Club VAIO

Miyabi
post Mar 8 2009, 08:37 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(ryosuke @ Mar 8 2009, 04:42 PM)
hm..did you install mozilla firefox? Because i have experience on this...using mozilla and ie together and my com lags... sad.gif
not really, i dont experience lagging using them both. provided using 2gb ram.

QUOTE(carjack18 @ Mar 8 2009, 08:15 PM)
Hi guys/gals,

Can anyone recommend the model/series of SONY VAIO that I could buy with my budget between the range of RM3.5K to RM4K?

BTW, is there any offer / gifts if I buy from Sony Style? Thanks in advance.
mobility: sr series (add another rm450)
moderate usage: cs series
multimedia/desktop: fw series

offer/gift, wait for upcoming pc fair.
Miyabi
post Mar 13 2009, 03:01 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(betz_zie @ Mar 13 2009, 09:09 AM)
Hi guys..
Anyone know what kind of warranty that sony give to use when we buy Sony Vaio CS26G, is it International warranty or Local warranty only?
How about DELL, is it international warranty?

thx be4..
Local warranty only.
As for DELL, i dont know.

Miyabi
post Mar 14 2009, 09:02 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Mar 13 2009, 05:19 PM)
Hi guys, i recently update the bluetooth software of my SR26. EVery time i on the com, it says a file called unist.exe is missing. When i click browse and put it somewhere it says unable to start bluetooth stack service. What should i do? It could be something to do with the bluetooth mouse too.
is the update related to bluetooth driver or the bluetooth peripherals?
as far as i know vaio using toshiba bluetooth stack driver, and until now from my first day using the notebook, theres no update on bluetooth. like tpl said, try rollback driver or system restore to early day before you update.
Miyabi
post Mar 25 2009, 01:28 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 23 2009, 08:52 AM)
Guys, Did you face any battery problem with your Vaio laptop? I have this strange battery problem. But not sure is the battery really died out or the laptop problem. My first battery will died out suddenly and I cannot power up the laptop at all. The battery is already 3yrs old.
Ok, so I thaught the battery lifetime is max already. Than put on my spare battery which is bigger and longer operating hour. About 1 month plus. it died out also and the laptop cannot power up at all. The spare battery lifetime is 2yrs+. The laptop still can power by the adaptor and no sign of problem.

Is it the vaio laptop battery behave like this when times up? Model TX.

I have another power hunger DELL laptop which I have the battery that already 4yrs. It died slowly and I can still power up my laptop but cannot last long. I thaught all the battery behave like this but not Vaio. sad.gif
perhaps battery callibration helps.
anyway, if the laptop cannot be turn on with battery, means the battery is dead. time to get it change.
my battery dead month ago. i say its my fault anyway, since i care less about the battery, letting it inside the notebook for long time, high temperature storage besides store the battery at full capacity. etc.

i'll say average lifetime of the battery should about 3 years.

store the battery at 40% capacity should prolong the batt's lifetime.

Savlon: neat setup smile.gif
Miyabi
post Mar 25 2009, 04:03 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(lowyat_hp @ Mar 25 2009, 02:09 PM)
Hey guys... I'm interested in buying the FW 33G, but i'm not sure what exactly is the difference between the 2 models offered accept from the different processor, harddisk and memory. Are there any other difference in specs between the 2 units? Cause read in the earlier post that they screen is also different, can anyone confirm this?

different between FW33G and FW35G?
Screen technology, one with LCD Lite and another LCD Rich Color (in TT series, and Z series). Both with still using CCFL backlight technology however. I believe LCD Lite = XBRITE-ECO.
Miyabi
post Mar 27 2009, 10:55 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(sfcc80 @ Mar 27 2009, 09:46 AM)
hi guys , i'm thinking to buy a SONY VAIO Z – FW37GY

but was wondering whether the built-in 4GB RAM was DDR2 or DDR3, can anyone help me out ?

i have check the intel & sony website but couldn't get any answer
i also came across that the intel PM45 chipset was able to support DDR2 & DDR3 platform, how does it work ? able to have both type at the same time ?
err,
VAIO Z = Built in DDR3 ram
VAIO FW37 = Built in DDR2 ram.

yes, both type work. just that you will have disadvantage at memory bus limitation for FW.

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Mar 27 2009, 10:57 AM
Miyabi
post Mar 27 2009, 02:37 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Mar 27 2009, 01:59 PM)
Hi guys,

With 116 pages and counting, I'm lost to which where can I find a constructive post on Vaio P? can someone direct me to a specific page?

I'm really impressed with the size, but not the price obviously. So if someone can say for sure that the performance is excellent, I may go with this one.
sorry about that. since the number of users / or maybe no one using the P series, i would suggest you to take a look of VAIO P users thread in notebookreview.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=348277

Miyabi
post Mar 27 2009, 09:37 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Mar 27 2009, 03:09 PM)
Hi guys, i seem to have this problem as attached in the picture below. I am not so sure what caused it but it only occurs once in a while. After restarting, it will be ok.

If i am not mistaken, it only started after i updated some things a few weeks back. Any suggestion on how to resolve it?
try google the problem about " Desktop is not accessible " or the whole text of that error. the problem occurred due to the change on your privilege on certain folder. iinm.
some say its related to Vista dock.
anyway, boot in safe mode, system restore before the update?
there alot of solution available anyway. its related to OS. not the hardware.
Miyabi
post Mar 27 2009, 10:16 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(HooTeRcWy @ Mar 27 2009, 10:04 PM)
hi i decided to get a fw notebook, but in a dilemma on choosing which version of FW to get
here's the 2 fw i had in mind.
FW33 - 3588
FW12 - 3488

i know that fw12 is an obsolete model, but it's having better processor than fw33 (p8400 vs t6400, got this from www.sony.com.my comparison chart). the only difference i can c between the model is the centrino technology in fw33 which is not in fw12.

is it advisable to get obsoleted model? i called sony about the warranty and they say warranty for obsoleted recent purchased models are still supported by them.

help??

cheers
i'll say get the updated one. since notebook is not like desktop where the upgrade can be done anytime.
Miyabi
post Mar 27 2009, 11:36 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(lowyatla @ Mar 27 2009, 11:24 PM)
sr13 for 3.5k, a good bargain? or should i go for fw23 instead? help guys
depend on your purpose. mobility sr, else fw.
Miyabi
post Mar 28 2009, 12:02 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Mar 27 2009, 11:44 PM)
yea but bigger screen always the better ma..
personal choice. thats why i said its depend on purpose.
im using vaio mostly its mobility and yet satisfying performance on the go.

btw sr = led support backlight.
fw = ccfl support backlight.

sr wins in long term of lcd lifetime anyway.

but again, its all your personal choice.
Miyabi
post Mar 28 2009, 03:35 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(Arapan @ Mar 28 2009, 12:26 AM)
I intend to buy the Z series (special edition model) during the PC fair but buy at Sony Style. the offer is the same.
good for ya. i might settle with TT series maybe, but not buying in a hurry since my notebook still working well.
anyway, just got the battery pack, VGP-BPS2C (5200mAh) for 400 bucks. there goes my salary expenditures ha ha.
Miyabi
post Mar 28 2009, 01:56 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(mdnj79 @ Mar 28 2009, 01:30 PM)
theres more than just o.26ghz different..
p8600 is a penryn class processor .....and the size is smaller 45nm ..plus the FSB is 1033 ....wayyyyy faster than T5800..which is a merom class pros...65nm in size and up too 800 fsb.
FSB is front side bus... the bigger they are the better it is...
by the way here in NZ the z26 cost only rm5700!!!! if u add 300 to that u will get 1 yr international service!!!!1
awesome price there. and welcome smile.gif
Miyabi
post Mar 29 2009, 12:55 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Mar 28 2009, 09:23 PM)
oi TS, starter..add me in this club too!

as a proud owner of VAIO Z36GD series...habis aku punya bonus & overtime tongue.gif

it's an impulse buy really, but seems that the Vaio P only looks good in pictures but so-so specs looks in real life. then I looked into the TT series, so small, but less powerfull....CS series, if not it's made of plastic body i'll settle on that one. but i want a truly high end laptop with non plastic body, there goes the Vaio Z!
cool. ts already retired from vaio club.
anyway, you bought the gothic arabesque or just a plain one?
welcome to the club biggrin.gif

yea, TT proc aint powerful like Z , its targetting to total mobility user. but im satisfied with its build quality rather than its previous namely TZ series.
Miyabi
post Mar 29 2009, 09:21 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(Arapan @ Mar 29 2009, 08:42 AM)
Is it true that at present the Z series is the best model?
i can say yes because its portable and yet powerful machine ever available on market.
at size of 13.1" and weight around 1.6kg, its sits between notebooks and sub-notebooks. any users can use this product from a businessman to multimedia user. the hybrid gpu switch is convenient at it states, requires less time for gpu change whenever you feel to use gpu demanded software.

built quality wise, its similar with TT-series. in other words, sony produce 2 premium product of theirs which are Z series and TT series.
i suggest you to sit for some time at sony store, playing the product you wanted to buy, and decide.
Miyabi
post Apr 3 2009, 06:55 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 3 2009, 06:33 PM)
The way the sony battery dead is buzzer me. Cause so far I encounter the battery dead is with slow and hour cannot last any longer. But the sony battery dead suddenly with can't power up at all. Two of my battery have a same fade.
Anyway, today I decide open up the battery and check with multimeter. The battery is fine with each still holding 1.5+volt. But no voltage at the connector side. So comfirm is the pc board spoil. Most probably can't be repair. Don't no where to get the board. This damn sony battery cost me RM1900!
i see. so the pc board spoil it. but first question, what make it dead? do you feel heat at the battery part? because li-ion battery wear out easily if there's heat. since you already open the battery, you cant repair it and its dangerous to assemble the batt back.. may lead to explosion/fire.
well, the battery was expensive somewhere in 3 years ago. just go order new one at sony style/sony centre, wont cost that expensive price.

Added on April 3, 2009, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(hibiki0104 @ Apr 3 2009, 10:19 AM)
my model is LJ25G . not cr lah. now  turn to blue line edy =.=
just send back the faulty unit back to sony centre since you just bought it..unless you buy through non-official channel..well thats the other issue. new
lcd cost around 1k ~ 2k (if no warranty).

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Apr 3 2009, 07:06 PM
Miyabi
post Apr 3 2009, 08:01 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(hibiki0104 @ Apr 3 2009, 07:21 PM)
i didnt bougt it. win frm sony contest.  just got  4 days ago.. on tuesday -.- .3 day only rosak suda. huhu
win frm sony contest. so its in the box right? go register your product at my sony website. you can still get the warranty anyway. if they refuse to give you a warranty, show them some proof of winrar. lol. bad luck for ya.

i can say that less probability to get lemon product aside from the defective product due to its design for any sony product.

Miyabi
post Apr 4 2009, 09:59 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 4 2009, 01:58 AM)
The lithium battery itself is find.(those pink color cyclinder). All have enough voltage. The spoil part is the pc board. If the lithium battery is spoil, I can buy from market and solder back. But for pc board spoil, than I can't do anything.
I m not sure which cause which spoil. The battery is cold and non responsive at all. I didn't take out the battery when finish charge.  Unless I buy a new battery and try it out. But will cost me a bomb if the new battery spoil again. I don't think the price will drop till half. Sony battery is famous with expensive. sweat.gif
thats why its dead fast...
always take out the batt. when you are using power adapter.
and store the battery at cool temperature at 40% when not use.
btw the battery is vgp-bpl5 13000 mAh? its cost around rm900~rm1200 at most iinm. you better ask from sonystyle/sony centre about it. same theory apply to the battery i just bought, its cost around rm600~rm800. but i bought it at rm400. you have to make order for the obsolete model battery btw.

http://www.batteryuniversity.com , go here. take your time reading. its works as charm.

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Apr 4 2009, 10:10 AM
Miyabi
post Apr 5 2009, 07:54 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 4 2009, 10:04 PM)
Today brought the vgp-bps5 7200mah. Cost rm230. Not original. Will try it out frequently to see the laptop got problem or not.

Is your battery dead as same as mind? Suddenly dead and laptop cannot detect battery present?
The battery dead gradually. Not instance dead. I notice the battery does not have longer life, gradually reduce from 3 hour to 2 hour, later 1 and half hour, etc. I tried to calibrate the battery, but its already late. I charged the battery few days before it dead (and yes, since its coming to its dead) the capacity of the battery is also decreasing which make odd charging time for 100% fully charged. It require 10 minutes to fully charged from 0.. which somehow strange. Few days later when i try to turn on the notebook with battery, the notebook does not response anymore. The battery bar saying there no battery insert in the notebook which explains that the discharging of the battery (during the day i am not using it) make it as an empty battery brick.

The cause why my battery dead was mention early in this thread. With the new battery and lesson learn plus a guide from batteryuniversity, i am now taking care of li-ion battery for any device. The battery now in good condition and does not suffer odd discharging anymore.

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Apr 5 2009, 07:55 PM
Miyabi
post Apr 8 2009, 06:19 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(hanz08 @ Apr 6 2009, 05:00 PM)
i'm not sure myself. seems like the cooling fan makes weird noises every few minutes.
its the common problem in cs. you either change the fan (return back, there some serial number of the fan part, but i forgot) or live with it..

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0478sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:25 PM