QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 21 2016, 08:52 AM)
well, my budget ain't that big..below rm200 would be nice.Mountain Biking V33, less yappin' more brappin'
Mountain Biking V33, less yappin' more brappin'
Dec 21 2016, 07:10 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Dec 21 2016, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 21 2016, 08:47 AM) I would recommend you get the best safety for your feet. ouch, so sorry to hear about your injury there..must've fell quite hard to hurt that bone, as it's positioned quite medially on our feet. hope you've recovered fully.Once I used my DVS skate shoes, and ended up fracturing (hairline) my medial cuneiform. The way they're design to absorb shock is different than of a proper mountain bike shoe. Why not try look at Shimano? I think it is not that expensive compared to Teva, 5-10. Their designs are badass too. Shimano AM7 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « You could also use Shimano AM5 and AM9 if later you decided to go clipless. well, i went to rodalink putrajaya as they're having a sale right now..the am7 is quite bulky & looks lik a showstopper but also there is an mt44 shoe, looks like a lightweight MTB/tourer shoes to me. selling it at rm264 after a 25% discount. hmmm..choices now, these are clipless shoes but the price is near my budget..might as well go clipless? This post has been edited by ecto6453: Dec 21 2016, 07:20 PM |
Dec 22 2016, 08:42 AM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Dec 22 2016, 05:47 PM
601 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Boleh LannD~! |
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 20 2016, 09:22 AM) never owned or rode one before, but their frames look good. But their rear thru axle size, kinda odd. Maybe hard to find the hub and axle. Bikes now use 142 or 148. QUOTE(thurtin @ Dec 21 2016, 04:02 PM) my friend has a Dartmoor Hornet and uses it regularly for Kiara. It's a nice AM hardtail no doubt, but yeah the only thing is the rear axle size. It's the older 135 x 10 mm QR type. If you don't mind that, it's a decent frame to build on. I believe the newer models have been updated with the 142 x 12 mm TA rear axle, but not sure if its available locally already. Yeah i realised i couldnt really find much rear hubs on BBS for that bike. Thanks for the heads up. There are a few, but limited options. The new version Hornet will come with a 142, but i think it ll probably be till next year before it reaches our shore. Was poisoned into getting a MTB, so I thought i would build a cheap bike on a good frame first and slowly swap out the parts when budget allows. |
Dec 22 2016, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 22 2016, 08:42 AM) yup, looked around but can hardly find at that price..at best, most are just a bit more. saw some ads showing tiebao cycling/mtb shoes. price is agreeable but are they worth it? i mean, i do like a bargain but it has to perform and stand up to the rigorous nature of our sport. |
Dec 23 2016, 08:43 AM
2,311 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Dark Zone, NYC |
QUOTE(ecto6453 @ Dec 22 2016, 11:48 PM) yup, looked around but can hardly find at that price..at best, most are just a bit more. saw some ads showing tiebao cycling/mtb shoes. price is agreeable but are they worth it? Just invest in 5.10 Freerider. Worth the money i mean, i do like a bargain but it has to perform and stand up to the rigorous nature of our sport. |
Dec 23 2016, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(ecto6453 @ Dec 22 2016, 11:48 PM) yup, looked around but can hardly find at that price..at best, most are just a bit more. saw some ads showing tiebao cycling/mtb shoes. price is agreeable but are they worth it? just spend a bit more and buy shimano or 510. my first mtb shoes were exustar. lasted only 1 year, then buaya. then i bought shimano, price was a bit more than the exustar. 2+ years already.i mean, i do like a bargain but it has to perform and stand up to the rigorous nature of our sport. |
Dec 23 2016, 11:11 PM
3,249 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
small question, how many of the riders here can manual/ trackstand/ bunny hop/ wheelie?
reason for asking is that i wonder how important these skills are to ride faster/ safer. |
Dec 24 2016, 02:09 AM
Dec 25 2016, 11:41 PM
Cristmas morning, i went to PCP for my 1st trail ride in 16years. little that i know what an eye-opener this ride would be. at the 1st stop, i knew i was nowhere near what the other riders there are doing. i was so hopelessly rusty, it's a wonder i didn't crash out. i stuck to the green trail, but it felt like the red one..back to the gym & the tarmac for now, i guess
lucky i didn't get the clipless set..just used my standard kilang pedals & sneaker..wut a trip that might have been if i used clipless without getting used to it |
Dec 29 2016, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(SoFlush @ Dec 29 2016, 09:34 PM) I just started mtb weeks ago, and from online reviews they all mentioned these are core skills hence i picked them up. still struggling with them I can do all of them now, bunnyhop is very very weak tho, maybe 5-6 inch back wheel off the ground only lol. Now my personal review - yes extremely important. Your line choices and safety(incase you stray off line @ high speed) will expotientialy increase with a little ride time. Most important is bunny hop as that teaches/gives you the feel on how to nail that 6feet pile of lump without nosediving and you will feel more confident on how to handle your bike on air. Doesn't take long to learn those skill anyway. |
Dec 30 2016, 07:29 AM
QUOTE(SoFlush @ Dec 30 2016, 02:35 AM) On the other hand....any good personal advice for pumping? I've basically made zero progress at the pump track... could only go round half length of PCP pumptrack before need to pedal again, feel like im missing on how to "apply weight" down the bike to get that surge of speed... i think im worse. One third before need to pedal.I think the method is straight forward. Just need to practice more. |
Dec 30 2016, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(SoFlush @ Dec 30 2016, 02:35 AM) On the other hand....any good personal advice for pumping? I've basically made zero progress at the pump track... could only go round half length of PCP pumptrack before need to pedal again, feel like im missing on how to "apply weight" down the bike to get that surge of speed... Just FYI, PCP pump track was made for BMX tyre size IINM. |
Dec 30 2016, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 30 2016, 08:57 AM) if technique is ok, mtb oso can.. last time when i kayuh that pumptrack, got a fella on dartmoor primal/hornet, did 3 laps of the pumptrack without pedaling even once. and that was before one of the crests got cut down a bit.This post has been edited by miaopurr: Dec 30 2016, 09:17 AM |
Dec 30 2016, 09:28 AM
Dec 30 2016, 09:44 AM
Dec 30 2016, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(SoFlush @ Dec 30 2016, 02:13 AM) trackstand - easiest. Mtb tyres and balance point is so wide i can indefinately trackstand with less then 3 hours of total practice time, and you can do it at your porch. Seriously i think you already can do it, maybe you havent tried enough only... i can trackstand for maybe like 10-15 seconds on the saddle but once i stand up i lose my balance easily wheelie/manual - i start learning wheelie first, with seat at pedaling height, somehow it just forces me to find that balance point easier, and pedal when you feel your front coming down helps alot. Key thing is, as long as you can wheelie/manual for 2-3 seconds, you basically got it already, just more practice. In total i guess i spent 8hrs of practice time. Oh, do it at playground/grass - you will fall as your back wheel can't always stop in time, and i wear selipar while training, my five10 is a little too grippy when practicing bunny hop - i learn at stair. Bunny hop up a 3 stair area. The steps are not steep, even if i fail, my back tyre can roll up (but not my front). You know how to ride up road cub/divider? Yes that exact same motion, but aim to clear it without letting your back tyre hit the stair/curb. i practice at stair coz conveniently after that 3 steps up, there is a long flight of stairs down which im also practicing my comfort level in going down 2-3 floors worth of stairs. But if you really are short of time, most important is bunnyhop, that's my breakthrough point of being able to hit steep dropoff at slow speed that u can't ride over(not always u can get the required speed at trails), nail ramps double my height and land reasonably "safe". Mainly that PCP dirt track ramp that looks like a wall, insane launch height at first sight, but now mehhh i'm more worried/perfecting the landing now. i feel like im always scared to commit fully when learning skills, for example im scared to pedal strongly when im practicing wheelie due to the fear of falling back. i tried to put my hand on the brake lever but it caused me to steer to the right instead. as for bunny hop, the biggest struggle im currently having is not able to lift my back wheel up. im not really sure if its affected by my shoes (im wearing some simple walking shoes, never had any problems in trails even during rougher sections and landing drops) but somehow my feet always come off from the pedal when i tried to pull the pedal (wrong technique?). no chance to try pump tracks, dont have any within my nearby locations |
Dec 31 2016, 05:47 PM
822 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 31 2016, 07:26 PM