122 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Technical Sony PlayStation Portable for Beginners, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion

snipersnake
post May 20 2007, 11:27 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

this is a thread for psp newbies..so flaming a newbie that comes to seek answers here is worst than n00bs themselves.
porkchop
post May 20 2007, 11:50 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

i have a noobier question...

there is this game called the talkman, uses microphone, where to buy the microphone or we can custom it?? sometimes would like a nds with built in mic
Mgsrulz
post May 20 2007, 11:53 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(affiqzakie @ May 20 2007, 05:00 AM)
Hi! I plan to buy a PsP in the near future.
A few things I would like to know:-
-Which firmware should I go for? What's the difference? After reading the beginners thread, it seems that OE firmwares are quite complicated. Is it?
-Why does OE firmware make the PsP more powerful?
-If I'm willing to spend the extra cash to get original games, are there still reasons to get a PsP with an OE firmware?

Thanks guys! I will ask more questions though. Please bear with me sweat.gif
Thanks again~
-go for anything below 3.10(if im not mistaken,3.10 is the highest firmware which can be downgraded to 1.5)
different firmwares allow your psp to do different things.
as an example;
in firmware 1.5,you cant disable auto boot(so when you start your psp,your UMD is played AUTOMATICALLY.this is a big pain when you want to watch movies off of your memory stick or play games off of your memory stick)
(im not sure when it started,but later firmwares have internet browser,flash player,wma support,etc)
the biggest difference between OE firmware and the official sony firmware,is that OE firmwares allow you to play backup games off of the memory stick(extremely useful if your UMD drive is spoilt),play emulators on your psp,use homebrew applications on your psp,etc..

-mainly because of homebrew tongue.gif

-yes.because you never know when your UMD drive might go bonkers on you.
and there is no difference between OE and official firmwares,except the the OE firmwares allow you to do much more than the ori firmwares.

if you ask me,these OE firmwares are the biggest reason the psp is even selling atm.
something as simple as a screenshot utility cannot be done on official sony firmwares-why? i have no idea,but it is very cool to be able to take a screenie of your in game activities,especially when multiplaying with friends smile.gif

and another thing..not ALL games on the psp are good.if you use OE firmwares,you can download the games first,try them out,and delete them and buy the games if you like them..
i for one would hate to spend RM100+ on something that i might not like sweat.gif
so i dont think testing the product first,then buying it would be a problem,would it? rolleyes.gif

Added on May 20, 2007, 11:54 am
QUOTE(porkchop @ May 20 2007, 11:50 AM)
i have a noobier question...

there is this game called the talkman, uses microphone, where to buy the microphone or we can custom it?? sometimes would like a nds with built in mic
talkman comes with the mic tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: May 20 2007, 11:54 AM
figure8
post May 20 2007, 01:31 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

^highest fw that can be downgrade is 3.03.
-in fw 1.5, we can also disable auto umd by using recovery mode for 1.5 (custom firmware proof of concept/cf mod) smile.gif

This post has been edited by figure8: May 20 2007, 01:33 PM
2kia
post May 20 2007, 03:29 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

can we multitask wit psp? like listening to music n surfing da net at the same time?
MR.Shiney
post May 20 2007, 04:44 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ May 20 2007, 03:29 PM)
can we multitask wit psp? like listening to music n surfing da net at the same time?
sadly, no.
affiqzakie
post May 20 2007, 05:21 PM

54 posts

Thanks Mgsrulz! Your reply cleared out a lot.
There are still things I need to know though. Is the OE firmware user friendly? I mean is it easy to understand? With all the folders (e.g. game or game 150) and all that jazz?

mervynrwtw
post May 20 2007, 06:05 PM

56 posts

i think its possible to multitask with the psp , you use a homebrew called irshell
MR.Shiney
post May 20 2007, 07:53 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(mervynrwtw @ May 20 2007, 06:05 PM)
i think its possible to multitask with the psp , you use a homebrew called irshell
hav you even tried it? i cant get it to work.
if you did manage to do it. u can only listen while doing
sumthing else, not browsing the net.
squall_ck77
post May 20 2007, 09:13 PM

3.11 downgrade still not out yet, correct me if i'm wrong.
MR.Shiney
post May 20 2007, 09:24 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

the last time i said things like these i had been warned laugh.gif
maybe ur flash1 corrupted.. or worse.. flash0... heh, just a guess.
no need to panic. just do what bro slickz says.
LittleLinnet
post May 20 2007, 09:33 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ May 20 2007, 11:53 AM)
-go for anything below 3.10(if im not mistaken,3.10 is the highest firmware which can be downgraded to 1.5)
highest firmware downgrade-able currently is 3.03 only IIRC
And beware though, 2.81 cant be downgrade too
Mgsrulz
post May 20 2007, 11:58 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(affiqzakie @ May 20 2007, 05:21 PM)
Thanks Mgsrulz! Your reply cleared out a lot.
There are still things I need to know though. Is the OE firmware user friendly? I mean is it easy to understand? With all the folders (e.g. game or game 150) and all that jazz?
in the beginning it looks intimidating,but once you have seen the folders,and read what they are for,it's quite easy(at least for me it was)

and if you have any difficulty,this thread will always be open smile.gif

just dont ask about ISOs,sudah laugh.gif

just some pics as a lowdown of the important folders(other than the ones i mention here,i never use tongue.gif )

this is the root of the stick..
standard amount of folders for OE firmware,except for the SEPLUGINS where the screenshot plugins lie brows.gif

in the PSP folder,game is where my homebrew apps go,i never touch game150 or game303(malas wanna keep switching tongue.gif )
photo is where all the screenshots are saved
savedata,i think you should know what it is tongue.gif

inside my game folder.
PSX games also are to be put in this folder.
"strider" is the one psx game i have in here
affiqzakie
post May 21 2007, 12:12 AM

54 posts

Wow!!!
Thanks a lot Mgsrulz!!~
Much much more than I bargained for tongue.gif

Umm, I asked a forumer for a deal, part of his reply is -

"this package allowed u to play all "types" whistling.gif of games, mp3, mp4, ps1 games, search internet n etc... u still can play back the original umd by using this firmware, but make it's below 3.11 version. if not, it will change ur currently firmware to 3.11, then u have to wait somebody can hack it, then only u can play back the homebrew games. all the homebrew games or iso/cso games which u can downloaded from internet is the same only."

If I understand this correctly, it means that if I play an original game, the firmware will automatically change to an original firmware and I'll have to change it back to enable homebrew. Am I correct?

This post has been edited by affiqzakie: May 21 2007, 12:16 AM
zal
post May 21 2007, 12:42 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(squall_ck77 @ May 20 2007, 09:13 PM)
3.11 downgrade still not out yet, correct me if i'm wrong.
yes.... untill now 3.03(sony original firmware) and above cannot be downgraded yet....

abe_mad
post May 21 2007, 06:49 AM

150 posts

Guys,

this fella talk about original firmware. Maybe he is one of the few people that support ori. Anyway,

the DRNffffffd7 usually comes from t-082 motherboard that have been downgrade before. And i heard it will make the psp stuck at 3.11 forever. (I read from a forum somewhere before, i'll try look for it again)

Check first if it t-082 motherboard. Since you already tried wireless and transfer method of updating, there is only one way left, updating via umd. Try looking for games that required 3.40 to play them. (Are there any?)

If all can't, you can only wait for downgrader to come first and upgrade again. Cheers.

add : another way is try to update to 3.30 first then 3.40

This post has been edited by abe_mad: May 21 2007, 06:58 AM
Mgsrulz
post May 21 2007, 12:26 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(affiqzakie @ May 21 2007, 12:12 AM)
Wow!!!
Thanks a lot Mgsrulz!!~

"this package allowed u to play all "typeswhistling.gif  of games, mp3, mp4, ps1 games, search internet n etc... u still can play back the original umd by using this firmware, but make it's below 3.11 version. if not, it will change ur currently firmware to 3.11, then u have to wait somebody can hack it, then only u can play back the homebrew games. all the homebrew games or iso/cso games which u can downloaded from internet is the same only."

If I understand this correctly, it means that if I play an original game, the firmware will automatically change to an original firmware and I'll have to change it back to enable homebrew. Am I correct?

the game should prompt you for permission first.
(im guessing so,because i'm yet to receive such a notice blush.gif )
right now the highest OE firmware is 3.40(same with the official firmware)

if the psp is already using OE firmware,just update it when a new firmware(OE) comes out.should be just fine(im OK so far happy.gif )
figure8
post May 21 2007, 12:46 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

QUOTE(affiqzakie @ May 21 2007, 12:12 AM)
Wow!!!
Thanks a lot Mgsrulz!!~

"this package allowed u to play all "typeswhistling.gif  of games, mp3, mp4, ps1 games, search internet n etc... u still can play back the original umd by using this firmware, but make it's below 3.11 version. if not, it will change ur currently firmware to 3.11, then u have to wait somebody can hack it, then only u can play back the homebrew games. all the homebrew games or iso/cso games which u can downloaded from internet is the same only."

i think u misunderstood...
fw is like operating system.. 1st u need to know the psp umd concept... let say old psp title like darkstalker required fw 1.50 and new psp title need fw higher than 2.5 or 3.10. so it mean, if u use fw 1.50, u cannot run games that required fw above than 1.50..

-right now, we all talking about 3.03 or 3.40 oe, so all umd game can be playable with this fw...

^if u play original game, u still use the fw that already installed in your psp. there are no such thing like "automatically change to original fw"...

-in new oe edition, u can run homebrew and playing umd...

This post has been edited by figure8: May 21 2007, 12:47 PM
john_titor_my
post May 21 2007, 03:27 PM

Validating
67 posts

3.40 original firmware only for Asian region White PSP 1006-CW. Something like that. Correct me if i'm wrong.
rx330
post May 21 2007, 03:30 PM

11,809 posts

mine one black psp wor... me also 3.40 leh...

122 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:53 PM