1670 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Deal Hunter
post Feb 9 2017, 11:09 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Feb 8 2017, 09:23 PM)
3i / iiinvestsmart

Well if that is the case, it would be bad branding wise, not to give 4.18% if target not reached.

This one is a case for BNM to intervene, dont you reckon? biggrin.gif
This advert is not the same kind of advert like step FD promo, bundled package promo, long term promo, special welcome for first timer to bank promo, special promo for class of depositors or promo for high pure deposit or CASA deposits.

Not that I have become a loyar buruk for Hong Leong Bank.

However it is not too deceptive except for those who do not understand that it is a conditional type of FD promo as qualified in the 3rd line and there is also the * in the 2nd line.

Enjoy up to 4.18%p.a. on your
8-month Online Fixed Deposit/-i*.
when fund size hits RM888,888,888

It may be late but the following general advice works fine.

If it is good or too good to be true, look for the catch.

What you see is not what you may get in an advert.

Know yourself - danger - is your English comprehension up to the standard to understand any legal wriggling loopholes?

If there is a * asterisk - you are supposed to read something else which affects what is written. That something may not be easily seen.

If you are too lazy or too disinterested or too rushed to read the whole thing and Terms and Conditions
or the wording is too small for you to read
then do not ass ume that there is such a thing as your standard instead of the advert or bank different standard
do not be afraid to ask
it is far smarter to look like a fool or a nuisance than to be a sucker
if you have responsibility about how the FD works out financially.

It helps if your arithmetic is more accurate and you really understand that most answers you get or taught are introductory simplifications, approximations, and misunderstandings and not the real thing at all when implemented especially in treatment of time and error computations and predictions.

This post has been edited by Deal Hunter: Feb 9 2017, 12:00 PM
Deal Hunter
post Feb 9 2017, 11:48 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Feb 9 2017, 06:57 AM)
Yeah ,opening a new fd account with another bank can really be too time consuming sometimes that's why I just locked in for the 5 years tenure too.
Different bank branches and banks have different speeds to do things. While waiting at a bank, you could get some idea by timing how long it takes to handle various activities at certain times. I find this kind of collected performance info useful in planning the initial schedule and re-adjusting the timings to banks I could visit.

One solution for the opening problem is to open small FD deposits initially at a number of selected bank branches near to each other in advance when the depositor has the time to do so - maybe on a leave day. The only question is how long your FD account will remain once your FD matures, for you to re-use for another FD cert in the future when their rate is acceptable. Different banks have different operating ways about FD accounts.

Hopefully the eFD placement methods will evolve together with eCASA methods, so that we do not have to go physically to the bank to start things initially.

This post has been edited by Deal Hunter: Feb 9 2017, 11:56 AM
drbone
post Feb 9 2017, 11:57 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Feb 9 2017, 11:48 AM)
Different bank branches and banks have different speeds to do things. While waiting at a bank, you could get some idea by timing how long it takes to handle various activities at certain times. I find this kind of collected performance info useful in planning the initial schedule and re-adjusting the timings to banks I could visit.

One solution for the opening problem is to open small FD deposits initially at a number of selected bank branches near to each other in advance when the depositor has the time to do so - maybe on a leave day. The only question is how long your FD account will remain once your FD matures, for you to re-use for another FD cert in the future when their rate is acceptable. Different banks have different operating ways about FD accounts.

Hopefully the eFD placement methods will evolve together with eCASA methods, so that we do not have to go physically to the bank to start things initially.
That's true, I do hunt for places whereby most banks are close to one another.
-kytz-
post Feb 9 2017, 07:16 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Feb 4 2017, 05:05 PM)
Yes, you need to go to the HLB branch you select as your home branch.

They have many products, so make sure the person attending to you understands that you want to open a personal (not joint) account that is able to do the FPX for the above promo and pay for your choice. For me a basic account without passbook was good enough.

For FPX thru internet banking,  you also need an ATM card. Change the pin number and then get the internet connection done up including your working e-mail address and handphone number..
Please consult the staff if you use smartphone app as to what is needed to be done.

Besides this, you also need a bank account with a different bank with  internet banking done up. This other bank holds the money as fresh fund to be paid to pay for the placement for the HL 4% promo. According to postings, only Maybank will allow you to place multiple eFD at HL (max each placement  is 30k) thru FPX for more than 30k per day without being limited by the total interbank transfer limit set by the bank. So if you wish to place bigger amounts in many placements in one day (instead of different days), Maybank is the only way.

The FPX transaction for placing the FD promo is done from the HL website - you may be confused because they have at least 2 HL websites. You must have your handphone ready for requesting TACs for HLB and the bank holding your money. There used to be a rather short time limit to handle everything before time out, so make sure you have your logins, passwords, handphone, TACs, amount and how to answer all ready. After logging in and selecting the eFD and filling up, you get passed to the other bank for login - what happens after this - I don't know if the different banks are different. After the usual SMS notifications, an e-mail holding a printable receipt will be sent to you but this may take some time later after accepted for processing.

The eFD can be seen when you login to your HL account besides your recent transactions and available balance.
Thanks bro. Already placed my FD at Hong Leong. Such a breeze doing it online smile.gif
cclim2011
post Feb 9 2017, 10:40 PM

1,701 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Feb 9 2017, 11:57 AM)
That's true, I do hunt for places whereby most banks are close to one another.
11 banks within 3km considered good? lol
drbone
post Feb 9 2017, 11:03 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Feb 9 2017, 10:40 PM)
11 banks within 3km considered good? lol
LOL where's this?
bahar786
post Feb 10 2017, 01:28 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Feb 9 2017, 11:03 PM)
LOL where's this?
Bukit tinggi, klang?
bbgoat
post Feb 10 2017, 10:48 AM

6,614 posts

Initially wanted to use some fund for other purpose (ASNB tongue.gif ). Now decided to put back to FD.

Did 2 placements for HL 8 mth 4% FD. Selected "Credit to Account" option, so monthly interest. I think someone said before no monthly interest option ? Maybe he/she has selected the wrong option.

Found this to be convenient instead of going to banks for the 4.08% FD. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 10 2017, 10:50 AM
elea88
post Feb 10 2017, 01:18 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 10 2017, 10:48 AM)
Initially wanted to use some fund for other purpose (ASNB  tongue.gif ). Now decided to put back to FD.

Did 2 placements for HL 8 mth 4% FD. Selected "Credit to Account" option, so monthly interest. I think someone said before no monthly interest option ? Maybe he/she has selected the wrong option.

Found this to be convenient instead of going to banks for the 4.08% FD.  biggrin.gif
ya lor. EASIEST is online.

STUPID ALLIANCE BANK.

i call them at 10am.. 03-5516 9988. The person pick up phone says YES 4.05% still have.
then i took the trouble.. find parking.. walk in the hot sun....to go all the way there with my cheque book. then counter says. 2 days ago already finish quota!!! and push me UT /INS.

so, annoyed with them!!!!

i reluctant put more into HLB although its convenient coz most my FD now 70% already in HLB.

So, i think will temporary parking with MBB GIA first.
!@#$%^
post Feb 10 2017, 01:29 PM

Safe Trader
17,496 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 10 2017, 01:18 PM)

STUPID ALLIANCE BANK.

i call them at 10am.. 03-5516 9988. The person pick up phone says YES 4.05% still have.
then i took the trouble.. find parking.. walk in the hot sun....to go all the way there with my cheque book. then counter says. 2 days ago already finish quota!!! and push me UT /INS.

i reluctant put more into HLB although its convenient coz most my FD now 70% already in HLB.

hmmm, fd also need to diversify?
elea88
post Feb 10 2017, 01:38 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Feb 10 2017, 01:29 PM)
hmmm, fd also need to diversify?
PDIM got quota... for worst case scenario...
bbgoat
post Feb 10 2017, 01:44 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 10 2017, 01:18 PM)

STUPID ALLIANCE BANK.

Best to check with bank first before going all the way there for OTC placement. Call first.

I parked the dough in MBB GIA to get some interest before finding a more permanent home for the dough.

BR, RHB both has 4.08% FD promo. biggrin.gif
elea88
post Feb 10 2017, 01:45 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 10 2017, 01:44 PM)
Best to check with bank first before going all the way there for OTC placement. Call first.

I parked the dough in MBB GIA to get some interest before finding a more permanent home for the dough.

BR, RHB both has 4.08% FD promo.  biggrin.gif
that was the reason i was so annoyed.. i actually call first 1 hour before going to Alliance Bank.!!!!
bbgoat
post Feb 10 2017, 01:49 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 10 2017, 01:45 PM)
that was the reason i was so annoyed.. i actually call first 1 hour before going to Alliance Bank.!!!!
I see. Some of their personnel do not check first before answering question. I normally tried to check with officer or manager level or WhatsApp before going. biggrin.gif
elea88
post Feb 10 2017, 01:52 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 10 2017, 01:49 PM)
I see. Some of their personnel do not check first before answering question. I normally tried to check with officer or manager level or WhatsApp before going.  biggrin.gif
anyway i just the CALL CENTRE again now and informed them of their OUTDATED INFORMATION.. Coz they still sweetly inform me .. latest FD promo 4.05% 12 months... !!!
I request them to update their information to save another customer from making a WASTE TIME trip to their bank...!

LNYC
post Feb 10 2017, 02:00 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 10 2017, 01:52 PM)
anyway i just the CALL CENTRE again now and informed them of their OUTDATED INFORMATION.. Coz they still sweetly inform me .. latest FD promo 4.05% 12 months... !!!
I request them to update their information to save another customer from making a WASTE TIME trip to their bank...!
Hihi, if promo fd better to call up the respective bank you wanna visit cos call center infor is kind of outdated.
coolstore
post Feb 10 2017, 02:05 PM

1,524 posts

rhb bank also got 4.08%?
esy
post Feb 10 2017, 03:23 PM

160 posts

... I make things simple for myself - I won't put my money in any bank, if I don't understand the bank promo in anyway ...
David3700
post Feb 10 2017, 04:38 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 10 2017, 01:44 PM)

BR, RHB both has 4.08% FD promo.  biggrin.gif
RHB got 4.08% ?? drool.gif
bbgoat
post Feb 10 2017, 04:49 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Feb 10 2017, 04:38 PM)
RHB got 4.08% ??  drool.gif
RHB one reported by:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=83622930

Another one is AmBank 8 mth 4.08%.

Please always check with the branch to make sure these are still available before u go. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Feb 10 2017, 04:51 PM

1670 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:21 PM