Cycling, Any cyclist here??

Sky.Live
post Jan 27 2012, 11:54 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 27 2012, 11:45 AM)
is there any cycling event tomorrow or sunday?
tomorrow at PD, swim-cycle-run
https://www.facebook.com/events/248487885224110/
Sky.Live
post Jan 27 2012, 12:05 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I heard there's triathlon training in putrajaya too... but never seen any info regarding it
Sky.Live
post Jan 27 2012, 12:19 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

If you are any modern parents in this kiasu society you will realise.

All parents will send children to at least one physical activities such as taekwondo or any sports but will be very upset if their children choose to become an athlete

All parents will send children to at least one performing arts such as ballet or instrument class but will be very upset if their children choose to become a musician or dancer

This list goes on and on

p/s is it an offence for not wearing helmet while cyling?

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jan 27 2012, 12:21 PM
Sky.Live
post Jan 27 2012, 02:56 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

12K? i just went to eat lunch.. total distance 11k, not far but the sun is killing me
Sky.Live
post Jan 27 2012, 03:14 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jan 27 2012, 03:02 PM)
bro this is for charity cycling la ... not a race
oo..

how u guys transport ur bike actually?
Sky.Live
post Jan 27 2012, 03:26 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 27 2012, 03:18 PM)
silvy won't care if it is to save earth, racing against a dragon or escaping from the afghan terrorist now... he just wants  to ride... (sounds wrong  hmm.gif )
my policy... never transport on car.. i ride to everywhere i want to ride... which explains my limited routes  blush.gif
hmm i don't wanna ride to port dickson...

doing 2hr swim 2 hrs bike and 1hrs run afte rthat?

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jan 27 2012, 03:26 PM
Sky.Live
post Jan 28 2012, 12:48 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Although I have not been with my bike for long, my main reason chosing my current bike
1) Price - Wanted to get tiagra but 1k upgrade from it still within my budget so just go for it
2) Shop location - 5 mins ride from my house
3) Groupset - Shimano 105 is recommended although i'm not sure why (wanted to get SRAM initially but not avail for shop around my area)
4) brand - actually i still dunno what is Focus
5) colour - white is sexy
6) Lazy - tired of going too many shop and reading bike stuff everyday without making a purchase
Sky.Live
post Jan 28 2012, 07:54 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Did my first open road cyling 38.59km @ 25.7kmh avg speed. I see those good cyclist usually do very high cadence no matter up or down hill and just maintain them all the wayy..

Did that after my 1km open water swim, but problem after the bike session i cant run my legs almost cramp and i am forced to run/walk for the next 7km..

After 25k my hand turn numb, and my back start to ache a bit.. have to slow down and attack again later on...

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jan 28 2012, 08:00 PM
Sky.Live
post Jan 28 2012, 09:17 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I tried that in my ride as well, as i use lower ratio gear, there's a sound behind the gear and sometimes there's a space/gap when i step where I felt nothing is engaged thus creating a sudden jerk in pedalling.. What I do is that I normally try to shift 1 or 2 gear above.

When you are shifting gear downwards for a climb, usually u do it gradually? from 10->9->8 or a sudden jump? I found sudden jump cause a sudden jerk in pedalling and might lost balance too..

also when to shift the frontgear vs the rear gear..

sorry many question after today's ride
Sky.Live
post Jan 29 2012, 05:49 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Is there any maintenance needed for the bike? I usually just clean off the debris by spraying water on my bike...

If you are not using clip-on shoe, shud you step the pedal on your heels or your fore foot?

Saw few sexy full carbon yesterday

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jan 29 2012, 05:50 PM
Sky.Live
post Jan 29 2012, 06:06 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Jan 29 2012, 05:58 PM)
Sky,

Care to name a few of those sexy ones?
Bad crash for the Malaysian trainers. Was involved in one in 2010, 7 stitches, 2 cracked ribs a lot of blood, learnt my lesson.
I am not sure cause I don't really have any recognition towards bike brand and model

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...25709348&type=3

maybe you can try to look for it yourself and listed it here
Sky.Live
post Jan 29 2012, 06:19 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Jan 29 2012, 06:17 PM)
saw a focus in the pic...are you the one wearing orange t-shirt? how was the ride, nice?
Yup fattest guy is me, nice ride, almost perfect weather although we started so late.. like 11am..

The route is good, up and down endlessly, good that there's recovery and not excessive long stretch of uphill which i think i will be difficult to handle at the moment
Sky.Live
post Jan 29 2012, 09:58 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(silvy @ Jan 29 2012, 09:55 PM)
One noob question,

Is the position of my front wheel correct? The arrow supposed to point forward or backward?

Many thanks. smile.gif  smile.gif
I also wondering if there's differences, i just dismantled my tire and installed them wrong way as before..
Sky.Live
post Jan 29 2012, 11:22 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Jan 29 2012, 11:07 PM)
forefoot is good and more efficient than heeling. And today, 7 riders out of 65 riders met with an accident.
Mind talk a bit of it?
Sky.Live
post Jan 30 2012, 09:42 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Biarpun sedih dengan apa yang berlaku, beliau turut lega kerana kemalangan itu tidak membabitkan skuad elit lelaki negara yang bakal bersaing di ACC untuk mendapat mata kelayakan ke Sukan Olimpik akan datang dan Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) hujung bulan depan.

If my coach talk about this kind of things I would slap him immediately i think... zzzzzzzzz
Sky.Live
post Jan 30 2012, 08:55 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I just got an Ironman Global Trainer, it support AMT24+ meaning can pair with candence meter.. Should I get one? how useful will it be?
Sky.Live
post Jan 30 2012, 09:15 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Jan 30 2012, 09:08 PM)
personally I find cadence more useful than the speed indicator. the speed is just something kinda nice to have, but the cadence meter helps me pace myself on the rides
There's many other weird meter which I don't even know what is that..

It's comes with a Heart Rate Meter..

Supported ANT+ speed/cadence sensor

Power Meter which I don't know what is that..

Any idea how much a cadence sensor would cost?
Sky.Live
post Jan 30 2012, 10:54 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Jan 30 2012, 09:28 PM)
a buddy who uses a road bike swears by the combination of the heart rate meter and the cadence sensor. not too sure about the specifics of it, but something to do with the heart rate determining the cadence or something like that.

no idea about the price of the cadence sensor though.. I use a cat eye bike computer with cadence and speed, but don't think that's applicable to what you're looking for. same for that roadie buddy too, his heart rate meter comes with his bike computer
http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2010/08/timex-i...trainer-in.html

Scroll down there's actually a Garmin Candence meter...
Sky.Live
post Jan 30 2012, 11:26 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jan 30 2012, 11:07 PM)
Bro,
I am sellig timex cadence... Refer my thread in my signature if u r interested.. :-)...

Mrjgx,
Where did u see merida 903 with tiagra? How much is it? Looking forward to that bike too..

Tq...
Try KSH

Din know cadence meter is quite expensive...

My Cycling route

Just see where I have been cycling.. with HRM and GPS, lack of Candence meter tho...

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Jan 30 2012, 11:33 PM
Sky.Live
post Jan 31 2012, 08:40 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Jan 30 2012, 11:49 PM)
ok, that thing makes my cat-eye look like a child's toy

Added on January 30, 2012, 11:55 pm

hey cool, that's really detailed. so far I've only been using simple mapping to keep track of my routes.

like this one here: http://maps.google.com/?q=http://share.abv...120115-0643.kml

that's the last time I cycled before CNY. bloody struggled to get back to my car, that trip

gonna start on kesas again tomorrow night. Probably gonna die there after 2 weeks + of not cycling
2 weeks aint so bad right... kinda nice too, for your meter

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:27 AM