[V30] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

Silverfire
post Dec 10 2017, 04:01 AM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

Just bought myself the Corsair K95 RGB Platinum. So nice biggrin.gif

I upgraded from the 1st generation K70 RGB which had flickering issue and those came with MX Red while this new keyboard came with the MX Speed switches. Travel is significantly less, really sensitive keys and they sounds really good too.

1st gen K95:

The 1st gen K95 and K70 had the same multimedia keys and volume knob. I believe the newer variants of K70 such as the LUX still retain the same multimedia keys.

With the new K95 Platinum, they changed the multimedia keys and volume knob. The multimedia keys are now much more protruded, more prominent. The tactile feedback is also much better. As for the volume knob, it is ever so slightly heavier than the previous version.

The RGB LEDs for the profile/brightness/winlock buttons are not bright enough and appear to be much dimmer than the keys. The LEDs for numlock/capslock/scrolllock, I believe, have been changed for the better. The LEDs now sit deeper and are centered giving it a more uniformed look.

This post has been edited by Silverfire: Dec 10 2017, 04:10 AM
G_KeN
post Dec 11 2017, 11:01 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

just wanna share my current daily driver:

Ducky Mini Year of the Horse Limited Edition with Originative MOD-M switches. OG doubleshots white on black alphas + GMK WoB modifiers.

Starting to miss my already sold HHKB Pro 2 tho. That was probably the best topre typing experience out of all. 55g topre is just as good but a bit too fatiguing to type on especially word-heavy documents. Will probably get Leopold FC660C or realforce 87u again and swap in the BKE light redux domes. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by G_KeN: Dec 11 2017, 11:01 PM
Skylinestar
post Dec 11 2017, 11:22 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

Wanna ask about Store Uni shipping fee. The keyboard is "Available for Back-Order. Order today, and we'll ship your package between December 19th (Tuesday) and December 22nd (Friday)."

Here's what is says about shipping to Kuching Sarawak:

There are 5 shipping rates available for 93250, Sarawak, Malaysia, starting at RM0.00 MYR.

Free Shipping (1-5 Business Days) at RM0.00 MYR
Pos Malaysia FlexiPrepaid, 2kg (5-8 Business Days) at RM7.00 MYR
Pos Malaysia Air Parcel, 2kg (5-8 Business Days) at RM13.00 MYR
Pos Laju, 2kg (1-3 Business Days) at RM25.00 MYR
GDEX, 2kg (1-3 Business Days) at RM31.00 MYR

Since it is back order, how is that expedite shipping fee be justified? For the free shipping, will I be given a courier tracking number?
TSquovadis123
post Dec 12 2017, 06:13 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 11 2017, 11:22 PM)
Wanna ask about Store Uni shipping fee. The keyboard is "Available for Back-Order. Order today, and we'll ship your package between December 19th (Tuesday) and December 22nd (Friday)."

Here's what is says about shipping to Kuching Sarawak:

There are 5 shipping rates available for 93250, Sarawak, Malaysia, starting at RM0.00 MYR.

Free Shipping (1-5 Business Days) at RM0.00 MYR
Pos Malaysia FlexiPrepaid, 2kg (5-8 Business Days) at RM7.00 MYR
Pos Malaysia Air Parcel, 2kg (5-8 Business Days) at RM13.00 MYR
Pos Laju, 2kg (1-3 Business Days) at RM25.00 MYR
GDEX, 2kg (1-3 Business Days) at RM31.00 MYR

Since it is back order, how is that expedite shipping fee be justified? For the free shipping, will I be given a courier tracking number?
Shipping start after the product reached Store Uni. So, if the product reached from distributor to Store Uni at 22nd Dec, then will ship on the 22nd Dec.
If you take Free Shipping, your parcel will reach 1-5business days from the date 22Dec.
Skylinestar
post Dec 12 2017, 10:15 AM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

any feedback on this iKBC C104? wanna try MX speed silver. i hope it's quieter than the standard mx red.
https://www.storeuni.com/products/ikbc-c104-black

actually wanna buy pink/silent switch, but not much choice. only left varmilo sakura (pink).

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Dec 12 2017, 10:16 AM
horns
post Dec 12 2017, 10:44 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 12 2017, 10:15 AM)
any feedback on this iKBC C104? wanna try MX speed silver. i hope it's quieter than the standard mx red.

actually wanna buy pink/silent switch, but not much choice. only left varmilo sakura (pink).
you should go for silent red instead for relatively better quietness. speed silver is just like mx red.

there is this ducky one silent, https://www.storeuni.com/collections/mechan...ucky-one-silent mixed switches, silent red/black; i like the combo, still waiting for a tkl to come out lol
TSquovadis123
post Dec 12 2017, 11:18 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 12 2017, 10:15 AM)

Silver is shorter actuation compared to red. For me, the bottom out sound still near the same, because you easily hit the bottom. Seriously, it's easy to actuate.

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 12 2017, 10:44 AM)
you should go for silent red instead for relatively better quietness. speed silver is just like mx red.

there is this ducky one silent, https://www.storeuni.com/collections/mechan...ucky-one-silent mixed switches, silent red/black; i like the combo, still waiting for a tkl to come out lol
Silent red is like rubber red. Yeap, it's much quieter.
Spootid
post Dec 12 2017, 11:29 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Dec 11 2017, 11:01 PM)
just wanna share my current daily driver:
Ducky Mini Year of the Horse Limited Edition with Originative MOD-M switches. OG doubleshots white on black alphas + GMK WoB modifiers.

Starting to miss my already sold HHKB Pro 2 tho. That was probably the best topre typing experience out of all.  55g topre is just as good but a bit too fatiguing to type on especially word-heavy documents. Will probably get Leopold FC660C or realforce 87u again and swap in the BKE light redux domes. biggrin.gif
Dude... damne nice keyboard u got there...? How much $$$ ya...?
horns
post Dec 12 2017, 11:40 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 12 2017, 11:18 AM)
Silver is shorter actuation compared to red. For me, the bottom out sound still near the same, because you easily hit the bottom. Seriously, it's easy to actuate.

Silent red is like rubber red. Yeap, it's much quieter.
yes, good cushioned effects for bottoming out, and when the switches return to their normal positions imo. there is no need for o-rings. i like the effects more when i applied thick lube like Super Lube. (almost complete silence for gk64)

edit: shit bought the wrong brown box switches lol (late night shopping tends to have this kind of situations to me); reordered black; getting some clicky white too.

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 13 2017, 09:01 PM
Skylinestar
post Dec 14 2017, 10:37 AM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 12 2017, 10:44 AM)

only left varmilo sakura - mx silent red. i don't think the pink keyboard will match the rest of my desktop gears (black monitor, black mouse, black casing, black speaker. sweat.gif
irsyadfy
post Dec 14 2017, 10:59 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 14 2017, 10:37 AM)
only left varmilo sakura - mx silent red. i don't think the pink keyboard will match the rest of my desktop gears (black monitor, black mouse, black casing, black speaker.  sweat.gif
more of a reason to get a pink kibod.

it will stand out from the rest of the gears. rclxm9.gif
hayrol
post Dec 14 2017, 05:21 PM

128 posts

Got some money to spend since 12/12 sale, so bought myself another mech keyboard - A-Jazz AK33 Red LED compact mech keyboard (black switch).
Just receive it today, so have a test run with few games and typing.

So for the initial impression, I like the build on the keyboard. I like to compact look on the keyboard, compare to my Corsair & Steelseries keyboard I own so far.
The face plate made with aluminium , which make it pretty light & make the design looks premium. The cable also detachable, plate with gold on both side & flexible - length about 1.5m.

The keyboard already have build in L.E.D backlit mode & media key program on her, so u don't need to setup any program to ur computer.
From the ads spec, it runs with 4 L.E.D backlit mode. but when I test it, it has 7 L.E.D backlit mode.

Anyway, the keyboard also come with 4 types of switch - Red, Blue, Black & Brown.
In use and in game the black mechanical switches performed their role beautifully providing great response with no sign of ghosting or lag.

The downside on her was the position of FN key, which locate on the top next to Delete button which I would prefer them position at below rather than at the top. Same goes to spacebar button. I just prefer that they didn't put the brand logo on it. Just a straight line would be nice.
Other than that, I'm not complain so much.

Overall, for those who wanna looking for cheap, compact & simple mech keyboard, I would recommended u to get this.

This post has been edited by hayrol: Dec 14 2017, 05:33 PM
horns
post Dec 14 2017, 08:24 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 14 2017, 10:37 AM)
only left varmilo sakura - mx silent red. i don't think the pink keyboard will match the rest of my desktop gears (black monitor, black mouse, black casing, black speaker.  sweat.gif
oh that's a pity. varmilo produces good stuff but yeah i prefer other colors also haha

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Dec 14 2017, 10:59 AM)
more of a reason to get a pink kibod.

it will stand out from the rest of the gears.  rclxm9.gif
haha i like black, dark grey, silver, and white. very dull lol

QUOTE(hayrol @ Dec 14 2017, 05:21 PM)
Got some money to spend since 12/12 sale, so bought myself another mech keyboard - A-Jazz AK33 Red LED  compact mech keyboard (black switch).
Just receive it today, so have a test run with few games and typing.

sweet smile.gif

ITLearner
post Dec 15 2017, 06:02 PM

245 posts

Dear sifus, may i know where can i get custom pbt keycaps for my K95 RGB brown switches and K65 rapidfire? Thank you
horns
post Dec 15 2017, 08:39 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ Dec 15 2017, 06:02 PM)
Dear sifus, may i know where can i get custom pbt keycaps for my K95 RGB brown switches and K65 rapidfire? Thank you
if you wanted to stick to corsair, you should get corsair's very own pbt key cap sets (read a fb post of ultimate.zone that it should be arriving any time soon)

due to its non-standard bottom rows, the choices for a nice and complete set of custom pbt keycaps for these boards are limited. you can find some from taobao / aliexpress.

ITLearner
post Dec 15 2017, 10:37 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 15 2017, 08:39 PM)
if you wanted to stick to corsair, you should get corsair's very own pbt key cap sets (read a fb post of ultimate.zone that it should be arriving any time soon)

due to its non-standard bottom rows, the choices for a nice and complete set of custom pbt keycaps for these boards are limited. you can find some from taobao / aliexpress.
OK thank you biggrin.gif
ITLearner
post Dec 16 2017, 12:47 AM

245 posts

Hello, sifus. I want to ask one question. Is the 16.8m color mode LED flickering in K95 RGB a known issue? Thank you.
horns
post Dec 16 2017, 04:35 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ Dec 16 2017, 12:47 AM)
Hello, sifus. I want to ask one question. Is the 16.8m color mode LED flickering in K95 RGB a known issue? Thank you.
i guess it's very likely. rgb leds are terrible in certain modes, from what i observed.

you can use keywords 'k95 platinum led flicker' to find out user comments and reviews with search engines.

here most of the users do not pick up gaming boards for many reasons. non-standard bottom row being one; and there are cheaper boards with better build qualities than corsair's.
horns
post Dec 17 2017, 04:13 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

i went to check out tecware phantom rgb just now. after reading all the user comments from various places, i almost believe that it's an outstanding option, until i tried typing on it. let's just say, 'you get what you pay for.'

don't get me wrong. it's still one of budget mkb options out there. however if you had the choice, i still think it's better to invest on boards with better switches.

Senpai onegai
post Dec 17 2017, 04:54 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 17 2017, 04:13 AM)
i went to check out tecware phantom rgb just now. after reading all the user comments from various places, i almost believe that it's an outstanding option, until i tried typing on it. let's just say, 'you get what you pay for.'

don't get me wrong. it's still one of budget mkb options out there. however if you had the choice, i still think it's better to invest on boards with better switches.
really? i bought one of them and chose the blue outemu switch, and it definitely feels better than mx blues so far, not sure about other outemu switches, havent tried. but i have 2 mx blues keyboard with me right now, and the outemu blues definitely feels more pronounce, and feels better on hand.

im pretty taboo about using blues for gaming, but im actually using these as my main driver/gaming right now. on csgo/pubg.

125 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:56 PM