Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Saw a big bunch of convoy cyclist in Senawang.. some with pink jersey
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 01:41 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Feb 14 2012, 12:48 PM)
I left the team (& the sport) after 9 years (7 years in Selangor team, Sukom 98 & Gemilang 2001 team) becoz I no longer enjoy it & every training ride feels like it was being forced upon me. It all began with the Gemilang 2001 project. I couldn't stay with team in Bkt Jalil (I was in UKM at that time) & becoz of that I was given only RM100 as monthly allowance (I'd get RM700 if I stayed in Bkt Jalil). Money was never the reason I joined the team, but RM100 a month is just impossible. I've been supporting myself before that, feeding & training needs was all from my pocket. Everytime I train I'd spend at least RM5 for feeding. I used to take Cloud 9 chocolate bars as feeding, only 80 cents each.. tongue.gif  My family had been supporting me & it's getting harder for me to burden my family with my cycling expenses. So I decided to pullout of the project team & the sport for good.

To think about it now, maybe it was the best decision for me. It's always been so close yet so far for me. Lotsa 2nd & 3rd, never 1st. My last major result was 3rd in both sprint & kilo in the 1997 National Track Championships. In 1998 I missed riding in the World B track championships in Ipoh as I was down with a very bad fever just 3 days before the championships. That was supposed to be my platform to get back into the Sukom 98 project. I never really recovered from that. Missed out on 1999 Sea Games after performing very badly in the sprints (the trials was like 2 months after I recovered from my fever).
Now we know in order to be in the glory, you need dedication, some wealth maybe, a lot of luck too...
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 03:17 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Bought a new pump, and 2 matching colour cage bottle (well they looks really lousy quality tho, complain much for RM15 ea)

RM170 gone
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 03:23 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 14 2012, 03:20 PM)
haha my pump~!
haha i bought for the sake of best looking actually, the other 1 which is much expensive looks damn expensive although much lighter.. Well for floor pump weight doesn't really matter..
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 03:34 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 14 2012, 03:28 PM)
well i like the chrome one... but this one works well too... i pump 110psi always not a problem...for the moment...

Added on February 14, 2012, 3:30 pmbicycle brand name A-Z

http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=...7&last=33867757
I pumped 120 psi no prob too, although a bit hard to go from 110 - 120.. well it gets the job done, no complains
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 05:57 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I saw the chromed pumped as well, RM299? roll over my body please..

5degree? what shit is this? my job is not to pump 200 tires a day... i only pump 2 tires at once...

Well maintenance can be a problem ,after those seal got melted / harden ur pump is over..

Anyway the chrome will lost it's shininess in no time, replaced by finger prints and other stuff.. unless u are so obsessed to polish your ... pump???
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 07:19 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 14 2012, 07:03 PM)
this is the grand daddy then..

i suggest go buy one.. paint the damn thing red and put VTEC...
How about nitrogen pump use in car tire... WAIT... here is an article
http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2007/10/t...-with-nitrogen/

It's no better than your esso air pump haha, but since it's free why not!

Btw I think Butthead posted an article regarding saddle back sometime ago, the primary comfortness of saddle relies on height adjustment, most of the time saddle are adjusted too low.. I have not bother to adjust it since I bought the bike since the bike shop already adjusted it for me..

Today out of boredom I adjusted the height.. like 5cm higher.. Hmm it feels much more comfortable now.. my backache seems to goes away although I have only done a relatively short ride (7k) since I adjusted it.. will try on longer rides later on.. bring an allen key along to adjust if necessary, but it feels scary when it's about to stop cause I can hardly touch the group even when extended into tip toe position
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 07:54 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Double post...

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Feb 14 2012, 07:55 PM
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 09:21 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Feb 14 2012, 09:00 PM)

anybody tried helium or hydrogen?  laugh.gif
Helium combustible.. Hydrogen explodable.. you are playing beyond fire...

Added on February 14, 2012, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 14 2012, 08:51 PM)
wow..got people who really was an elite cyclist in this thread. that's great...although I've googled a lot for cycling tips, I still wanna hear from you guys here about climbing tips.

from what I know:

1) sitting on the saddle during a climb can save more energy than if you were to ride out of the saddle (which will put your whole weight onto your leg, thus not good in conserving energy)

2) sit more upright and hands on the hood as to allow your lung to become bigger than if you were to put your hands on the drop

3)....
4)....

anymore that i'm missing? care to share your climbing tips.....i'm going for a ride that gonna have lot of climbing sections in the coming next 2 weeks smile.gif thx guys
I am not pro.. but if you are too slow you will fall down, better waste the energy get over the mountain.. or push it up.. drop the pride push up your bike is a good strategy sometimes.. even in race.. not everyone can climb like lance armstrong..

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Feb 14 2012, 09:23 PM
Sky.Live
post Feb 16 2012, 11:50 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 16 2012, 11:32 AM)
KL as in Wilayah Persekutuan + Selangor Darul Ehsan....

i believe have... but all kena evil poison by Garmin...  like Nokia supporter kena poison by iPhone... just need time to wait them to wake up...
I want....... a Garmin 910xt so badly but so sad just bought my Timex T_T

haha but anyway the Timex get the job done well too, just that my inner evil (GAS - gear acquiring syndrome) is injecting insulin to my urge
Sky.Live
post Feb 16 2012, 01:49 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Feb 16 2012, 12:24 PM)
later the FC go to use your CC buy LV,Gucci, etc...
She's the FC, that's beyond our aim - which is to control our self..
Sky.Live
post Feb 17 2012, 12:53 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

first time tire punctured.. at 5.000 km markk.. have to carry my bike back to my house.. luckily it's just 1km apart..

tmr need to go bike shop edil..
Sky.Live
post Feb 17 2012, 09:11 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Feb 17 2012, 12:55 AM)
Wao, what tayar you use. Really last quite long wor.  I gussed you maintian proper pressure too?
hmm it's 5.000km from yesterday's ride not 5000km .. my bike odometer only around 160~170km max... less than what lotsa ppl did in one day...

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 17 2012, 09:04 AM)

why don't you keep 2 spare tubes at home? so you can repair it rather than having to rush to the shops everytime you need to ride the next day... they are relatively cheap...
That's what I am going to do.. Learn how self repair and get a spare tube

That day after taking out my tire and reinstalling, i realised that I accidently adjusted the brake too near to the tire.. there's some melted rubber on the rims now.. aiks..

Do you guys deflate the tire a bit when you remove tour tire? izzit normal that you have to force through a bit through your brake calipers
Sky.Live
post Feb 17 2012, 10:00 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Bought the spare tube RM15, exchange my existing tube for RM18.. Bought the plastic tire lever too.. RM10
Sky.Live
post Feb 17 2012, 10:39 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 17 2012, 10:07 PM)
ehh.. tak paham... new tube @ RM15... exchange for RM18??? RM3 more... and can exchange tubes, your bike shop????
dangelut... sempah road is not smooth... potholes...sometimes for sand, small stones...
meaning they charge RM3 for workmanship...
Sky.Live
post Feb 18 2012, 04:42 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

My tube aint looking like some expensive tube either.. Kenda brand..

Today done my PD ride, fastest avg speed to date.. 27km/h easier road..
http://www.trainingpeaks.com/sw/G6WTVLNMSX6NTGO45V4ZC5EESQ
Sky.Live
post Feb 18 2012, 06:38 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Feb 18 2012, 05:40 PM)
How often do you ride in PD? Every weekend? Interested .. brows.gif
we plan to have it once a month.. it's a triathlon training
Sky.Live
post Feb 18 2012, 11:30 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Today first time ride 40k non stop.. hmm a bit hurtful for my pelvis bones..
Sky.Live
post Feb 19 2012, 04:21 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

IF helmet offers no aero advantage I believe the pros would not even bother putting it on.. On the pros they simply don't care about their life to fight for the champions.. Safety is the last thing they would be concern off unless it's made mandatory..
Sky.Live
post Feb 20 2012, 08:50 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Have some maintenance question in mind
1) how long do you need to clean and relube your chain? need to buy tools to release master link?
2) hmm does brake requires any maintenance, it's the most important piece in your bike for your safety after all..
3) what else other than grease bearing (which would take up really some time)

I hate to train cycling.. going up hill is difficult but necessary.. and the sheer amount of time required to train up your endurance.. as what silvy said, the time required..

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0523sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:44 AM