FundSuperMart v17 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

adele123
post Dec 27 2016, 09:38 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Dec 27 2016, 09:21 PM)
Thanks for the advice... Will do further study and come here back... But if u have some suggestion on funds and portfolio, it would help...

So far i understand i shd have equity + fixed income. Correct? What abt the percentage?
Hi just to answer your question... there's no right/wrong answer.

For example all my asset consist of only RM20k... and all these 20k is invested via FSM, then yes, I might just invest RM10k in equities and the rest in fixed income/money market fund or just leave it in FD.

But if say i have another RM20k under the pillow or in the bank, then i would probably invest more than RM10k into equities. You can start with FSM recommended portfolio, which kinda recommends funds covering a few regions... FSM is only a guide, not the perfect portfolio, after all, the portfolio is also came up by humans, who can be prone to errors and less objective decision making. biggrin.gif

adele123
post Dec 27 2016, 11:40 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 27 2016, 10:59 PM)

I think you seem to understand but let me explain again. Yes, i guess first time investing you will get more excited, eventually you will get used to it and you won't micro managing it. While it might take 2 days to appear on your FSM holdings, do keep in mind that the price transacted is based on when you pay/did switching. it just take 2 days for you to know at what price you bought. even if the unit price is on FSM, it will take another day for the units to be calculated in your historic transaction, and another day for it to pool into the portfolio holdings total. Yes, i do try to transfer my money into the cash management fund before a long weekend if i can help it, to earn extra few cents interest... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(AIYH @ Dec 27 2016, 10:54 PM)

How fast and soon unit price gets up is not just dependent on fund house. note that non-malaysian funds will take longer to get the NAV price. those global funds will take even longer. While your observations is correct, the reasoning really has more to do with geographical region rather than the fund houses.

adele123
post Dec 28 2016, 11:44 PM

4,726 posts

Portfolio sharing

FundIRRROI
Kenanga Growth Fund4.14%9.85%
Aberdeen World Equity6.94%15.41%
CIMB Asia Pac7.12%15.61%
CIMB PRS Asia Pac6.65%8.52%
Manulife India4.01%6.84%
RHB asian total return13.71%24.20%
Libra Asnita----0.65%
Eastspring Small Cap---0.26%

Portfolio ROI 10.99%, IRR 5.85%. (IRR was 6% ++ in september)

86% equity fund, 14% bond fund.

From August 2014 to 27/12/2016

This post has been edited by adele123: Dec 29 2016, 08:39 AM
adele123
post Dec 29 2016, 08:43 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 29 2016, 08:19 AM)
To date? End of November? End of December (not yet finished)?
Edited. as of yesterday lo.
adele123
post Jan 2 2017, 09:48 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(kd88 @ Dec 31 2016, 11:36 PM)
No new year promotion this year?
Get ready on 7th and 14th for lower sales charge.

Also cny promo may happened. I think I got this in 2015.

Edit... last minute prs submission.... look at the top 5 funds...

This post has been edited by adele123: Jan 2 2017, 09:55 AM
adele123
post Jan 2 2017, 07:11 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(iampokemon @ Jan 2 2017, 06:57 PM)
I'm using the term projected because everything it is just an estimation based on previous annual results. But I don't think NAV values already lessen off the charges as I did make a check online before I purchase, which matches the current value of it.

But I'll find out more about it this week and see how it differs with FSM  rclxub.gif
i think projection isn't the right word/concept. if the past return is 10%, it is 10%. and nobody projects it is going to be 10% next year.

and also i think you are confusing yourself. I don't know what your RM offers you but in a nutshell, it is this...

a) your RM is a sales person, hence will earn commission from that one-time sales charge

b) FSM is a corporate unit trust agent, hence will earn commission from the sales charge, which is one-time. the difference is FSM charges lower compared to most individual agents. although it seems that your RM doesn't charge you very high compared to others...

then again... you are referring to affin hwang select bond fund where actually most sales person don't charge that much for bond funds. i don't know much about this as i don't have experience buying from individual agents.

c) the annual management charge is something implicitly charged. what others say about NAV lessen off charges, again i think you misunderstood

d) NAV prices refers to the net asset value of the fund at a per unit price. This is the price you paid per unit. If your fund is RM1 per unit. Your sales charge is say 2% and you invested RM1000. So you will still get RM1 per unit but you have only 998 units. it doesn't mean NAV is RM0.98.

adele123
post Jan 4 2017, 12:44 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(fense @ Jan 4 2017, 12:27 PM)
why must max stick to 6-7 fund only?
I had near 20 funds now, it balanced my profolio, single fund drop wont cause much chabge for me, still averange I have positive profit. It earn slowed but it diversified.
I don't believe in having 20 funds. I do believe in there's such thing called over-diversifying.

I do want better gains, at higher risk.

I have 7 funds including 2 bond funds, it's more than enough for me.
adele123
post Jan 4 2017, 06:13 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 4 2017, 12:47 PM)
Adele you still holding Anita? still at logger heads at which bond fund to buy for my gfs portfolio as her risk taking is much lower than mine
I am still holding. While not optimistic on bond funds, i'll just let it sit there as it's not alot.

If you read about what the analyst said, then should be cautiously optimistic about Malaysian bond. As for me, affin hwang select bond or libra asnita, one should choose the lower duration, lower volatility.
adele123
post Jan 6 2017, 07:07 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Jan 6 2017, 06:49 AM)
If we  put in large amount to money market to get silver/gold status and withdraw from money market, would the silver/gold status remain?
Fsm not stupid leh. It will remove the status. If you want the status, you can park in cmf2, it will be counted towards your asset to achieve the status.
adele123
post Jan 6 2017, 07:48 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Jan 6 2017, 07:30 PM)
So tmr will have 0.5% sales charge promotion?
yes.
adele123
post Jan 6 2017, 11:38 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 6 2017, 11:00 PM)
Cause to me it looks like if you can time your entry and exit well from these volatile/exposed regions and sectors, you can make a lot of returns in one year.

Anyone can share experience based on these?
Dear newbie,

If I can do it, I won't be commenting here cause i'll be buying stocks. Or I wont be commenting here cause i'll be filthy rich.

Hindsight is 20/20. Real life to the future is blur.
adele123
post Jan 8 2017, 09:06 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 8 2017, 04:19 AM)
Has anyone done switching before on FSM? For Equity to Equity intra-fundhouse switching, are they really free (unless those specified, like RHB and Manulife)? Like TA European Equity to TA Global Technology...would that be totally free? Just want to confirm.
Some questions you ask, kinda make sense, some like this makes me want to make a snide remark.

Sarcastic remark: No it's not free, please don't switch...

Yes it's free, i switched with eastspring. no sales charge. i bought the original fund with 0.5% sales charge, so switching into another equity fund and is still free... i think this is the credit ninja trick another forummer was talking about. And no, i didn't buy for that reason, switched because i don't like that fund.

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 8 2017, 12:16 AM)
Since we were speaking about Forex Risk some pages back, I want to ask some further questions:

1) If the Ringgit keeps gaining ground on the USD, does that mean that capital inflow into the local markets could/would increase?

2) If the Ringgit keeps gaining ground on the USD, does that mean that we stand to lose out on potential returns from foreign domiciled funds? (PS: Regional/global funds wholly domiciled in Malaysia like the CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund and the Affin Hwang Asia Ex Japan Select Opportunity should not be counted in this)
1) over some short period last year, i did notice MYR gain grounds when there's more inflow, and those days were also when local indexes did go up. but it's not perfect correlation.

2) i don't think lose out potential returns is the right way to describe it.

Part a is that, we don't have access to foreign domiciled funds through FSM. we only have funds that feeds into foreign-domiciled funds. even if we do have, foreign-domiciled funds not all are not denominated in USD, but i think in the context of your questions, focus on those denominated in USD. We of course view our assets in MYR. all else being equal, ie the market didn't go or down, if the MYR strengthen, then the value of the fund in MYR will be lesser and the other way holds true as well.

even if locally domicile, the assets are still in usd, so once converted to RM, it will be of lesser value.

so, foreign domicile or not, it really doesn't matter. myr goes up, foreign asset value in RM is lesser. ie in layman terms, you lost money in myr. myr goes down, foreign asset value in RM is higher, you gain money in myr.

itu sahaja. unless you want to view your portfolio in USD, then, myr go up or not, it's still the same.

adele123
post Jan 12 2017, 04:20 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 12 2017, 04:04 PM)
I don't know about others, yes, I think it better to invest in both platforms.
what's your justifications?
adele123
post Jan 13 2017, 02:49 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Jan 13 2017, 12:31 PM)
Guys, I transfered some monies into cash management fund and paid using FPX on Weds (after 3pm). It's still showing as pending right now. Any idea when I will see it under my holding ? Thx.
You should see it under your holdings today. don't worry.
adele123
post Jan 13 2017, 10:01 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(drcumee @ Jan 13 2017, 06:26 PM)
hi. i'm sorry to ask this newbie question. i just opened up an account at fsm. i'm a bit overwhelmed with all the funds available. can anyone point me towards somewhere where i can get advice as a new investor. like how to choose which funds etc? thanks so much to all sifu here
start with the links posted by the other forummer on articles by FSM. they are actually quite decent. drop by once in awhile on this thread to follow on some discussion here. do note that the trend as of late here is pro-foreign funds (malaysia market have not been performing), but don't you go full force in those foreign funds, understand the why, what before you invest. do not just follow...

a good place to start is go to sunway tomorrow and listen to the talk, maybe abit technical but at least got ppl talk to you.

i have a few short simple advice...

1) observe for awhile, understand simple logics like, ringgit strengthen, why unit price of foreign fund decrease?

2) read up on dollar cost averaging.... when you have moved from beginner to intermediate, read up on value cost averaging.

3) this is investment for long term... not 1 month 2 month play... we are talking years...

4) the stock market (and your unit trust is subject to law of gravity)....
adele123
post Jan 15 2017, 01:04 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Jan 15 2017, 12:56 PM)
After trump in then the shares will up up up like when he elected. Sure regret if don't in now
How you know ah? Can you tell the future? Have you lump sum in?
adele123
post Jan 15 2017, 02:13 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(iampokemon @ Jan 15 2017, 01:08 PM)
Currently I'm looking to have a portfolio like this:
RHB Smart Balanced Fund 20%
RHB Bond Fund 20%
RHB ASEAN Fund 20%
RHB Emerging Markets Bond Fund 20%
Affin Hwang Japan Growth Fund 20%

And my watch list for this:
RHB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund

Do you guys think it is good? Or any recommendation funds that I have to changed?

This is going to be my first fund placement in FSM, so I'm not too sure how things workaround here, except a little chart analyse knowledge.

I haven't read out the fund fact though, as I'm weak in global economy knowledge.
to add what the other forummer question... i want to ask, why all RHB funds?

even if you want all/mostly under one company, why not eastspring, cimb, kenanga?
adele123
post Jan 15 2017, 04:05 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(iampokemon @ Jan 15 2017, 02:43 PM)
I haven't research all of the funds yet. But whenever I look into the chart, lets say RHB Bond fund and Eastspring Bond Fund, it looks more alike the same to me.

For eastspring their funds seems to have higher volatility compared to other funds at the same category. I'm not into a too high risk appetite here.

And it also makes switching easier right?

Well I do agree that having funds under the same company makes it easier and cheaper to switch, the rm25 switching fee is not great and doesn't go-line with cheap, as already mentioned by others.

I personally dont have any rhb equity funds. Find their performance not impressive. Okay la, maybe cant just compare past performance but say for Malaysian fund, after august 2016, I won't buy rhb funds. To me they hold too much in one company, and makes the fund too volatile.

Eastspring equity income or kenanga growth is better choice compared to smart balance. Imo la...

And to be fair, 2 years of investing, i've done switching just once. While some do take switching cost into acct, I actually dont because I believe I rebalance my portfolio by topping up more in certain funds instead of changing the composition of the current invested money. So which is why all my funds are across different fund house

adele123
post Jan 16 2017, 08:08 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(1malaysiajib @ Jan 15 2017, 11:18 PM)
Since a FM announced that most foreign funds have already left the malaysian market, do you think its a good time for me to invest in Malaysian focused UTs such as Affin Hwang's Select Opportunity Fund, Affin Hwang's Select Dividend fund etc ?
seems like you are the saver type. UT should be a good tool for people like you.

you can start with scouting the list below... although what's pretty cool about Affin Hwang Select Opportunity is the exposure to asian countries. so with a big chunk still in Malaysia but some flexibility for non-malaysia funds. and affin hwang does have a good selection of funds and switching is free, hence there are advantages of getting into affin hwang funds as well.

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 16 2017, 12:18 AM)
big capitals go for kenanga growth fund.
small capitals go for East spring small cap.
fixed income funds go for libra Anita bond fund.
Just adding on is that, for big cap, one can try eastspring equity income. less volatile. more specialised in big cap. (not that you want to invest in malaysia)
adele123
post Jan 18 2017, 10:56 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jan 18 2017, 10:50 AM)
hey sifus, I am new to FSM. I just created my account and about to jump into the waters. But there is still this fear of FSM reliability. As with public mutual, i get to meet my agent, i get official statements from PM and so forth.

Since FSM deals on a virtual level, through a portal, will there be official or rather physical statements sent to me as prove of unit purchases ?
even agents can be fake right? biggrin.gif

Yes, there are statements from PM and you will receive statements from FSM as well... No physical statements from FSM. you will receive e-copy of monthly statements, statements/emails for every transaction you make, at least 3 emails per transaction.

in terms of reliability, well your money are all under a trust and FSM as a corporate UT adviser is governed by Securities Commission. you may read the FAQ again and again.

0.0803sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:32 AM