because the old tires almost botak already), but most importantly the noise reduced a lot! Really recommending this tire. Silverstone is well known to be low tier tire, does the new Saga 2019 still come with silverstone tires? This post has been edited by icebryanchan: Sep 16 2019, 04:28 PM |
Sep 19 2019, 12:20 PM
Sep 23 2019, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(Kbbteoh @ Sep 23 2019, 11:53 AM) Hi all sifu, wtf that QC I found this issue when I visit 1 of the show room. This is saga 2019 premium. Does anyone face the same issue ? Please red the picture below Geely is trying to boost Proton's image , and DRB is there dragging their legs |
Sep 23 2019, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(aminar @ Sep 23 2019, 12:27 PM) Well, this is my car, even my dash cam can hear the annoying sound. sounds like some tin kosong is tied on your car and every small shake will cause the tin to be noisy.https://youtu.be/JiqFO6KJHo0 *Footage from SC test drive my car, luckily they didn't turn off my dashcam. Have you check your engine oil filter? maybe that one is loose? Coz it is the nearest tin-alike item in car that I can think of This post has been edited by icebryanchan: Sep 23 2019, 06:31 PM |
Sep 24 2019, 11:02 PM
Not sure if I asked before, but I ask again,
when braking in D, the brake will not feel smooth and sometimes there are jerking too. But when braking in N, the brake will feel very linear and smooth, no jerking. Is this due to the CVT? or is there any other possible damage? I hope it is not ABS though. |
Sep 25 2019, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(SMH @ Sep 25 2019, 10:06 AM) If disengage transmission and braking is smooth. Then is not brake issue. Thanks for the answer! Appreciate it If braking not smooth while engage transimission: - could be CVT acting up, trying to adjust its ratio but it cant cope correctly, probably feel like bouncing back and forth abit, and rpm could be raise up instead of lower down, hence sometimes easier to brake (when rpm rised will have engine brake effect) and sometime need to step more (rpm low no more engine brake effect) - could be a dirty throttle body that cause rpm dipped / fluctuate / unstable rpm when brake applies. That will cause engine rattle a bit while rpm dipped too low, but rpm should bounce back to normal in very short time and then no more rattling. If this is the case then its just rattling when rpm dipped but not jerking. - could be high speed braking and ABS kicks in, then will feel the brake peddle is 'pulsating' very fast In any case, try not to disengage transmission and cruise. Keep in D till complete stopped, one cannot predict when will need extra help from engine braking for emergency brake. I think mostly is CVT problem as you said, I need to monitor more on my RPM to confirm that, because it does feel like engine braking to me. Not really dirty throttle because I consistently using the "carbon cleaner" in my fuel, unless those are useless gimmicks And for ABS, does it only trigger when high speed? because the situation I mentioned was all slow speed, 40kmph just before stopping in front of traffic light. And no Pulsating feeling too. and no, I don't usually cruises when Neutral gear, it is quite dangerous to do so, I did it just to see if the jerking on brakes different on N or D gear |
Sep 26 2019, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(MrZFR @ Sep 26 2019, 08:22 AM) After 1 month++ use saga 2019, now i can hear 1 strange sound come from left behind of my car. bunyi dia triikk triikk triikk like that. i need to drive about 20 30 minute before that strange sound came and it only happen when car is moving. bunyi tu hilang kalau saya park kereta utk jangka masa yg lama dan akan berbunyi balik lepas drive 20 30 minit. I got the same problem, do you park in shades then you drive out under the sun? I am 99% sure that is thermal expansion on the C pole or the rear bonet area. Pretty normal and I can only hear it during day time |
Sep 26 2019, 07:29 PM
Hi guys,
Anyone buy after market cabin filter for VVT air con? I tried finding at lazada and shopee but I can only found BLM/FL/FLX only. Will it fit the same for VVT? |
Sep 27 2019, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Aug 22 2019, 05:54 PM) Hi guys, My CVT has been jerking a lot recently, especially during cornering (40kmph) and turning (20kmph). Previously after the software update last year the jerk was gone and it came back recently and got worse. I am going for warranty claim for my purge canister next week. So what should I tell the SC to my CVT jerking?Ask them to flash the software or reset the CVT software? Also what else can cause the jerking except the CVT? I was suspecting the spark plug or engine problem, but the rpm is stable whenever it jerks so I think it is all CVT's fault la haha QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Sep 24 2019, 11:02 PM) Not sure if I asked before, but I ask again, After waiting 1 whole month, ( 2 weeks for spare parts ordering, 2 weeks for appointment waiting), I finally get my Purge Canister and Fuel Pump Module replaced. Under warranty of course, not a single cent spent.when braking in D, the brake will not feel smooth and sometimes there are jerking too. But when braking in N, the brake will feel very linear and smooth, no jerking. Is this due to the CVT? or is there any other possible damage? I hope it is not ABS though. Surprisingly, changing these two items fixed both of my previous problems. I knew that Punch CVT is very infamous of its delayed response and jerking in slow traffic. But my jerking was way way way too worst to be true, and the delay problem has been solved since the latest software update. So I started to suspect it is not due to the CVT. Today my suspicion finally gets its answer Endless of online research and youtube videos, after all the hassles my knowledge about cars has been improved a lot lol Conclusion from my research: for Saga VVT CVT jerks, it is not always due to CVT. Possibilities are: 1. Fuel System (from fuel pump to canisters) 2. Air System (dirty throttle body) 3. Mounting ( engine mounts or transmission mounts) 4. ECU software (error codes or miss-tuned ECU) Self-checking for these problems: 1. Fuel System - hardest to check, need proper tools to check the fuel pressure, with code device reads the sensors readings, etc. Usually can only be done in workshop or SC. 2. Air System - can self open up the air duct after air filter, can see the throttle body is dirty or not already. 3. Mounting - press the leg brakes firmly, then rev your engine. Then ask a friend to look at the engine, if the engine moves a lot when you rev, the mounting is dead. same goes with transmission. 4. ECU software - unless if you are rich enough to buy the code reader, better go ask SC for help. P.S. can really learn a lot when you drive Proton, so many little problems hahaha ( JK This post has been edited by icebryanchan: Sep 27 2019, 07:05 PM |
Sep 30 2019, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(SMH @ Sep 30 2019, 04:58 PM) wanna ask sifu sekalian, Silverstone NS800, cheap and low-tier tire, balanced in everything for daily drive. Noisy AF, bad wet braking, not really durable as a non-comfort tire (30k for me, probaly because I drove Penang-KL 6 times, Penang-Johor 1 time? ).i heard the Silverstone 15' stock tyre (185/55/R15) come with new Saga is no good, can anyone elaborate what exactly no good? and which model of Silverstone is that? I changed to CC6. Before that I heard a lot of people complaining about CC6 for having bad wet braking, hohohohoho, they never tried the NS800, aqua-planning starts around 15k mileage for me. Oh yea, dont bother to change it, because 2nd hand tire really has no value, just use until one of the tire thread gone botak, then your excuse of changing good tires has come!!! |
Sep 30 2019, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(SMH @ Sep 30 2019, 08:05 PM) sorry i am noob, may i know what is 'Noisy AF'? lol more likely to get RM100 for four, not RM100/piece How much will they trade in our stock Silverstone NS800 for? RM100/piece? If can fetch around RM100, i will consider swap them to: 1) Toyo Nano Energy 03 (NE03) - RM165 (shopee) or https://shopee.com.my/185-55R15-TOYO-Nano-E...5281.1595295571 https://shopee.com.my/185-55R15-TOYO-NanoEn...5988.1543335133 2) Conti CC6 - RM171 (shopee) https://shopee.com.my/Continental-ComfortCo...5281.1518808314 https://shopee.com.my/185-55R15-CONTINENTAL...5988.1543107148 Looking for quiet and comfort tyre (primary concern), and not too lousy wet grip (drive slow and steady mostly). Are above 2 choices better than Silverstone NS800 for my concern? Noisy means, you can hear the tires even when you are at low speed (less than 60kmph). After changing to CC6, below 60kmph I can only hear my engine noise. 60kmph to 90kmph I can hear the tire noise. over 90kmph I hear the wind noise. |
Oct 1 2019, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(SMH @ Oct 1 2019, 02:08 PM) Got a quote for trade in price of Saga's Silverstone NS800 : RM50 per tyre only! Adui.... damn low Anyone know any shop that give higher trade in price? Intend to trade in for Toyo NE03 or Conti CC6 of same size. |
Oct 1 2019, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(SMH @ Oct 1 2019, 03:13 PM) Thanks for the info. CC6 was only released in Malaysia at the end of 2016, how to you get 4 years with light usage? Can share the link? i personally not yet read up, just base on previous experience but they are fitted on different car, no direct comparison. And CC6 tyre surface (not side wall) started to crack/peel off a bit after 4~5 years with light usage (<15000 KM in 4~5 years). While Toyo still using less than 1 year. Both are pretty quiet but still one of the car got sound proof also, so not fair comparison. |
Oct 1 2019, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(SMH @ Oct 1 2019, 04:08 PM) mmnn... its on a 2014 Vios G spec stock tyres, unless i remember the model wrongly, but definitely a Continental brand tyres. Just did a front/back rotation recently. it could be cc5, cc6 improved a lot on its durability, at least thats what I heard from the official conti guy and some youtubers |
Oct 5 2019, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Jonraj5 @ Oct 4 2019, 07:00 PM) How long did your saga stock battery last guys? Mine about 13 months n 30k km now. Needs longer cranking when startup sometimes, proton service center recommended to change after test. Mine is still running today after 2 years and 2 months. Literally just went to tire shop this morning ( 5th Oct 2019) and asked the boss to have my battery tested. All in good condition. The device shows 100% Any brands recommendations? Thinking for century, or amaron, been seeing good reviews on this brand Proton SC always recommend to change every year which I would say is BS. Just go to outside workshop or tire shop have the mechanics check for you, see if you really need to change the battery. If really need to change, I heard Amaron is the best, Panasonics also not bad. |
Oct 6 2019, 08:52 PM
HI all, wanna ask stupid question
Is condenser, compressor, etc etc air con related item under warranty? |
Oct 6 2019, 10:20 PM