Tutorial on Ubiquiti Edgerouter for unifi/maxis, Edgerouter settings ftw

TSwanttotree
post Dec 26 2016, 03:09 PM, updated 5y ago

677 posts

Hey guys! A few months ago i posted a topic regarding edgerouter lite and how i finally set it up to use with my tm unifi with hypptv. I got involved with ubiquiti forum(amazing forum btw), asked around and had many experiments with the settings including cli based settings. Dont be afraid though. I had a discussion a few months ago with ubiquiti engineer and they agree that they should implement vlan based connection. Lo and behold, firmware 1.9 came out with a wizard that set up PPPoE connection with vlan tag! Pretty awesome of them to hear an opinion from a couple of forumer in Malaysia. I say kudos to Ubiquiti. This is important to all users in Malaysia that mainly connect to the internet the 'vlan' way.LOL.

Enough background check, lets get to it. In this tutorial, i will be using edgerouter-lite as reference. Lets hit it!

1) Download the latest firmware from ( https://www.ubnt.com/download/edgemax ). As of the day im writing this, the latest firmware is at 1.9.1

2) Log into your router page at 192.168.1.1, click system, click 'upload a file' on upload system image, wait a few seconds and the router will ask to reboot, then reboot. =)

3) After aprox 3 minutes the router will finish booting, login into the router again then click wizards, then click;
a) basic setup
b) PPPoE
c) fill in your unifi/maxis/time account name and password
d) click to check vlan, fill in vlan according to your isp (eg: unifi= 500 / maxis fiber= 621)
e) click 'configure this section' on (Optional) Secondary LAN port (eth2)
f) uncheck 'Enable the DHCP server'
g) under 'user setup' choose 'create new admin user', fill in your new user and password(dont use default ubnt, change your password! very important)
h) click apply and reboot.

Viola! your router is set up for internet use! enjoy!!!

Part one of the setup is done, this is mainly for people who doesnt care about iptv like hypptv or astro via maxis fiber. U can hop away and start your beautiful day with the edgerouter! Now moving on to part two where we will set up iptv, hypptv and astro via maxis fiber. lets go!

1) On the router dashboard page click on
a) Add interface
b) Add Vlan
c) Fill in Vlan id (eg: unifi= 600 / maxis fiber= 823)
d) Select eth0 on 'interface'
e) Fill in 'Hyyptv' or 'astro' according to your iptv
f) Click save

2) At 'Local 2', click on 'actions', 'config', change 'manually define ip address' to 'no address', click save.

3) Click on 'Config tree',
a) click interfaces, bridge, click add, fill in 'br0'
b) click ethernet, eth0, vif, 600, bridge-group, fill in 'br0' in 'bridge'
c) click eth2, bridge-group, fill in 'br0' in 'bridge'
d) click 'preview' and 'apply'

4) At this point you can plug your iptv cable to eth2 of your router, make sure restart the iptv box after plugging it in.

Thats it guys! its not as complicated as u think. sure if i were to make a tutorial using cli then that would be a slightly different story. LOL.

I hope u guys enjoy the tutorial! Please point out something that i missed or mistakes.

This wraps up this tutorial, please tell me if any of u guys need to set up ipv6 and set up dns forwarding, ipv6 forwarding, upnp or upnp2 with nat-pmp. These can be done on the next one. Cheers!
kutitata
post Dec 26 2016, 04:38 PM

322 posts

Awesome thanks for writing this!

If I have 9 ethernet connections in total (3 desktop, 2 android boxes, 1 cctv dvr) and 3 of them need POE (to drive UAP AC LR) what would be the best hardware from ubiquiti to use? plan on getting a router and switch.

this is for home use only running on unifi
TSwanttotree
post Dec 26 2016, 06:25 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(kutitata @ Dec 26 2016, 04:38 PM)
Awesome thanks for writing this!

If I have 9 ethernet connections in total (3 desktop, 2 android boxes, 1 cctv dvr) and 3 of them need POE (to drive UAP AC LR) what would be the best hardware from ubiquiti to use? plan on getting a router and switch.

this is for home use only running on unifi
Thanx man. U can go a few routes with ubiquiti. Depending on yr budget too.

1) Edgerouter-x and toughswitch 8ports

2) Edgerouter lite and edgeswitch 8 or unifi switch 8

3) edgerouter-x sfp and any 5/8 ports smart switch.

The last choice is there if u wanna minimize budget. Pair an edgerouter-x sfp with any smart switch. Netgear/cisco/linksys are all good. That would be the cheapest option.
If u wanna go all out, i would say get option 2.
kutitata
post Dec 28 2016, 05:54 PM

322 posts

you have been so patient to answer my questions I am grateful to you

maybe you could also explain how to setup for cctv dvrs is it port forwarding?

does android boxes need any specific set up requirements?

how about the UAP AC LR?

eastherd
post Dec 28 2016, 06:20 PM

177 posts

Just bought and setup ER-X. Work perfectly. (even though without TV yet, i can see the traffic coming in from the EdgeOS GUI).

Thanks!

I just bought 1X ER-X and 2XUAP-AC-LITE. Will get some old cisco POE switch soon.
TSwanttotree
post Dec 28 2016, 07:00 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(kutitata @ Dec 28 2016, 05:54 PM)
you have been so patient to answer my questions I am grateful to you

maybe you could also explain how to setup for cctv dvrs is it port forwarding?

does android boxes need any specific set up requirements?

how about the UAP AC LR?
You are welcome sir, just an enthusiast helping another. Port forwarding is pretty straight forward(no pun intended). Its exactly how u setup with any decent router. U can easily find it in the router page. As for android android box, i have not seen any need for special configurations. U can always enable upnp or upnp2 if u want auto port assign on everyrhing else. Uap ac lr, all u need to do is enable poe 24v on es-8. Ur gonna use 3 uap lrs? Wow, yr house must be a mansion. =) Btw, may i know your speed subscription bro?

This post has been edited by wanttotree: Dec 28 2016, 07:01 PM
TSwanttotree
post Dec 28 2016, 07:04 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(eastherd @ Dec 28 2016, 06:20 PM)
Just bought and setup ER-X. Work perfectly. (even though without TV yet, i can see the traffic coming in from the EdgeOS GUI).

Thanks!

I just bought 1X ER-X and 2XUAP-AC-LITE. Will get some old cisco POE switch soon.
Awesome. Thats cool. Please do the hypptv sooner or later and share yr experience here. =) U guys can post your photos of the setup jere too. It would be nice to see how u guys set it.
kutitata
post Dec 28 2016, 09:07 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(eastherd @ Dec 28 2016, 06:20 PM)

Thanks!

Where did you buy the er-x and uap ac lite from, where will you buy the Cisco poe from?
kutitata
post Dec 28 2016, 09:09 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Dec 28 2016, 07:04 PM)
Awesome. Thats cool. Please do the hypptv sooner or later and share yr experience here. =) U guys can post your photos of the setup jere too. It would be nice to see how u guys set it.
The setup would be another thing to have a tutorial on...

Hahahah...

I was just trying to imagine placing the switch and er-x and fiber modem on the wall to see how the cable connections will work....
kutitata
post Dec 28 2016, 09:17 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Dec 28 2016, 07:00 PM)
You are welcome sir, just an enthusiast helping another. Port forwarding is pretty straight forward(no pun intended). Its exactly how u setup with any decent router. U can easily find it in the router page. As for android android box, i have not seen any need for special configurations. U can always enable upnp or upnp2 if u want auto port assign on everyrhing else. Uap ac lr, all u need to do is enable poe 24v on es-8. Ur gonna use 3 uap lrs? Wow, yr house must be a mansion. =) Btw, may i know your speed subscription bro?
My house is actually quite small but I wanted the best coverage even in the kitchen and all that plus through the walls and rebar I am afraid the signal will be poor.

This set up will be at a new house currently under renovation so I am not sure what unifi speed I will use either the 30 or 50 plan.
TSwanttotree
post Dec 28 2016, 09:32 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(kutitata @ Dec 28 2016, 09:09 PM)
The setup would be another thing to have a tutorial on...

Hahahah...

I was just trying to imagine placing the switch and er-x and fiber modem on the wall to see how the cable connections will work....
Putting it on the wall will look nice.i did think bout smthg like that. It just looks modern n "canggih'
TSwanttotree
post Dec 28 2016, 09:36 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(kutitata @ Dec 28 2016, 09:17 PM)
My house is actually quite small but I wanted the best coverage even in the kitchen and all that plus through the walls and rebar I am afraid the signal will be poor.

This set up will be at a new house currently under renovation so I am not sure what unifi speed I will use either the 30 or 50 plan.
Oh cool. I can see quite a few ppl i know been renovating/rewiring their house. Makes me feel like rewiring mine too. Oh mannn. Im jealous of u guys.
kutitata
post Dec 29 2016, 07:54 AM

322 posts

I am curious, why is the Edge Router X cheaper than the Edge Router Lite although the ER-X has more ports?

Okey I did some googling and found this :-

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/219...r-Should-I-Use-

The main difference between ER-X and ER Lite is the pps...

1 mil vs 130k does it make a difference?

This post has been edited by kutitata: Dec 29 2016, 08:11 AM
TSwanttotree
post Dec 29 2016, 08:17 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(kutitata @ Dec 29 2016, 07:54 AM)
I am curious, why is the Edge Router X cheaper than the Edge Router Lite although the ER-X has more ports?
Edgerouter-x has a mediatek processor running at 880mhz single core. Paired with a switch chip. This router is capable of offloading a nated internet up to 800mbit/second.
In the other hand, edgerouter lite has a cavium processor running at 500mhz dual core. All of the ports are connected to the cpu directly, because it lacks a switch chip. So if u have an internet that can provide 2gbit/second, u can actually pull 920mbit/second per port from the other 2 lan. Usually people use this router because they have their own robust l2/l3 switch to pair it with. I hope my expalanation is clear. Cheers
kutitata
post Dec 29 2016, 10:27 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Dec 29 2016, 08:17 AM)
Edgerouter-x has a mediatek processor running at 880mhz single core. Paired with a switch chip. This router is capable of offloading a nated internet up to 800mbit/second.
In the other hand, edgerouter lite has a cavium processor running at 500mhz dual core. All of the ports are connected to the cpu directly, because it lacks a switch chip. So if u have an internet that can provide 2gbit/second, u can actually pull 920mbit/second per port from the other 2 lan. Usually people use this router because they have their own robust l2/l3 switch to pair it with. I hope my expalanation is clear. Cheers
Okey, so for an unifi application could the ER Lite difference be noticable? I am no expert in networking or IT.

I am now mulling using both connect both the

Fiber Modem

--ER Lite

---ER X

----Desktop

----Desktop

----US-8-150

-----(balance connections)

Does this configuration makes sense? Or no difference?

Or should I connect the US-8-150 to the ER Lite directly?

blink.gif

This post has been edited by kutitata: Dec 29 2016, 10:29 AM
sikentut
post Dec 29 2016, 10:45 AM

87 posts

you are an absolute legend.should pin this up
TSwanttotree
post Dec 29 2016, 02:15 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(sikentut @ Dec 29 2016, 10:45 AM)
you are an absolute legend.should pin this up
Thank u so much bro. My intention is only to capture the energy of network community here locally. Cz everywhere else is really good. Im hoping this will get some of us to advance ahead level up with the best out there. Cheers to u. N u guys.
TSwanttotree
post Dec 29 2016, 02:21 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(kutitata @ Dec 29 2016, 10:27 AM)
Okey, so for an unifi application could the ER Lite difference be noticable? I am no expert in networking or IT.

I am now mulling using both connect both the

Fiber Modem

--ER Lite

---ER X

----Desktop

----Desktop

----US-8-150

-----(balance connections)

Does this configuration makes sense? Or no difference?

Or should I connect the US-8-150 to the ER Lite directly?

blink.gif
Its not a very good idea to put edgerouter-x in between edgerouter-lite and us-8. May i know why u r trying to set up two routers together? Maybe i can figure something out.
About edgerouter lite being noticable compared to edgerouter-x. Most probably not. As long as u are not breaking the 920-940mbps, it wont make any difference in performance. But in case of pairing it with a couple of switch, it will improve yr lan eg: file transfer or local file streaming. So the choice is yours, in many household application. U wont go wrong with either.
Look at it this way.

If u have more ethernet devices eg: desktop,nas,laptop,tv,streaming box,cctv,a bunch of aps. = Er-l + switch/switches

But if u have something like this eg: smartphones, 1-2 APs, laptop connected to wifi, ipad, wireless tv. = Er-x
Im sure by now u can get the idea.

This post has been edited by wanttotree: Dec 29 2016, 02:28 PM
kutitata
post Dec 29 2016, 02:56 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Dec 29 2016, 02:21 PM)
Its not a very good idea to put edgerouter-x in between edgerouter-lite and us-8. May i know why u r trying to set up two routers together? Maybe i can figure something out.
About edgerouter lite being noticable compared to edgerouter-x. Most probably not. As long as u are not breaking the 920-940mbps, it wont make any difference in performance. But in case of pairing it with a couple of switch, it will improve yr lan eg: file transfer or local file streaming. So the choice is yours, in many household application. U wont go wrong with either.
Look at it this way.

If u have more ethernet devices eg: desktop,nas,laptop,tv,streaming box,cctv,a bunch of aps. = Er-l + switch/switches

But if u have something like this eg: smartphones, 1-2 APs, laptop connected to wifi, ipad, wireless tv. = Er-x
Im sure by now u can get the idea.
I am trying to connect all 9 connections. Actually 2 them won't be used often (maybe not used at all).

Ethernet devices : 1 mac desktop, 1 hypp tv, 1 cctv dvr, 1 android box, 3 APs...

So I have decided to go for ER-L + US-8, that way I can connect to 8 devices (7 in us-8, 1 in er-lite, and in future add a dumb switch to add more connections). I will leave one out for now.

What would be your ideal set up for 6 connections and 3 APs?

TSwanttotree
post Dec 30 2016, 12:58 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(kutitata @ Dec 29 2016, 02:56 PM)
I am trying to connect all 9 connections. Actually 2 them won't be used often (maybe not used at all).

Ethernet devices : 1 mac desktop, 1 hypp tv, 1 cctv dvr, 1 android box, 3 APs...

So I have decided to go for ER-L + US-8, that way I can connect to 8 devices (7 in us-8, 1 in er-lite, and in future add a dumb switch to add more connections). I will leave one out for now.

What would be your ideal set up for 6 connections and 3 APs?
I think maybe get an er-poe and a dumb 8 port switch. Get a decent ones.

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:09 PM