5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V39

GameFr3ak
post Apr 25 2017, 05:04 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Apr 20 2017, 01:40 PM)
On topic about painting.. I'm thinking of getting a cheap airbrush. Saw quite a few on Taobao.... only costs around RM100++

Anyone using double action mini airbrush kit?
Anyone?
GameFr3ak
post Aug 9 2017, 04:47 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(mzack1104 @ Aug 9 2017, 01:06 PM)
just arrive today from Japan  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif [attachmentid=9028030]

Now have blue n green FA Gundam rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Is it actually cheaper than buying locally ?

GameFr3ak
post Sep 1 2017, 11:24 PM

3,849 posts

omg can't decide my next MG. Saw a few Zaku 2.0 recommendation then there's a crap tonne of variations out there...

Anyone knows a great Zaku 2.0 with thruster legs?
GameFr3ak
post Sep 3 2017, 08:53 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(TheAverageHustler @ Sep 2 2017, 02:33 AM)
Wanna consider a MG Jesta?
I've checked that out before. Not sure why it's so popular. Looks very plain to me.

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Sep 2 2017, 07:03 PM)
i still waiting for zaku 3.0 or at least an Origin release to complement the Origin Gundam sad.gif
Zaku with thruster, u might want to consider these?

Zaku 2.0 Shin Matsunaga
http://www.dalong.net/review/mg/m115/m115_p.htm

Zaku 2.0 Johnny Raiden
http://www.dalong.net/review/mg/m113/m113_p.htm

Psycho Zaku, if u're aventurous enough for the amount of runners biggrin.gif
http://www.dalong.net/review/mg/m194/m194_p.htm
I've actually gotten the Johnny Ridden zaku rclxms.gif
GameFr3ak
post Sep 4 2017, 10:36 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Sep 3 2017, 09:54 PM)
You'll be surprised with MG Jesta, great articulation although it's big and chunky, cool military design and color, LED-able, and the weapons are not heavy so the 2.0 manipulators have no trouble holding them.
I understand the great articulation from the reviews but the overall look of the kit just doesn't appeal to me.
GameFr3ak
post Sep 4 2017, 01:00 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Amy09 @ Sep 4 2017, 12:21 PM)
user posted image  Rider Kick

No more gaming? More building?
GameFr3ak
post Sep 4 2017, 01:03 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Sep 4 2017, 10:38 AM)
I guess you have to build it to appreciate it. Well, to each for his own, I didn't feel excited when I got it (them, actually, I bought three during warehouse sales laugh.gif), but after I was done, holy shit, it's one great grunt unit kit smile.gif
I've went to checked out the sniper extensively. I understand that it's a great solid kit. It's just that the overall aesthetic doesn't excite me.

I like things with a lot of dakka. I can barely just get away with Johnny Ridden Zaku cause of its thruster legs. Without them, I couldn't get myself to buy a zaku.

I guess I don't do well with normal grunt kits. Just my own taste I guess..
GameFr3ak
post Sep 4 2017, 04:56 PM

3,849 posts

hmm just started assembling the zaku yesterday, now digging my brains out deciding what color scheme to go for.............................
GameFr3ak
post Sep 5 2017, 01:50 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Sep 4 2017, 08:18 PM)
Some people here should stop abusing report function.
[attachmentid=9096125]
lol wooot.....

Also here's my first attempt at airbrushing. Preshade came out too subtle to my liking. Was a bit overzealous when spraying the main coat.

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Sep 5 2017, 01:57 PM
GameFr3ak
post Sep 6 2017, 01:10 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 6 2017, 11:35 AM)
MG Jesta looks bland due to the dull color scheme it used.

the design is actually better than most GMs out there.
However, the P-bandai version though........ drool.gif
GameFr3ak
post Sep 11 2017, 11:27 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 30 2017, 04:37 PM)
no, hand brush only for very small parts. hand brush works well with gunmetal but others is a big mess.

anyway those metallic paint will fade over time if you don't apply top coat.

future floor care is a good & cheap gloss coat, just make sure you apply sparringly as they are more watery.

i only use AB for Flat Clear & colors not available in cheap cans. Semi-Gloss/Matte Mr Top Coat not for human use one.

btw anyone know any shop that stocks lots of paints? i think most shops closed down already. most online shops never restock their paints all sold out.
Hey man, I remember asking you about flat coat. Since Mr Top Coat is expensive as hell, do you use bottled flat clear + thinner and AB it? I've tried some non-hobby flat spray cans, though cheap but they give rough patchy finish....
GameFr3ak
post Sep 11 2017, 01:08 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 11 2017, 12:15 PM)
There are not many Top coat in the market that isn't Tamiya or mr.Hobby. Mr.Hobby is very bad for use in Malaysia as it's prone to frosting and pressure is too high.

Where did you get non-hobby flat spray cheap? those in ACE aren't cheap and there's only 1-2 choices.

For any cans esp flat rule of thumb is never do more than 2 burst per session per area. gloss you can do wetter coats like 5 bursts but not flat as flat will turn gloss if you use too much, even Airbrush have same result but you can spray more using AB as they are thin.

For semi gloss, you can actually use Gloss Clear but sparingly. One burst per session will result in a very fine semi clear coat with spray texture. but spray at a further distance.

If you have airbrush just use Tamiya or Mr.Color Clear and use their respective Flat Gel to get the level of flat of your desire. and of course, thin it accordingly.

It's easier to get Tamiya bottled paints nowadays since 1U Tamiya sells alot of them. Most places don't carry Mr.Hobby Clear bottles. Well, not like there's many hobby tool shops in Malaysia nowadays.
My friend got a can of acrylic clear spray, reacts oddly to difference surfaces. When sprayed on bare plastic, it's a nice matte coat. If sprayed on painted parts, it's semi gloss.

I've got a few cans of Samurai Spray. When I do short bursts, I felt like it's spraying watery mist instead of just mist. Hope it makes sense. I felt like it lacks pressure. I might try your warm bucket method though as I have another full can sitting there.

Could you elaborate more on "flat gel" tried googling it gave me a lot of random results.
GameFr3ak
post Sep 11 2017, 01:41 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 11 2017, 01:14 PM)
i never seen Samurai Brand in shops, so i don't know how it works. wattery might mean you aren't shaking it well, you need to do it like Cocktail at the bar. it also depends on the QC of the paint mix, sometimes the batch has too much solvent. and also, has to be done on hot & dry days. if it's too wet, you should further the distance before spray, and like i said, max 1-2 burst on each area per session. the warm bucket mostly helps when you are using it for a long stretch as more you use it the colder it gets thus lower the pressure output. how much are the samurai mattes btw?

flat base is what Mr.Hobby call them. Google Mr.Hobby Clear Flat Base. there is a rought version no idea what it means.

http://mfpilot.com/clear-flat-base-standar...or-acrylic.html

put some in the clear + thinner mixture and use a flat tip brush to stir.
QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 11 2017, 01:18 PM)
also on the different reaction, bare plastic is very smooth, thus you get a very glossy look with the spray, on painted parts, the surface is probably not smooth with spray textures, thus when you spray clear gloss on it it will look less glossy. to make it look glossy you need wetter coat so the coat fills up the gap between the spray dots.

to do so you have to use burst spray and move the can from 1 side to another at a distance very quickly each spray, after 5-6 bursts you should get a smooth & clear wet finish.
Firstly, you've always been a great help. Thank you very much.

The samurai costs around RM10-12 per can (each 400 ML).

I'm unsure, I've shook the can like mad already. It could be some conditions that were not met. I could be spraying too far/near or it's just not warm enough or like you said, too much solvent. My friend used the same spray can but he got a nice matte finish coating. I've got blotchy patchy finish like below.

If the warm bucket method doesn't work, I might try to decan the samurai and use AB. If AB doesn't work as well, then I'll just fking buy bottled paints liow

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Sep 11 2017, 01:42 PM
GameFr3ak
post Sep 11 2017, 01:57 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 11 2017, 01:52 PM)
why decan a rm10 canned coat when you can purchase a bottled coat for rm10?

when you say blotchy patch, means the coat is too thick, either you sprayed too close, or sprayed too much. like i said, a burst from far distance will give you dotted texture feel, so only do 2 burst each time. you just want the spray to touch the parts you are coating, not "Blast" it. for matte you have to shake really well of the gloss & matte mixture won't be even and you get a patch of gloss here and a blotchy patch there.
Thanks man. I'll consider my options when I'm done with my next kit. I might test on some runners.

I'll shake like this next time lol

GameFr3ak
post Oct 31 2017, 08:22 PM

3,849 posts

Now when u guys were talking about getting taxed when bringing back kits from Japan. Now I'm a bit worried since I think somewhere in the future I might get something when I visit again..

So if I were to get like a few MG kits still in box and in a luggage will I risk getting taxed?
GameFr3ak
post Nov 1 2017, 01:37 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Nov 1 2017, 07:39 AM)
Yes naturally.
QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Nov 1 2017, 08:35 AM)
If custom decided to check you then they will give whatever reasons to tax you, usually no if you only carry one luggage and they won't trouble to catch small fish. MG kits still safer compare with PG kits.
QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 1 2017, 11:20 AM)
Dude, just buy what you want from Japan and don't worry too much
Damn.. last time I was there.. I was so amazed by the box size of yamato space ship... Can't imagine if I bring one back...
GameFr3ak
post Nov 1 2017, 03:49 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Nov 1 2017, 02:23 PM)
Can fit into luggage? If can most of the times is fine.
I see. Then worst case scenario I'll flatten the box and stack the runners so I can fit everything in the luggage.
GameFr3ak
post Nov 1 2017, 06:32 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 1 2017, 06:05 PM)
Cut all the parts and throw away runner and flatten the box
so extreme meh, baja hitam
GameFr3ak
post Nov 22 2017, 11:19 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Nov 22 2017, 09:12 PM)
Oh yeah no more MYGBWC in Da Men, that place is bad for me.

I've skipped many RGs, hopefully this year the sales will be better.

no more? Cancelled?
GameFr3ak
post Nov 23 2017, 02:06 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 23 2017, 09:00 AM)
changed to mytown, stated in the poster
Thanks man. Also, I've never been to one of these. Is there an admission fee? I'm building my 3rd kit and I'm kinda interested walking around looking at some nice work..

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0663sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:39 AM