Jan 28 2023, 02:22 PM
1,145 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 28 2023, 10:32 AM) Cannot. I am tempted to try this coming Mon... Even though more than 10 days but I got another big FD coming up... might as well try. 4.3% one year vs 4.8% two years. I will go apply basic savings account and ask the branch manager come Monday. One FD cert has to be minimum RM 100K, because system will reject this special rate if less than RM 100K. I think what bank rakyat seksyen 23 Shah Alam said was true. Because Bank Rakyat needs depositors' IC number to apply special rate from HQ. Any branch also can help to apply this special rate, but minimum RM 100K per FD cert. QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 28 2023, 01:41 PM) Yes of course you can. QUOTE(gamenoob @ Jan 28 2023, 01:45 PM) For old citibank customers, we can get 4.15% even if not fresh fund. You can use this info to request for 4.15% 12 months. gamenoob liked this post
Jan 31 2023, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(bamboo1 @ Jan 31 2023, 12:22 PM) My friend got it at BR Section 14 branch (Near Jaya Shopping Centre). BR Branch in JB also no news. HQ no reply or the branch doesn't want to do it.But they made it difficult, first told him it is for loyal customers only, then need to get HQ approval and then also need a few hundred thousands. You can try if you want. I went to Glo Damansara too, seems they have some branch limit. |
Feb 5 2023, 12:09 PM
Hi all, I have big fd up this coming week. Now highest FD is ambank 4.3% 12 months with 10k in casa? Or cimb TIA 4. 3% 12 months?
Nothing more than 4.3% right? |
Feb 7 2023, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(cweng93 @ Feb 6 2023, 09:18 PM) If going for CIMB, would suggest go for the eFD 4.2% for 12 months instead of 4.3%(TIA) since there is a possibility that TIA didn't honor the rates. Also, it's easier for the eFD as CIMB TIA requires OTC QUOTE(michaelchang @ Feb 6 2023, 10:32 PM) TIA are not FD !! Whatever rates published are just forecast/prediction (based on their investment performance) Actually I have invested in TIA before and no issues thus far. 19th Jan also placed one big FD due to the expiry of PB 4.8% and no time then to explore BR one.FD rates are guaranteed Any incidents of CIMB TIA not honouring the agreed rate? The branch manager assured me none so far. |
Feb 7 2023, 02:19 PM
Feb 8 2023, 06:20 PM
FYI, I checked with CIMB, Affin, Citibank and Ambank for the best rates for high FD amount OTC Fresh Fund. Need to send HQ for approval. High is high 6 digits to 7 digits, my point is no harm just ask. Only Affin and Ambank can offer above their promotion rate. Affin best is 4.32% for 12 and 18 months. Ambank (two bundles type) both gives effective rate of 4.4%. Danger is CASA rate might change. Ambank offers either 50% FD of 8.5% monthly interest and 50% CASA in Basic Savings Account of 0.3%. Another bundle is 50% FD plus this new M Power or Star account (I did not take this one) that works out to be 4.4% too. So if CASA rate change, then you won't get the amount. But at least no BS 10k requirement. Their AMBANK BSA got two types, fee and non fee. This promotion they said must be fee. RM12 for ATM card and yearly RM8 charges. |
Feb 8 2023, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(N9484640 @ Feb 8 2023, 07:37 PM) I am Invikta customer and the amount I put in more than qualifies for Invikta. But I think if you can place high 6 digits and your branch manager willing to help, then should be ok. QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Feb 8 2023, 08:03 PM) Why would I ask for 8 digits when I don't have 8 digits to put in. You trying to be funny? Which bank will believe you have 8 digits, unless you count after the decimal point! My point of just ask is even if you have lower amount you can ask. No harm asking. Understand? I can get effective 4.4% rate from AMBank and in the end I placed with AMBank. LoTek, Human Nature, and 1 other liked this post
Feb 9 2023, 04:05 AM
QUOTE(virtualgay @ Feb 8 2023, 10:59 PM) 12 months. Bundle deal. I done more checking, Basic Savings account apparently based on rate online is 0.25% if less than rm500k... So for the first rm500k 0.25% not 0.3%. Meaning effective rate might be between 4.38% to 4.4%. Not sure if the earmarked BSA 50% portion will get 0.3% or rate based on online. Still better than 4.3% OTC pure FD with a nonsense 10k requirement in BSA. |
Feb 10 2023, 12:28 PM
A couple of points made by folks here on future OPR directions. Personally I don't know if up or down. Below is a Kenanga latest research note. FYI just sharing... BNM is likely done with its normalisation cycle as inflation has peaked, while external risks to growth heightened − On the monetary policy front, barring any unforeseen shocks or major policy shifts, especially on the fiscal side, the BNM is expected to hold the overnight policy rate (OPR) unchanged at 2.75% for the rest of the year. However, moving forward, the possibility of a rate change depends mainly on the inflation trend and growth outlook. − USDMYR year-end forecast (4.11; 2022: 4.40): after appreciating to as strong as 4.25 (Feb 2) against the USD, the ringgit whipsawed back to above the 4.30 level due to the Fed's hawkish tone after the release of the surprisingly strong US non-farm payroll data of 517.0k (Dec: 260.0k; consensus: 185.0k). This weakening momentum is expected to continue in the next few months as the Fed may continue to hike interest rate until at least 5.00% while the BNM may stop short at 2.75%. However, the local note may gather strength in 2H23 due to a potential Fed pivot amid rising recession risk and further appreciation of the yuan amid its safe-haven appeal. As a no loan net cash person, I would sure hope the FD rate goes up and up higher. But politics situation means our OPR might not go up too fast. A weaker ringgit is actually good for our export oriented market. For US side, if you believe Fed is truly independant like our BNM, then rates should go up to combat inflation. And China now economy going full steam after no more lockdown means more demand for resources. However US election year next year, so... Happy finding your best deal folks! fabu8238 liked this post
Feb 10 2023, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(BWassup @ Feb 10 2023, 05:52 PM) Went to Ambank Bangsar Baru today to enquire about the 12 month FD Promo @ 4.3%. For Signature banking customers and fresh funds only. The counter staff informed me that whilst previously they allowed funding of our CASA via RENTAS, they now need HQ approval if funds come in via RENTAS (I don't know what they need to check). Should be quite fast, but could be delayed if approver is not available. Forgot to ask if online transfer is acceptable. If we fund with Cashier Order, the FD can be done immediately, with Advice of Deposit issued. Not only will that involve more work for us to get the CO and pay RM5 charge, but if we bank in CO, presumably we would not be able to withdraw the RM10k extra that AmBank requires us to show in our CASA as a condition to be given the special rate. Think AmBank is making their FD promo overly complicated. Not to mention their love of bundling FD with CASA. And the number of CASA they have is way too many, and confusing Anyone told the same thing by AmBank? QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 10 2023, 06:51 PM) If you are Signature customer, talk to your RM for some flexibility. I haven't make any placement with them this year, so don't know what other pattern. Previously Rentas and Instant Transfer, transfer out same day no issue. My original CASA just several hundred short of 10k, but they refuse to waive this 10k requirement too. So i just walked out intending to go place in CIMB or Affin until the branch manager offered me the bundle deal. I don't know what's their deal with 10k considering it is not locked in and you can literally withdraw after you place the FD. CommodoreAmiga liked this post
Feb 12 2023, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 12 2023, 11:59 AM) As far as customers are concerned, follow the T&C released by HQ. HQ reiterated that no earmarked is required in their official response. But this was based on old campaign, I do not have the T&C for the new campaign as didnt make any placement. Unfortunately this is Malaysia. A lot of times both customers and branch people do not know the T&Cs. If you really go read the T&Cs you might get a shock... michaelchang liked this post
Feb 15 2023, 03:11 PM
Next OPR coming soon.... 08 & 09 Mar 2023 (Wednesday & Thursday).
I believe they will not raise the OPR rate. But let's see how. |
Mar 7 2023, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Mar 7 2023, 09:22 AM) Be patient lah. Hmm.... my portfolio is almost half half. Half in FD and half in stocks/bond. For this year, all around the world the interest rate sentiment is still on a upward trend - otherwise you will see Dow and Nasdaq shooting up. My retirement income mainly comes from world stock markets while i have only about 10% in fixed interest (fd included) - for me i prefer that rates drop but that doesn't look like it will happen anytime soon Bank Islam. Campaign period (3rd March - 31st Dec 2023) TDT EXTRA 12 month - 4.25% Seems like now AMBank still highest at 4.3%. |
Mar 7 2023, 11:48 PM
Mar 8 2023, 08:46 PM
Mar 9 2023, 04:03 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 8 2023, 11:29 PM) Just now AmBank manager sent me Islamic FD 11 months 4.5%.I don't have the details and last until end of March. My funds only available April hence never ask much the conditions. Please go ask AmBank. Back in Feb my FD 7 digits not even 4.4%...Seems AmBank desperate for money now, if amount is big they can always customize for you. BoomChaCha and ikanbilis liked this post
Mar 9 2023, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(winterbear @ Mar 9 2023, 04:39 PM) I call just now, they said dont have such promotion...🤔🤔🤔 Sorry I don't have money to bank in so not asking for more details. And I am also surprised since last month best FD rate only 4.3x%. Either your branch doesn't have the latest info or my AMBank Branch Manager got it wrong. For what's worth here's the rate without knowing the exact terms and conditions. Can do us a favour to ask for more detail? 😁😁 3/4 TO 7/4 FD Promotion (Conventional) 3mths -4.15% 6mths -4.30% 12mths -4.30% Islamic 4mths -4.25% 11mths-4.50% QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 9 2023, 06:09 PM) One of JB branches. Sorry cannot be more specific as I don't know if this promotion is widely available to all. Don't want to get the branch into trouble. Might be a branch specific or the manager made a mistake. I am just sharing what they posted me. If I have money, I will definitely bank in to test if true. No harm to call AMBank to ask about Islamic FD 4.5% 11 months and tell them this is fresh from oven promotion. BoomChaCha liked this post
Mar 9 2023, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(joeblow @ Mar 9 2023, 04:03 PM) Just now AmBank manager sent me Islamic FD 11 months 4.5%.I don't have the details and last until end of March. My funds only available April hence never ask much the conditions. Please go ask AmBank. Back in Feb my FD 7 digits not even 4.4%... Seems AmBank desperate for money now, if amount is big they can always customize for you. QUOTE(joeblow @ Mar 9 2023, 06:33 PM) 3/4 TO 7/4 FD Promotion (Conventional) 3mths -4.15% 6mths -4.30% 12mths -4.30% Islamic 4mths -4.25% 11mths-4.50% So this one may be branch specific too, as the manager/RM needs to apply. Too complicated, please just go for simple 4.3% with CASA 10k if still available. ps: just got updated. This campaign is for their year end closing only, even more confusing so no point. I think the nett result is not 4.5%. Please ignore my post and sorry for the confusion. This post has been edited by joeblow: Mar 9 2023, 08:03 PM pengembara.jalan liked this post
Mar 17 2023, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 17 2023, 06:42 PM) done mine today come 3.4.23 if really can take RM13+k on the spot , nice. I asked to earmark all the money, the manager said cannot RM1.7+k cannot go in, and another RM350 cannot be taken out by 31.3.23 meaning on 31.3.23 if saving account balance < RM350 they will disqualify me! memang complicated.... Note: the CASA 3.95% interest will only be paid end of April 23 I never know the promotion I informed can be so complicated with several versions... the FD people at AMBank getting really creative and pulling all stops to buff up their cash position before their year end... |
| Change to: | 0.0641sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:28 AM |