Is it the feel drive conti car will different drive Asian car? If get high end Asian car like Lexus will it same feel as conti car?
Conti car vs Asian car
Oct 31 2016, 10:26 PM, updated 10y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,231 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
Is it the feel drive conti car will different drive Asian car? If get high end Asian car like Lexus will it same feel as conti car?
Oct 31 2016, 10:35 PM
247 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
it will never feel the same. Conti cars make you religious, Asian cars don't. Don't get italian cars, you will be praying every time before you turn the ignition.
Oct 31 2016, 10:36 PM
71 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Oct 31 2016, 10:35 PM) it will never feel the same. Conti cars make you religious, Asian cars don't. Don't get italian cars, you will be praying every time before you turn the ignition. +1its legitimately night and day for me whenever i jump cars This post has been edited by itisludwig: Oct 31 2016, 10:36 PM |
Oct 31 2016, 10:42 PM
247 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
but in all honesty. lexus are nice car. i love the feel
Oct 31 2016, 11:42 PM
1 posts Joined: Sep 2016 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
Nov 1 2016, 12:32 AM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
It's not apples to apples. Skoda are classified as a conti in Malaysia but they are a world away from BMW and Jaguar. It's like saying Proton and Toyota are in the same category because they are Asian cars. Each brand has its own strengths and weaknesses.
Nov 1 2016, 01:38 AM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(roocarroll @ Nov 1 2016, 12:32 AM) It's not apples to apples. Skoda are classified as a conti in Malaysia but they are a world away from BMW and Jaguar. It's like saying Proton and Toyota are in the same category because they are Asian cars. Each brand has its own strengths and weaknesses. What are your experiences with Skoda?I was passenger in a Skoda Superb II, and it was superb. Quiet, comfortable, and as roomy as hell. There are obviously big differences between contis, and what they want to achieve. It is similar with Japs. Some cars want to get you from A to B safely (for example the Golf, though it also tries to be fun as far as that doesn't compromise safety), while others are all about the fun (Seat Leon, though closely related to the Golf, is far more engaging to drive, and the F20 1 series BMW does fun rather well too, without sacrificing comfort). The French (Citroen and Renault) are more interested in comfort, while Peugeot is aiming for fun (and IMHO the 208 is great fun, I only had one for a day, but I think I fell in love a bit...). In terms of refinement I feel like VW spends the most in premium feeling materials and dampening, while the French are a bit more creative in creating an interesting and nice environment without having to spend too much. Seat and Skoda are more to a budget, though still far ahead of the Japs. Keep in mind that Japanese brands tend to offer cars for the Asian market that they don't offer in Europe or some other more demanding areas (I wouldn't call the US demanding, they have other priorities like that the car needs to last forever, but it doesn't need to feel posh or well built. Big panel gaps? Who cares). The cars in Malaysia are meant to get you from A to B, somehow. Price is important, space is important. Fun, safety, not important. Posh feeling? Not important. (Of course the bigger, more expensive the car, the posher it is, generally speaking. Same applies for contis). If you want the Conti feel in a Japanese car, I'd say your best bet is a Mazda. Lexus is good too. I've been in their small hybrid, and while it lacks the style, it is refined like a VW or above would be. The rear passengers don't sit as good though, it feels rather cheap back there. I think Karenalvin is joking. What do you do as a religious person? You pray. Italian cars, being so unreliable (that's an outdated stereotype though, they aren't worse than others) will make you pray... pray that the car will work. Anyway I only drive conti cars, and my mother doesn't want any Japanese either... a) because of Japanese occupation, and b) because of terrible experiences (like a Japanese car falling apart beyond repair after 2 years or so...). There is a certain refinement, a certain feeling that the car doesn't just want to get you to the destination in them. This post has been edited by kadajawi: Nov 1 2016, 01:42 AM |
Nov 1 2016, 02:20 AM
109 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
This discussion belongs 50 years ago. In this modern age the lines between brands are being blurred. Proton Savvy is a Malaysian car with a Conti engine. The new Merc pickup is a Nissan Navara underneath. Lexus and Infiniti are being compared favourably to BMW and Audi. JLR is owned by Indians, Volvo owned by Chinese, VW owned by Arabs etc. As for who 'makes' the car, engineers, designers, management and workforce are made up of people of every nation. And that's before you include assembly. The Toyota Camry is the most American car in America if you consider where all the parts come from. Toyota Crown feels like Conti car, Renault Captur feels like Asian car.
For a more traditional answer, if you drive Conti car ppl think you rich, drive Asian car ppl think you can't afford Conti lol. |
Nov 1 2016, 05:51 AM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(djtong @ Nov 1 2016, 02:20 AM) This discussion belongs 50 years ago. In this modern age the lines between brands are being blurred. Proton Savvy is a Malaysian car with a Conti engine. The new Merc pickup is a Nissan Navara underneath. Lexus and Infiniti are being compared favourably to BMW and Audi. JLR is owned by Indians, Volvo owned by Chinese, VW owned by Arabs etc. As for who 'makes' the car, engineers, designers, management and workforce are made up of people of every nation. And that's before you include assembly. The Toyota Camry is the most American car in America if you consider where all the parts come from. Toyota Crown feels like Conti car, Renault Captur feels like Asian car. Erm. Disagreed. There is a difference when you drive them or are passenger in them. Which Toyota Crown are you talking about? The old taxis? Nope. Don't feel conti to me, more American. Different companies pay attention to different things, different countries pay different attention to different things. European cars are always more about driving enjoyment (be it comfort, be it driving fast) than their Japanese counterparts, except for Mazda and a couple of models. Japanese sports cars are obviously fun. But for ordinary everyday road cars, say C segment cars, there is a difference. Having space for huge families doesn't matter nearly as much in Europe. The C segment BMW 1 series is perhaps as tight inside as a Myvi, perhaps even more so. Doesn't matter. Fun is more important.For a more traditional answer, if you drive Conti car ppl think you rich, drive Asian car ppl think you can't afford Conti lol. Where is VW owned by Arabs? Qatar owns roughly 15%, even the German government is close to that figure. |
Nov 1 2016, 06:14 AM
1,167 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(djtong @ Nov 1 2016, 02:20 AM) This discussion belongs 50 years ago. In this modern age the lines between brands are being blurred. Proton Savvy is a Malaysian car with a Conti engine. The new Merc pickup is a Nissan Navara underneath. Lexus and Infiniti are being compared favourably to BMW and Audi. JLR is owned by Indians, Volvo owned by Chinese, VW owned by Arabs etc. As for who 'makes' the car, engineers, designers, management and workforce are made up of people of every nation. And that's before you include assembly. The Toyota Camry is the most American car in America if you consider where all the parts come from. Toyota Crown feels like Conti car, Renault Captur feels like Asian car. Get into two similar priced car from conti and jap, like a VW Passat/Pug 408 vs Toyota Camry and Honda Accord.For a more traditional answer, if you drive Conti car ppl think you rich, drive Asian car ppl think you can't afford Conti lol. Drive the car around, go over some potholes, tackle some corner tad too fast. Most should able to tell the difference. Also, Cont makes and Jap makes are not about origin of brand, owner or manufactured location. It's more about the heritage they carry over. |
Nov 1 2016, 08:16 AM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Like to chip in a bit here, there is obvious differences between conti dan jap cars, or any other makes with the DNAs (Protons, Koreans etc.).
Overall Conti have the edge for me - the interiors feels much better/refined then Jap cars of the same class and price bracket. The euro engine are more suited to cruising, where as Jap engine have good start/stop acceleration, better for town drive. |
Nov 1 2016, 09:18 AM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kajang |
Nov 1 2016, 09:22 AM
109 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Today, 00:01 AM |
QUOTE(biggie @ Nov 1 2016, 08:16 AM) Like to chip in a bit here, there is obvious differences between conti dan jap cars, or any other makes with the DNAs (Protons, Koreans etc.). wait for another 3-4 years, then you will see how the conti interior feels..Overall Conti have the edge for me - the interiors feels much better/refined then Jap cars of the same class and price bracket. The euro engine are more suited to cruising, where as Jap engine have good start/stop acceleration, better for town drive. oh wai... conti car owners change car every 3-4 years |
Nov 1 2016, 09:24 AM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kajang |
QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Nov 1 2016, 06:14 AM) Get into two similar priced car from conti and jap, like a VW Passat/Pug 408 vs Toyota Camry and Honda Accord. pug 508. btw, my dad used to drive 508..now he drive camry hybrid. both car priced more or less the same..same segment. but he still feel the camry a bit like a toy/cheap car although the engine,nvh perform better than the 508.Drive the car around, go over some potholes, tackle some corner tad too fast. Most should able to tell the difference. Also, Cont makes and Jap makes are not about origin of brand, owner or manufactured location. It's more about the heritage they carry over. |
Nov 1 2016, 09:26 AM
1,206 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Oct 31 2016, 10:35 PM) it will never feel the same. Conti cars make you religious, Asian cars don't. Don't get italian cars, you will be praying every time before you turn the ignition. QUOTE(DX_Kidjal @ Oct 31 2016, 11:42 PM) probably meaning you will be praying more it does not break down |
Nov 1 2016, 09:36 AM
10,188 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
lol... considering TS trolling from kopitiam... this endless loop discussion of asian vs conti cars... believe that what he asked is a very surface of the status of driving an asian car vs conti cars.... he doesnt really bother about refinement or reliability or other technical specs anyway....
Nov 1 2016, 10:10 AM
13,476 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
The problem lies with people, not car. That's why we have so many manufacturers from all around the world. Some people want to drive rare cars, some prefer hot sellers for cheaper parts, some prefer performance, some prefer luxury. Whatever you choose, don't complain because it's your own damn choice. Why are you complaining now after you made your choice? If you can't afford it then work harder.
Nov 1 2016, 10:10 AM
845 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: 3°05′N 101°39′E plus α |
An Italian car(Alfa Romeo, FIAT, Lancia) is a car with a soul...You drive its she will feedback to you.
Priority in designing by Italian is 1st Fun, second comfort...ahahaha... If you do preventive maintenance, it will last long. Wear and tear parts can be order from UK with a less than 2 weeks waiting time. |
Nov 1 2016, 10:28 AM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Nov 1 2016, 01:38 AM) What are your experiences with Skoda? They are pretty popular where I come from. I drove a 2016 Superb around Ireland for 2 weeks in July. It's a great car but the steering is very wooden. It's much more of a Toyota than a Honda. It's very economical too. A full tank of diesel did more than 1,000km. I was passenger in a Skoda Superb II, and it was superb. Quiet, comfortable, and as roomy as hell. There are obviously big differences between contis, and what they want to achieve. It is similar with Japs. Some cars want to get you from A to B safely (for example the Golf, though it also tries to be fun as far as that doesn't compromise safety), while others are all about the fun (Seat Leon, though closely related to the Golf, is far more engaging to drive, and the F20 1 series BMW does fun rather well too, without sacrificing comfort). The French (Citroen and Renault) are more interested in comfort, while Peugeot is aiming for fun (and IMHO the 208 is great fun, I only had one for a day, but I think I fell in love a bit...). In terms of refinement I feel like VW spends the most in premium feeling materials and dampening, while the French are a bit more creative in creating an interesting and nice environment without having to spend too much. Seat and Skoda are more to a budget, though still far ahead of the Japs. Keep in mind that Japanese brands tend to offer cars for the Asian market that they don't offer in Europe or some other more demanding areas (I wouldn't call the US demanding, they have other priorities like that the car needs to last forever, but it doesn't need to feel posh or well built. Big panel gaps? Who cares). The cars in Malaysia are meant to get you from A to B, somehow. Price is important, space is important. Fun, safety, not important. Posh feeling? Not important. (Of course the bigger, more expensive the car, the posher it is, generally speaking. Same applies for contis). If you want the Conti feel in a Japanese car, I'd say your best bet is a Mazda. Lexus is good too. I've been in their small hybrid, and while it lacks the style, it is refined like a VW or above would be. The rear passengers don't sit as good though, it feels rather cheap back there. I think Karenalvin is joking. What do you do as a religious person? You pray. Italian cars, being so unreliable (that's an outdated stereotype though, they aren't worse than others) will make you pray... pray that the car will work. Anyway I only drive conti cars, and my mother doesn't want any Japanese either... a) because of Japanese occupation, and b) because of terrible experiences (like a Japanese car falling apart beyond repair after 2 years or so...). There is a certain refinement, a certain feeling that the car doesn't just want to get you to the destination in them. |
Nov 1 2016, 10:40 AM
1,704 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
| Change to: | 0.0238sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:10 PM |