11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

TSAIYH
post Jan 10 2017, 08:25 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 10 2017, 08:18 PM)
Guys, I've been doing some thinking, and it seems like to get a high annualised return it is better to focus on only a few funds, rather than having a portfolio of 8-15 funds.

Currently I have nine (2 MY, 1 Asia, 2APAC, 1 GC, 1 EU, 1 US and 1 Global).

Of course in such a portfolio as above it would be hard to make a net negative return annualised, but the returns will be cancelled out by over and under performing funds and you get a mediocre value.

Would it be better to consolidate them to 3-4 funds max? I'm thanking 1 MY, 1 APAC, 1 Global/US/EU and 1 Emerging Markets (discrete case or general case). MY and APAC to be permanent funds, the other two to be tactical with periodic revisions as and when needed.

Of course I won't change things now, I bought 9 to learn about the various regions. But in a year's time I would want to consolidate things to maximise and streamline my returns.

Would love to hear from those who have and believe in smaller portfolio vs those who have and believe in a larger portfolio.
If you can consolidate and isolate a certain funds that can be diverse in region coverage while having good performance, please share with us on your thought process on selecting funds. smile.gif

Because most performing funds are very focus in certain region/sector or due to forex factors, at least thats what I observe smile.gif

If you can compare to its peers for their fundamental within the same league and pick the best in each league, I believe you will be doing good smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 10 2017, 08:55 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jan 10 2017, 08:52 PM)
I'll call up FSM tomorrow and ask them
Actualy FSM also only take the FFS from CIMB side, which CIMB itself have not publish the december version as showed below

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 10 2017, 08:52 PM)
I am not working in FSM, but I guess, I would just takes a few days to update into the system ONCE they received it from the source

btw, the source is also having Nov 2016 version-leh.
TSAIYH
post Jan 10 2017, 10:50 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Jan 10 2017, 10:45 PM)
Guys,

I was just looking at the cash management records ( https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/trust...howHistorical=Y ) that even after minus the 0.4% management fees, it's still at near 3%. Maybank offers 12 month rate at 3.10. Is it a good location to park cash while waiting for something to buy? Thanks.
Maybank FD you need to park your fund for 12 months, premature upliftment will reduce your interest.

CMF follows unit trust NAV movement except that it keeps going up in the rate of board rate FD, you can put in and withdraw anytime along with the interest smile.gif

by the way the NAV is already net of Management fee, so the interest rate you see is what you will get smile.gif

You may also consider Maybank eGIA which currently offer 3.55% p.a.. and it works like a quasi saving account smile.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Jan 10 2017, 11:28 PM
TSAIYH
post Jan 10 2017, 11:00 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(kd88 @ Jan 10 2017, 10:53 PM)
Eastspring smallcap drops a lot due to distribution. How long can I get back my distributed extra unit?
Have been waiting that for 2 weeks dy, probably another 1 to 2 weeks sweat.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 12:02 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 10 2017, 11:46 PM)
What do you mean? Your dividend still not yet distributed back? I thought it gets reinvested on that same day it is distributed?

Please clarify. TQ!
It is distributed and reinvested on the same day, yeah mostly but thats not the point laugh.gif

We are still awaiting to receive the additional unit, probably will receive it by this week tongue.gif

QUOTE(fense @ Jan 10 2017, 11:48 PM)
every quater of half quater u will received a email abt platform cahrges. It will auto sell ur CMF and pay it. if u have no money in CMF, they selll ur bond>balance>equity.
The platform fee is each quarter, and thats if you invest any bond fund in FSM, not for CMF itself

So you can safely park you money in CMF smile.gif

Of course if you invest bond fund in FMS, the platform fee will be deducted from CMF
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 12:17 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 11 2017, 12:12 AM)
When is the quarter? March? Will they send email before/after deducting?
Q: WHEN DO I NEED TO MAKE PAYMENT FOR THE BOND FUND PLATFORM FEE?

A:
The deduction date of the bond fund platform fee is on the 16th of February, May, August and November for the respective quarters as shown in the table below.

Prior to the deduction date, FSM will email an invoice in the end of January, April, July and October to notify account holders about the bond fund platform fees. FSM will not send out physical invoices.

Please ensure that you have sufficient monies in the Cash Management Fund by 12th of the deduction month if you do not wish for the units in the best performing fund to be deducted.

Below is the bond fund platform fee schedule and you may refer to the last column for the deduction date of the bond fund platform fee.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/artic...814/MY/faq3.png
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 12:36 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 11 2017, 12:23 AM)
So if I sell off my bond fund on the 11/2, will I still be charged?
QUOTE(fense @ Jan 11 2017, 12:29 AM)
technically not.
I remember been reading FSM topic about short term investment and long term investment.
You saved the platform chance by keep buying and selling. but you dun knw will you loos the chance of good return, may rebuy in higer price but sold at cheaper price, end up loos more
I sold off my anita last month, but they didnt straight deduct my fee from CMF, guess that as long as you still have fund with FSM, you will still follow the schedule smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 06:09 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 11 2017, 05:54 AM)
You are buying bond fund. If you are holding equity fund then yes. The risk is there.
Did you still kena charge?
Of course will still kena charge, but the time have not reach yet tongue.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 06:45 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Jan 11 2017, 06:37 AM)
The same goes for Esther bond, close to a month already....
That one no eye see doh.gif shakehead.gif

Also waiting laugh.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 08:04 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 10 2017, 10:50 PM)
Maybank FD you need to park your fund for 12 months, premature upliftment will reduce your interest.

CMF follows unit trust NAV movement except that it keeps going up in the rate of board rate FD, you can put in and withdraw anytime along with the interest smile.gif

by the way the NAV is already net of Management fee, so the interest rate you see is what you will get smile.gif

You may also consider Maybank eGIA which currently offer 3.55% p.a.. and it works like a quasi saving account smile.gif
QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Jan 11 2017, 08:00 AM)
Can someone comment if the rates published is net of the management fees OR before the 0.4 ℅ ?
Did you read back the reply? sweat.gif

Or did you read through the info available on the website? sweat.gif

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/trust...terestRates.tpl
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 09:20 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 11 2017, 09:12 AM)
i am intrigue with this other forum you talk about for the third time. are they different than us? how come they get to have interactions with FSM and we dontP
May be you can raise to them to have interaction with lowyat as well? tongue.gif

[基金] Fundsupermart:酒逢知己千杯少,話不投“基”半句多?
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 10:49 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 11 2017, 10:46 AM)
Hi I am starting my first investment and looking for first find to buy. It seems ponzi 1 is most recommmended as first fund but I can't find in FSM list. Can u share wher to buy ponzi 1?
Affin Hwang Select Asia ex Japan Quantum Fund

There are other recommended fund as well, study them before making decision smile.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Jan 11 2017, 10:50 AM
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 11:02 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 11 2017, 10:52 AM)
I c. Is it good for long term investment? My objective is long term. How about kenanga growth? I see some ppl recommmed in here too. I can only start with 1 first haha
Ok thnx.
I will suggest you not to directly invest into equity funds first without understanding what you invest smile.gif

Recommend you to put your fund in Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund first , to generate some stable return in fixed income, while spending some time to understand your possible choice of equity fund investment to prevent rash decision that resulted in dismay losses smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 11:21 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:13 AM)
But it has highest return. And fund is not like stock market where my investment can down to 0 right?
You must also understand the risk of the fund as well

Some funds' having too much risk that dont worth the return

You need to understand more about the performance data as well as their underlying investment philosophy, combined with you understanding on your risk appetite to understand which fund can best make your money work the hardest smile.gif

You want high return, RHB gold and general have 1 year 62% return, but it can go down 62% as well, are you willing to risk putting your money into this kind of instrument? laugh.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 11:26 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:24 AM)
I read a book says long term it will average out. Is it true? So based on your recommend with 10 yrs track record should be not so volatile. As well as my goal in long term invest will further reduce the risk right?
For that you need to understand which fund's region or sector have the future or potential to generate the maximum return you are seeking for, that you need to study it smile.gif

Investing in 1 fund without understanding it, you are at risk in investing in a potential stagnant market that net you miserable return

This post has been edited by AIYH: Jan 11 2017, 11:28 AM
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 01:16 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 11 2017, 12:40 PM)
After taking your advice I read the product sheet of kenanga growth vs affin hwang to understand more and decide to go with affin due to they invest in larger market segment. So the fund manager have flexibility to invest other market if one is going down. For kenanga only invest Malaysia the fund manager will have losing options when Malaysia market down.

Am I doing it right?
Yes smile.gif

Besides ponzi 1, you may compare and consider other funds which cover similarly such as ponzi 2, GEM and other recommended funds smile.gif

QUOTE(iampokemon @ Jan 11 2017, 12:58 PM)
Actually since the market outlook for Asia region is not that satisfying. I am wondering why not purchase funds for specific country instead? Like Japan or China fund. What are the pros and cons you guys see about this?
similar to Malaysia, if the country economy suffer, you have no where to run

If you want to go for single country fund, try set up several funds that represent different countries like china fund, India fund and us fund into one portfolio smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 02:04 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 11 2017, 01:41 PM)
shit have you read through page one? it's all in there!  come on now much as we want to help new investors but there's a fine line between spoon feeding and knowledge sharing.
Chill bro sweat.gif

Middle of the year when I want to start invest, I read up a lot on my own before joining the forum, not sure do the new comer spend the same effort before investing? laugh.gif

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 11 2017, 01:38 PM)
Thnx for clarify. Another question after read the fund fact sheet it mention "as the fund is to achieve medium to long term capital appreciation the fund is not expected to make distribution."

What does this mean? As what I understand from mutual fund is at end of the yr, they will distribute dividend and reinvest back then I will gain in total units. Does this mean I buy 100 units and at end of 10 yr I still remain 100 units? Like that not worth la
Refer to the below:

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 11 2017, 01:47 PM)
Dividend or no dividend it's not important. Why? A fund can give 10% dividend every year and if the NAV never goes back up, dividend is useless. After dividend, your NAV will drop by the same amount.
And add on, when distribution declare, NAV drop, unit gain

When no distribution, nothing change

Distribution or not, your fund value still the same

Ultimately, it is still the fund performance that matters, lousy performing fund with lucrative distribution is like pumping RON 100 into kancil laugh.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 02:07 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 11 2017, 02:01 PM)
Yea actually I read Liao the first few page but due to first time invest need to be sure I understand corrwctly. I am used to the idea of dividend so when it says no distribution make me confuse.

Just to clarify the ponzi 1 is no distribution so it means the NAV will continue up but not like fund with distribution that go up and down every yr right?
Distribution in mutual funds is just a way the fund house bring down the NAV and increase unit circulation, it doesn't change your fund value at all

So distribution do very very little when the fund performance is what it matters smile.gif

Actually ponzi 1 do declare distribution, they just declare it last month smile.gif

You can check the historical distribution smile.gif
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 04:45 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 11 2017, 04:30 PM)
can explain a bit on the capital appreciation?

As long term investor I plan to use the power of compounding but cant understand how it can work in no distribution fund.

I am quite expert in the gain from distribution and no distribution already and understand that they are the same but when compounding comes I canot find the benefit. Plz help me  icon_question.gif

Example with distribution:

I invest 100 unit and gain 10% dividend - next yr I have 110 unit and continue the compound on my unit.

But without distribution,

I invest 100 unit and return is 10% it will only up in the NAV price. I don't actually get any return? SO the next yr I am still with 100 unit and depending on the performance I will only gain when sell. So I cant reinvest my gains for the year? It will be like stock market looking at buy low sell high with no benefit for long term other than hope the asset of the fund to go up?

Maybe I have some concept wrong here.
If no distribution, your unit holding doesn't change, but NAV increase means your fund value increase

For example u use rm 1k bought 2k units at NAV 50 sen each

One year later, nav raise to 54 sen, your fund value now worth 2k times 54 sen equals rm 1080, 8% return, this is capital appreciation in mutual funds
TSAIYH
post Jan 11 2017, 05:09 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(wonglokat @ Jan 11 2017, 04:58 PM)
Fellas,

I'm 25% Malaysia, 63% Asia and 12% US (Manulife). Thinking for the coming months and realized my exposure to developed market is just in a single country. Should I sell that off now with profit and gain exposure to regions CIMB Titans / Aberdeen World invested in? Or add one of those funds to the portfolio?

Bond:EQ % at 28:72 with some cash in CMF.
You can try compare the performance between manulife us, titan and aladin, there are pretty much in sync in trend

Personally I recommend you to keep the Manulife US will do since its risk return ratio and performance are better titan and aladin given their same trend

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1442sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:31 AM