> izzit safe to add additional unit aircond at home Chat

herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:10 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Xcal @ Dec 25 2016, 09:49 PM)
You do have 3 phase equipment maybe those needing those 400 plus volt eq in factory. But in house if TNB just give single phase means we only have certain Max amount of load depending on the Max current through that single phase. Additional phase is just like adding a parallel load sharing thing. Right?
From tnb website:
Single-phase vs. Three-phase Supply
A single-phase meter measures usage from a 230 volt supply through two (2) wires, while a 3-phase meter measures usage from a 415 volt supply through four (4) wires.

You are advised to change from a single-phase supply to a 3-phase supply when your household electricity load exceeds 10kW or 50A. Generally, you should change to a 3-phase supply if you have three (3) or more air-conditioners in your home.

Upgrading to a 3-phase supply will increase stability and reliability of electricity supply to your premises.
hmm...that must be a very big house that load exceed 50A

im no electrical engineer but i do a rough calculation. with the label on aircond compressor.

you need to run like duno how many aircond it only exceed 50A. base on 2HP AC
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:12 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Dec 25 2016, 10:34 PM)
my friend house run 4 (2 2hp 2 1hp) on a single phase with almost 24/7 operation. the whole DB box on fire.
means his DB box there all those circuit breakers thing isn't rated for that high load

in constant high load that exceed the capability of the switch/breaker creates heat.

thats what happen to my house.

2nd it have nothing to do with single phase.
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 12:44 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 26 2016, 12:39 PM)
easy to exceed for induction stove user. Example this 3zone hob consumes 32a peak.

http://www.hoekee.com.sg/p-1659-3zoneinduc...hobti1028b.html
rite...now you are findding ways to exceed it

QUOTE(TheModerator @ Dec 26 2016, 12:42 PM)
Single phase 100amp can easily support 4 AC

But got money better over kill it with 3 phase since we do not know your actual usage or intended HP of AC
isn't normal household single phase is about 63amps?

just have a check on my house safety switch and is rated 63amps
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 12:46 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Dec 26 2016, 10:17 AM)
I got all 5 start same time no trip
my record were

2 x 1.5hp and 2 x 1hp running at the same time + on heater for 15minutes.

plus some gadget charging and my desktop
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:22 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 09:56 PM)
thats why electical and electronics ppl are 2 different breed.
this is not 80s era aircon le.
nowadays all soft start and what not.
er...those soft start u mention does it applies to newer non-inverter AC?

but then....AC is a very long lasting thing. my house still got NATIONAL name tag AC
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:25 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:24 PM)
sure, refer to my answer above.. compressor kick in later.

anyway if you have 4-5 units of NATIONAL aircon, perhaps you wanna upgrade them to more efficient and higher EER or BTU rating.. 1HP aircon now 800-900 can get liao..got brand ones. biggrin.gif
laugh.gif well.. is only 1 unit and that 1 unit is in guest room

rarely switch on 1 so....ok loh dint touch
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 10:41 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Dec 26 2016, 10:27 PM)
I've been using 4 inverter ac (1x2hp & 3 x 1hp) for the  past 4 years. No issue except have to pay a lot to TNB  whistling.gif  Just make sure it's connected from different MCB.

No sign of wiring overheating or what so ever.  icon_rolleyes.gif  (Checked with FLIR thermal camera)
wah...ni next level

thermal camera also come out
QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:37 PM)
yes i got exactly this lelong unit.. biggrin.gif  haha

am surprised 1HP aircon doesnt draw much energy if you set temp at 26-27C compared to 20-22C range!
hmm.gif but2....26 ~27 macam langsung tak sejuk bang
herojack41
post Dec 26 2016, 11:46 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Dec 26 2016, 10:43 PM)
Borrow from my brother. Can't afford to buy one. FLIR super expensive.  shakehead.gif

Try not to use thick blanket. Just thin blanket will do. 24-25C is nice setting. Also depends on the room. Make sure no gap that cold air can 'escape'  whistling.gif
laugh.gif hahaha ok la

no money to ensure no gap now

0.0174sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:07 PM