prasys
post Aug 11 2017, 08:19 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 11 2017, 03:38 PM)
I have not.
2k rpm, its much quieter, at least compare to 2009 honda city which i used to have.
guess its better insulated

also do you feel the dct lag?
prasys
post Aug 13 2017, 01:21 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 12 2017, 07:53 AM)
I usually can feel it when overtaking, where the car supposed to combine both engine and electric motor.

At lower speed, you probably know that you cant simply choose which engine/motor to run, thus sometimes the car keep switching between the two.

Dct lag is less noticeable during auto cruise.
Is it with regular D with eco ?

Have you tried in S mode , it should keep the engine on all the times + motor assisting
prasys
post Aug 13 2017, 01:27 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nakjadiDE @ Aug 12 2017, 08:12 PM)
I am torn between KIA Rio and Honda Jazz. maybe outta topic haha. But the Rio 2017 looking so damn nice. but the engine is awful. I am looking for fuel efficient car as i drive to work everyday with jam (yeah). The honda Jazz, undeniably is a good practical car with good fuel consumption. i am aiming for E and V spec. Whats the difference between these both? worth the 8k difference? I wanna get the V spec, but i wanna add modulo kit so that it will not look botak. also is it better if i buy E spec then spend bodykit + new sport rim? or just go with the botak V spec?
Kia RIO has 6 airbags vs E spec jazz which has 4 only.

For Fuel consumption and eco-friendly , you should look at the hybrid. The reason is because on stop and go traffic , the electric motor can really help to cut down the fuel consumption

Now my question to you , is safety a concern to you or a sportier look. If you have answered safety , go for V , if you say I want sportier look go for E spec !

QUOTE(nakjadiDE @ Aug 12 2017, 10:19 PM)
can you guys list me down what else the difference between e and v spec other than these below:

1) 16 inch dual tone,
2) signal indicator at side mirror
3) seat with half leather
4) arm rest? V got? e dont have?
1. 6 speakers on the V and 4 on the E
2. 6 airbags on the V vs 4 on the E
3. Cruise Control on V spec (but then i doubt you need this function)
prasys
post Aug 13 2017, 05:17 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(perrrhhh @ Aug 13 2017, 05:14 PM)
Not too much. Prasys already list down. So i just add somemore.

Leather wrap steering wheel
Paddle shift (iinm e dont have those)

But i will go for V spec since got 6 airbags
But it depends , the person is looking for sportier feel

The E spec 4 airbags is okay provided that you are the only one that is driving mostly or bringing in a passenger
prasys
post Aug 13 2017, 07:02 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nakjadiDE @ Aug 13 2017, 06:29 PM)
i take the V spec. good deal i got. 3500 rebate. tinted free. free mugen kits
Wow , free mugen kits ? and original tint ?
prasys
post Aug 13 2017, 09:00 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(perrrhhh @ Aug 13 2017, 08:21 PM)
Wah so Jazz is 2nd car or change from Preve to Jazz?
oh ya, the pre fl for E only got 2 airbag right ?
Yah the pre-FL only gets 2
prasys
post Aug 13 2017, 09:51 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Aug 13 2017, 09:38 PM)
A single person doesn't really need two cars
I think the roads are congested enough as it is  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

For me, so far; my experience as a normal (read non-ricer) driver is the Jazz >> Preve (no matter what others say).
Yes, I agree, there are things that the Preve is better at (i.e. handling, high speed stability)

But what I wanted from my car is fuel economy, practical interior, reliability and good NVH
And the preve had none of these.

Worse still, my preve had engine issues (1 year old - occasionally can't start first try, must wait few minutes and then try again)
And then there was the other problems, all in 1 year - maybe I got a lemon
i) Disc brake judder (fixed)
ii) Slow power window after 1 year
iii) Electrical noise/odd sound from meter when start - like short (not there when new)
iv) Wind noise at 90 km/h
v) ESC light
vi) Seat internal spring came off
vii) Alignment that could never be perfectly corrected - I even tried the famous Ah Ching shop in Seremban, still pulls left

When I wanted to sell of my Preve, some use car dealers weren't even interested in it.
Heck, it's now been 5 months since I sold my car, it's still sitting at the dealer, unsold
Glad it's not my problem anymore  rclxm9.gif

Just my opinion, in case you're wondering why I downgraded segment biggrin.gif
just curious - why E spec and not the hybrid ?
prasys
post Aug 14 2017, 09:57 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Aug 14 2017, 09:41 AM)
Hi all member

Wife planning to get jazz

Any salesperson recommend?can pm contact?

Area kl gombak

TQ
I got a sales person tho in Wangsa Maju

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 14 2017, 09:56 AM)
Yes you are correct, haha.

I havent touch the s mode since after the first week. For now, im trying to see how good to fc can go.

Perhaps, later I wont even bother to look at the fc panel.
Turn off eco and switch it to S

The reason being is that eco + D is a bad combination , it tries the best to delay throttle response

If you use S , the electric motor is used as a 'turbo' and the engine always runs , so you would have the power when you need it
prasys
post Aug 14 2017, 09:14 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 14 2017, 09:03 PM)
Yes, the econ is a bad idea, it makes the car feels lethargic. I suppose you don't really need them when the car is already a hybrid.?.

Now I just drive it normally, the driving experience is wayy better. Plus the fc doesn't change much. Still managing 23km/l.
23km/l that's a lot ! Let me know full tank can reach how many km. I am guessing close to 800km

econ controls throttle response , it tries the best to keep the car in battery mode and engine in reduced power mode. May not be economical at all
prasys
post Aug 19 2017, 04:54 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Can't wait to collect my jazz next week !
prasys
post Aug 19 2017, 10:11 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 19 2017, 06:23 PM)
Congrats, what colour are you getting. Btw here is the snapshot of my last tank. Not bad i think.
Getting the silver ! Pretty good at 750km

I'll try with hypermiling and see if I can cloak at a higher distance. Guess can't beat ioniq range of 1000km
prasys
post Aug 20 2017, 05:45 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(danthe0 @ Aug 20 2017, 04:28 PM)
Edit: How do I thumbnail these pictures...?

Just got the 2017 Jazz Hybrid Modern Steel Metallic, coming from a 2008 Myvi 1.3L Auto (9 y.o. rattle cage  bangwall.gif ).

Only driven 40km,

Things I love:
Good Points #1: S-i-l-e-n-t.
Good Points #2: Braking is progressive as hell. Perfect slowdown -> stops transition very very easily done.
Good Points #3: Gear shift? What's that? You won't even feel it during acceleration.
Good Points #4: Below...

Opinion#1: NVH is good (coming from a 9 y.o. car). It's quite insulated. The wind noise + road noise VS speed is very jarring.
Cruising at 80-90 km/h is equivalent to old beater at 50km/h, which is scary. You don't feel the speed due to the insulation. Perhaps Mazda's concept of allowing road noise into cabin was a good idea...

Observation #1: Gear shift felt, not jerk, @ 40-50km/h during deceleration/coast blink.gif
Observation #2: Hybrid rolls forward after a short delay (500-700ms) after lifting off brake pedal. Closest analogy would be Proton's clutch CVT I think? Let go brake, wait a short while, only car rolls forward.

Bad Experience #1: Stopped at apex of shopping complex bump (no incline), open door to take ticket (tint, can't wind down window yet), close door, release brake pedal. Car rolled backwards. WTF'd! Jammed brakes, then press accelerator.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Critique #1: The accelerator pedal is extremely laaaazy. I'm depressing about 2 cm but it's not moving??? Need press down to ~5 cm only car will move. Same behaviour observed during test drive also  cry.gif
Critique #2: Sound system is bloody awful for such a silent car. The old Myvi's stock front 4" dash mounted speakers has more presence.
Rear speakers booming like mad. Vocals are blurry as hell, can't make out anything aside the boom. Short time (10 minutes) in Jazz V-spec 6 speakers also similar thing. Blurry mess.

ICE part  confused.gif
Here's some frequency measurement I took using a calibrated mic, UMIK-1. Processing done in REW.
Methodology:
Laptop Bluetooth frequency sweep and measure with UMIK-1. (It's digital, Bluetooth codec should reconstruct back to flat right... confused.gif  confused.gif )
Measure 7 different positions and angles at driver's seating position then Average the frequency response.
Head Unit settings are Bass +0, Treble +0, Sound Effect OFF (Sedan/Compact/SUV/OFF)
A/C was at speed 1. Might have been blowing at mic, I forget. Mic has a wind shield though.
All measurements taken while on EV mode of course  rolleyes.gif

Here's the result. 45dB noise floor / completely silent.

Here's a smoothed version.

Good Points #4: The sound treatment for this car is good stuff. Most frequencies decay after ~90ms.

Extra stuff:
Here's the Head Unit's Bass and Treble response. Black is the +0 Bass +0 Treble.

Bass -5 ... +5

Treble -5 ... +5
So if I understand correctly , the whole graph thing states that change the HU to those settings to have a good experience ? Got it
prasys
post Aug 20 2017, 10:09 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 20 2017, 09:01 PM)
I can't agree more. The sound system is terrible. Coming from VW polo, I thought I have to get my ear checked.
Ugh , I am going to get my car tomorrow and have it checked it out

I think I'm going to miss my awesome Ford Fiesta sounds system. The DSP has a lot of settings biggrin.gif
prasys
post Aug 21 2017, 09:53 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Just got my car

Quick Review

Positive
1. So quiet - start it up if the battery has juice and it's soo quiet , you can't hear a single thing at all
2. No dual clutch lag - Oh my god , coming from Fiesta , this car lacks of the stupid dual clutch lag , I believe the electric motor is assisting it
3. Cool display panel - it looks 3Dish and very nice

Neutral
The build quality - some parts it's good and others its meh..CKD , what can I say !

Cons
1. The fabric quality is horrible (heck my Axia G has better fabric)
2. Audio - It's a complete joke , my 6-speaker 80W Fiesta speaker just rocks and blows the mind. Everything sounds flat
3. Horrible HU - I thought Hyundai HU is bad , but this is super bad. Stupid Mirrorlink or Phonelink did not even work.
4. The Hybrid does not even come with automatic foldable mirror - seriously ????

Should you get the 2017 Jazz Hybrid - yes if you are tree hugger or want to be captain planet - else skip and get the V variant or save $$$ and get the E spec
prasys
post Aug 21 2017, 10:52 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(perrrhhh @ Aug 21 2017, 10:43 PM)
Tbh, i really disappointed Honda cut off lot of things especially hybrid version. V spec actually got look of goodies than hybrid spec  doh.gif

1- Why no paddle shift? its dual clutch transmission  doh.gif

2- No folding mirror

3- No half leather half fabric that V spec got

4- The rims,  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  no offence but its ugly

I know the price thrown to 'hybrid' but... doh.gif
1. for me not important and i know for other it is
2. This is 2017 ,and I can't take that
3. I am okay with full fabric but with good quality
4. Rims are fugly as hell
prasys
post Aug 22 2017, 07:20 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 22 2017, 12:12 AM)
I dont know the fabric but i can feel the foam inside is cheap, as if it wont last very long before its thinned out. What freebies/ discount did you get?
Basically got discount on tint + free petrol + mat for my car

I agree with you on the foam. Wow electric motor gets cut off at 90km/h. Ioniq it goes up to 120km/h
prasys
post Aug 22 2017, 09:55 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Aug 22 2017, 09:00 AM)
Not to be a spoil sport but actually Honda is ripping customers off on this hybrid as the tax exemption is high and the amount of given equipment is inadequate.
I agree but I believe the cost is going to Li-On battery and the new technology that Honda has invested. Basically you are paying for R&D

Plus it's the only so-called Hybrid

Here is my quick review on Jazz

Coming from Fiesta , the Jazz is a well-tuned DCT. The electric motor really picks up and does a very good job (do not turn on eco else the car becomes a lag-fest). I guess Honda R&D did their research for Malaysians. The car works very well on all malaysian traffic condition as well ! IMHO , Fiesta had from day 1 Dual Clutch issues anyway , but this car seems to be fine tuned
prasys
post Aug 22 2017, 11:13 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nakjadiDE @ Aug 22 2017, 11:02 PM)
how to play spotify at the screen? i know it doesnt have apple carplay. but do we got other alternative?
stream via bluetooth and you are able to control it
prasys
post Aug 22 2017, 11:24 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nakjadiDE @ Aug 22 2017, 11:18 PM)
but you wont be able to control next/backward song on the screen right?
You can. I'll show it to you tomorrow. It works btw

even shuffle also works

prasys
post Aug 24 2017, 09:48 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nakjadiDE @ Aug 24 2017, 07:47 PM)
When you wanna show me senpai sad.gif
Let me record and put it up on YouTube

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0225sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:27 PM