gsc
post Oct 25 2017, 04:45 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(siawyent @ Oct 23 2017, 12:17 PM)
Is the Ambank 4.2% 1 year so on? 

any better deal for 1 year FD?
Extended till end of Oct. it seems either it is Am bank marketing tactics to promo weekly
or the target is not met.
Obviously Am bank wants to ensure those placed two years ago but maturing now continue with Am bank.
gsc
post Oct 25 2017, 04:55 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 25 2017, 12:08 AM)
PM you guys info already. Enjoy your reading, but it is written in Chinese
Brother can you please PM me as well, thank you.

Bank offers 3.99% loan rate for two years. Simple interest calculation. Was thinking worth to take it up or not.

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Oct 23 2017, 12:39 PM)
Newbie to FDs here

So I previously have RM2K saved up at Maybank ( my parents help me did it when I was young , about 5 years back )

Now I have an additional RM5k lying around
Question is would be smarter if I take out the RM2k and put in another 5K so the interest will go higher ?

OR

Open a new FD for the RM5k ?

I did my calculations over and over and I'm still unsure

the RM2k FD seems to currently maintaining a 4 % interest rate

while a RM5k or RM7k would generate  3% interest rate

it's a Maybank account FYI
Place your 5k into the 2k accounts since you say can enjoy 4% interest.
gsc
post Oct 27 2017, 02:44 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 25 2017, 05:01 PM)
Heard AmBank extended it to 30/10 Monday. Hope they continue it until I cleared my 2 yrs 4.6% FD maturing within next 2 weeks. If not will have to move to UOB for their 4.2% with monthly interest as someone reported.  biggrin.gif
Looking at the four major macroeconomic indicators. GDP is growing but the inflation rate is going up. Exchange rate improves slightly but it is still bad. Unemployment rate is going up. One positive and three negative.
Increase OPR will help to reduce the inflation rate but it will slow down the GDP growth.
My guess is Najib will want to have a sustaining economic growth but controlled inflation. The OPR will either retain till end of year or will be increased slightly to avoid too much money circulating in the market. Banks FD promo will start in November after budget announcement.
gsc
post Oct 29 2017, 12:48 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 29 2017, 09:49 AM)
all other banks are watching their client withdraw to Ambank, they just killed it.
Am bank targets those existing depositors whose 4.6% FD mature this and next month. They even allowed 1k or no top up for matured FD.
UOB is offering same 4.2% rate with monthly interest. Am bank monthly interest applies to senior citizen only.
gsc
post Oct 30 2017, 02:16 PM

1,624 posts

Am FD matured yesterday. Today withdraw and request on the one day interest. Counter girl said must go back to the branch where FD was placed.
It seems that Am bank practises what public bank was doing, need customer request otherwise will not be paid.

I do not want to go back to the branch. The lady behind the counter say will email to the branch to request one day FD interest. Will monitor to see will the bank pay the interest.
Anyone has similar experience?
gsc
post Oct 30 2017, 04:38 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 25 2017, 05:01 PM)
Heard AmBank extended it to 30/10 Monday. Hope they continue it until I cleared my 2 yrs 4.6% FD maturing within next 2 weeks. If not will have to move to UOB for their 4.2% with monthly interest as someone reported.  biggrin.gif
Am bank is trying to retain existing customers. Promo extends to 6/11.

FD promo til Monday,6/11/2017

6M @ 4%
12M @ 4.20%
24M @ 4.25%
60M @ 4.35%

Min RM10K
renew / + top up fresh fund

gsc
post Oct 30 2017, 04:43 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 30 2017, 04:05 PM)
Same here. My 4.6% FD matured yesterday and today i asked the staff for the 1 day backdated interest. But to my surprise, I was told the branch opened for business yesterday, first and last weekends of the calendar month.  Damn ! no ground to argue  sad.gif and there goes my free lunch today. moneyflies.gif
Anyway, I IBGed the fund to CIMB Money Multiplier CA for 5.30%.  (2.3% + extra 3% bonus till 28th Feb)
Thanks for the info. I need to watch out too on those branches that open on weekends.

CIMB money multiplier applies to selected customers only.I did call CIMB earlier and was told need to wait for their calls.
gsc
post Nov 1 2017, 12:36 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 30 2017, 02:53 PM)
I have mentioned on the AmBank Sunday FD matured experience last week. Before the maturity already casually mentioned it to AmBank ABM via WhatsApp (she gave info on their FD promo). She said will ask for approval to give one day interest.

But when I was there on last week Monday, the counter staff gave me 4.2% starting date on the Sunday, meaning back date 1 day. So I am happy with that.

I think it is better to get the FD promo date back dated rather than the 1 day interest. They typically calculate based on board rate and give u the extra day/days interest.  biggrin.gif

Last week another FD 2 yrs 4.6% matured and just renew, no top up, to the 4.2% FD.  biggrin.gif
The one day interest should base on 4.6% not the board rate. Which branch did you go to?
gsc
post Nov 1 2017, 02:31 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 1 2017, 01:35 PM)
Did u claim this weekend interest from AmBank before ?

Last time i claimed from RHB and AmBank for 2 to 4 days of interest, they calculate based on board rate to me.

Yes, it "should" be based on original FD rate. The way BR and UOB did is the best that they auto adjust the FD to mature on the working day. But we are talking about banks that u have to ask only u are given the "lost" interests.  tongue.gif
The PIC replied will be based on last FD rate which 4.6%. Will check my bank accounts when they have credited.
gsc
post Nov 6 2017, 12:26 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 3 2017, 01:12 PM)
If thinking to go AmBank,  hold on till Monday.  Just got an insider tip. Dun ask me for details pls smile.gif
Am bank is playing wolf is coming. The 4.2% and others rates are extended to 13 Nov. Only 24 months FD is removed
gsc
post Nov 6 2017, 10:24 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 1 2017, 01:35 PM)
Did u claim this weekend interest from AmBank before ?

Last time i claimed from RHB and AmBank for 2 to 4 days of interest, they calculate based on board rate to me.

Yes, it "should" be based on original FD rate. The way BR and UOB did is the best that they auto adjust the FD to mature on the working day. But we are talking about banks that u have to ask only u are given the "lost" interests.  tongue.gif
My another FD matured on 4 Nov which is on Saturday. Today went to withdraw it and the staff was trying to get me renewed it. Didn't renew as I prefer to invest in property at this moment. The bank paid me the weekend interest based on 4.6% not board rate. Your back dated FD was based on 4.2%, short of 0.4%, about RM1.10 per day for a principal of 100k.
gsc
post Nov 7 2017, 04:00 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Nov 7 2017, 11:14 AM)
if u think overnight rate is going up, go for shorter term.
if you think it is going down / maintain, go for longer term.

personally i think i will go up sometime next year.
With the recent budget 2018 announcement, my interpretation is government is stressing on GDP growth.

GDP is comprised of consumer spending + investment + government spending + net export.
Lower individual income tax, government servants bonus are encouraging consumer spending.
High speed rail and other infrastructure construction are government spending.

GDP growth is stressed over controlled inflation rate. OPR will be increased only when BNM wants to tighten the circulation of money which is against the national budget of encouraging spending.
US Fed is not likely to increase the interest rate for this year and hence not much concern on the flow back of hot money.

Hence with current scenario, I dont think BNM will increase OPR for the next 6 months unless we are facing serious cost push inflation and inflation rate is getting out of control.

Banks that need fund for lending will probably have their own promotion. The recent Am bank strategy to retain those matured FD placed 2 years ago is an example of individual bank strategy.
gsc
post Nov 8 2017, 05:21 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Nov 7 2017, 04:10 PM)
Thanks for the link. As I have mentioned earlier in my post, I don't think BNM will raise the OPR for the next 6 months...now till Q1 2018. The inflation rate and GDP are the two key determinant factors on OPR trend within Malaysia economy.Global factors will be US economy and Fed monetary policy, oil prices, North Korea military threat, China regional economy policy (China Dream) etc
gsc
post Nov 9 2017, 04:15 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(uglyduckling422 @ Nov 8 2017, 05:03 PM)
RM0.00 UOB Puchong: Visit us on Saturday 11/11/17 (10am-2pm). Enjoy 12 mths FD promo rates of 4.20%pa with min RM10k new funds. Info, call 03-80768582.T&C apply

From SMS.
UOB promo 4.2% for 12 months, monthly interest, offer till end of year.
gsc
post Nov 10 2017, 02:33 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Nov 9 2017, 10:48 AM)
Usually no need, just min 10k fresh fund with monthly interest to principal.
How do banks pay you the monthly interest if without CASA?

If it is added on to principal then wouldnt it be compouded interest?

If the monthly interest is added on to principal and given to you only on maturity, do you still call it monthly interest?
gsc
post Nov 10 2017, 10:04 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Nov 10 2017, 09:14 PM)
Please read the terms and conditions from HLBB's website: https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...ingles-day.html

2.      The Promotion is open to individuals who are the accountholders of a HLB Current or Savings account / HLISB Current or Savings account-i (“CASA / CASA-i”) and who have registered for Hong Leong Connect (“Customers”).

6.      For the purpose of this Promotion, all placement(s) of deposits must be from fund transfers from other banks via Financial Process Exchanges (“FPX”). FPX is a secure and real time online payment method that facilitates interbank transfer of funds. FPX is not owned by HLB / HLISB. FPX is facilitated by Malaysian Electronic Clearing Corporation (“MyClear”), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Bank Negara Malaysia. Further details can be viewed at http://www.myclear.org.my/personal-fpx.html
From other banks via FPX...any bank or only certain banks?
gsc
post Nov 11 2017, 03:21 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 11 2017, 08:10 AM)
Surprised that u have not done eFD with HL using FPX. Yes, most banks can, except few like CB.  biggrin.gif
Not 15X ?  biggrin.gif

Got monthly interest option ? Seems like u got the "Interest credit to account". I thought as usual should have that. Another forummer said no monthly interest option.  hmm.gif
I have done before with Public bank. Was thinking of Citi bank. Thanks for your reply.

gsc
post Nov 11 2017, 04:39 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 11 2017, 02:08 PM)
Actually there are. U can go in and check again by trying to place the eFD.

Need to have "Interest credit to Account" for monthly interest. Check you eFD if it has this.
It has an "i" next to it. It said interest credited onto principal and another is monthly interest. It does not allow to choose.

I placed it under my Islamic accounts. Usually HL bank islamic accounts provide monthly interest. Anyway, not much difference as the FD max amount is only 30k. I dont have MBB accounts for multiple placement

gsc
post Nov 13 2017, 01:09 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BIN @ Nov 13 2017, 07:13 AM)
can i uplift my Ambank  matured FD from another branch than placement branch ?
Yes. I did that in Penang
gsc
post Nov 14 2017, 10:44 AM

1,624 posts

For those having FD with CIMB

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...PbAhuL7JPp9p.99

16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0507sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:56 AM