AVFAN
Mar 1 2017, 05:32 PM
analysts are analysts. predictions are just what they are - predictions. while the band of "rm will strengthen to xyz" experts have gone all silent, here's a new one from across the causeway. QUOTE Outlook bleak for ringgit, say analysts FMT Reporters | March 1, 2017 Economist: With Bank Negara's weak foreign currency reserves, ringgit's depreciation could see it drop to as low as RM3.30 against SG dollar. http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...t-say-analysts/
kopifan
Mar 2 2017, 07:31 AM

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 1 2017, 02:15 PM) Lets us 'slow slow' wait for it then. Honestly speaking, I dont see any reasons for there to be a 'major' reversal.  Personally I don't expect the "major" reversal until 2H18 Sometime "major" reversal could be due to hype/hope/projections/excuses etc etc unless it is for real
kopifan
Mar 2 2017, 07:36 AM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 1 2017, 04:03 PM) how has fdi been in the last 10 years, what changes? http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/f...rect-investmentoh, it can. currency values are not random. depends how the power ones manage the economy. some go down, stay down and down some more - for decades. dong, rupiah included. http://life-in-saudiarabia.blogspot.my/201...s-of-world.htmlI was answering someone's q on why no impact from Saudi's recent non-binding MOU That is why major reversal could be for real or driven by hype
kopifan
Mar 2 2017, 07:38 AM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 1 2017, 05:32 PM) analysts are analysts. predictions are just what they are - predictions. while the band of "rm will strengthen to xyz" experts have gone all silent, here's a new one from across the causeway. As much as I hate to say, sgd is advancing to 3.25 level imho
wu ming
Mar 2 2017, 10:38 AM
Saw long queue at money changers in bkt bintang yesterday.
SUSlowya
Mar 2 2017, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 1 2017, 11:36 AM) Hshaha.. Having the same thinking... Ask all those fellow to give some glowing reports on Malaysia.. When people see, especially those kampong folks.. They happy.. Our leaders would also come in to support the investment.. Give PC here & there telling Malaysia is strategic for foreigners... Bla bla bla.. those are not investment, it's a fire sale to pay debt.
TOMEI-R
Mar 2 2017, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Mar 2 2017, 11:17 AM) those are not investment, it's a fire sale to pay debt. Fire sale of the country it is.... But where the money will be channeled to will be a different story. So who is selling the Malays out now? The Chinese?
TOMEI-R
Mar 2 2017, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(kopifan @ Mar 2 2017, 07:38 AM) As much as I hate to say, sgd is advancing to 3.25 level imho  Well, Sgp government manages the economy well. Cant blame them. But to be honest, I think many countries are doing fine because the only currency that is on a free fall now seems to be only the RM.
AVFAN
Mar 2 2017, 07:42 PM
same old, same old... do nothing, let the crooks go on. what do u really expect the world to value the RM? http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...rate-unchanged/
AVFAN
Mar 3 2017, 01:10 PM
SGD can be used in JB soon?! QUOTE Thank you to the reader who sent this in the comment. Taxi drivers in Johore Bharu now accept Singapore Dollars for the JB – Rochor ride. The rate is SGD12.00 per person. It means Singapore Dollars are now legal tender in JB. http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/johor-bh...iating-ringgit/ This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 3 2017, 01:11 PM
TOMEI-R
Mar 3 2017, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 3 2017, 01:10 PM) SGD can be used in JB soon?! Who doesn't want SGD now. Its 3.18 today at the money changers.
AVFAN
Mar 4 2017, 02:55 AM
fed likely to hike rates on mar 15. will be interesting to see if bnm will continue to use reserves to intervene or let go. QUOTE U.S. equities chopped around the flatline on Friday after Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen put an exclamation point on the possibility of a rate hike this month. While leaving just enough wiggle room in case conditions should change, the central bank leader said economic improvements of late will be a big part of the discussion at the March 14-15 Federal Open Market Committee meeting. ... Market expectations for a March rate hike have skyrocketed to 81 percent, according to the CME Group's FedWatch tool, on the back of hawkish rhetoric and solid economic data. http://www.cnbc.com/2017/03/03/us-markets.html This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 4 2017, 02:58 AM
icemanfx
Mar 4 2017, 04:06 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 4 2017, 02:55 AM) fed likely to hike rates on mar 15. will be interesting to see if bnm will continue to use reserves to intervene or let go. bnm is likely to delay rate rise until after ge.
kopifan
Mar 4 2017, 07:44 AM

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 2 2017, 04:14 PM) Well, Sgp government manages the economy well. Cant blame them. But to be honest, I think many countries are doing fine because the only currency that is on a free fall now seems to be only the RM.  Still need to endure the prevailing currency trend for some time
kopifan
Mar 4 2017, 07:46 AM

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 3 2017, 03:59 PM) Who doesn't want SGD now. Its 3.18 today at the money changers.  So far i saw buy @3.153 (MVM) and sell @ 3.19 (KLCC)
kopifan
Mar 4 2017, 07:50 AM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 4 2017, 02:55 AM) fed likely to hike rates on mar 15. will be interesting to see if bnm will continue to use reserves to intervene or let go. Next week 6th-8th stay tune press release on International Reserves of Bank Negara Malaysia as at 28 Feb 17
TOMEI-R
Mar 4 2017, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(kopifan @ Mar 4 2017, 07:46 AM) So far i saw buy @3.153 (MVM) and sell @ 3.19 (KLCC)  KLCC money changes more because a lot of tourists there.
silverviolet
Mar 5 2017, 08:14 PM

Any hope for RM after US interest hike....or should we consider migrating somewhere else..if yes where~
Ramjade
Mar 5 2017, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(silverviolet @ Mar 5 2017, 08:14 PM) Any hope for RM after US interest hike....or should we consider migrating somewhere else..if yes where~ Are you kidding me? US increase rate, RM will drop further. Unless it's "pegged" This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 5 2017, 09:51 PM
silverviolet
Mar 5 2017, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 5 2017, 09:11 PM) Are you kidding me? US increase rate, RM will drop further. Unless it's "pegged"  Thts y I am asking bout migration...sg earning power much higher...is there point of staying in msia which I am not seeing..any hope for Rm left...@@