Mountain Biking V33, less yappin' more brappin'

mingyuyu
post Nov 22 2016, 08:39 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Nov 22 2016, 11:14 AM)
Hi sifus, what do you guys think about this bike?
Exitway Kosa X11, using china/taiwan 11 speed groupset. RM1968 only.
Full Spec:

Frame                      Hardtail Frame AL-6061
Fork                          DH2-650B Air/Lock-out
Brake                        Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brake BL-M315
Rotor                        Shimano Rotor 160 SM-RT26 6-bolt
Shifter                        Ltwoo AX Shifter 11speed
FD                            Ltwoo AX FD 2 x 11
RD                            Ltwoo AX RD 11speed
Crank                        Ltwoo AC Crank 2 x 11 (38-26T)
Cassette                    Ltwoo Cassette 11speed (11-40T)
Saddle                        SELLE ROYAL SADDLE
Rim                            WTB SX19 27.5" Double Wall Rim                   
Hub                            Novatec Hub D471/472
Bearing                      Dual Seal Bearing
Tire                          Kenda 27.5 x 1.95 K1187
you can try to look for Kosa Elite with 10 speed shimano deore instead, basically the same bike just different groupset.
mingyuyu
post Dec 5 2016, 08:05 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

whats the average cost for bleeding brake? my lbs charges rm30 per brake, is the price high or ok?
mingyuyu
post Dec 5 2016, 11:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 5 2016, 09:29 PM)
usually rm50 front n rear. Maybe now it has gone up
thanks a lot for the info, i got the average price then. smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 6 2016, 10:56 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 6 2016, 08:42 AM)
What brakes you on? Avid seems to be more expensive to bleed.
At that price, ok la I think.
shimano deore.

just got the brakes about a month ago and the front brake lever is leaking a little amount of oil currently after the hose retainer clip on my fork fell off while doing a big drop, resulting the hose to stuck on the front tire, not sure if i need to rebleed it actually, have to go lbs check first cry.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 9 2016, 05:54 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(SoFlush @ Dec 9 2016, 05:03 PM)
thumbsup.gif so do pcp until i'm comfortable. going uphill also i feel like my bike will terbalik, not enough weight on front wheel.... duno izzit bike problem (140fork/140rear travel)

in all seriousness, what do you think of a guy who over-armoured himself on the trail? I feel like going to buy full face, torso/shoulder armour on top of the standard elbow/knee/shin.. but don't want to look like kamen rider or like i'm sponsored by redbull...

will kena gelak tak?
don't really think its the bike problem, i ride a xc hardtail that had 100mm travel and 80mm stem when it was stock, changed it to 130mm fork and 60mm stem yet my front wheel never really lifts up. its all about positioning your upper body when climbing.

if people want to laugh at you let them, why bother if the extra protections let you ride with more confidence?
mingyuyu
post Dec 9 2016, 10:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

by the way, anyone here uses action camera? is the camera only mountable on helmet with the mount built in?
mingyuyu
post Dec 13 2016, 03:34 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 11 2016, 10:59 AM)
Body positioning bro...
I use GoPro. I use curve adhesive mount. If you want to mount to the helmet, use this mount and then use whatever other accessories available like goose neck, J bend mount, etc.
I have yet to see people with full body armour at Kiara riding anything but the DH trails.
QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Dec 11 2016, 12:35 PM)
cam on my helmet feels heavy, but thats one of the best shot other than chest sad.gif
thanks for the tips, i am probably getting my first action cam within this week. will experiment with helmet/ chest mounting to see which one gives better result and easier to setup.
mingyuyu
post Dec 13 2016, 09:51 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Dec 13 2016, 09:04 AM)
im wear padded short underwear, so far so good

and after fell like nangka busuk yesterday, i feels like need protection for my knees
which type suitable for XCM?
this knee pad legit?

http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/380945/crom...s-quot-knee-pad
mingyuyu
post Dec 14 2016, 12:37 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 13 2016, 11:44 PM)
macam tak je
how to see knee pad onz or no onz?
mingyuyu
post Dec 14 2016, 03:24 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 14 2016, 09:38 AM)
pad coverage tak cukup
No info about the fabric used
The pads also not shaped, just flat je
Eva foam can withstand impact? Can retain its shape upon impact?
And no reviews of how snug it fits and stays, when pedalling
QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 14 2016, 02:07 PM)
If you can't find a review of it on the net, don't buy it laugh.gif
so basically only choose those branded rm200-300 ones? sometimes saw review but cant find in malaysia rclxub.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 14 2016, 10:29 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 14 2016, 06:44 PM)
or u can buy that one n write a review. Winrar!

Betul tak cyphereza?
me write camera review can but bike related reivews tak boleh pakai shakehead.gif

for that price i wouldn't expect it to be on par with the big brands lah, but just looking for an extra layer of "skin" if i crash.

btw my half year old Chosen hub started to slip recently without any reason (hub was just serviced last month), possible that the grease used for the hub was too thick and sticky?

i researched online and saw different manufacturers using grease/lube for different hubs.

mingyuyu
post Dec 14 2016, 10:53 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 14 2016, 10:34 PM)
depends on what kind of spring the freehub has. usually no issue. slipping might be due to worn out internals, or the grease used is too thick. open the freehub n see.

some grease can harden up when it comes in contact with water.
will changing to lube solve the problem?
mingyuyu
post Dec 15 2016, 12:40 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 14 2016, 10:57 PM)
sorry can't tell
where did u get ur hub serviced?
my local LBS where i bought the hub from, FOC service since its just regreasing the freehub and cleaning the internals. wished to visit bigger shops in ipoh/ kl but unfortunately i dont own a car cry.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 15 2016, 02:28 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 15 2016, 01:02 AM)
bring to the nearest reliable lbs la. open up the freehub, see the springs, teeth, and grease. spring might kaput oredi, teeth might have worn out, grease might be gone. without taking a look inside, we can only guess.
my closest reliable lbs will be like 60km from where i stay, due to that im staying in university areas where 99% of people ride "pasar bikes". i will go and do a throughout check at my current lbs and sees what the guy says first.
mingyuyu
post Dec 19 2016, 03:54 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Where to find this type of chain guide (mounted on the chainstay one)?

mingyuyu
post Dec 19 2016, 04:01 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 15 2016, 01:02 AM)
bring to the nearest reliable lbs la. open up the freehub, see the springs, teeth, and grease. spring might kaput oredi, teeth might have worn out, grease might be gone. without taking a look inside, we can only guess.
went to the shop again and opened up the hub. i requested him to use lighter and lighter grease, so far so good now.

anyone heard of Pinus Peak Bukit Hari FRIM?
mingyuyu
post Dec 20 2016, 01:30 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Dec 19 2016, 04:09 PM)
@Frim. That trail closed I think. Upwards to sg buluh
i saw someone posted about the trail last month in MTB Malaysia FB group, went to check at Strava just now and it looked like quite a short trail, ranging around 3-4 minutes only.

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Dec 20 2016, 08:44 AM)
thanks a lot for that link biggrin.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 23 2016, 11:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

small question, how many of the riders here can manual/ trackstand/ bunny hop/ wheelie?

reason for asking is that i wonder how important these skills are to ride faster/ safer.

mingyuyu
post Dec 29 2016, 10:58 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(SoFlush @ Dec 29 2016, 09:34 PM)
I just started mtb weeks ago, and from online reviews they all mentioned these are core skills hence i picked them up.

I can do all of them now, bunnyhop is very very weak tho, maybe 5-6 inch back wheel off the ground only lol.

Now my personal review - yes extremely important. Your line choices and safety(incase you stray off line @ high speed) will expotientialy increase with a little ride time.

Most important is bunny hop as that teaches/gives you the feel on how to nail that 6feet pile of lump without nosediving and you will feel more confident on how to handle your bike on air.

Doesn't take long to learn those skill anyway.

still struggling with them cry.gif how do you practice actually? i find it really hard to get the correct posture when practicing alone as you can't judge your own movements accurately.
mingyuyu
post Dec 30 2016, 12:54 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(SoFlush @ Dec 30 2016, 02:13 AM)
trackstand - easiest. Mtb tyres and balance point is so wide i can indefinately trackstand with less then 3 hours of total practice time, and you can do it at your porch. Seriously i think you already can do it, maybe you havent tried enough only...

wheelie/manual - i start learning wheelie first, with seat at pedaling height, somehow it just forces me to find that balance point easier, and pedal when you feel your front coming down helps alot. Key thing is, as long as you can wheelie/manual for 2-3 seconds, you basically got it already, just more practice. In total i guess i spent 8hrs of practice time. Oh, do it at playground/grass - you will fall as your back wheel can't always stop in time, and i wear selipar while training, my five10 is a little too grippy when practicing

bunny hop - i learn at stair. Bunny hop up a 3 stair area. The steps are not steep, even if i fail, my back tyre can roll up (but not my front). You know how to ride up road cub/divider? Yes that exact same motion, but aim to clear it without letting your back tyre hit the stair/curb.

i practice at stair coz conveniently after that 3 steps up, there is a long flight of stairs down which im also practicing my comfort level in going down 2-3 floors worth of stairs.

But if you really are short of time, most important is bunnyhop, that's my breakthrough point of being able to hit steep dropoff at slow speed that u can't ride over(not always u can get the required speed at trails), nail ramps double my height and land reasonably "safe". Mainly that PCP dirt track ramp that looks like a wall, insane launch height at first sight, but now mehhh i'm more worried/perfecting the landing now.
i can trackstand for maybe like 10-15 seconds on the saddle but once i stand up i lose my balance easily rclxub.gif

i feel like im always scared to commit fully when learning skills, for example im scared to pedal strongly when im practicing wheelie due to the fear of falling back. i tried to put my hand on the brake lever but it caused me to steer to the right instead.

as for bunny hop, the biggest struggle im currently having is not able to lift my back wheel up. im not really sure if its affected by my shoes (im wearing some simple walking shoes, never had any problems in trails even during rougher sections and landing drops) but somehow my feet always come off from the pedal when i tried to pull the pedal (wrong technique?).

no chance to try pump tracks, dont have any within my nearby locations sad.gif

0.0306sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:47 PM