18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Recommendation for Credit Cards V4, Please post according to Format stated

fruitie
post Feb 19 2017, 06:41 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Feb 19 2017, 05:33 PM)
1. Annual Income: 36K++

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes (But can waive thru CS also no problem)

3. Card required for: Petrol, Online transaction (foreign currency), a bit of Dining ... Need a card to backup UOB cards for online and petrol but rejected by CIMB twice... duno what happen zzzz

4. Existing credit cards (if any):
i) UOB One - solely for petrol
ii) UOB Yolo - need to hit 800> for 6% else above 500> 3%

5. Interest in CC from: Any
Maybank Ikhwan cards for petrol.
HLB MACH for dining.
No choice but keep trying for CIMB CR for online.
fruitie
post Feb 19 2017, 10:40 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Feb 19 2017, 09:41 PM)
Yupp thank fruitie.

Yahhh CIMB CR having problem with me all the while.... apply macam mana pun fail punya.
Or you can apply a general card like SCB Cash Back but it comes with AF. Not sure how easy that is waived but my sister got hers auto-waived every year though she hardly spends on this card. This is a risk though for AF cards.
fruitie
post Feb 22 2017, 11:36 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(Another_Account @ Feb 22 2017, 11:30 AM)
The HLB Mach sounds tempting... just wanted to clarify if I would need a minimum spending in order to be eligible for its CB? I read some things earlier and they said I need to have a minimum spending?

TQ
Nope. You must have read it wrongly. No minimum spending for HLB MACH.
fruitie
post Mar 5 2017, 11:48 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(ranox @ Mar 5 2017, 11:41 AM)
What is the recommended credit card for cash back for TNB and Unifi bills ?
The best is without annual fee with annual income > RM 50k
Only PBB VS with 12 swipes in a year to waive AF. That requires at least 100k per annum.

YOLO is possible but it has AF after a year and requires minimum spending of RM 500 to activate cash back. Check out UOB thread for more information.
fruitie
post Mar 6 2017, 12:49 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ Mar 6 2017, 12:30 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM60K to RM70K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No

3. Card required for: List all your needs.
- Free KLIA2 Premium Lounge Access
- Travel coverage (Travel insurance, flight delay, flight cancel, luggage missing, etc)

4. Existing credit cards (if any):
- Maybank 2 Cards Gold
- Maybank Al-Ikhwan Gold
- CIMB Cash Back Platinum
- Standard Chartered Cash Back Platinum

[Previously owned and cancelled]
- UOB VOX
- Citibank Cash Back

5. Interested in CC from:
- Aeon Big Visa Gold
- Citibank Platinum Visa
    -> this only stated for KLIA but I will be going to KLIA2

6. Others: Please be specific.
- I will be going to KLIA 2
- I just want to try the premium lounge, never been in it nor have any chance for it.  biggrin.gif

As suggested earlier, AEON Gold, AEON BiG Gold and AmBank Plat for PPL access - KLIA, KLIA2 and other domestic PPLs. AmBank has some overseas PPLs too.

For insurance, I can only think of upgrading your M2Cards Gold to Plat as it gives travel insurance but you have to charge your ticket purchase to this card. Anyway, I don't depend on their free insurance, it is limited coverage. If I'm travelling on leisure, I will purchase my own travel insurance.
fruitie
post Mar 6 2017, 01:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ Mar 6 2017, 01:12 PM)
Too bad I did not charge my ticket purchase to the card. I will get Aeon Big Visa Gold. Seems to serve my purpose.
I found the below  shocking.gif I will keep this in my view for future travels
AmBank PPL

Thanks!!
AmBank Plat only gives 2x access. So, you may save it for overseas travels and use AEON cards for local PPLs.
If you can bump up your income to RM 80k per annum, then you can apply for AmBank VS which gives 5x access.
fruitie
post Mar 12 2017, 02:15 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Mar 11 2017, 03:32 AM)
MBB 2 Cards Reserve would probably satisfy all your needs however income requirement is 120k and annual fee only waivable if expenses is 80k per annum. And unfortunately 3 yr expiry for points but point accumulation is the best in Msia when using Amex.
With 100k no harm trying to apply, esp when you haven't add in your bonuses.

Next best would probably be MBB 2 Cards Plat/Gold
M2Cards Reserve? What card is that? I supposed you meant M2Cards Premier?
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 02:11 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(yeosw @ Mar 13 2017, 07:01 AM)
I want to swipe 2k at parkson. Which card got better cashback?
Wait until Maybank2Cards AmEx weekend cash back to be reinstated again this weekend, use it to swipe and earn RM 50 cash back for RM 1k and can get 10k of treats points. No point of applying a new card just for 2k spending.

The above suggestion is with an impression that you have M2Cards since you didn't state any. I suggest you to follow template on first page to get better recommendations.
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 03:18 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(cckthechun @ Mar 13 2017, 02:45 PM)
Hi All,

I'm planning to sign up for  AmBank Visa Platinum mainly for the PPL access.
However, i would like to clarify something about the TnC.

In ringgitplus website, they mentioned that the PPL access comes with TnC as below (3 swips overseas required):

"All you got to do is swipe your AmBank Visa Platinum overseas while you're travelling at least 3 times and a free access to 17 international airports premium lounges will yours. There's a little catch to it, all 3 swipes must be made within 30 days before or after your visit to the lounge and the free access will also expire within 30 days from your first swipe."
However, by referring to ambank website, it seems that there are no TnC for the access.
Appreciate clarification from forumers smile.gif
It has been revised since last year's May to only two access for Plat cards and no longer requires overseas swipes.
You will need to trust their official site than third party's website. smile.gif
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 03:32 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(cckthechun @ Mar 13 2017, 03:20 PM)
Thanks a lot smile.gif
Was confused a little there.

Now this seems like the perfect card for me, no annual fee and no tnc for ppl access smile.gif
Well, good and bad. From unlimited to 2xPPL access. laugh.gif
Yes, no condition attached is the best though. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 03:43 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(cckthechun @ Mar 13 2017, 03:40 PM)
Yup smile.gif

Enough for me i guess, since i usually travel only max 2 times per year  biggrin.gif

Thanks everyone for the clarification ~ Gonna hunt for ambank booth now haha
Ambank hardly has booths, So your best bet is walk in to their branch or apply via email.
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 03:56 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Mar 13 2017, 03:47 PM)
I am thinking to get the SCB Gold cashback but I already have too many cards & fearing rejections (personal ego of some sort). Any heads up for me, fruitie?
I do have many too. smile.gif Just apply and if really reject then think again. laugh.gif You can always check your CCRIS before applying, if it is not nice, then don't waste energy to apply. laugh.gif These days many are affected due to PTPTN, I'm one of them too. tongue.gif
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 06:38 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Mar 13 2017, 06:26 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM36K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably

3. Card required for: Cash Back / Reward

4. Existing credit cards (if any): M2u card. Looking for allrounder card when the merchant doesn't accept Amex or during weekdays usage.

5. Usage : Petrol, Groceries, TnG, Pharmaceutical, Paying Bills, online shopping, a little bit of shopping and dining.

I will try to arrange all the shopping and bill paying on weekends.
Currently looking at Citibank Cash Back Credit Card. Anything else recommended?
Petrol and groceries: Maybank Ikhwan MasterCard. 5% on Fridays and Saturdays.
Or
Petrol: Maybank Ikhwan Visa Petronas. 8% on Saturdays and Sundays for Petronas only.

TnG: Where do you intend to reload? I'm not sure if Penang has a lot of places to reload with CC. You gotta check from this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3757650

Bills: Which bills? If phone bills, may consider UOB YOLO.

Online shopping: UOB YOLO, CIMB Cash Rebate

Dining: HLB MACH

Or an all rounder card - SCB Cash Back Gold. Spend RM 1.5k and get RM 50 cash back. However, petrol is not part of the cash back category. smile.gif

Good luck in choosing.
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 06:47 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Mar 13 2017, 06:40 PM)
I) HLB Fortune - 1% CB but need min. Spend Rm2K /month to Activate the 1% CB Mechanism https://www.hlb.com.my/main/personal/cards/fortune-card

II) HLB Essential: 0.6% on 1st RM5000 spend, 1% cash back on Subsequent spend, NO cashback on Petrol Transaction.

III) SCB Cashback Gold: 2 - 5% CB with min spend $500, NO CB for Petrol, Insurance Transactions. However, It's Good on PTPTN Payment. thumbsup.gif
https://www.sc.com/my/credit-cards/goldcard/gold-card.html

IV) OCBC 365 Mastercard: 1% CB on 1st RM1K Spend, 0.5% cash-back on subsequent spend (Annual Fee RM106)

V) Alliance You:nique: 0.5 - 3% CB from RM0 - RM3000 Spending & also, Good for PTPTN Payment thumbsup.gif 
http://www.alliancebank.com.my/younique

Monthly Spend (RM) Rebate (%)
0 - 1,000 0.50
1,001 - 2,0001.50
2,001 - 3,0003.00
> 3,0000.30
Just to share with you, PTPTN can use online portal now and it accepts CC with no extra charges. I have tried last month using CIMB CR and got 5% cash back. rclxms.gif
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 06:56 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Mar 13 2017, 06:55 PM)
Thanks for sharing, That's GOOD for YOU... blush.gif
I'm already Old fella dah tak payah kasi PTPTN tongue.gif
No la. I know you don't pay PTPTN, just sharing with you since you are active in recommending cards. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 11:27 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Mar 13 2017, 11:18 PM)
This Maybank Ikhwan MasterCard offers 5% CB on groceries? Any particular participating merchants or simply based on MCC? I am currently holding this HSBC Platinum MasterCard which seems no benefits at all... Thought might cancel it instead.
Yes 5%. It follows MCC. I don't find HSBC card is good.
fruitie
post Mar 13 2017, 11:46 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Mar 13 2017, 11:44 PM)
It was my first CC and have been using it for years till I recently got this Maybankard2 and only realized how "useless" the HSBC CC is!

Received a call from MBB offered me Maybank Ikhwan but I rejected that time! I'd have just accepted as the person was persuading to send me the CC and I can decide later if I wanna activate it or not.

Especially now not all shops accept AMEX, I seriously can consider this CC for 5% CB!

Sorry to ask, is it free AF?
Maybank Ikhwan cards are also free AF. smile.gif
fruitie
post Mar 14 2017, 07:34 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 14 2017, 07:15 AM)
If you are qualified, there is also maybank visa signature. But not free AF. Use one year and stop lo.. smile.gif
Yeah, that is what I'm using now. Really useful and don't need to worry which day to use which card, a plus point is it comes with PayWave, easy to tap when I buy groceries or reload TnG in JG... But oh well, my happiness won't last long, soon I will have to cancel this card as I cannot achieve RM 30k of annual usage. sad.gif cry.gif
fruitie
post Mar 14 2017, 11:59 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Mar 14 2017, 10:27 PM)
waa... siao meh! Annual RM30k usage? That's RM2500 a month! I definitely cannot afford...  doh.gif
Actually RM 30k per year is very achievable but just that I cannot convince myself to spend on it when I know no benefits...
fruitie
post Mar 15 2017, 11:02 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Mar 15 2017, 05:18 AM)
I thought it was recommended? Read the features of Maybank Visa Signature, 5% CB all day on petrol & grocery but no Treat Point. So I guess there is no credit card which offers all day CB plus reward points huh?

I'm planning to cancel my HSBC card, seems it serves no purpose as there's not much benefits. Is there any HSBC CC you recommended?
I prefer cash back over points. I have other cards for other purposes. My MBB VS is purely for groceries and petrol.

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:56 AM