5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V39

GameFr3ak
post Mar 28 2017, 12:16 PM

3,849 posts

Hey guys, it's my first attempt at hand painting. I used a cheap marker + lighter fluid as thinning agent and some random make up brush for this. What do you think? Is it too rough?

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Mar 28 2017, 12:17 PM
GameFr3ak
post Mar 28 2017, 01:59 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(chyll2 @ Mar 28 2017, 12:51 PM)
I would say you did a good job
I see. Thanks. I had some pretty rough time rushing to paint the parts as they dry up pretty fast. And it seems like lighter fluid evaporates fast as well. How do you guys prolong the wetness of the paint? Use thinner x20 instead?
GameFr3ak
post Mar 29 2017, 08:42 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(sixshot @ Mar 28 2017, 10:07 PM)
anyone using pencil to do panel lining?

i tried pen at first, didn't like the result. then used pencil, it provides very subtle finish. really nice to look compared to pen.
I tried it with mechanical pencil, I liked how it's subtle and all but sooner or later I realize how easy it was for them to fade off or fall off......

And if you have very thin panel line, you'll struggle if you don't have 0.25mm tip pencil...

So in the end I did my panel lining with a combination of tamiya accent panel lining + micron pen (Black) + gundam silver panel lining pen...
GameFr3ak
post Mar 29 2017, 02:23 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Mar 29 2017, 10:13 AM)
i got one, not bad for the price

cuts quite clean as seen in the vid below (2nd set nipper, 1st set nipper is the g-temple gt-01)

I'm using this

Is there actually any big difference in which nipper u use?
GameFr3ak
post Mar 29 2017, 07:21 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Mar 29 2017, 04:11 PM)
Yes, material used is different. I bought Bandai starter kit set. The cutter is similar to above. The steel is easy to rust, cant fix it back plus the rubber holder rot in few year. That will be last time I use that same design cutter again.

Dont worry about how much it can cut as you still need sanding to clean off nub anyway. But hobby cutter narrow and small tip it can easily reach the small part to cut compared to normal tip cutter.
QUOTE(ralph_d @ Mar 29 2017, 02:31 PM)
good question

IMO, better nipper save more time building
you can cut closer to the part, sometimes if you're lucky, work done right after you cut, no sanding required

matters the most if you're OOB builder
I see. I sand some nubs but in the end I roughen up the area cry.gif I bought a set of beginner set that comes with 3 sanding sticks (diff roughness on them) but I tried using all of them with the same rough outcome..

gosh i have so much to learn

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Mar 29 2017, 07:35 PM
GameFr3ak
post Apr 4 2017, 09:28 AM

3,849 posts

Just finished Thunderbolt.....

So pretty........ no money... bangwall.gif

GameFr3ak
post Apr 5 2017, 12:18 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Apr 5 2017, 10:31 AM)
Seems like Gundam, gundamguy and Gundamkitcollection seize to update anymore
Where else to go for latest gunpla news
gundamkitscollection latest post was 4 Apr... You sure mate?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 5 2017, 06:43 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Apr 5 2017, 04:38 PM)
Huhu... My Providence has arrived thumbup.gif
I'm jelly... damage?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 5 2017, 09:12 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Apr 5 2017, 08:41 PM)
140, I used lots of points for it on amiami.
cheaper if u buy straight from jp ?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 7 2017, 04:49 PM

3,849 posts

Just got done coating my first kit. Bought a few more markers, maybe gonna paint the fingers rclxms.gif

GameFr3ak
post Apr 8 2017, 12:51 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(sixshot @ Apr 7 2017, 06:30 PM)
semi glossy coating?
It's actually matte. But it looks like it's not matte enough from just 1 coat. Should I apply another coat? Also, what do you guys think about handpainting with vallejo acrylic?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 9 2017, 06:11 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(xein @ Apr 8 2017, 01:08 AM)
Handpainting using vallejo acrylic is good for small detail and cost effective for small details as they are pre-thinned. Just shake well before use.
You meant vallejo model color right? And for thinner, do you guys use name brand stuff (Tamiya and Mr color)? Or you guys use random hardware store thinner?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 9 2017, 11:31 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(xein @ Apr 9 2017, 07:50 PM)
For vallejo use water.
Others depends on their own thinner. Never use hardware thinner, they are too strong and can melt plastic.
I see. So if I got some spilled over or over painted areas, use Tamiya x20 to rub them off?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 11 2017, 08:32 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(TheAverageHustler @ Apr 11 2017, 01:12 AM)
Is that RG or HG? Well done!
MG lol
GameFr3ak
post Apr 17 2017, 02:50 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(matt1998 @ Apr 16 2017, 02:32 PM)
Just asked gamersarena on fb and they said panel line accent color will crack the kit after 1 year is it true?
I think u have to put a shit tonne of ink to cause that..
GameFr3ak
post Apr 17 2017, 07:43 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(matt1998 @ Apr 17 2017, 07:26 PM)
thanks for the help sifus.
Btw I can't find zippo lighter fluid around my area what else can I use to remove excess panel line ink?
That's quite impossible. Which area are you from? Mid Valley alone has around 2 shops selling..
GameFr3ak
post Apr 17 2017, 07:46 PM

3,849 posts

Also, what airbrush set are you guys using? Anyone using those cheap China airbrush + compressor?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 20 2017, 01:37 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(matt1998 @ Apr 19 2017, 03:31 PM)
Thank you, will definitely take a look.
Or you can get it around Sunway. Google Gundam Toy Shop...
GameFr3ak
post Apr 20 2017, 01:40 PM

3,849 posts

On topic about painting.. I'm thinking of getting a cheap airbrush. Saw quite a few on Taobao.... only costs around RM100++

Anyone using double action mini airbrush kit?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 20 2017, 08:17 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(daisuke @ Apr 20 2017, 03:57 PM)
interested to know what the veterans opinions as well, im thinking about investing on a airbrush , just not sure if i should go all out on my 1st buy, or just take it slow with cheap ones, like the ones from lazada.........just for fun, which double action(gravity/cup) feed is the best?compressor as well.....only know sparmax is good for compressor? icon_question.gif
The one that I saw (RM100++) is the complete kit. Airbrush + compressor... I saw a few videos.. they seemed fine...

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:39 AM