11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

hypermax
post Mar 5 2009, 11:56 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 5 2009, 11:54 PM)
I detected pride being hurt. You are are just being paranoid and having inferiority complex when confronted with anything UK or overseas. The truth is, there is no need to be if you will only open your mind because there is another world outside Malaysia. Some good, some bad.

I suggest you start another thread titled "Calling ALL MALAYSIAN Medical students studying in Malaysia!". That way, I will know not to post any article relating to UK here. I do not want to further hurt your pride.

BTW, I am not even studying medicine.
No one said you are studying medicine. I called you Mr pharmacist in my previous post, unless you dun know how to read, or need visual aid.

Well, i guess you are the one whose pride got hurt. icon_rolleyes.gif

Yeah, me too. It's a good way to increase post count too drool.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 5 2009, 11:57 PM
hypermax
post Mar 6 2009, 12:17 AM

2,524 posts

Wow, you are having some serious delusional thoughts. I would advise you to see a psychiatrist. rolleyes.gif

I am not the one who thinks i am high and mighty, at least i din bash those with <ter90 when they said they wanna apply for medicine. drool.gif

By declaring lives are cheap in Msia, i guess you are the one who's "god-like" right? thumbup.gif Gosh, i wonder how your parents feel when their own son/daughter thinks that their lives are cheap. cry.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 6 2009, 12:18 AM
hypermax
post Mar 6 2009, 12:24 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 6 2009, 12:22 AM)
If you are not high and mighty then why are you objecting to people posting article related to UK?
New challenge. Find a sentence of mine which states that. I was asking limeuu not to relate the article to the admission standard of med school in msia, as the article has no relation to that. rolleyes.gif

Added on March 6, 2009, 12:42 ameh, can't find anything?? That's why larr i asked you to read properly before making any post.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 6 2009, 12:42 AM
hypermax
post Mar 8 2009, 10:35 AM

2,524 posts

according to my seniors in sarawak, the teaching there is quite good, especially in Sibu or Kuching.
hypermax
post Mar 13 2009, 10:03 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 13 2009, 09:05 AM)
of course one must do a proper pre-u before embarking on medicine......

but people can get into medicine WITHOUT pre-u......just go do a few months 'foundation', and you are in 1st year medicine.......think russia, and some indon places..........

Added on March 13, 2009, 9:09 amand talking about different results in spm and pre-u.........

i know lots of people who did very well in spm (easy exam) but fare poorly in pre-u..........

but i do NOT know of anyone who did poorly in spm, and managed to score in any credible pre-u (ie stpm, a-levels, sam/ausmate).....

therefore again my statement........if you do NOT have good results in spm......don't consider doing medicine.......
You don't know doesn't mean that they dun exist. I happened to know a few fellas who did average in SPM (5As) but managed to score TER95 and above for SAM.

Therefore, SPM results are not important at all, and as long as you can do well in pre-u, the pathway to medicine is clear.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 13 2009, 10:03 AM
hypermax
post Mar 13 2009, 01:59 PM

2,524 posts

Just do you STPM first, and worry about the rest later.
hypermax
post Mar 15 2009, 07:51 PM

2,524 posts

I am about to fill in my choice of hospitals to go to. are hospital ampang and sg buloh good?
hypermax
post Mar 25 2009, 01:18 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 25 2009, 02:12 AM)
Thanks all the senior here! Actually,I go to KL yesterday midnight then i do go and seek the consultant. Basically,the consultant is honest and reliable. The processing fee will cost me about rm8500(including all process and ticket). At the first, i need to pay RM500 for application process.Once the letter of acceptance is received,we need to call the university to make sure all detail and admission.

If i reject the offered,the rm500 is refundable.If I accept it,the remaining rm8000 need to pay then the original offer letter will be posted to me or bring along the money then get the original letter from consultant.The degree offered is from zhejiang university school of medicine.The zhejiang medical university is the former name before it merged into zhejiang university to be the school of medicine of zhejiang university before 1998.

So far,I  found no problems about the consultant. I have send the email to smc to confirm the recognition of mbbs(english) in zhejiang uni. If no problem. Sure I will go for it. The consultant tell me the smc is one of the tedious and troublesome medical council,so the degree recognized by smc should be in good quality.He is trying to make these chinese medical degree to be recognized by mmc.He said time is the key,but he say the recognition from mmc should be not hard since it is recognized by smc.

Maybe in a year of two,that should be no problem regarding the recognition of chinese medical degree by mmc.

So,the only thing is recognition of smc not yet make sure. If everything ok.I will go and i think it should be a good news to some student who is lack of money like me and to who need a good medical education. laugh.gif
By all means go for it, instead of wasting your time doing foundation. I would have gone to China if the degree was recognized by SMC back then. The tuition fee is only half of what i am paying. Damn.

Added on March 25, 2009, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(wgy589 @ Mar 25 2009, 09:44 AM)
last year they started integrated teaching (not sure abt PBL tho), with early patient exposure, replacing the old traditional system.

so far it recieves quite positive feedback from the students.

btw, i heard once the students from old system reach clinical years, they often have trouble integrating knowledge gained in medical sciences. wat do you all think?
I am trained in the old system, and so far i find it ok, but most of the time a quick revision of basic medical sciences is needed before studying a new system (CNS, RS , etc), which can be quite tedious. However according to my friends in IMU, they had problems linking one system to another.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 25 2009, 01:23 PM
hypermax
post Mar 27 2009, 12:20 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(fishnetwenyi @ Mar 26 2009, 05:04 PM)
Thanks, dunaskwhy.

I actually did consider studying in a 3rd world country. >.< I applied for the medic schol in Cuba cuz I thought it was pretty interesting despite the setbacks though it's a big letdown that the degree's not recognised in msia and the lack of adequate facilities. I like the house analogy. biggrin.gif But what if say, you invest part of your savings to rent a house instead, and then save money to buy a better house in future? Sort of like, study local/3rd world country, work, save money then do postgrad at some prestigious uni (provided accepted). Fuh, it'll take a long time but I guess it doesn't really matter since being a doctor is generally the same anywhere anyway. All doctors treat people. It's just the systems and how they are expected to carry out their jobs that are different.

Is it really cheaper studying half local and half overseas? I calculated before and it seems as though you only save a bit by doing twinning and that only on living expenses. IMU fees are pretty expensive as it is (although it's preclinical). Eg. in the case of Cardiff (which is supposedly the cheapest city in UK), the tuition fees is only about RM 460,000 total (rounded off to a higher number) plus only the clinical fees are subjected to change and by not more than a few %. Whereelse, full local in Monash Malaysia is close to RM 450,000 and IMU twinning costs more (though you include living expenses) which sort of adds up to about the same amount. Add living expenses to tuition fees in cardiff (as accordance to website plus random expenditures to account for and increase in exchange rate), the calculated amount is about RM 630,000-> same as twinning programme in PMC (in which clinical is in msia some more). O.o. It's a bit baffling this whole fees thing. And UK fees is surprisingly cheaper than Aussie contrary to popular belief.

Btw, I heard that Melaka-Manipal is about to close down. O.o Is it true?
That's seriously nonsense. MMMC has just started its dentistry programme, so the likelihood of MMMC to close down is close to zero. I think your friend meant KMC (full course Manipal), due to the recognition issue.

BTW, it's not worth to study in MMMC now, as the tuition fee is RM330K. Try AIMST. The fee is really affordable and the quality is quite good.
hypermax
post Mar 27 2009, 02:50 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(fishnetwenyi @ Mar 27 2009, 01:56 PM)
Thanks! =) Right now, they're stating their fees in terms of euros as it's more stable. So for intls, they told us that we'd prob have to calc based on the euro exchange rate at least for the first 2 years of pre-clinical as the fees have already been set. But I'll definitely keep that in mind.
As for MMMC closing down, don't know leh >.<. My group of friends who are MMMC bound were told of this by a JPA official as well as their lecturers. >.< But if it's true, it'd be too shocking especially since there are quite many people who graduated from this institution.
I am a student of MMMC, and i haven't heard of such rumour. Perhaps you can give MMMC a call, but i highly doubt that it'll be closing down.

BTW, degrees from both KMC Manipal and Mangalore are now recognized again by the Indian Medical Council upto year 2014. Sources

As i have said, it's a political gimmick.

Added on March 27, 2009, 3:20 pmFor those of you who are thinking of pursuing medical degrees in Russia, pls don't. Check out this Blog. I guess there's some truth in what Limeuu said after all.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 27 2009, 03:20 PM
hypermax
post Mar 27 2009, 10:50 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 27 2009, 07:41 PM)
Is there any roadblock in getting registered in China?
Don't think so. Countries like China, USA, Canada and Taiwan require medical graduates to pass the local licensing exam before being registrable, regardless of where you graduated from.
hypermax
post Mar 27 2009, 11:20 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 27 2009, 11:03 PM)
So it's like entrance exam is it? That's a hassle when you are graduate from STPM. But I think we all can pass it.
No, it's an exit exam, which means all medical graduates must pass the test in order to practice in those countries, regardless of where you graduated from.
hypermax
post Mar 28 2009, 12:14 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 27 2009, 11:37 PM)
visualise, getting married is nothing new.......these jpa/mara scholars have been given allowances for their spouses and children on scholarship......someone i know sent on a postgraduate scholarship in glasgow brought along her husband and 4 kids, all paid for by the scholarship......for 4 years..........

Added on March 27, 2009, 11:42 pm

sigh.........

i am tired already....i shall now pass the baton to hypermax to warn people about russia and ukraine.........
Well, it would be more convincing if you could explain their incompetency using real life scenario, like what Dr. POT did. nod.gif

Anyway, some new blog entries regarding Russian and Ukrainian medical grads. Continuation of the story by Dr.POT and an insider view from a Russian med student.

After reading all these blog entries, i feel lucky that i wasn't deceived by the agent back then, even though the agent claimed that medical courses in Russia are "peng, leng, zheng" (Cantonese; English translation: cheap, pretty good, and awesome) blink.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 28 2009, 12:19 AM
hypermax
post Mar 28 2009, 12:25 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 28 2009, 12:21 AM)
Erm.....what is the licensing exam in china? I cant search it! I will try to find out but If anyone here can answer please post it up here!

Now, I have registered with that agent and bank in RM500 to him already. Everything in process,within 14 working days I will accept an offer letter from zhejiang uni.When I make sure everything from china,then I will announce the good news here. Zhejiang uni is the top 4 uni in china.The affiliated hospital is the most popular and famous organ transplant center in china and there are a lot of cadavers can do the experiment.With the 11 fully equipped affiliated hospital(2 of its are general hospital), I think the clinical skill shouldn't be an obstacle for me to be a skillful doctor.

I'm sure with smc recognition and my effort, to register with smc will not very difficult to me! Dear senior here please bless me good luck all the way! rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
You are seriously lucky. biggrin.gif Well, good luck in your studies. You now have a ticket to leave bolehland (a cheap one too). Too bad i love my country too much, if not i would have quit the course and join a SMC recognized Chinese school back then. biggrin.gif

BTW, do post your experience here once you have started the course. smile.gif
hypermax
post Mar 28 2009, 08:44 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 28 2009, 12:33 AM)
what a sense of deja vu........all the arguments in the blog, justifying, pleading to be judged individually......and blogger receiving all kinds of insults, like i did........

well, medical schools should, and most in developed countries do, strive for zero defect.......

here now, we have people pleading to be allowed to play russian roulette with 3 live bullets in the 6 slots.........pointed at innocent unsuspecting patients......

but i am tired, let the next generation deal with this........i will just make sure there isn't a gun pointed at me head.......
I believe all of them have the rights of being judged individually, and they shouldn't be judged by anyone before proving their capabilities. Bad trees tend to produce bad apples, but there are exceptions. Also, some of them are bright scholars "thrown" there by our beloved gov.

Therefore, i still think it is not fair to judge them as a whole. As you have mentioned in one of your posts, good students in bad medical schools will relearn medicine once they are working.

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 28 2009, 01:04 AM)
I do google it up! China seems do not have any medical licensing exam! Please post here if anyone can make sure! biggrin.gif
I think you better give a call to either SMC or Chinese embassy.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 28 2009, 07:14 AM)
I know nothing about how China's system work. In UK & Malaysia, once you have a recognized medical degree, you have to work for a couple of years before being granted registration. What about China? And assuming, just assuming, you need to work a couple of years before being registered in China, can a foreigner like Malaysian get work permit or opportunity to do so in China? If not, then you can't register in China and hence, Singapore. That is what I am getting it. Anybody know about this?
Actually, i am not sure about China, but in countries like Taiwan, USA and Canada, one is required to pass the respective licensing exams before he can practice , unlike in Malaysia and UK, a fresh medical grad can work as a house officer upon graduating from a recognized medical school.

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 28 2009, 07:45 AM)
POTS is a breath of fresh air, a feisty critic; not only in the flawed healthcare system of M'sia but also the murky world of politics tongue.gif Love his posts.

However I'd like to comment on one thing from the other blog that you posted:

http://efenem.wordpress.com/2008/05/22/the...es-from-russia/

It's sad that they end up learning stuff that may not necessarily be clinically relevant. sad.gif

However, during clinical years the amount of proper, structured teaching we receive is minimal (rotation dependent of course). What we end up doing most of the time if self-studying, like what one professor put it: "Write it down in the little book, read it up in the big book." Not that I'm whinging too much about it as we are supposed to cultivate the habit of self-learning; but more didactic teaching will always be appreciated. A balance is required of course, we don't want to end up like what happened to Faiz, the blogger, where they end up in classrooms all the time rather than the wards.

Like what my angmoh friend's sister (non-medical) said, "You bloody medical students, get an extra half an hour tute and you're happy... We would have complained about the overtime."

Anyway, nice blog for a Russian perspective... going to bookmark it thumbup.gif
Even in my college, the lecture hours are getting less as there's a shift towards SDL. Many of the important exam topics are not taught, and some of these topics are not found in standard medical textbooks, eg social paediatrics. Therefore, good relationship with the seniors is important in order to secure hard to get notes passed down from batch to batch, as these topics were taught to the earlier batches. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 28 2009, 08:46 AM
hypermax
post Mar 28 2009, 09:12 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 28 2009, 08:51 AM)
like i said, a potentially fatal game of russian roulette.......

does msia really want to play the game?.....
There's the reason why housmanship was created. It is designed to assess the capabilities of fresh medical grads. Most house officers work under supervision, and major procedures eg lumbar puncture, pleural tap will only be carried out by them once they have proven their capabilities.

In Melaka hospital, some really incompetent grads are only given 1-2 beds for clerking, while the competent ones are given the WHOLE cubicle, which consists of 8-10 beds.

However, i think the MMC should really consider the withdrawal of recognition of many third world schools proven to be substandard.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 28 2009, 02:04 PM
hypermax
post Mar 28 2009, 09:31 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Mar 28 2009, 09:28 AM)
Problem is, the process of recognition of medical schools in Malaysia is not transparent. What we need is clearly spelt out criteria on what a medical school needs to be recognized. Reports from accreditation committees should be available publicly.
This will never happen as long as BN is in power. mad.gif
hypermax
post Mar 28 2009, 09:38 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Mar 28 2009, 09:33 AM)
Regardless of the reasons, if the accreditation process is not transparent one cannot really 'prove' that a third world med school is substandsard. See the problem? hmm.gif
Yeah, i know, but nothing will be transparent as long as BN is in power.
hypermax
post Mar 28 2009, 10:08 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 28 2009, 09:40 AM)
I read some medical school in Australia are admitting student purely on academic result. And I even saw an article saying more are contemplating doing so as well. In other words, test on aptitude are more fancy than useful.

Added on March 28, 2009, 9:45 am

While what you said is noble and if it were some non-critical issue, sure we can give everybody the benefit of the doubts. But unfortunately, we are talking about a person's life here!!!!
Read my following post and try to grasp what i was trying to say before replying. You always like to selectively reply a sentence or a post of mine, without reading the subsequent ones to get the bigger picture.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 28 2009, 02:05 PM
hypermax
post Mar 28 2009, 04:51 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Dr. Miranda Bailey @ Mar 28 2009, 04:00 PM)
http://efenem.wordpress.com/2008/05/22/the...es-from-russia/

The blogger has bitterness to Russian system! Big time complainer! If he got time to blog he must have time to improve himself medicine-wise.

Our seniors have graduated and now on their 1st and 2nd years of housemanship and they are doing fine! Heck they even passed USMLE and AMC.

Just because half bad apples come from Russia doesnt mean Russia cant produce good apples.
I am not saying all Russian grads are bad, in fact, i know a few doctors from Russia and Ukraine and they are as competent, if not better, than their locally or overseas trained counterparts. However, many local doctors tend to complain about Russian and Ukrainian grads, therefore, it's safe to assume that there's a lack of consistency in the quality of medical schools in these countries.

Also, the blog entry i had posted above is just an opinion of the author regarding the place he's studying right now, therefore, there's no need to insult him even though you dun share his views. We do have freedom of speech after all.

As i had stated before, no one should be judged before demonstrating his/her capabilities. Also, good apple tree tends to produce more good apples than bad apples, and vice versa.

BTW, do you guys have written exam over there? How about clinical short and long case presentation, and OSCE?

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0531sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:45 PM