Conti car vs Asian car

6UE5T
post Nov 1 2016, 10:40 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Oct 31 2016, 10:35 PM)
it will never feel the same. Conti cars make you religious, Asian cars don't. Don't get italian cars, you will be praying every time before you turn the ignition.
Whuahaha, very good one there dude! rclxms.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 1 2016, 10:44 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ Nov 1 2016, 08:06 PM)
sorry to ask.. what is conti car?
Conti or Continental car is a Malaysian terminology for cars made in Europe or US, don't ask me why coz I also have no clue as I'm not Malaysian! laugh.gif

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Nov 1 2016, 10:22 PM)
Sorry to ask why u ask?
Maybe he's not Malaysian like me so that's why he/she doesn't know like me back then! biggrin.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 2 2016, 02:57 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Nov 2 2016, 07:35 AM)
U r sg porean?
Nope. smile.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 2 2016, 05:04 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Nov 2 2016, 04:17 AM)
Mh... yeah. BMW isn't exactly the best in terms of quality... seems like they are just too much in demand for them to care too much. My Golf does feel posher than a F20 BMW (then again, in terms of fun...!).

The LFA is a very special car though. Yeah I'd absolutely take one over a Ferrari, but there are not many Japanese cars like that. Likewise the MX5, though if it is MX5 vs 4C... 4C it is.

The GT-R lacks reliability, so no thanks. And the WRX and EVO heroes seem to be living off their reputation these days...

I think it's a mixture of brand and country of origin... the Japanese do have things in common, and so do the Germans for example. All Germans have in common IMHO that they are built for high speed stints on the Autobahn... it shouldn't matter too much which one you get, they'll all perform well, while the Japanese tend to feel out of breath when you go faster.

As for the Skoda... they are relatively cheap, so there's only so much they can do. Also, VW isn't too happy when Skoda makes cars that are too good (AFAIK they even fired people at Skoda when reviewers found Skoda was better than VW...  laugh.gif ). So Skoda has to be a bit careful.
Well not sure about the WRX (coz they're still produced) but Evo of course can only live off its legendary reputation as it's not made anymore. And btw it's one hell of a reputation too as it literally can still humiliate majority of new cars today even those so called fast sports cars ya, not to mention those wannabes like GTI etc2.

Sure ALL German cars can go fast/perform well in Autobahn meh??? Sure Japanese cars tend to feel out of breath also? Have you tried real powerful Japanese cars or not? Sure on average there are more powerful German cars than Japanese but not true for all ya.
6UE5T
post Nov 2 2016, 06:22 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(patt_sue @ Nov 2 2016, 06:08 PM)
literally, conti means 'continental europe' or 'continent' or 'mainland europe'
Yeah that's what I've suspected, so does it mean no cars made in Asia will be considered Conti cars? But then how about recent car brands from mainland China , shouldn't they also be called Conti cars as China is the main body of land in Asia continent? biggrin.gif I honestly don't see the point of this Malaysian term of 'Continental car' coz within that category there are too many different brands from different origins with very different characteristics as well, why group it as 1 "Continental car"?

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Nov 2 2016, 06:24 PM
6UE5T
post Nov 2 2016, 06:28 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(patt_sue @ Nov 2 2016, 06:26 PM)
for malaysian, everything non-asian car is conti.... even ford... wink.gif
As if Asia is not a continent itself! doh.gif laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 2 2016, 06:53 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Nov 2 2016, 06:34 PM)
forget about this guy la, talking from his arse 1...

to him, his renault kangoo is the best car, his golf in europe is the bestest of the bestest  laugh.gif
Hahaha, it's ok, I know he tends to exaggerate often so I'm just trying to straighten the facts. biggrin.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 3 2016, 12:14 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Nov 3 2016, 06:05 AM)
It's not about powerful. It's about a typical B segment hatchback with 90 hp having no problem doing 180 (if the engine can reach that speed), and feeling relatively planted at that, where a STOCK Japanese car of that segment won't be doing so well. They weren't designed for that, they were designed to be easy to drive through towns, with minimum effort.

I'm saying that most contis are capable of driving way beyond the speed limit (in terms of engine power any car is, but not in terms of handling etc.). My 75 hp Citroen Xsara, despite having a comfy setup, easily does 170 (downhill). I don't even need to hold the steering wheel, that's how planted it is. And no, no exaggeration. Through towns or when parking the Xsara takes a lot more effort, the power steering exists but is very weak, you need to work hard. Japanese cars are better in those situations.

Anyway, I consider Mazda more conti then Japanese in terms of feel etc., they may be 100% Japanese, but they are quite European in feel.

As for the Kangoo... no, it's not the best car, but it is vastly underrated and better than the Avanza, its main rival back in the day.
See your your first post earlier and then next one above kinda contradict themselves. In your first post you mentioned that all German cars will do well in high speeds while Japanese will be out of breath, so it's implying that all German cars have good power for high speeds while Japanese don't as they run out of breath. But then in the first paragraph above you said it's not about power but about handling or more exact stability. So which one is it? If you want to say about stability then don't say Japanese cars will tend feel out of breath coz stability has nothing to do with out of breath (unless you have different English understanding of the term 'out of breath'). And even though I agree that smaller size Japanese or Korean cars tend to feel more unstable/floating at high speeds, I also emphasize again that not all Japanese cars will be out of breath or not stable at high speeds. See, you may have valid points in your posts but the way you mentioned them often not accurate, look exaggerated, and mislead people hence that's why some here already said you're just talking nonsense.

6UE5T
post Nov 4 2016, 11:59 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(djtong @ Nov 4 2016, 12:26 AM)
Four legs good, two legs bad!
Suddenly conti = German. French cars these days are completely different from Italians which in turn are completely different from Germans. Barely anyone brought up British cars and nobody even cared to mention the Russians and eastern block. If all lump together then might as well include Japan and Korea then all one big happy family.
Conclusion is belilah barangan buatan Malaysia!

New drinking game: Everytime someone mentioned double wishbone, everyone takes a shot.
Exactly, not to mention Malaysians also lump US cars into the so called 'Conti car' label. doh.gif I really see no point in that, coz they are all still pretty different.
I remember the first time I knew about this terminology when a colleague of mine asked me what do I think about buying "Conti cars'. Then I asked her back, what car is that?? Then she explained (with a rather confused face coz she knew I like cars but how come I did not know Conti cars?) that it's European and US car brands. So then I said, which brand, coz they are different cars, even among German cars they are quite different so I say cannot generalize like that, coz for example I might consider buying Mercedes but certainly not VW even though both are German cars. IMHO this conti car term is just pointless. laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 4 2016, 03:47 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Nov 4 2016, 01:41 PM)

Btw., the latest results of the German TÜV results were released. German brands (especially Merc) seem to be as reliable as Japanese brands, but IMHO maybe it's just owners taking more care of their ride.
Might be biased, or yeah the German car owners take more care of their cars. The thing about reliability of Japanese cars like Toyota is that they can take quite abusive owners (those who forget or miss regular maintenance, drive more harshly, replace with cheaper non original parts etc2.) and the cars just keep going.

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 4 2016, 03:27 PM)
I guess individual perception varies, to me Lexus LS series are the equivalent for merc/bmw both in terms of comfort and performance.

The same goes to Infinity Q50/60 series, they are just superb!
Yeah to me the high end Lexus is already about as luxurious as their German counterparts. I remember sitting in their first LS400 back in early 90s and that car IMHO is really on par with the Mercs S and BMW 7 series, maybe even more luxurious in some aspects (for example the full Nakamichi audio system back then). The insulation (NVH) was also mind blowing, it was so damn quiet and smooth that I would not notice if the engine was running unless I look at the tacho. Granted they may look more boring/lack character compared to Mercs/BMW but in term of luxury I think about the same already.
6UE5T
post Nov 4 2016, 05:21 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Nov 4 2016, 05:03 PM)
Dash design, material, fitment and user interface aside, sat in a Q50 before, the seats are a revelation...never knew that seats can be designed to be THAT good to sit on. I have sat in C Class, 5 series, E Class, Camry, Mazda 6 & CX5, but none is more memorable than the short moment i sat on the Q50.

Volvo is also famous for comfy seats, but no change to try it before....so maybe Volvo can match or beat it....
My observation is that Japanese cars may not boast the best performance, but the key to reliability is easy serviceability. It is much easier to reach a part in the engine bay of a Japanese compared to a German.

Germans engineering are no doubt good, really good performance, very intricate and complex, so when brake down, really need expert to handle it....also, their fancy of using so MANY sensors!!!! Sometimes, it is the sensor module or wiring that rosak instead of the part that is being measured itself  hmm.gif
That exactly!
6UE5T
post Nov 6 2016, 12:30 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Nov 5 2016, 10:19 PM)
Honda and Toyota too mainstream. Even drive accord and Camry don't feel the class
Well actually Camry & Accord are supposed to be just ordinary level family cars and not meant to be cars with class in the first place! laugh.gif Only in countries like Malaysia, SG, Indonesia, etc2 where cars are priced exorbitantly then people expect them to have class! doh.gif

0.0189sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:25 PM