6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Migration to Australia, Feedback from foreign migrants

kenji1903
post Feb 6 2017, 09:42 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Feb 6 2017, 09:28 AM)
You already in Australia? haha
nope... just curious why he specifically mentioned that suburb and company laugh.gif
SUSdangerminimouse
post Feb 6 2017, 10:49 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 6 2017, 09:42 AM)
nope... just curious why he specifically mentioned that suburb and company laugh.gif
Hahahaha, how nice if you really got the job n lived in that suburb.
kenji1903
post Feb 6 2017, 10:51 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Feb 6 2017, 10:49 AM)
Hahahaha, how nice if you really got the job n lived in that suburb.
got that nice mou hmm.gif
SUSdangerminimouse
post Feb 6 2017, 11:25 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 6 2017, 10:51 AM)
got that nice mou hmm.gif
working for Telstra, what's not to like? rclxms.gif
kenji1903
post Feb 6 2017, 11:29 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Feb 6 2017, 11:25 AM)
working for Telstra, what's not to like?  rclxms.gif
Telstra nice meh? shouldn't be any different working in Maxis right? laugh.gif
SUSdangerminimouse
post Feb 6 2017, 11:43 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 6 2017, 11:29 AM)
Telstra nice meh? shouldn't be any different working in Maxis right? laugh.gif
To be able to even get a job in Ah Kau small co in Oz, is already a big success esp when you are in your 30s and 40s.

So many of people I know migrate there for 1 year can't even find a permanent job.

What more to get a job in big corp like Telstra. I think Telstra more like equate to Telekom.
kenji1903
post Feb 6 2017, 06:31 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Feb 6 2017, 11:43 AM)
To be able to even get a job in Ah Kau small co in Oz, is already a big success esp when you are in your 30s and 40s.

So many of people I know migrate there for 1 year can't even find a permanent job.

What more to get a job in big corp like Telstra. I think Telstra more like equate to Telekom.
Really mou hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Feb 6 2017, 06:31 PM
DarReNz
post Jul 11 2017, 03:23 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 6 2017, 06:31 PM)
Really mou hmm.gif
eh bro you also work for big 4 bank la sweat.gif
kenji1903
post Jul 11 2017, 03:29 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 11 2017, 03:23 PM)
eh bro you also work for big 4 bank la  sweat.gif
taikor, you become necromancer today ah tongue.gif
kllonely1
post Jul 11 2017, 03:40 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Jan 5 2017, 01:53 PM)
Source: https://www.quora.com/What-are-the-drawback...ng-to-Australia

Oliver Jader Contreras, Food Technologist

Updated Apr 27, 2013 · Upvoted by Peter Baskerville, Australian citizen. Lived here for over 50 years.

Having just migrated to Australia (from the Philippines) in 2011, there's not much to say. And it actually depends on your attitude upon coming in AU.  But still you're asking. Here are my observations:

1) Adaptation to a simpler lifestyle
•There is no need to be boastful and prove anything to anyone.   
•There is little purpose of having fancy clothes nor jewelry, as you wouldn't be deemed any less if you haven't got them. 
•No need for flashy cars as they're just a means to get you from point A to point B. Australians hold on to their cars very long - 10 yrs against the Americans' 4yrs.
•Pleasures of a vacation means a week at the beach, fishing, picnics and barbies (barbecues); not a shopping holiday in Hongkong.
2) Expensive
•Generally, most items - food, branded clothing, appliances, houses and cars are very dear here. Compared to US: food is 2x as much, clothes x2-3, computers/electronics +10-20% more, cheapest massage at $70, cheapest subway 6" at $5, and decent townhouses are $500k 3km from the Brisbane CBD.
•Expensive for locals to take local vacations, given our strong currency. It's cheaper to go overseas to Fiji, Bali, Vanuatu, or even Hawaii than for Aussies to explore the islands of the Great Barrier Reef.
3) Limited social network
•Migrants face the inevitable alienation from their extended families, their support network; able to communicate only through phones and the internet.
•If you have kids and they're of primary school age, somebody needs to attend to them. And its either of the couple stays at home or a hired nanny/ school-care. Either way its hard for both to pursue their careers at the same time.
•The core social unit here is still the family. The neighbors tend to keep to themselves, unless needed of course.
4) No Hollywood, no CNN, few reality shows.  There are Brit & European movies though, BBC, and a slew of cooking shows on prime time.

5) AU needs skilled workers, but only for specific jobs and industries (eg mining, banking/finance, health care).  If you don't have skills in these industries, it is usually the case that you have to
•restart your career
•assess your transferable skills and apply it to another career.
•study and shift to another skill set
•move back a few notches in your career just to get in the market.
AU companies it seems, from my experience - wouldn't recognize job experiences held in countries that are not at par with the 'first-world'.

6) Aussies (compared to the west) are still a bit more conservative in more ways than one.

7). You feel FAR from everything
•You cant go cross country like Europe, as AU is girded by the sea and the nearest countries are thousands of km's away. NZ is 3hrs away as with Bali, HK is 8hrs, LA is 15hrs away.
•AU cities are spaced so far apart that you need to drive the whole day to get to the next city.
•If you don't have much resources, it may take a while before you save up for the big holiday back to your home country.

8) AU is Egalitarian (or at least we think we are) - either plus or minus
•If you're the master and the commander from where you come from, then be prepared to lose some pride. No maids, cooks and personal drivers. You need to clean up after your mess, and cook for yourself as everyone's on equal footing with everybody ('having a fair go'). 
•No socio-economic strata (hardly). If you plan to build a purely capitalist venture here, it may not work as there isn't much friction or loopholes in the markets to profit from or exploit, apart from the small population - 22M in 2012.  If you're American, prepare to meet with quite a few anti-American sentiments around here.

9) Aussie-speak and accent
•Hard to understand. But only for the first couple of months. Even if you're very  conversant already in English; and sometimes I get to lip-read people when they speak. This is British English, they even have a specific Aussie dictionary, so there's no Webster's here.

Please don't let these 'excuses' get in the way though of thoughts of coming here.  All migration issues need full thought and concentration. One should have a fair amount of issues to contend with, as with all other countries they may consider.

It's hard to list these up and maybe you'd know well already the pluses of going here.

Australia has been a good country to me and my family in more ways than one. And it is actually difficult to find any real problem of note.  I think the above points are few and minor compared to the many advantages of coming here, of which I could list up at least a thousand;-)
Migrate to Malaysia.
We are the best.
We treat you like gold.
What you need, we provide.
You be happy here in Malaysia.
DarReNz
post Jul 11 2017, 08:40 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 11 2017, 03:29 PM)
taikor, you become necromancer today ah tongue.gif
just realised you spam most of the australian threads laugh.gif
kenji1903
post Jul 11 2017, 09:09 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 11 2017, 08:40 PM)
just realised you spam most of the australian threads  laugh.gif
Shhhhhhh laugh.gif
limeuu
post Jul 11 2017, 10:33 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 11 2017, 09:09 PM)
Shhhhhhh laugh.gif
so when migrating back to tassie?... biggrin.gif
kenji1903
post Jul 12 2017, 04:57 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 11 2017, 10:33 PM)
so when migrating back to tassie?... biggrin.gif
If I have the money I'd Love to retire in Hobart... my wife love that city too, quiet and beautiful smile.gif

How r u man?

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jul 12 2017, 04:58 AM
limeuu
post Jul 12 2017, 08:19 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 12 2017, 04:57 AM)
If I have the money I'd Love to retire in Hobart... my wife love that city too, quiet and beautiful smile.gif

How r u man?
Retire?....migrate over, work for 20yrs, and you will be all set for retirement....

Earning in myr and retiring in AUD sounds impossible....people are doing the reverse...earn in aud (or sgd, usd whatever) and retiring in myr.... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 12 2017, 08:40 AM
kenji1903
post Jul 12 2017, 09:38 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 12 2017, 08:19 AM)
Retire?....migrate over, work for 20yrs, and you will be all set for retirement....

Earning in myr and retiring in AUD sounds impossible....people are doing the reverse...earn in aud (or sgd, usd whatever) and retiring in myr.... hmm.gif
i know people who do that... retire in aussie...

and those who migrated and found a job in aussie so far i know have already applied or is thinking of applying for citizenship so most likely won't be returning to malaysia for retirement laugh.gif
limeuu
post Jul 12 2017, 09:52 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 12 2017, 09:38 AM)

and those who migrated and found a job in aussie so far i know have already applied or is thinking of applying for citizenship so most likely won't be returning to malaysia for retirement laugh.gif
Why not?

Mm2h..... stretch your pension money....lol
kenji1903
post Jul 12 2017, 09:58 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 12 2017, 09:52 AM)
Why not?

Mm2h..... stretch your pension money....lol
ex-malaysian using mm2h, i'd like to see how that will end up laugh.gif
Rand
post Jul 12 2017, 11:52 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 12 2017, 09:38 AM)

Malaysia will have to change a lot before I can even consider returning there for my twilight years.
kenji1903
post Jul 12 2017, 01:26 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Rand @ Jul 12 2017, 11:52 AM)
Malaysia will have to change a lot before I can even consider returning there for my twilight years.
like that you can go back and makan only tongue.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0227sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:09 PM