FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
Avangelice
Dec 27 2016, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 10:59 PM) Kenanga and EI published the same day price in the evening wor. Unless I am missing something? https://www.kenangainvestors.com.my/KIB/KIB...idual/Home.aspxI guess that means I already know the EI Small Cap and Kenanga Growth price, but pending for the rest tomorrow evening? Also while M2U got it to me at the end of two business days, I don't know about CIMB_Cliks. Ultimately I guess I am just getting excited about nothing...but I just want to see the prices of what I own. I'm sure some of you had the feeling when you got your first investment. I am sorry for spamming, but now I didn't make a new threads. nah don't take it personal bro. we welcome new blood into our group. without new blood we all men will be talking which fund manager has the bigger tits rather than who's got the better fund managing capability. always ask and we will always be there to help.
Ramjade
Dec 27 2016, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 09:13 PM) My question is more about, which NAV? The one published for the day, or the one published on the day? Two different things. The NAV will be publish more or less 2 days later. You CANNOT know the NAV on the day unless you got insider info.
adele123
Dec 27 2016, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 10:59 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Kenanga and EI published the same day price in the evening wor. Unless I am missing something? https://www.kenangainvestors.com.my/KIB/KIB...idual/Home.aspxI guess that means I already know the EI Small Cap and Kenanga Growth price, but pending for the rest tomorrow evening? Also while M2U got it to me at the end of two business days, I don't know about CIMB_Cliks. Ultimately I guess I am just getting excited about nothing...but I just want to see the prices of what I own. I'm sure some of you had the feeling when you got your first investment. I am sorry for spamming, but now I didn't make a new threads. I think you seem to understand but let me explain again. Yes, i guess first time investing you will get more excited, eventually you will get used to it and you won't micro managing it. While it might take 2 days to appear on your FSM holdings, do keep in mind that the price transacted is based on when you pay/did switching. it just take 2 days for you to know at what price you bought. even if the unit price is on FSM, it will take another day for the units to be calculated in your historic transaction, and another day for it to pool into the portfolio holdings total. Yes, i do try to transfer my money into the cash management fund before a long weekend if i can help it, to earn extra few cents interest...  QUOTE(AIYH @ Dec 27 2016, 10:54 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Because not all fund houses publish price at the same pace (kenanga EI and libra published price on second working day morning, hwang cimb and am published on second working day evening, aberdeen published price on third working day morning), so T+2 is about the maximum time for you to get to know a fund's transaction day NAV (T) As long as you place the order and they received your money before working day 3pm, your transaction will be priced on the same day (T) as in the price you will be buying For example, you buy KGF on today (27/12) 12pm, so once the respective fund house (kenanga) publish the price for 27/12, you will know what price you are buying into  T +4 is just the time required for FSM to update your portfolio holdings with what you have bought, but info such as your transaction NAV price and unit bought will be known by T + 2 How fast and soon unit price gets up is not just dependent on fund house. note that non-malaysian funds will take longer to get the NAV price. those global funds will take even longer. While your observations is correct, the reasoning really has more to do with geographical region rather than the fund houses.
Avangelice
Dec 27 2016, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 27 2016, 11:37 PM) The NAV will be publish more or less 2 days later. You CANNOT know the NAV on the day unless you got insider info. humor me for awhile bro. I think they gain nothing by delaying updating the price. in retrospect they would love to have live feed of their NAV but sadly the way unit trust works is the reason why we have forward pricing. correct me if I am wrong, the reason why we have a lag time is because they need to calculate the lost and returns of every investments they make every day and compute the total and divide it into how many units that the fund has. hence the delay because of computation from investments across the globe?
Avangelice
Dec 27 2016, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 27 2016, 11:40 PM) I think you seem to understand but let me explain again. Yes, i guess first time investing you will get more excited, eventually you will get used to it and you won't micro managing it. While it might take 2 days to appear on your FSM holdings, do keep in mind that the price transacted is based on when you pay/did switching. it just take 2 days for you to know at what price you bought. even if the unit price is on FSM, it will take another day for the units to be calculated in your historic transaction, and another day for it to pool into the portfolio holdings total. Yes, i do try to transfer my money into the cash management fund before a long weekend if i can help it, to earn extra few cents interest...  How fast and soon unit price gets up is not just dependent on fund house. note that non-malaysian funds will take longer to get the NAV price. those global funds will take even longer. While your observations is correct, the reasoning really has more to do with geographical region rather than the fund houses. Adele. are you still keeping Malaysian funds atm? how is it going on your end? looks like everything is bleeding
contestchris
Dec 27 2016, 11:47 PM
Ok guys one final question. I guess if a fund price comes out at 5pm same day, it's still T+1 because it is AFTER the 3pm cutoff point...or am I wrong? (Forget about FSM, this is just general)
Because I'm seeing Affin Hwang. They say the fund is T+2 but gets published at 5pm the next day. It only makes sense if anything after the cutoff is one day. Also now I'm even confused more. If Affin Hwang funds are T+2 published on next day 5pm, how did Maybank update my portfolio holdings with the accurate valuation by Thursday when I put in the order on Wednesday? Do they have "early" info, or do they actually update at 5pm in the evening as well when the fund houses publish their price updates?
contestchris
Dec 27 2016, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:42 PM) humor me for awhile bro. I think they gain nothing by delaying updating the price. in retrospect they would love to have live feed of their NAV but sadly the way unit trust works is the reason why we have forward pricing. correct me if I am wrong, the reason why we have a lag time is because they need to calculate the lost and returns of every investments they make every day and compute the total and divide it into how many units that the fund has. hence the delay because of computation from investments across the globe? Kenanga and EI update the same time as the Malaysian markets close. Why do they need to calculate anything? It's all done in Excel (I can confirm they use Excel, nothing more). The model has formulas. They just take the live values from Bursa and as the markets close they have the NAV instantly.
Avangelice
Dec 27 2016, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 11:47 PM) Ok guys one final question. I guess if a fund price comes out at 5pm same day, it's still T+1 because it is AFTER the 3pm cutoff point...or am I wrong? (Forget about FSM, this is just general) Because I'm seeing Affin Hwang. They say the fund is T+2 but gets published at 5pm the next day. It only makes sense if anything after the cutoff is one day. Also now I'm even confused more. If Affin Hwang funds are T+2 published on next day 5pm, how did Maybank update my portfolio holdings with the accurate valuation by Thursday when I put in the order on Wednesday? Do they have "early" info, or do they actually update at 5pm in the evening as well when the fund houses publish their price updates? depending on which funds. some funds like fixed income funds are updated daily. for other funds I never got the latest updated price through that method. most likely the reason I posted up a few posts above.
Avangelice
Dec 27 2016, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 11:50 PM) Kenanga and EI update the same time as the Malaysian markets close. Why do they need to calculate anything? It's all done in Excel (I can confirm they use Excel, nothing more). The model has formulas. They just take the live values from Bursa and as the markets close they have the NAV instantly. because global economies have different time difference as compared to funds being local? and I'm not mistaken EI, AmAsia and AFFIN hwang fund managers are local Malaysians.
contestchris
Dec 27 2016, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 27 2016, 11:52 PM) because global economies have different time difference as compared to funds being local? and I'm not mistaken EI, AmAsia and AFFIN hwang fund managers are local Malaysians. You're saying there's a lag time because things need to be computed. I'm saying by right there is no lag time for computation with proof of Kenanga and EI. Of course lag time exists due to markets in Asia and Globally closing later.
shankar_dass93
Dec 28 2016, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 10:59 PM) Kenanga and EI published the same day price in the evening wor. Unless I am missing something? https://www.kenangainvestors.com.my/KIB/KIB...idual/Home.aspxI guess that means I already know the EI Small Cap and Kenanga Growth price, but pending for the rest tomorrow evening? Also while M2U got it to me at the end of two business days, I don't know about CIMB_Cliks. Ultimately I guess I am just getting excited about nothing...but I just want to see the prices of what I own. I'm sure some of you had the feeling when you got your first investment. I am sorry for spamming, but now I didn't make a new threads.I could totally relate to what you mean. Even i was a little puzzled when i wasn't able to know at what price was my NAV being transacted at. Just post what ever questions that you have and the fellow former here would help out. Even i posted a few questions here like 2 or 3 weeks ago and they answered my questions promptly
j.passing.by
Dec 28 2016, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 27 2016, 11:40 PM) How fast and soon unit price gets up is not just dependent on fund house. note that non-malaysian funds will take longer to get the NAV price. those global funds will take even longer. While your observations is correct, the reasoning really has more to do with geographical region rather than the fund houses. From what I understood, those non-local funds need to compute in the currency exchange rate to ringgit... based on the exchange rate quoted by Bloomberg at a fixed time daily, at 4.00pm - London time - which is midnight in KL. Hence, nav prices of China/HK and Aussie funds are still released the next day eventhough their stock exchanges closes earlier or same time as KL bursa. For pure local funds that only involved local equities, if the fund house is really 'rajin', the nav prices can be computed almost immediately after bursa closes and updated the same day after office hours.
vincabby
Dec 28 2016, 08:40 AM
looks like some of you been working OT helping out a new investor. welcome new investor! may your returns be more or at least what you expected!
Avangelice
Dec 28 2016, 08:51 AM
Good morning young investors! last night was refreshing to say the least. it's been awhile since we got so many new blood in one go. focus on building your portfolio my friends and forget about the profits and lost. I requoted one of my posts earlier about cake and investing. try reading it for once QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 05:56 PM) A portfolio is like a cake. there are many ingredients (funds) in the shopping mall but you done your research and all the aunties say that a handful of top notch ingredients will make the cake delicious. you have selected a good ingredient. you mixed it with the other ingredients you purchased and now you put it in the oven and wait for it to bake. patience my friend. don't be too hasty in taking out the cake and replacing the ingredient with something else. you may ruin the cake entirely. time and patience with the knowledge you selected the best funds is key for a successful unit trust investor how it tastes.. now it all depends on fate.
Avangelice
Dec 28 2016, 08:54 AM
Good morning young investors! last night was refreshing to say the least. it's been awhile since we got so many new blood in one go. focus on building your portfolio my friends and forget about the profits and lost. I requoted one of my posts earlier about cake and investing. try reading it for once QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 05:56 PM) A portfolio is like a cake. there are many ingredients (funds) in the shopping mall but you done your research and all the aunties say that a handful of top notch ingredients will make the cake delicious. you have selected a good ingredient. you mixed it with the other ingredients you purchased and now you put it in the oven and wait for it to bake. patience my friend. don't be too hasty in taking out the cake and replacing the ingredient with something else. you may ruin the cake entirely. time and patience with the knowledge you selected the best funds is key for a successful unit trust investor how it tastes.. now it all depends on fate. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « sorry. not a sifu as there are better masters than me I am just trying to do my part to help around by passing knowledge I have learnt.
Once you have reach your target allocation you can begin to focus building your other funds. I don't know if you have seen one of my post about baking a cake but I'll try one more time just for you.
building a portfolio is just like baking a cake. you have the base for the cake which is the flour and eggs and butter now think of those as your fixed income funds and balance funds.
they will prop up your portfolio so you can begin to add the frostings, garnishes and decorations which are expensive aka equity funds. you have many ingredients and brands (funds) to choose from so you choose the best brand names and stick to them. of course there's a ratio. too much frosting the cake tastes bad. too little and it doesn't look good aka you find it hard to sell to people (return)
over the years you change your recipe as you know more brands but essentially your flour and butter stays the same.
Hope this helps.
summary. stop adding sugar. time to go shopping for a chocolate bar.
SUSyklooi
Dec 28 2016, 09:06 AM
 have to admit, I had been a terrible baker since 2013, never successfully baked a better than FD cake. but what the worry and grumbling seriously....there is always new ingredients for the next cake to bake. now I am about to finish my ingredients for the 2017 cake..... just have to wait for the FSM seminar on where and what to bake in 2017 which is coming next weekend, to enhance my justification on the ingredients selected to use to bake this 2017 cake just hope that the higher forces above can grant me the wisdom to select the right ingredients with its right weightage This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 28 2016, 09:07 AM
SUSDavid83
Dec 28 2016, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 28 2016, 09:06 AM)  have to admit, I had been a terrible baker since 2013, never successfully baked a better than FD cake. but what the worry and grumbling seriously....there is always new ingredients for the next cake to bake. now I am about to finish my ingredients for the 2017 cake..... just have to wait for the FSM seminar on where and what to bake in 2017 which is coming next weekend, to enhance my justification on the ingredients selected to use to bake this 2017 cake just hope that the higher forces above can grant me the wisdom to select the right ingredients with its right weightage  Uncle Looi, I'm not going this round.
SUSyklooi
Dec 28 2016, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 28 2016, 09:08 AM) Uncle Looi, I'm not going this round. morning David,...thanks for the input. I still hv not decided to go yet,..they just sent me a reminder to register.
Avangelice
Dec 28 2016, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 28 2016, 09:27 AM) morning David,...thanks for the input. I still hv not decided to go yet,..they just sent me a reminder to register. I wish I can go man. Kuching peeps are seriously left out
T231H
Dec 28 2016, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 28 2016, 09:42 AM) I wish I can go man. Kuching peeps are seriously left out don't be left out.....just plan this.... Attached thumbnail(s)