4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Lowyat.Net's Watercooling Club, Pictures of setups & screenies !

DaRkSyThE
post Aug 9 2008, 05:59 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Aug 9 2008, 04:48 PM)
car battery water got some manganese element.. not just distilled water..i'm using battery water also...lolz..
the trace of manganese is too little compared to the giants brand

actually, i wanted to buy the spritzer brand too but then some WC sifu on lyn told me that it isnt as safe
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 9 2008, 09:37 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 9 2008, 09:21 PM)
i think drinking water, distilled water and mineral water are different, i think spritzer never come out distilled water b4, they are mineral water, distilled water is those drinking water bottle lookalike with and stated in label distilled water/process distillation/proses penyulingan/air suling etc... if the label stating drinking water, then its RO, which contain some mineral inside. and mineral water contains the most minerals if u read at the ingredient there and the label...

the carrefour distilled water i bought contain 0 % in every ingredients stated on the label...
haha yeah well
their definition of distilled water means its distilled. but, it still have mineral ions inside.

call me kiasu, but i actually consulted my chemistry teacher and he told me that spritzer and those other consumer drinking water has to have minerals inside or else we all cant drink
hehe smile.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 9 2008, 10:18 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 9 2008, 10:14 PM)
Altought i did not get A in my chem  blush.gif  but i do kno this...

Normal distilled consumer water is not 100% free of minerals altough the content is very very minimal..
And btw.. Humans can drink water without minerals.. Coz we can get minerals from other sources like foods... Its a on goin debate round the world bout the pro and cons of distilled water...

Same goes for battery water.. Some water battery company do add some additives to make the battery last longer even though its not stated in the content..

So its juz the matter of preference i think..

But if want 100% pure distilled water get those industrial/lab grade distilled water in silica or silicon(something like that  laugh.gif ) container to prevent contaminants from slowly absorbing in to the water...

Somebody should start selling those.. Sure untung 1... Haha..  biggrin.gif
well this isnt a science discussion thread
but np, i think you cant drink distilled water on its own.

anyways, this is a WC thread

oh yes, i wanted to ask anyone using ORANGE coolant?
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 10 2008, 01:56 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 10 2008, 01:41 AM)
there are no two types of battery water, just one type of battery water. Distilled water is what battery water consists of. How different can it get. What is the major constituent of which differentiates battery water and distilled water? Nothing really.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Distilled_water

Wiki does help abit here.

Added on August 10, 2008, 1:48 am
Distilled water is purified water. You can drink it, the only difference would be that, it would lack essential minerals or elements for your body. Spritzer does have two types of packaging, one mineral and the other distilled.

In refernce to companies which do that, mind you, distilled water does clean a lot of shit that our indah water wont be able to clean. So noting that the distillation process is used to a certain extent to remove this impurities, the companies would have added minerals or elements after distillation. Which is done to mineral water essentially. Not that we have water as clean as the Swiss alps..
you see when i said cant drink it i didnt mean that you would die from drinking it.
the defies all logic because rightfully its just liquid without anything inside. that would mean it goes in and passes out just like that.

@ bryan
yes battery water has more conductive substance inside since its not meant for consumption, but we do not know how far off it is from those bottled distilled water.

well i did see the label on those bottles today and it showed 0 for magnesium, iron, calcium and what not.
so maybe it is suitable for the loop i dont know really. but yeah if you dont see a drop due to oxidation of copper in your rad then i guess its safe to use it then

DaRkSyThE
post Aug 10 2008, 08:14 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 10 2008, 03:38 PM)
i think battery water or those drinking distilled water are suitable to use as long as its not mineral water or tap water can d...

of course with proper mixture of additive such as biocide etc...  smile.gif
yeah but bryan has a very strong point when he spoke about conductivity.
but then again water just cant conduct water just like that. it needs a lil acid too which will make those minute additives inside unseen.

ah well. best is we use the Liebig condensor and make us some distilled water.
100% pure tongue.gif

DaRkSyThE
post Aug 10 2008, 09:57 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 10 2008, 08:44 PM)
i think its not good also, for ur info, TT uses aluminium radiator, which is not recommended to mix different metal in the same loop... corrosion will occur if u use copper block....

2nd, TT pump is quite famous for its failure after few months of usage, so if ur pump suffer suddent death, so as ur PC might be gone as well....

3rd, TT radiator are old inefficient design, so its not recommended as well...

4th, mayb u can use the reservoir, but the threading on the reservoir are small, so its quite restrictive i can say....

last of all, nvr ever use THERMALTAKE liquid cooling products... so as COOLERMASTER or GIGABYTE, u can use the Aquagate MAX reservoir + pump... quite nice i can say...
http://www.coolercases.co.uk/skull/skull_2200.jpg
http://www.coolercases.co.uk/skull/skull_2260.jpg
http://www.coolercases.co.uk/skull/skull_2270.jpg

taken from xtremesystem

tht guy modded the faceplate of the CM aquagate max pump + reservoir, rest he uses custom parts...
i might be getting a CM Aquagate Max soon.
if i do then i'll let you guys know how it fares against my custom WC
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 13 2008, 08:33 PM

4,809 posts

Apogee GTZ anyone?

read about it here :- http://siliconfx.net/?p=203
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 21 2008, 10:11 PM

4,809 posts

ethyl glycol. used to reduce the freezing point of water from 0 to -30 degrees.
commonly found in car rads smile.gif
go chemistry!
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 24 2008, 01:05 AM

4,809 posts

biasa one.
its the build up inside the tube
did you use any coolant?
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 24 2008, 02:20 PM

4,809 posts

but to be honest, its normal that it turns cloudy
mine did too.
im going to write up an article on web website to teach you my cheapskate method to clean those tubes tongue.gif
its not permanent. dont worry

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Aug 24 2008, 02:20 PM
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 24 2008, 06:11 PM

4,809 posts

you need a sponge (a hard one when its dry is good. Not too hard incase you scratch your tubes), rope, and some strong dishwashing liquid (i use GLO)

just wet the sponge, pour some glow in it and stuff the sponge in the tubing but the trick is, you got to find a way to attach the rope/string to it so you can pull the sponge thru the whole tube

what i did was cut a relatively rectangle strip, and folded it into half. then i just cut a long piece of string and kind of tie it to the V shaped folded sponge. after that just put it in and pull it out the other end!

i have pics but i got to find for them. if i do i'll post it up
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 25 2008, 11:17 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Aug 25 2008, 08:46 PM)
hey guys...i'm going to do some business soon...Custom made Reservoir...wish me luck...will be updated soon...lolz..
i want a bay res biggrin.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 25 2008, 11:20 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Aug 25 2008, 11:20 PM)
You want my ghetto old school bay res? LOL
wahaha and the legend comes back into the darkest corner of lyn
see lo
tunjuk picture dulu tongue.gif

edit : eh wait we're not to conduct sales in this thread.
must resist. xD

oh yes and btw, the dangerden dual core heater doesnt look too good

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Aug 25 2008, 11:21 PM
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 28 2008, 09:00 PM

4,809 posts

nice res bro
i got some designs for a res here
my worry is that it isnt sealed properly then KAABUM!

DaRkSyThE
post Aug 28 2008, 09:01 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Aug 28 2008, 08:54 PM)
Can you guys help me with WC setup circulations? I am using 1X cpu block and 1X NB block.TQ
general rule of thumb i guess

pump - CPU block - NB - RAD - RES - Pump

in general the block should be the first in the loop
but some people do it like this

pump - RAD - CPU block - NB - RES - Pump

i thnk biggrin.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 28 2008, 11:44 PM

4,809 posts

haha youre most welcome bro smile.gif
if you need more help just shout! (i mean PM me tongue.gif)
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 29 2008, 12:05 AM

4,809 posts

at the top i guess.
that way can suck out air and blow it over the rad
eh what GPU block is that?
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 29 2008, 12:11 AM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Aug 29 2008, 12:08 AM)
Well,seems to the same as i thought,on top. thumbup.gif
I am not using any gpu block,only using a custom cpu block and a swiftech NB block.
oh
i thought it was a dangerden full waterblock
actually the thing so tinggi right, can but it at the front also can biggrin.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 29 2008, 04:35 PM

4,809 posts

tubes ah?
i got used ones la.
dunno whether you want,
but masterkleer are the best ive used by far
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 30 2008, 09:42 AM