> izzit safe to add additional unit aircond at home Chat

TSdarien99
post Dec 25 2016, 07:42 PM, updated 9y ago

449 posts

currently using 3 units at home, plan to install another unit, will tripping the circuit breaker anot? anyone icon_question.gif
cjlio1
post Dec 25 2016, 07:43 PM

223 posts

your house how many phase ? and what other eq you running 24/7
omaigad
post Dec 25 2016, 07:44 PM

138 posts

Change to 3 phase wiring
TSdarien99
post Dec 25 2016, 07:45 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(cjlio1 @ Dec 25 2016, 07:43 PM)
your house how many phase ? and what other eq you running 24/7
not sure bro, how to check ya? running mostly at nite
badumtssss
post Dec 25 2016, 08:00 PM

33 posts

ask electrician
gamer_ayam
post Dec 25 2016, 08:00 PM

206 posts

You have to move beside TNB substation.
SUSchokia
post Dec 25 2016, 08:01 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

it will trip
silent_stalker
post Dec 25 2016, 08:05 PM

852 posts

Call certified electrician. Those aircon technicians will always say can can. They just split wires ok done.
SUSempatTan
post Dec 25 2016, 08:06 PM

1,678 posts

No problems.
idoblu
post Dec 25 2016, 08:08 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(darien99 @ Dec 25 2016, 07:45 PM)
not sure bro, how to check ya? running mostly at nite
Take a picture of your circuit breakers aka fuse box and post here
LaiN87
post Dec 25 2016, 08:08 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,320 posts

It will not trip la. Especially if you have those inverter air cons.

Aircon take a lot of power during startup. Those old days aircon they will start stop often. Unless all your 4 air con starts at the same exact time then it might have issue. Just make sure the surge will not exceed the MCB rating lo. Don't fall for the bullshit that we need to change to 3 ph. They just milking money.
ar188
post Dec 25 2016, 08:09 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(darien99 @ Dec 25 2016, 07:42 PM)
currently using 3 units at home, plan to install another unit, will tripping the circuit breaker anot? anyone  icon_question.gif
1HP aircon only 3A lo.. (700W or so)

your house is 60 or 100A

5 1HP aircon also no problem lo.
TSdarien99
post Dec 25 2016, 08:14 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 25 2016, 08:08 PM)
wait biggrin.gif
TSdarien99
post Dec 25 2016, 08:27 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 25 2016, 08:08 PM)
here u go
idoblu
post Dec 25 2016, 08:34 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Macam one phase only
TSdarien99
post Dec 25 2016, 08:36 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 25 2016, 08:34 PM)
Macam one phase only
huh? how now? cant use?
ar188
post Dec 25 2016, 08:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 25 2016, 08:34 PM)
Macam one phase only
whats wrong with 1 phase? do you know how many amps can pass thro that box?
Mackiddo
post Dec 25 2016, 08:37 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

have to change to 3-phase like those use for killang use one.
idoblu
post Dec 25 2016, 08:46 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 25 2016, 08:36 PM)
Did I say there is anything wrong?🙄
I was answering his question how to check how many phase

This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 25 2016, 08:46 PM
ar188
post Dec 25 2016, 08:48 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 25 2016, 08:46 PM)
Did I say there is anything wrong?🙄
I was answering his question how to check how many phase
yes your remark very useful,
might as well say wow its a white plastic box.
Rusty Nail
post Dec 25 2016, 08:49 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 25 2016, 08:09 PM)
1HP aircon only 3A lo.. (700W or so)

your house is 60 or 100A

5 1HP aircon also no problem lo.
Forgot to add fridge, washing machine, 700w mustard race pc 24/7
idoblu
post Dec 25 2016, 08:50 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 25 2016, 08:48 PM)
yes your remark very useful,
might as well say wow its a white plastic box.
I can't help it if you can't read
Whether it's useful or not is not my problem

Another person was asking how many phase TS has
TS asked how to check
I'm just telling him how

This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 25 2016, 08:51 PM
ar188
post Dec 25 2016, 08:53 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Dec 25 2016, 08:49 PM)
if the house electrical cant take those loads mention and 3 aircons, better sell of the useless house. biggrin.gif
ledtechn
post Dec 25 2016, 08:53 PM

60 posts

I think Can. Just make sure the source is from different circuit breaker that other airconds are connected to
mrbs84
post Dec 25 2016, 08:55 PM

316 posts

My house 1 phase, 5 ac. No problem
TSdarien99
post Dec 25 2016, 08:56 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Dec 25 2016, 08:49 PM)
2 refrigerators, 1 washing machine, 3 units pc
TSdarien99
post Dec 25 2016, 09:03 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(dapfanbodo @ Dec 25 2016, 08:57 PM)
What's the total HP of all the 3 units ? The 4th unit what HP ? Are you going on all 4 at the same time ?

If living hall one is 1.5hp while the other 2 are 1hp then no issue to have a 4th 1hp unit.

But I doubt your living hall one operating whole night ?
living hall one is 1.5hp, my room 1hp, another room 1.5hp, plan to get another 2hp aircond, normally 2~3 units at the same time, but if got relatives come, will on 4 units at the same time hmm.gif
Mackiddo
post Dec 25 2016, 09:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dapfanbodo @ Dec 25 2016, 08:54 PM)
You install 3phase electric when you need 3phase power equipment not because you need to increase max load of electrical appliances.

Don't simply teach if you donno.
adding aircond is not increasing the load?

maybe you are an expert, where else i'm just someone who have design and start up a few Cogen plants. Yeah, so please go ahead and explain to me the whole electrical loading concept again.
Mackiddo
post Dec 25 2016, 09:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dapfanbodo @ Dec 25 2016, 09:00 PM)
Some Bodo simply wanna act smart talking about 3phase electric.

Household appliances where need 3phase.
so we are suppose to listen to some school dropped out like you then?
kcchong2000
post Dec 25 2016, 09:18 PM

189 posts

Some Bodo simply wanna act smart talking about 3phase electric.

unless he have a lift in his house whistling.gif
azbro
post Dec 25 2016, 09:26 PM

4,403 posts

Because of one person, whole Taman Blackout

JK
Rusty Nail
post Dec 25 2016, 09:29 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

It's about balancing the load
tvcat
post Dec 25 2016, 09:31 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,920 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Dec 25 2016, 08:05 PM)
Call certified electrician. Those aircon technicians will always say can can. They just split wires ok done.
Where to hire certified electrician?
lemon5969
post Dec 25 2016, 09:40 PM

412 posts

make sure the cable at switch breaker can sustain the max load. if not, the cable will heat and maybe burn or short and faiya.. but dont worry the breaker will trip before that unless the breaker already change to high load.. and still using old small cable
Xcal
post Dec 25 2016, 09:49 PM

149 posts

You do have 3 phase equipment maybe those needing those 400 plus volt eq in factory. But in house if TNB just give single phase means we only have certain Max amount of load depending on the Max current through that single phase. Additional phase is just like adding a parallel load sharing thing. Right?

From tnb website:
Single-phase vs. Three-phase Supply
A single-phase meter measures usage from a 230 volt supply through two (2) wires, while a 3-phase meter measures usage from a 415 volt supply through four (4) wires.

You are advised to change from a single-phase supply to a 3-phase supply when your household electricity load exceeds 10kW or 50A. Generally, you should change to a 3-phase supply if you have three (3) or more air-conditioners in your home.

Upgrading to a 3-phase supply will increase stability and reliability of electricity supply to your premises.

This post has been edited by Xcal: Dec 25 2016, 09:52 PM
rodeo_iii
post Dec 25 2016, 10:14 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Xcal @ Dec 25 2016, 09:49 PM)
You do have 3 phase equipment maybe those needing those 400 plus volt eq in factory. But in house if TNB just give single phase means we only have certain Max amount of load depending on the Max current through that single phase. Additional phase is just like adding a parallel load sharing thing. Right?
From tnb website:
A single-phase meter measures usage from a 230 volt supply through two (2) wires, while a 3-phase meter measures usage from a 415 volt supply through four (4) wires.

You are advised to change from a single-phase supply to a 3-phase supply when your household electricity load exceeds 10kW or 50A. Generally, you should change to a 3-phase supply if you have three (3) or more air-conditioners in your home.

Upgrading to a 3-phase supply will increase stability and reliability of electricity supply to your premises.
Agreed, we talking about power efficiency no doubt u can run 5 ac on single phase cabling, but your usage may be metered with error. my old house use to run 2 x 2hp, 1x 1.5 and another 1 hp unit but just for few hrs its still ok on single phase. But no doubt 3 phase is way forward for any future upgrade. Jus a humble opinion
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Dec 25 2016, 10:21 PM

165 posts

Circuit breaker can tahan

But cables can or not

Later bakar
joe_mamak
post Dec 25 2016, 10:23 PM

363 posts

Take a photo of the meter, see how many cables are going in.

To tell whether one phase or three phase.
Johannlo
post Dec 25 2016, 10:34 PM

Kuli
372 posts

my friend house run 4 (2 2hp 2 1hp) on a single phase with almost 24/7 operation. the whole DB box on fire.
tenable
post Dec 25 2016, 10:51 PM

211 posts

Sorry this question may be out of topic...how much to upgrade from single phase to 3 phase?need to call tnb to do that?
Tuah_3
post Dec 26 2016, 12:25 AM

98 posts

there is no barang elektrik that use 3phase...

if a house use 3phase it will split trough the house... 1phase max 4ac with fride, etc...etc...

i know, my house use 3phase

idoblu
post Dec 26 2016, 09:49 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Dec 25 2016, 10:23 PM)
Take a photo of the meter, see how many cables are going in. 

To tell whether one phase or three phase.
Please see page 1 but after mechanical engineer will come ketuk you .....say " what's wrong with one phase?"

This post has been edited by idoblu: Dec 26 2016, 09:53 AM
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:10 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Xcal @ Dec 25 2016, 09:49 PM)
From tnb website:

hmm...that must be a very big house that load exceed 50A

im no electrical engineer but i do a rough calculation. with the label on aircond compressor.

you need to run like duno how many aircond it only exceed 50A. base on 2HP AC
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:12 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Dec 25 2016, 10:34 PM)
my friend house run 4 (2 2hp 2 1hp) on a single phase with almost 24/7 operation. the whole DB box on fire.
means his DB box there all those circuit breakers thing isn't rated for that high load

in constant high load that exceed the capability of the switch/breaker creates heat.

thats what happen to my house.

2nd it have nothing to do with single phase.
hcmalaya
post Dec 26 2016, 10:17 AM

61 posts

I got all 5 start same time no trip
duckhole
post Dec 26 2016, 10:18 AM

379 posts

1 phase 63 Amp is more than enough

joe_mamak
post Dec 26 2016, 12:33 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 26 2016, 09:49 AM)
Please see page 1 but after mechanical engineer will come ketuk you .....say " what's wrong with one phase?"
Let anyone come ketuk lah.

deodorant
post Dec 26 2016, 12:39 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:10 AM)
you need to run like duno how many aircond it only exceed 50A. base on 2HP AC

easy to exceed for induction stove user. Example this 3zone hob consumes 32a peak.

http://www.hoekee.com.sg/p-1659-3zoneinduc...hobti1028b.html
Boom Mortar
post Dec 26 2016, 12:39 PM

227 posts

paste sticker will do
TheModerator
post Dec 26 2016, 12:42 PM

22 posts

Single phase 100amp can easily support 4 AC

But got money better over kill it with 3 phase since we do not know your actual usage or intended HP of AC
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 12:44 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 26 2016, 12:39 PM)
easy to exceed for induction stove user. Example this 3zone hob consumes 32a peak.

rite...now you are findding ways to exceed it

QUOTE(TheModerator @ Dec 26 2016, 12:42 PM)
Single phase 100amp can easily support 4 AC

But got money better over kill it with 3 phase since we do not know your actual usage or intended HP of AC
isn't normal household single phase is about 63amps?

just have a check on my house safety switch and is rated 63amps
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 12:46 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Dec 26 2016, 10:17 AM)
I got all 5 start same time no trip
my record were

2 x 1.5hp and 2 x 1hp running at the same time + on heater for 15minutes.

plus some gadget charging and my desktop
tutuyao
post Dec 26 2016, 12:59 PM

noob
876 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Dec 25 2016, 08:08 PM)
It will not trip la. Especially if you have those inverter air cons.

Aircon take a lot of power during startup. Those old days aircon they will start stop often. Unless all your 4 air con starts at the same exact time then it might have issue. Just make sure the surge will not exceed the MCB rating lo. Don't fall for the bullshit that we need to change to 3 ph. They just milking money.
eh bro, what's the different between 3 phase and single phase?
TheModerator
post Dec 26 2016, 01:00 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 26 2016, 12:44 PM)

Yeah, usual is single phase 60amp

But now got single phase 100amp

Mine is 100amp, single phase.

AC 6 biji all ok.
squarepilot
post Dec 26 2016, 01:05 PM

1,075 posts

currently using 3 units at home, plan to install another unit, will tripping the circuit breaker anot? anyone  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(darien99 @ Dec 25 2016, 09:03 PM)
living hall one is 1.5hp, my room 1hp, another room 1.5hp, plan to get another 2hp aircond, normally 2~3 units at the same time, but if got relatives come, will on 4 units at the same time  hmm.gif
breakdown assuming using Acson aircond (the booklet just beside me).

1HP = running Amp = 4A
1.5HP = running Amp = 6A
2 HP = running Amp = 10A

total aircond running Current = 26A.

if you factor in fridge, cooker, iron, water heater confirm around 15A. very high possibility will trip if you currently on 40A main breaker

Your breaker size if 40A, then recommended to change to 3 phase 400V. (overall cost confirm more than 3k cause you need to change the whole incoming wiring and pay expensive fee to TNB for upgrading)

NOT RECOMMENDED TO CHANGE TO 60A Single phase breaker unless you double cheek the cable size is sufficient. ( I know some contractor especially aircond will ask you do like this but better not to take the risk)

If your breaker is currently using 60A SP. then should be sufficient

total 6HP =5kW

You install 3phase electric when you need 3phase power equipment not because you need to increase max load of electrical appliances.

3 phase 60A and 1 Phase 60A have big difference bro

3 Phase 60A can take in at least double the electrical load

This post has been edited by squarepilot: Dec 26 2016, 11:02 PM
squarepilot
post Dec 26 2016, 01:09 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 26 2016, 12:44 PM)

depends. some use 40Amp breaker.

those using 100A single phase breaker is bull shit. TNB where got 100A SP Meter? Max they give you is 60A SP meter only. 3 phase 100 CT meter got la
SUSVape [On]
post Dec 26 2016, 01:10 PM

1,098 posts

This.

Only bungalow/semi D need 3 phase for future proof.
SUSVape [On]
post Dec 26 2016, 01:12 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 26 2016, 12:39 PM)

Impressive 3 stove switched on at the same time.
squarepilot
post Dec 26 2016, 01:14 PM

1,075 posts

careful on that. if TS using 40A breaker size i can confirm GG will trip anytime.

60A should be no problem.
DarkNite
post Dec 26 2016, 01:26 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Subang Nuclear Reactor @ Dec 25 2016, 10:21 PM)
Circuit breaker can tahan

But cables can or not

Later bakar
This!

It is the cables that will burn and create fire hazards.

Yes, can support 4 x 2hp aircond but what else is in the house?

It is cheaper to upgrade or get proper electrician to check on the wires and loading then burn the home down.
cygenus
post Dec 26 2016, 02:00 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(darien99 @ Dec 25 2016, 09:03 PM)
living hall one is 1.5hp, my room 1hp, another room 1.5hp, plan to get another 2hp aircond, normally 2~3 units at the same time, but if got relatives come, will on 4 units at the same time  hmm.gif
Assume in total you have 6HP of airconds after adding the new unit.

rule of thumb for aircond power is 1 HP = ~753W

6HP x 753W / (240 V x 0.85 power factor ) = ~22.14 A

So you will have 22.14 A running in total just for the aircond, fridge, PC, TV, smartphone charger etc consume very little power, i assume all turn on together will consume a maximum of 5A, heater will normally consume 9A.

So everything in total will be 22A + 5A + 9A = 36A, so theoretically it should be safe. Aircond compressor / motor is theoretically to spike in initial start up for up to 6 times the normal usage so try to keep your total usage at around 50% of the total supply.

1 thing you have to take note is, your new 2 HP aircond power MUST draw power from new MCBs or that particular power circuit must consume very little power. for this you have to ask the electrician or the aircond guy to do it already.

You can see from your picture there are alot of small small MCBs, lets say there are 20 small MCBs, therefore your DB has 20 power circuits, you should have some spare unused ones, ask the electrician to pull cable and connect to the spare unused 1 and draw power from that spare MCB.
TSdarien99
post Dec 26 2016, 07:16 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(cygenus @ Dec 26 2016, 02:00 PM)
Assume in total you have 6HP of airconds after adding the new unit.

rule of thumb for aircond power is 1 HP = ~753W

6HP x 753W / (240 V x 0.85 power factor ) = ~22.14 A

So you will have 22.14 A running in total just for the aircond, fridge, PC, TV, smartphone charger etc consume very little power, i assume all turn on together will consume a maximum of 5A, heater will normally consume 9A.

So everything in total will be 22A + 5A + 9A = 36A, so theoretically it should be safe. Aircond compressor / motor is theoretically to spike in initial start up for up to 6 times the normal usage so try to keep your total usage at around 50% of the total supply.

1 thing you have to take note is, your new 2 HP aircond power MUST draw power from new MCBs or that particular power circuit must consume very little power. for this you have to ask the electrician or the aircond guy to do it already.

You can see from your picture there are alot of small small MCBs, lets say there are 20 small MCBs, therefore your DB has 20 power circuits, you should have some spare unused ones, ask the electrician to pull cable and connect to the spare unused 1 and draw power from that spare MCB.
ok got it thanks guise notworthy.gif
LaiN87
post Dec 26 2016, 08:25 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,320 posts

QUOTE(tutuyao @ Dec 26 2016, 12:59 PM)
eh bro, what's the different between 3 phase and single phase?
Our loads are all single phase. Very rarely you will have 3 phase air con for residential.

Let's say we 1ph.
Means 63A max like someone said.
(Also depending on cable sizing they did when they wire the house)

If you have 3ph, u theoretically can have 3x the loads.
This means that 63A x 3 = 189A total since what they do is they alternate the loads on 3 diff Electrical lines.

Is like having a 1 lane road vs a 3 lane highway.

But current always flow 2 ways. The neutral line have to be oversized properly too. So in the end might not be 3x max.

Richard
post Dec 26 2016, 09:27 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Dec 26 2016, 08:25 PM)
Our loads are all single phase. Very rarely you will have 3 phase air con for residential.

Let's say we 1ph.
Means 63A max like someone said.
(Also depending on cable sizing they did when they wire the house)

If you have 3ph, u theoretically can have 3x the loads.
This means that 63A x 3 = 189A total since what they do is they alternate the loads on 3 diff Electrical lines.

Is like having a 1 lane road vs a 3 lane highway.

But current always flow 2 ways. The neutral line have to be oversized properly too. So in the end might not be 3x max.
ok..

3 phase supply properly balanced across each phase means no current flows through the Neutral.. The neutral only returns the unbalance current across the phases..

11KV transmission lines is only 3 wires.. It is distributed in Delta with all phase current balanced.. Only when step down by transformer from Delta 11kV/433V Star is where the neutral is introduced where the Neutral is earthed..

From Transformer it goes to a Feeder pillar where there will be an Earth fault protection device before it gets distributed to residential properties where is must also be earthed at the DB.. This is known as a T-T (Terra-Terra) system..

The usual tail into a residential landed property is only 2x25mm(60A) or 2x16mm2(40A) Aluminium cable which only provides you the fuse rated max demand load which is a slow blow high rupture capacity fuse..

This maximum demand can easily be exceeded by the high inrush starting current of inductive motors (your aircon motor)..

3 Phase is the name of an electrical supply.. It can be 3 wire (2 phase lines plus Neutral) or 4 wire (3 Phase lines Plus Neutral) supply..

Single Phase is the name of a electricity supply of a 2 wire (one phase plus Neutral) supply..

If in doubt please get a competent electrical contractor to verify the existing maximum demand to check that your wiring can handle the electrical load..

You can easily overload (think electrical fire) your existing wiring if you change your protection fuse to a higher rating without knowing your maximum demand..

What I am saying is basic electrical common knowledge to all electricians..

If you don't understand what I'm saying please talk to an electrical person who knows something about maximum demand and how to use a clamp on ammeter..

Electricity is not your friend .. It is a known killer held in a copper prison just waiting to kill you..

ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 09:54 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Dec 26 2016, 01:14 PM)
careful on that. if TS using 40A breaker size i can confirm GG will trip anytime.

60A should be no problem.
oh come on, i was running 2KW server (4 GPU each server 950W power draw x 2) thro a 13A extension cord for 2 months 24/7. also use power meter to check.
dont simply scare monger la. use science to count how many Amp per 1HP aircon.. 40amps is alot for 240V, thats nearly 10KW of power.
as long as each 1HP aircon is on one electrical branch it should be ok.
only downside to my extensive server usage was my TNB was over 1.5k per month that two months.. laugh.gif

ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 09:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 26 2016, 09:27 PM)
ok..

3 phase supply properly balanced across each phase means no current flows through the Neutral..  The neutral only returns the unbalance current across the phases..

11KV transmission lines is only 3 wires.. It is distributed in Delta with all phase current balanced.. Only when step down by transformer from Delta 11kV/433V Star is where the neutral is introduced where the Neutral is earthed..

From Transformer it goes to a Feeder pillar where there will be an Earth fault protection device before it gets distributed to residential properties where is must also be earthed at the DB.. This is known as a T-T (Terra-Terra) system..

The usual tail into a residential landed property is only 2x25mm(60A)  or 2x16mm2(40A) Aluminium cable which only provides you the fuse rated max demand load which is a slow blow high rupture capacity fuse..

This maximum demand can easily be exceeded by the high inrush starting current of inductive motors (your aircon motor)..

3 Phase is the name of an electrical supply.. It can be 3 wire (2 phase lines plus Neutral) or 4 wire (3 Phase lines Plus Neutral) supply..

Single Phase is the name of a electricity supply of a 2 wire (one phase plus Neutral) supply..

If in doubt please get a competent electrical contractor to verify the existing maximum demand to check that your wiring can handle the electrical load..

You can easily overload (think electrical fire) your existing wiring if you change your protection fuse to a higher rating without knowing your maximum demand..

If you don't understand what I'm saying please talk to an electrical person who knows something about maximum demand and how to use a clamp on ammeter..

Electricity is not your friend .. It is a known killer held in a copper prison just waiting to kill you..
thats why electical and electronics ppl are 2 different breed.
this is not 80s era aircon le.
nowadays all soft start and what not.
lifeofkuli
post Dec 26 2016, 09:57 PM

97 posts

Careful ts.... better don't
If u wan to try

Pls remove all the plug first
ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 09:58 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Dec 26 2016, 01:26 PM)
This!

It is the cables that will burn and create fire hazards.

Yes, can support 4 x 2hp aircond but what else is in the house?

It is cheaper to upgrade or get proper electrician to check on the wires and loading then burn the home down.
er, you dont run 4 aircons on one branch of the mcb le.. that might be a cause of wire overloading.

idoblu
post Dec 26 2016, 10:02 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

^ mechanical engineer lai liao
lyc1982
post Dec 26 2016, 10:05 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

one of my friends' house has 6 units of aircon..no issue
Richard
post Dec 26 2016, 10:14 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 09:56 PM)
You understand .. but no one knows if he has an inverter unit or a conventional DOL start and that pictures shows a DB with 24 SP mcb's single phase..

I have never seen a single phase DB with so many mcb's..

Add to the fact they're all non branded components easily means if that RCD is defective any surge inrush current from a DOL motor will fuse any of those mcbs short circuit and start an electrical fire..

And it's not all soft start.. There's definitely more conventional DOL AC motors out there than inverters..

ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 10:21 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 26 2016, 10:14 PM)
You understand .. but no one knows if he has an inverter unit or a conventional DOL start and that pictures shows  a DB with 24 SP mcb's single phase..

Add to the fact they're all non branded components easily means if that RCD is defective any surge inrush current from a DOL motor will fuse any of those mcbs  short circuit and start an electrical fire..

And it's not all soft start.. There's definitely more conventional DOL AC motors out there than inverters..
true, inverter is safer, on this issue.

but also for basic units that is not 20years old,
the compressor motor drive circuits also got ICs, current limiters and various diodes le.

and! when you turn on the aircon, the compressor dont kick in immediately.. its usually 5-10 seconds later than the blower unit starts to run.. and for that 0.1 second during motor start you dont draw 10amps and blow everything on your drive circuit PCB!

bakry
post Dec 26 2016, 10:22 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(Vape On @ Dec 26 2016, 01:12 PM)
Impressive 3 stove switched on at the same time.
When I cook, I got use three stove at once. Multi tasking. But using gas stove la. Hahah
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:22 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 09:56 PM)
er...those soft start u mention does it applies to newer non-inverter AC?

but then....AC is a very long lasting thing. my house still got NATIONAL name tag AC
ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 10:24 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:22 PM)
er...those soft start u mention does it applies to newer non-inverter AC?

but then....AC is a very long lasting thing. my house still got NATIONAL name tag AC
sure, refer to my answer above.. compressor kick in later.

anyway if you have 4-5 units of NATIONAL aircon, perhaps you wanna upgrade them to more efficient and higher EER or BTU rating.. 1HP aircon now 800-900 can get liao..got brand ones. biggrin.gif
kuya
post Dec 26 2016, 10:24 PM

73 posts

add another breaker laa... 20A rating
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:25 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:24 PM)
sure, refer to my answer above.. compressor kick in later.

anyway if you have 4-5 units of NATIONAL aircon, perhaps you wanna upgrade them to more efficient and higher EER or BTU rating.. 1HP aircon now 800-900 can get liao..got brand ones. biggrin.gif
laugh.gif well.. is only 1 unit and that 1 unit is in guest room

rarely switch on 1 so....ok loh dint touch
haturaya
post Dec 26 2016, 10:27 PM

2,554 posts

I've been using 4 inverter ac (1x2hp & 3 x 1hp) for the past 4 years. No issue except have to pay a lot to TNB whistling.gif Just make sure it's connected from different MCB.

No sign of wiring overheating or what so ever. icon_rolleyes.gif (Checked with FLIR thermal camera)
ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 10:29 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Dec 26 2016, 10:27 PM)
I've been using 4 inverter ac (1x2hp & 3 x 1hp) for the  past 4 years. No issue except have to pay a lot to TNB  whistling.gif  Just make sure it's connected from different MCB.

No sign of wiring overheating or what so ever.  icon_rolleyes.gif  (Checked with FLIR thermal camera)
fuyoh use FLIR for hotspots summore.. biggrin.gif
haturaya
post Dec 26 2016, 10:31 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:29 PM)
fuyoh use FLIR for hotspots summore.. biggrin.gif
Borrow from my brother. His company have some project with TNB that uses FLIR. thumbup.gif

So far, everything normal. No sign of wiring overheating even though 4 ac are on simultaneously.

And I use this to check each AC current / load. All good thumbup.gif

I'm not worried about lighting load as 100% LED light use throughout my house. Too little load. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by haturaya: Dec 26 2016, 10:34 PM
Richard
post Dec 26 2016, 10:32 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:21 PM)
true, inverter is safer, on this issue.

but also for basic units that is not 20years old,
the compressor motor drive circuits also got ICs, current limiters and various diodes le.

and! when you turn on the aircon, the compressor dont kick in immediately.. its usually 5-10 seconds later than the blower unit starts to run.. and for that 0.1 second during motor start you dont draw 10amps and blow everything on your drive circuit PCB!
We're not talking about a single unit compressor.. The issue is maximum demand..

The maximum current load as in he already running 3 of his existing aircons couple that to the existing running load (refrigerator, lights, sockets, etc) and now his compressor kicks in..

This transient inrush will cause arching to the mcb's contact points..

It doesn't have to happen immediately when the contacts are still new or the spring tension is still good.. This will continue until a weak link in that electrical system fails..

You are an intelligent person.. What would your advice be to this situation?
ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 10:34 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 26 2016, 10:32 PM)
We're not talking about a single unit compressor.. The issue is maximum demand..

The maximum current load as in he already running 3 of his existing aircons couple that to the existing running load (refrigerator, lights, sockets, etc) and now his compressor kicks in..

This transient inrush will cause arching to the mcb's contact points..

It doesn't have to happen immediately when the contacts are still new or the spring tension is still good.. This will continue until a weak link in that electrical system fails..

You are an intelligent person.. What would your advice be to this situation?
use original european brand MCB!. all the concerns you mention are valid ...and using original branded components should perform at rated spec over time. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 10:37 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Dec 26 2016, 10:31 PM)
Borrow from my brother. His company have some project with TNB that uses FLIR.  thumbup.gif

So far, everything normal. No sign of wiring overheating even though 4 ac are on simultaneously.

And I use this to check each AC current / load. All good  thumbup.gif

I'm not worried about lighting load as 100% LED light use throughout my house. Too little load. thumbup.gif
yes i got exactly this lelong unit.. biggrin.gif haha

am surprised 1HP aircon doesnt draw much energy if you set temp at 26-27C compared to 20-22C range!
haturaya
post Dec 26 2016, 10:40 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:37 PM)
yes i got exactly this lelong unit.. biggrin.gif  haha

am surprised 1HP aircon doesnt draw much energy if you set temp at 26-27C compared to 20-22C range!
Yup, setting temperature plays big role too. As for me, 24-25C is the sweet spot. Comfy, not too cold, not too warm. Just nice. 3 bedroom ac 9pm till 6am daily. Monthly TNB bill between RM270 (rainy season) - RM350 (hot / dry season) thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by haturaya: Dec 26 2016, 10:41 PM
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:41 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Dec 26 2016, 10:27 PM)
I've been using 4 inverter ac (1x2hp & 3 x 1hp) for the  past 4 years. No issue except have to pay a lot to TNB  whistling.gif  Just make sure it's connected from different MCB.

No sign of wiring overheating or what so ever.  icon_rolleyes.gif  (Checked with FLIR thermal camera)
wah...ni next level

thermal camera also come out
QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:37 PM)
yes i got exactly this lelong unit.. biggrin.gif  haha

hmm.gif but2....26 ~27 macam langsung tak sejuk bang
ar188
post Dec 26 2016, 10:42 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:41 PM)
wah...ni next level

just giving a bigger contrast in power consumption between the 2 settings. but as mention above 24-25c is ok, compressor dont kick in so often too which might draw more current and bigger tnb bill.
haturaya
post Dec 26 2016, 10:43 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:41 PM)
wah...ni next level

Borrow from my brother. Can't afford to buy one. FLIR super expensive. shakehead.gif

Try not to use thick blanket. Just thin blanket will do. 24-25C is nice setting. Also depends on the room. Make sure no gap that cold air can 'escape' whistling.gif
squarepilot
post Dec 26 2016, 10:58 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 09:54 PM)
oh come on, i was running 2KW  server (4 GPU each server 950W power draw x 2)  thro a 13A extension cord for 2 months 24/7. also use power meter to check.
dont simply scare monger la. use science to count how many Amp per 1HP aircon.. 40amps is alot for 240V, thats nearly 10KW of power.
as long as each 1HP aircon is on one electrical branch it should be ok.
only downside to my extensive server usage was my TNB was over 1.5k per month that two months..  laugh.gif
40A as main breaker Tnb incoming size. Branch MCB is rated 15a for old ones and 20/30a for newer MCB.

I already calculate on my previous post nicely in my previous reply to TS. You can counter check if there is any problem.

He wants to add additional 2 hp. That's my main concern

This post has been edited by squarepilot: Dec 26 2016, 11:02 PM
SUSSirmacai
post Dec 26 2016, 11:05 PM

229 posts

4 aircond? Can no problem. But is it same time using all of the aircond?
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 11:46 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Dec 26 2016, 10:43 PM)
Borrow from my brother. Can't afford to buy one. FLIR super expensive.  shakehead.gif

Try not to use thick blanket. Just thin blanket will do. 24-25C is nice setting. Also depends on the room. Make sure no gap that cold air can 'escape'  whistling.gif
laugh.gif hahaha ok la

no money to ensure no gap now
cangkui
post Dec 27 2016, 11:19 AM

217 posts

do you mind to elaborate on the "3 phase power equipment".. what are the things that needed for 3 phase? thanks in advance... im noob in electrical..
TSdarien99
post Dec 27 2016, 11:28 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 26 2016, 10:14 PM)
You understand .. but no one knows if he has an inverter unit or a conventional DOL start and that pictures shows  a DB with 24 SP mcb's single phase..

Add to the fact they're all non branded components easily means if that RCD is defective any surge inrush current from a DOL motor will fuse any of those mcbs  short circuit and start an electrical fire..

u mean a DB with 24 SP mcbs is pretty rare ah? is that mean install another aircond sure got no problem? my DB can handle it? icon_question.gif
Revamperz
post Dec 27 2016, 11:29 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

my house 1 phase 7 aircons + autogate. still alive here. true story.
Richard
post Dec 27 2016, 12:53 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(darien99 @ Dec 27 2016, 11:28 AM)
u mean a DB with 24 SP mcbs is pretty rare ah? is that mean install another aircond sure got no problem? my DB can handle it?  icon_question.gif
I suppose so but difficult to isolate if there's a problem ..

The standard practice is to split the load into 2 DB's zones both with a DP RCD protection..

Example :

Say you have a double storey house.. Bottom is one primary DB and 1st floor the Secondary DB

KWH meter to 40A DP (double pole) Isolator split to two 40A DP RCD's (two DB's) with 14 Way outgoing mcb's each..

That way if there's a fault its easier to identify problem mcb circuit..

It's also easier to ammeter clamp on to check the maximum demand current at a time everyone is home kitchen cooking, hot water shower and living room ac on at the same time ..

The peak maximum demand bell curve is usually at around 7am and 7pm for residential..

Another way if it's a single storey is to zone the house into front and back areas and rearrange the wiring accordingly..

Seeing that you already have so many circuits its actually very simple to identify lighting and power ....

Then divide into separate zones and DB .. Both DB's can be next to each other but independently isolated in case of a fault..
max_cavalera
post Dec 27 2016, 12:57 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(darien99 @ Dec 25 2016, 10:03 PM)
Wow ur electricity bill one mo th how much bro
TSdarien99
post Dec 27 2016, 01:04 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Dec 27 2016, 12:57 PM)
Wow ur electricity bill one mo th how much bro
won't exceed rm300 laugh.gif
LaiN87
post Dec 27 2016, 08:51 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,320 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 26 2016, 09:27 PM)
ok..

3 phase supply properly balanced across each phase means no current flows through the Neutral..  The neutral only returns the unbalance current across the phases..

The usual tail into a residential landed property is only 2x25mm(60A)  or 2x16mm2(40A) Aluminium cable which only provides you the fuse rated max demand load which is a slow blow high rupture capacity fuse..

3 phase supply properly balanced across each phase means no current flows through the Neutral.. The neutral only returns the unbalance current across the phases..
You can try to balance all the feeders you want but in the house it will never be balanced.

That's why I am saying. Unless all aircons are turning on at the same exact time, it's not going to burn anything.
It's back to the question I'm telling that doesn't mean if you have 6 air-cons you would need to immediately convert into 3 phase supply.
Especially now with inverter based air-con, it will not only be 0-1 (off-on) which contributes to the high inrush.

In the end, the electrical contractor might just want money and ask you to convert and doesn't think in your best interest.

I don't think you know your basic electrical common knowledge as well. My fundamental might be flawed cos might gave back some to the Uni but I don't think you're right either.
3 phase can only mean 3 phase. It can only mean 3 phase 3 wire (3 phase without neutral) or 3 phase 4 wire (3 phase with neutral).

Agreed.

Some readings for others: http://www.renorepairs.my/library/electric...d-single-phase/

This post has been edited by LaiN87: Dec 27 2016, 08:52 PM
Richard
post Dec 27 2016, 10:04 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Dec 27 2016, 08:51 PM)

I don't think you know your basic electrical common knowledge as well. My fundamental might be flawed cos might gave back some to the Uni but I don't think you're right either.
3 phase can only mean 3 phase. It can only mean 3 phase 3 wire (3 phase without neutral) or 3 phase 4 wire (3 phase with neutral).

I have no arguments with your comments except to clarify my initial statement on 3 phase supply wrt 3ph kWH meters..

The 3Phase kWH meter is always 3Ph4wire

However u don't need to pull in all 4 wires (3 phase voltages and the Neutral) into the residence if you can satisfy your maximum demand with 3 wires (2 phase Voltages and the Neutral) (as residential use almost exclusively single phase load)..

Saves your money..

here in malaysia

3 Phase is 415V (phase voltage) as opposed to Single phase is 240V(line voltage)..

It's only the name of the supply voltage (415V phase-phase)..

I hope thats clear and you're welcome to comment further..
jAkUn
post Dec 27 2016, 10:08 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 27 2016, 10:04 PM)
I have no arguments with your comments except to clarify my initial statement on 3 phase supply wrt 3ph kWH meters..

The 3Phase kWH meter is always 3Ph4wire

However u don't need to pull in all 4 wires (3 phase voltages and the Neutral) into the residence if  you can satisfy your maximum demand with 3 wires (2 phase Voltages and the Neutral) (as residential use almost exclusively single phase load)..

Saves your money..

here in malaysia

3 Phase is 415V (phase voltage) as opposed to Single phase is 240V(line voltage)..

It's only the name of the supply voltage (415V phase-phase)..

I hope thats clear and you're welcome to comment further..
so..
is it much safer and money saving to use 3phase instead of single phase?
Richard
post Dec 27 2016, 10:21 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(jAkUn @ Dec 27 2016, 10:08 PM)
so..
is it much safer and money saving to use 3phase instead of single phase?
Just to be clear ..

For single phase residential loads..

Your maximum load is limited to the size of the electrical conductor supplied into your home..

The general max size is usually 2x25mm2 Aluminium Overhead cable which gives you a maximum 60A single phase..

This is also why you must not replace the 60A HRC fuse to 100A because that fuse will not blow before the cable starts to burn..

If you need more load then pull in another wire which will give you an additional 60A..

No a 3 Phase kWH meter will cost you more than double the price of a single phase kWH meter and it uses additional cable..

You only pull in another wire if you exceed the existing ..
jAkUn
post Dec 27 2016, 10:29 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Dec 27 2016, 10:21 PM)
Just to be clear ..

For single phase residential loads..

Your maximum load is limited to the size of the electrical conductor supplied into your home..

The general max size is usually 2x25mm2 Aluminium Overhead cable which gives you a maximum 60A single phase..

This is also why you must not replace the 60A HRC fuse to 100A because that fuse will not blow before the cable starts to burn..

If you need more load then pull in another wire which will give you an additional 60A..

No a 3 Phase kWH meter will cost you more than double the price of a single phase kWH meter and it uses additional cable..

You only pull in another wire if you exceed the existing ..
i see..
its because i see lots of comments, 3 phase save tnb bills a lot when using a number of airconds.
TSdarien99
post Jan 9 2017, 05:31 PM

449 posts

thanks guise, additional aircond running without problem thumbup.gif
hollyweed
post Jan 9 2017, 05:33 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(darien99 @ Dec 25 2016, 08:27 PM)
here u go
ini machiem 1 phase. takut trip. better dont.
hollyweed
post Jan 9 2017, 05:34 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(darien99 @ Jan 9 2017, 05:31 PM)
thanks guise, additional aircond running without problem  thumbup.gif
oh dah install ke. haha ok ignore my previous reply rclxms.gif
Zot
post Jan 9 2017, 05:44 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(hollyweed @ Jan 9 2017, 05:34 PM)
oh dah install ke. haha ok ignore my previous reply  rclxms.gif
Normal 3 pin plug can be used run 1HP air-con without problem. Higher power need to use 15A socket.

If not mistaken a 20A MCB is used for 2x13A sockets. 1HP aircon is using no more than 1kW. So, each MCB can support 2 x 1HP aircon without problem. If you need to add 1 more 1HP aircon, just make sure the power is taken from another MCB, i.e. using 3-pin socket on separate circuit.

As long as total current usage is less than 63A (power rating for 1 phase), there is no need to use 3-phase supply.

0.0355sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:09 PM