43 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V)发 8ight 发, Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

Ramjade
post Jul 13 2017, 05:20 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 13 2017, 05:16 PM)
How to maximize Amanah Saham, which is beyond our control?
As mentioned earlier,
- emergency savings
- warchest

If certain people can use it as a savings account why can't we? Nowadays got online topup. No need to go to banks and beg and beg... All savings just taruh inside while waiting for good price of stocks you are eying/good rate to transfer the money out.
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2017, 08:38 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 13 2017, 06:18 PM)
Its almost pointless for this discussion.

What you say is great. You got a good jump start. That's you have to thank whoever give you this exposure.

When you have your job, your family, your kids, and eventually your parents that need your care. That's the time you realize. What your concept telling only applicable to those who are young, and do not have any high commitment yet.

Everyone have their own portfolio in saving or even go to investment. You cant say those who not agree to you is entirely wrong. Or those who agree with you are your allies.

Every family have different condition.

As long a we have our own portfolio that can give us a good future. That's it. Y'all cant force people going to this and that. Y'all cant change people is doing the correct thing. Yes, one may save less than you, less wealth than you, as long as they happy, and doing thing all right. What's the problem?

Not everyone want to become the slave of the money.

I rather the money work for me according to my wish.

I have that amount, I save that, from small perhaps in 10 years only able to buy some good stocks. Buying stock now is impossible for me.

I have my work, my study, my ptptn to pay off, my parents etc etc. Thus, I save bit by bit using my own instrument.

Sometimes I need vacation, I go, I need some good food for my parents I buy, I need to have my favourite gadget, I buy once in a blue moon, my car serve me well, that also I service accordingly. Why the hell I need to be the slave of money?

ASx and FSM is now my favourite. Why because this is the only I can save bit by bit. And at the same time open up radar on prop.

When come to investment, no one is wrong and no one is entirely correct.

Those in which initially rich and have a decent jobs for years, yes you can but this and that.

Why not you turn your perception on a middle income family, that have people to feed?

Hell no way you ask that person to quit his job and become plumber or barber in AU. That's a very high risk gambling. For me if that person have their own prop, car, FD. For me its good. And let their kid to have good edu in overseas, that's good.

And come to comparing, eliminate the jumpstart heaven package, people living in urban and living in outskirt have hell lot of different.

A friend of mine, a gov school teacher, she herself is a good saver and previously working in small district in Pahang, for 6 years. Save like mad, but having small vacation in MY thrice a year. Eat well, all well. Transfer to big city in KV can buy a 2 storey house and a myvi. So that's a bad saving huh? If she go stock market sure become Jack Ma? No, because she has no knowledge and people to teach her. Ands even yes,  she may can go wrong, all saving become what? Dust? You can say she isn't good enough why no do homework etcetc. Now you have to know diff job have diff work load.
Teacher nowadays not easy also. 6 am to 4 pm. Go back home need do paperwork. Hold a few position in school. Then weekend need go school tuition. Prepare paper work. If I am she, I rather have my free time to relax. Hell no read index and news.

But those big bosses earn big money without doing anything, they deserve a slap then.

Its all down to your perception. You rich you lucky. If no rich, start from bottom slow and steady. From local derivative to foreign exposure. That's it. why so hurry and becoming slave to currency?

For me ASx is doing the right job. They provide something better than FD at least. Cant beat inflation rate is beyond my advise.

Want quit, its ok. Don't say this is bad and what not.

Don't want quit, just continue.  And combine with other investment instrument.
I already mentioned one does not need a lot of money to start. Don't forget that I was a student with limited budget. What I save up over the years. I have put it to work. Even if you save RM300/month, that's RM3600/year. That's enough to get starting.
As I mentioned no need for overseas bank account. If can get one it's a bonus.

The thing is to get starting. If one invest in RM whether in bursa/fsm/amanah saham, one gets only RM which is depreciating on a yearly basis.

The same money if park overseas and put it to work, over time when you need to bring it back to malaysia would have gain significantly vs just parking in malaysian instruments if both have the same returns.

Eg.
Amanah saham fixed price fund 6%. Money is in RM. No forex gain.

SG stocks/AU stocks/HK stocks at 6% dividend (possible if you buy at depressed price) Money in foreign currency. Over time when bring back to malaysia (when needed for kids edu), may have forex gain of say 25%. I am not putting in capital appreciation for simplicity in calculation. That's a lot of return vs 0% forex gain. Money in RM will need to work harder to get the 25% edge for kids education.

People may wonder why I keep mentioning SG/AU/HK
- SG and HK are tax free for everything. Which means you get 100% dividend and their govt is not taking your returns.
- SG, HK, AU does not have inheritance tax.
- AU have 30% withholding tax but their generous dividend payout sort of cancel it.

Use warchest to deploy when needed (amanah saham). Never liquidate when the time is not right. Use emergency cash (again amanah saham) to fund your emergency stuff.

The reason I said use amanah saham is so that instant liquidity and money is working at maximum rate compare to FD/SA.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 13 2017, 08:57 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2017, 10:59 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(lowyatjoe @ Jul 13 2017, 10:54 PM)
i keep on hearing this fsm thingy.. in a nutshell anyone who invest in funds so far on average get better returns then ASX?
Of course. My total return is roughly 12% (after plus up all my funds). Some of my funds making 17%+. Even fund whose mandate invest in Malaysia only is giving me 12-13% return. All this less than a year investing. Started somewhere ine Sept last year. That's just using FSM MY.

If we compare using SG UT, we can get higher returns than what we get in Malaysia (better funds availability)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 13 2017, 11:08 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2017, 08:28 AM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Jul 14 2017, 01:01 AM)
Any idea how can we reduced income tax for income source of self employed & rental income?
No idea. What I know PRS, EPF, RM2500 personal relief, parent's medical, SSPN if got kids

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jul 14 2017, 08:13 AM)
Mind to share which of your funds giving 17% returns? blink.gif
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund and Manulife India Equity Fund
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2017, 10:33 AM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(kpfun @ Jul 14 2017, 09:21 AM)
Absolutely, saving for next generation is a most stupid human behaviour. Whereas, saving for living later is a wise thing to do.

Saving is a very big and complicated subject. Those who understand well the saving, definitely, taking advantage of it in their life. Otherwise, the life could be very miserable.

I'm early 50 and enjoying a good life now from my past saving. Money are like dropping from the sky consistently everyday, and yet, I don't have to work.

Saving at the age of 25+ is VERY DIFFERENT than 45+. The power of saving is coming from there.
QUOTE(lowyatjoe @ Jul 14 2017, 09:31 AM)
i am in mid 30's any good advice on saving..the do's and the dont's

with the rise in the cost of living saving is a challenge...
Keep needs and wants simple. That's the key.

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 14 2017, 09:38 AM)
But u must be knowledgeable enuf to sustain this type of returns n to be able to monitor, switching UT n make right decision when to let go especially b4 market crash. Remember of 10 year cycle will it happens again?
I will stay vested. If it drops, just pump more in.

QUOTE(SilenTz_1993 @ Jul 14 2017, 10:18 AM)
Question to sifus in here:

I currently contribute more than the mandatory 8% for my EPF. Should I put it back to 8% and invest those into ASN instead? Point being that I may be able to use the money in ASN to invest in other things. After all, the dividend amount is quite similar. Am I right to think so?

Any comments/opinions are welcomed. Thanks! smile.gif
Avoid ASN. If you are bumi go for ASB & ASB2.
If non bumi, go for ASW2020, ASM, AS1M
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2017, 03:11 PM

24,347 posts

Guys, sorry for asking noob question. How to register and buy fund from myasnb?

I haven't really follow the procedure. I went to maybank and update my phone no. Is that all is needed? I heard something about account no and maybank people blur that need to update account no + can buy online now.

Need somewhere to park my money.laugh.gif No more eGIA-i so use this as parking.
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2017, 04:09 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Jul 14 2017, 03:34 PM)
Go to nearby PNB office and get your account number and mobile number updated...

Then go to myasnb portal and register for first time user..

Get your username and password..

I can use my my no ahli in my book right?

QUOTE(SilenTz_1993 @ Jul 14 2017, 03:38 PM)
Haha will do will do! I try and top up as much as I can through the portal, until I run out of "investment" cash for the month. Hence the thought of contributing less to EPF to put in ASNB.

Gotta work hard to bring more cash back now bruce.gif
Correction. Topup max amount in EPF for income tax relief. Don't topup more than needed and divert the rest to amanah saham. That way, money masuk EPF, income tax also reduce. Win win situation biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2017, 04:50 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 14 2017, 04:32 PM)
Very very shocked to see this, sifu asking this! Ha.
Abandon my amanah saham since SGD so expensive now, SGX counters also expensive, UT also so expensive. Need to find parking place...

QUOTE(SilenTz_1993 @ Jul 14 2017, 04:35 PM)
Yeah the 12-number no. ahli is the one you need. For me I just updated my phone number at bank counters to be able to receive TAC for portal transactions  biggrin.gif

Also, noted on the income tax relief. Totally forgot about that one! Thanks for the reminder  tongue.gif
QUOTE(ganaesan @ Jul 14 2017, 04:41 PM)
Your no ahli is 12 digit? If yes can use your 12 digit no ahli to register...

If not 12 digit, must go update..
Updated my phone no. at maybank, MyASNB protal not showing my phone no. Geram ranting.gif
Ramjade
post Jul 16 2017, 11:02 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(ytan053 @ Jul 16 2017, 10:29 PM)
Nt sure whether u r aware that the dividend is calculated based on the lowest balance of the month. I.e. if 1st of the month ur balance is rm100, then u top up rm1k on 2nd and withdraw rm1k on 29th of the month, ur lowest balance for the mth is actually rm100. So the dividend paid is only on the rm100 and not on daily balance, hence nt worth the hassle to put in and out daily. I have done simulation and calculation whether to place it as emergency fund by placing excess into it and withdraw when I nd money - i found tat it is nt worth the hassle to place it as emergency fund if u plan to withdraw the money in less than 30 days.

if u top up beginning of mth, u won't get any "dividend" for the rest of the mth. The key is to top up near mth end or 1st of the mth. If u withdraw more than what u top up for the month, then ur top up wont enjoy the dividend for the mth.
I know that.
Ramjade
post Jul 16 2017, 11:10 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jul 16 2017, 11:05 PM)
lol. he's the sifu here
Paiseh paiseh. I only don't know online stuff only as I never really bother with amanah saham anymore. Now taking a look at it for parking place. With online, can now time when to buy biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Jul 17 2017, 10:15 AM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jul 17 2017, 09:56 AM)
LOL, Ramjade was the one who educated most of us on this issue....
I learnt that from wil-i-am. Now that guy MIA already.
Ramjade
post Jul 17 2017, 01:58 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Jul 17 2017, 01:52 PM)
Your info is useful to me as i am new to asnb.

The dividend that we get annually will keep compounding like housing loan interest, provided i do not make withdrawal, right?
Yes. That's why some people got huge amount inside.
Ramjade
post Jul 17 2017, 02:31 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Jul 17 2017, 02:21 PM)
Is asnb divided taxable?
No.

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 17 2017, 02:26 PM)
Where(country n type of assets) would u put your RM savings if u believe d 10year-cycle crisis is approaching?
Of course Singapore. Imagine buying stocks at depressed price which give you >10% p.a dividend drool.gif drool.gif

Possible meh 10% dividend stocks? Yes. Proven by this blogger.
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.com/

The key is be patient and sit on huge pile of cash.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 17 2017, 02:32 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 17 2017, 02:48 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 17 2017, 02:42 PM)
So if say u believe this crisis will happen in coming Oct, u will cash out all your ASx:& convert to SGD b4 Oct n wait to buy Singapore Stocks?
No cashing out ASx unless it's those I put for temporary parking. There's no place to park in SG as SG bank account interest sucks.

Buy later. No hurry. When market is full of fear, can take time to pick and choose.
Ramjade
post Jul 17 2017, 03:32 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 17 2017, 03:17 PM)
But,... somehow, I feel the SG investors are smarter this time,... they will not unload everything anymore even when a crisis strikes,... It will take a very big crisis, an event that has never happened before to 'convince' those,... err,... 'kiasi/kiasu' people (including myself-lar),... to truly selloff everything for others to pick up,...

2008/9 was the only opportunity this century,...
Don't worry. I have full faith. Not everyone have balls of steel unless you are a A.I investor.

Take the selldown in Nasdaq as an eg. Nasdaq selldown, SG tech manufacturing stock also experience a sell down. If you want to talk about reits, even though interest rate is fixed, but it's only fixed for few years then the reit manager have to refinance again. That time, they won't get lower rates anymore. They will have to pay higher rates. It's inevitable.

We just need china/us to start the trigger and you will see people panicking.

Ramjade
post Jul 17 2017, 03:36 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 17 2017, 03:34 PM)
That's why I am not buying anything anymore. Keeping cash. Not even unit trust except maybe amanh saham again.
Ramjade
post Jul 17 2017, 06:19 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 17 2017, 04:26 PM)
So currently u believe this is best option n not convert to a better vehicle for temporary parking. Aren't u afraid of RM depreciating more than others if that crisis erupted.
Right now, nothing to buy in SGX, SGD also so expensive, why should I convert? Somehow, SGD will also be affected. There's no escape. They are not JPY/Swiss/Gold (traditional safe heaven).

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 17 2017, 04:48 PM)
biggrin.gif  Yes,... UMS and MicroMech went down when there was a tech selldown in the Nasdaq, but the drop was not big, and hardly justifiable for you to go in, if you remembered what that happened recently,... Investors are still holding tightly to their chests,...

REITs - sure, when they need to refinance, then the new rates would kick-in, but after a few years, the REIT managers would have put in steps that can offset this higher cost-of-financing,... the mgrs just needed time to 'readjust' themselves.
I didn't go in as it's still not cheap enough for me biggrin.gif

We shall see. We shall see...

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 17 2017, 06:20 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 17 2017, 11:44 PM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Jul 17 2017, 11:17 PM)
Is passbook still required for top up or withrawal? Previously i helped my sister top up using her passbook. But i heard cant ady. True kah?

Can ask other help to update the passbook?
No more passbook. Passbook can keep as collection item already.
Ramjade
post Jul 18 2017, 09:15 AM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Jul 18 2017, 08:53 AM)
Means non account owner still can help to top up la? Juet only he/she wont know the balance in the account?
Cannot cause need username, password and TAC. Unless one account can topup any account which I don't think is the case. Usually one account is for one's stuff only.
Ramjade
post Jul 19 2017, 11:24 AM

24,347 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jul 19 2017, 11:15 AM)
Spoonfeed me a little bit , open an ASN account in Maybank, top up through M2U. That's it right?
Is there a limit on how much I can top up?
Wrong. Avoid ASN at all cost. Choose only fixed price funds. Ignore the rest.

For bumi: ASB, ASB2
For non bumi: ASW2020, ASM,AS1M

You can try luck at maybank/cimb/rhb/affin. Most swear that ASNB is the easiest place to open. For me I choose banks as ASNB is too far away for me to open.

Wrong. Do not buy from online from banks. Reason: Every unsuccessful transaction will be charged RM1.06.

Buy from MyASNB. Free of charge.

43 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.2269sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:27 PM