Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V28, Free Upgrade In 2017

westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 10:16 AM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Dec 29 2016, 09:44 AM)
thanks for your tips. I guess i just stick to my 30mbps for now. Im pretty sure TM gonna do a promo from time to time later. Maybe they will go for 500mbps for premium users and lower their 100mbps price later lol who knows. But personally I like to thank unifi because of them I already terminate my asterukk 6 months ago and live more happily with my android box now  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif
yeah, indeed, personally i also think that it is good to stick to a lower plan, at least there is a chance to grab any 'better deal' via their marketing team via phone call time to time or even have the option to upgrade to any 'current promo'. Given TM's track records, they have been coming up new promo to 'sabo' the current users who are paying higher price. in fact the phone marketing call to offer a cheaper price than the current promo price to persuade current customers on lower plan to upgrade to higher plan is a good example to 'sabo' the current customers who are 'ALREADY' on the highest plan and paying the 'NORMAL' price. sweat.gif so to avoid such things from happening to me, i better keep the price i paid to TM low even that the rm50 upgrade double speed is really worth it.

In fact, after the next year free upgrade to 50Mbps, we will be in the middle tier plan instead of base plan already. TM is known to focus on the base plan promo more as it comprises of the major group of users. yeah, it is possible also for them to come out higher speed like 500Mbps since the competitors had it now and neighbour country like lion city has already on very high speed plan currently. but of course it is not apple to apple comparison, since bolehland most of us are on landed properties, i do acknowledge that the infra is indeed more expensive to be implemented on landed vs high rise, this is the reason why Time can offer such cheap price for their plans as high rise indeed costs lesser to implement gigabit Internet.

I think the current move for TM is good, next year all unifi users will be on minimum VIP10, which it is indeed a minimum speed that can satisfy most household needs currently. As it is known that, most bolehland ppl care is the price in the end but not speed, they would prefer to have a minimum acceptable speed but at lowest price possible for most.

yeah, i am thankful that I have my unifi at my own house now too. tongue.gif with the fast Internet speed, a lot of things can be done, and they can be done very efficiently and satisfyingly.
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 01:14 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Dec 29 2016, 12:08 PM)
About next year's upgrade, those who eligible just need to wait?
No need to call up to register or something?
Just checking
another few more days, can check on the link for free upgrade eligibility.

www.tm.com.my/thankyousurprise

according to TM, starting from Jan 2017, the link can be used to check if you are qualified for the upgrade.
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 01:48 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Dec 29 2016, 01:39 PM)
Does any get free 1 month subscription when you go TM Point and upgrading your package?
confirmed dun have.....
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 02:25 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(jasmeet21 @ Dec 29 2016, 02:05 PM)
My current package is Streamyx 4Mbps without Hyyptv.

I have filled and submitted online application (30Mbps) on 26th December and today 29th got a call from TM saying that my location has availability and when do I want them to come and install, I told them I'm free on weekends but then I have also asked what happens if you come on 1st January (Sunday) I will still be eligible for free upgrade? He replied "Yes". rclxms.gif that was actually fast, I thought they would come/call in the 7-14 working days from my submision.

My real question is to those who has upgrade in November/December: What are the modem/router and STB brand + model will I receive?
likely that they want to expedite the orders due to the promotion as the promotion is stated to end on 31 Dec 2016 and since new customers, they will be more than willing to accept also. trust me, their online application has never been so efficient. I had just done two installation on 27 Nov 2016 and 06 Dec 2016 via online application. the waiting time is long for both application and installation.

therefore, it is really good for u and u make it on time for the free upgrade thumbup.gif

WiFi router - TP-Link Archer C5 AC1200 (both my installations are given this one - so far so good, no complaint, only thing that can be complaint is probably the fact that it does not support VLAN tagging on WiFi, so it is not possible to make use of guess SSID for HyppTV wireless, die die must go via wired only)

one more possible option is the D-Link DIR-850L AC1200. can do vlan taggin on wifi. so can use hypptv over wifi natively.

ONU - Alcatel-Lucent-I240G (my house one is given this, my parent house's one i am not sure, never check), in any case, brand wise will be either this one or huawei one, i think most ppl are given huawei one)

HyppTV set up box - there is only one model is given now which is Huawei EC6108V8.

This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 29 2016, 02:29 PM
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 03:08 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(khloh1166 @ Dec 29 2016, 03:03 PM)
Sent them a request to apply UNIFI via TM portal but they didn't response me after 4days then i call them n give them my case number and told me if they sales service without calling you about 3 days that means your house area full port or no support UNIFI. lol. sad..... hope next year give cheaper n better plan.
isn't that when u apply at the portal it will tell u that ur house got coverage or not then u just submit? if it does not have coverage, then u just leave ur contact details (but still no unifi).

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 29 2016, 03:04 PM)
You will need to login your HyppTV again. Sorry but I don't use HyppTV, I only install my own apps into the box.
I think it is more appropriate to post in the thread I posted earlier.
what apps u installed on ur hypptv box?

This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 29 2016, 03:09 PM
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 03:45 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 29 2016, 03:12 PM)
Kodi, some IPTVs.
just download from Google Play Store? or need to go thru certain hacking on the box? biggrin.gif
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 03:47 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(jasmeet21 @ Dec 29 2016, 03:46 PM)
From my readings you can straight download from google playstore, the alternative option is install using apk file with pendrive
ic. thanks for the sharing. will try it out. smile.gif
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 03:58 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(klavgjoe @ Dec 29 2016, 03:18 PM)
hi all im on unifi10mb line now...recently i received a marketting call to upgrade to 30mb line with additional rm 10.. new equipments (modem n tvbox) without contract.. told them i needed time to think

yesterday i call 100 and they told me the same thing except theres no equipment upgrade and tie down to 2 years contract...

is this the norm or fking tm ripping me off
marketing call normally gives better promo. u won't get the same promo normally at TM point or elsewhere. so if it is good deal, should just grab it. u are paying rm149 without GST for VIP10 now? rm159 for 30Mbps is ok deal actually. 3x speed but rm10 extra only.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 29 2016, 03:48 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3594298 Plenty of tips in this thread.
In short, install ES File Explorer from Google Play Store and download your APKs from websites like APK Pure and save in thumb drive, navigate from ES File Explorer and install from there. That's all.
No hacking is required.

Manually install APKs as this box cannot install apps directly from Google Play. It is a very basic box but usable.
cool. thanks for the tips... thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 29 2016, 04:02 PM
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 04:48 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(jasmeet21 @ Dec 29 2016, 04:32 PM)
How much internet does Kodi/HyppTv sucks? Is it possible to watch youtube on 2 ipad with 1080p or 720p while also kodi running with 1080p video too.
On 30Mbps
hypptv the TM provided apps will not utilize ur Internet Bandwidth from the 30Mbps, it has its own dedicated bandwidth just for IPTV.

i think the Kodi or other third party apps will utilize ur bandwidth but it depends on the content and quality that u stream.
But 30Mbps is a considered a significant amount of bandwidth that for ur usage is more than sufficient one confirmed.
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 06:05 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Dec 29 2016, 05:36 PM)
Tested on stock router(Tplink Archer C5), 1 pc 4k streaming + torrent downloading + 3 devices youtube 1080 streaming + 1 tvbox 1080 streaming, all using at the same time for few hours almost every night. The stock router handle very well.
Yeah, certainly not an issue at all.
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 07:42 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 29 2016, 07:36 PM)
How do u get the the upgrade to 50Mbps will be guaranteed (B & W) ?
Black and White?
I am under the dec upgrade campaign. (B & W). New sign up. thumbup.gif activated early this month (Dec) only.

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 29 2016, 07:31 PM)
I just went to tmpoint to terminate current VIP10 and apply ADV 30m.
Confirmed with TM point staff my home address is eligible for the free speed upgrade on Jan/feb 2017.

I am still in doubt because my installation date is on 3/1/2017 due to fully booked on 30 and 31 december. I double confirmed again for the free speed upgrade because based on tnc in official tm website, must activate on latest 31 december 2016 to entitle for the free speed upgrade. But the staff told me their tm point was informed is based on SUBSCRIPTION date. She even double confirmed with her supervisor (behind the room).

That is my story for today .hehe.
Yup website indeed clearly stated must activate by 31 dec 2016. So urs is exception? tongue.gif

besides, ur case is more of upgrading rite since u are existing unifi user? u said u terminate VIP10 by retunning the equipment etc? So ur house now have no more service and u are waiting for new installation?

VIP10 to Advance 30 is more of changing plan.

This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 29 2016, 07:48 PM
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 09:02 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 29 2016, 07:55 PM)
Not an exception. TM POINT staff told me their SOP is as long as subscribe latest 31 december 2016 will entitle for free speed upgrade.

I request for new router. But they refuse to do so and ask me file a report to 100.
So i choose to terminate current VIP10 and subscribed ADV 30M on today.
Installation will be done on 3rd on jan.

Now i am still using vip10. Will terminate VIP10 after ADV 30M activated.

This is advise from TM point staff.

I even pm EVERONECONNECT facebook, they replied me refer to tm point staff.

This is their replied:

As advised by the TMpoint personnel, you're eligible for the free speed upgrade.

Hope can get it on January.  rclxm9.gif
then that's good. why worry then. thumbup.gif
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 09:11 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 29 2016, 06:05 PM)
No problem. Use 16.1 Kodi Jarvis, it's working for me.
i login to the hypptv using my google account. but it seems like both google play store and youtube apps cannot even connect to Internet. confused.gif

TM had locked the apps?
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 09:16 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 29 2016, 09:14 PM)
I had this issue too initially. So I just factory reset it. Solved all the issues.
However, this box belongs to my friend, she gave it to me. Hence, I don't use any HyppTV in this box.
ic. just need to use the maintenance code 3008 to reset rite? ok will try again. thanks.

tongue.gif
westlife
post Dec 29 2016, 09:17 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Dec 29 2016, 09:14 PM)
You connect with wifi or Lan, if is wifi please make sure to disconnect your tv box lan from hyyptv lan port, if using lan please make sure it connect to internet port not hypptv port.
ok will try it too. thanks.
westlife
post Dec 30 2016, 01:14 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 30 2016, 11:28 AM)
Wanted to upgrade to 50mbps today (me being a slowpoke) to take advantage of the 2nd tier upgrade. Kept telling me about the 3-7 days process time thing and cannot be done.

Guess i will only enjoy 50mbps next year smile.gif
u call or visit tm point? If tm point should be able to do it quite fast.

u have many users at home sharing the connection? Else next year upgraded to 50Mbps should be good enough for most too.
westlife
post Dec 30 2016, 01:16 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(misaka @ Dec 30 2016, 12:25 PM)
unifi will come to my apartment next week what package should i get
Wasted. Miss the free upgrade.

get the lowest plan if u are nor heavy user. The current 30Mbps speed is rather good enough.
westlife
post Dec 30 2016, 02:04 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Dec 30 2016, 01:23 PM)
well cant wait what tm will give to unifi pro....till now nothing special announce about it.
another two more days to go. u are existing pro user? Rm329 per month?

I think it is certain that TM is aiming to up the maximum speed for all unifi users.
So likely that in 2017, no more unifi users will be having any speed below 10Mbps.
westlife
post Dec 30 2016, 04:57 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Dec 30 2016, 02:47 PM)
yes, got it during first week of it launch in april, mine RM 299 excluded GST...318.40 included gst.
Ic. with free rm20 call plan rite? The 600 free minutes thing.

If next year current rm229 users get updated to 100Mbps, the price difference will be rm70 comparing to the current 100Mbps users.

westlife
post Dec 30 2016, 04:58 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Dec 30 2016, 02:47 PM)
yes, got it during first week of it launch in april, mine RM 299 excluded GST...318.40 included gst.
Ic. with free rm20 call plan rite? The 600 free minutes thing.

If next year current rm229 users get updated to 100Mbps, the price difference will be rm70 comparing to the current 100Mbps users.

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0845sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:18 PM