Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

GrumpyNooby
post May 2 2020, 02:19 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 2 2020, 02:07 PM)
This AmBank website really susah. FPX xfer go thru' AmBank Secure, later still cannot be sent thru' FPX to OCBC.

Have to send back to MBB, then finally successful to place OCBC 10 mth 3.25%. Done thru' FPX.
AmBank susah?
Affin Bank (Affin Online) is worse. Anything above RM 10k including eFD placement needs AffinSecure. mad.gif

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 2 2020, 02:45 PM
GrumpyNooby
post May 2 2020, 03:37 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ May 2 2020, 03:31 PM)
best online fd placement experience for me in order

hlb (breeze)
mbb (breeze)
pbe (breeze)
ambank (why need put promo code just use dropdown)
cimb (too many dropdown? uplift is easy)
ocbc (not a fan of having to toggle between app and pc for otp somemore login at app and pc so slow)
affin (secure code? why additional password somemore mixture of number and text?)
This is the most unique part and not easy to remember at all.
I nearly forgot what I put during setup. dry.gif
GrumpyNooby
post May 2 2020, 05:23 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(not slow n timid @ May 2 2020, 05:22 PM)
ambank also need to use  a separate app amsecure for transfer above 8k
I'm pointing to eFD placement.
Transferring out makes sense even though Maybank also implemented Secure2U for amount above RM 6k.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 2 2020, 05:25 PM
GrumpyNooby
post May 4 2020, 11:29 AM

12,387 posts

Back fron UOB:
3% pa for 36-months with yearly paid interest.
I double confirmed with the staff on the tenure.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 4 2020, 11:50 AM
GrumpyNooby
post May 4 2020, 02:57 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ May 4 2020, 02:57 PM)
This is a savings plan.

The plan with guaranteed principal and payment of dividends upon maturity yearly. However any termination in between means no dividend payable.
Saving plan is another talk that she went with me for a tenure of 10 years.

Deposit RM 500 monthly using credit card and get RM 1600 of "interest" every year for 10 years.
She cannot lie about this to my face and she quoted this plan as saving plan in truthful manner.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 4 2020, 03:00 PM
GrumpyNooby
post May 4 2020, 03:01 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ May 4 2020, 03:00 PM)
🤣

No worries.
My purpose to go to the branch not placing any FD.
I just wanted to get my debit card fixed.
GrumpyNooby
post May 4 2020, 06:04 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ May 4 2020, 06:01 PM)
Is this an insurance plan with saving feature?
The 10-years tenure plan said no insurance element she said.

There's another short tenure plan with insurance element.

Though I'm not that convinced at all since there's no pamphlet/poster/document.
She just scribbled on a paper and she looks not matured in handling wealth products.

GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 02:31 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ May 5 2020, 02:29 PM)
say today BNM nak annouce OPR, no see any news yet
You have until 5pm even before Bursa closes shop. dry.gif

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 5 2020, 02:31 PM
GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 03:10 PM

12,387 posts

Bank Negara slashes interest rates by 50bp to lowest since 2010

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...west-since-2010
GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 03:17 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 5 2020, 03:16 PM)
Somewhat expected, doesn't look like BNM has any other strategy
Still got room.
Another 25 basis point cut in July 2020.
GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 04:17 PM

12,387 posts

Guys, faster go to flock this:

GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 04:40 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ May 5 2020, 04:39 PM)
Now highest is RHB?
If you found anything higher, do share.
GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 05:14 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ May 5 2020, 05:13 PM)
OPR drop today does housing loan reduce interest rate will take place immediately as well or will have to wait till end of month only take effect?
Banks will announce eventually.
Please be patient.

Bank needs to communicate changes (if any) in its BR to its customers especially loans or credit facility which tied to BR movement.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 5 2020, 05:16 PM
GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 05:27 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 5 2020, 05:25 PM)
OCBC RM sent WhatsApp said will advise once new FD promo comes out.

Just 1 day...... bruce.gif  tongue.gif
0.5% is a big deal that not your RM or BM can decide by themselves.
The direction should come from HQ in KL.
GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 05:32 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 5 2020, 05:30 PM)
rclxub.gif

Whatever she sent is from HQ lah ........

U think she dare to publish by herself ??  tongue.gif
Then why she cannot proceed with the rates then?
Push her to commit for the rates then!
GrumpyNooby
post May 5 2020, 05:40 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 5 2020, 05:36 PM)
Aiyo,bro....

I am saying she need to get HQ to publish the rate lah. That is the point.

Please read carefully what I wrote before jump to conclusion
If you're bringing 1 mil to the branch, obviously she can commit since she had shared the rates to you right?
Of course the rates were from HQ.

If the rates are not meant to share, she shouldn't send it to you. That is a very big violation of code of conduct.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 5 2020, 05:41 PM
GrumpyNooby
post May 6 2020, 04:34 PM

12,387 posts

PB Fixed Deposit / Term Deposit-i Campaign
Please be informed that the promotional interest / profit rate under the “PB Fixed Deposit / Term Deposit-i” Campaign has been revised with effect from 6 May 2020.

https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/tc_fdtdi_en.aspx

PB 2020 Double Bonus Campaign
Please be informed that the Fixed Deposit promotional interest rate for the “PB FD Bonus” under the “PB 2020 Double Bonus” Campaign has been revised with effect from 6 May 2020.

https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/tc_db2020_en.aspx

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: May 6 2020, 04:34 PM
GrumpyNooby
post May 6 2020, 07:28 PM

12,387 posts

REVISION OF BOARD RATES EFFECTIVE 14 MAY 2020 [for SC]

Kindly be informed that the Fixed Deposit Board Rates and Young Savers for Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia Berhad and Term Deposit-i Board Rates for Standard Chartered Saadiq Berhad, will be revised effective 14 May 2020.

The new rates are also available on the Standard Chartered website.

Revised Fixed Deposit Board Rates for Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia Berhad
(Applicable for Retail Individuals and Business Banking clients only)

Revised Term Deposit-i Board Rates for Standard Chartered Saadiq Berhad

1. Term Deposit-i (Applicable to Conventional & Saadiq Branch)

2. Term Deposit-i (Commercial / Business Client) (Applicable to Conventional & Saadiq Branch)

Link: https://av.sc.com/my/content/docs/revision-...youngsavers.pdf
GrumpyNooby
post May 7 2020, 11:59 AM

12,387 posts

Fitch Solutions sees Bank Negara cutting OPR to 1%

KUALA LUMPUR: Fitch Solutions Country Risk & Industry Research expects the Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) to be cut to 1.00% by the end of 2020.

It said monetary easing is the clear option to support an ailing Malaysian economy, especially as the government is facing tough fiscal constraints.

“We at Fitch Solutions continue to expect accelerated monetary easing in 2020 by Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) and thus, revise our 2020 OPR forecast to 1.00%, from 1.50% previously,” it said in a statement.

Fitch Solutions said Malaysia’s economy had become even more fragile since our last monetary policy assessment, given the burden of lockdown leaving only essential services and grocery outlets open that had lasted for around a month and a half between March 18 and May 4.

It noted that the government has very limited fiscal space, exacerbated by low oil prices, to further support the economy, which makes monetary easing an even more important part of resisting the economic headwinds due to Covid-19.

“We do not expect inflation to be a large obstacle to further monetary easing. While there are risks of supply chain disruptions causing a spike in food prices which could see inflation rise, the dim prospect for non-food price pressures arising particularly from a poor oil price outlook, is likely to keep overall inflation manageable,” it said.

Fitch Solution said with the US Federal Reserve having cut its Funds Rate to a range of 0-0.25% in March, Malaysia now has an even wider policy rate advantage of close to 200bps, which leaves much more room for it to cut further in order to support the economy

“Like BNM, we see dire economic conditions over the coming months, even as the government is beginning to ease lockdown restrictions and we expect deeper rate cuts still to support the economy,” it said, adding that the global economy has taken a distinct turn for the worse since its last rate forecast.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...utting-opr-to-1
GrumpyNooby
post May 7 2020, 03:21 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(David_Yang @ May 7 2020, 01:50 PM)
If I get 1.2 in SGD and 2.5 in MYR I will not leave a single Ringgit in my account for savings.
How much CIMB FastSaver is paying?

31 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0760sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:58 PM