250cc bike

adamhzm90
post Nov 8 2016, 02:27 PM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Nov 8 2016, 11:56 AM)
Don't think there are any inline-4 250 already here. Long ago there was the ZXR 250 which sounder just great. Today, many bikes up to even 900cc are on twins already. Only bikes I can think of below 1,000cc with an inline-4 are the XJ6 series and the similar recond FZ6R by Yamaha and the CBR600RR by Honda...

Any other inline-4 below 1,000cc out there?
a lot. cheapest now maybe XJ-6?

mockv1per
post Nov 8 2016, 02:28 PM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

Don't think there are any inline-4 250 already here. Long ago there was the ZXR 250 which sounder just great. Today, many bikes up to even 900cc are on twins already. Only bikes I can think of below 1,000cc with an inline-4 are the XJ6 series and the similar recond FZ6R by Yamaha and the CBR600RR by Honda...

benelli tnt 600
kazasaki z8, zx6
yamaha r6, xj6, fz6
honda cb600, cb650
suzuki gsr750
mockv1per
post Nov 8 2016, 02:29 PM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Nov 8 2016, 02:27 PM)
a lot. cheapest now maybe XJ-6?
ermmm benelli rolleyes.gif
adamhzm90
post Nov 8 2016, 02:30 PM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(mockv1per @ Nov 8 2016, 02:29 PM)
ermmm benelli  rolleyes.gif
ermm the infamous skru enjin cabut
lowpro
post Nov 8 2016, 02:34 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(mockv1per @ Nov 8 2016, 02:28 PM)
benelli tnt 600
kazasaki z8, zx6
yamaha r6, xj6, fz6
honda cb600, cb650
suzuki gsr750
thumbup.gif
mockv1per
post Nov 8 2016, 02:35 PM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Nov 5 2016, 01:39 AM)
i won't say 2 piston would be relaxing on the highway but it does not vibrate as much as 1 piston lol.

I've rode duke 200 and I'm currently on R25 and the vibration is massive. duke 200 would make my hands numb after 30 minutes of continuous riding (around 100km/h -120km/h) while r25 i can ride for one hour or more with less numbness on my hands.

sounds? depending on ur exhaust system, some 1 piston bike sounded so good while some 2 pistons bike sounded so bad.

no u won't get the sound like the 4 inline ones... the 4 inlines sound is..... orgasmic....
u should listen to benelli tnt300 brows.gif inline twin that sounds like idk.. not so 2 cylinder.

if it is fitted with a good aftermarket exhaust, they all can be orgasmic wub.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 8 2016, 02:48 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(mockv1per @ Nov 8 2016, 02:35 PM)
u should listen to benelli tnt300  brows.gif inline twin that sounds like idk.. not so 2 cylinder.

if it is fitted with a good aftermarket exhaust, they all can be orgasmic  wub.gif
yes ive thought of that before. however my purchase was influence by the way i ride the bike for long distance. i just having trust issue with the reliability of benelli thou the sound even from stock exhaust was good rather than r25. my r25 have been went and forth from kl to penang for 8-9 times since i bought it and still going great.

the only thing about 250cc on a long journey is the uneasy feeling that sometimes i did push the bike too far and yeah 250cc is just 250cc and i do have to stop often for filling the tank or because i do abuse it on the highway recklessly.
mockv1per
post Nov 8 2016, 03:07 PM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Nov 8 2016, 02:48 PM)
yes ive thought of that before. however my purchase was influence by the way i ride the bike for long distance. i just having trust issue with the reliability of benelli thou the sound even from stock exhaust was good rather than r25. my r25 have been went and forth from kl to penang for 8-9 times since i bought it and still going great.

the only thing about 250cc on a long journey is the uneasy feeling that sometimes i did push the bike too far and yeah 250cc is just 250cc and i do have to stop often for filling the tank or because i do abuse it on the highway recklessly.
for long journey you should ride adventure/touring bike.
versys perhaps.. big tank + tall windscreen
Sadru
post Nov 8 2016, 03:40 PM

1,062 posts

QUOTE(jeremy07241 @ Nov 2 2016, 11:57 AM)
Looking for daily ride to office.. about 80km per day (20%city 80% highway).  Any recommendation in lower maintenance and good fuel consumption? Looking at kawasaki Z250, ninja 250 and honda cbr250r.
IMHO the current top lineup would be R25 and ninja250 from kawasaki. although i would gravitate more to the R25 tho.
On the R25 power delivery is more linear from medium to top thus stable pull all through the meter to top.

Meanwhile kawasaki wins at the top end. If u do like to stay at the top end A LOT by all means go kawasaki.
if u prefer balance its a safe choice to settle for R25.

Ninja 250 or Z250 basically depends on your preference, outlook different between naked and fairing.

g3n0c1d3
post Nov 8 2016, 04:01 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(mockv1per @ Nov 8 2016, 03:07 PM)
for long journey you should ride adventure/touring bike.
versys perhaps.. big tank + tall windscreen
im not the adventure/touring bike kindda guy to be honest. i like riding my bike aggressively and for me if i were to upgrade i'll be looking for supersports bike/superbikes. i had that thought in mind for couple of months now however due to my current expenditure i have to hold the thought 1st.
Fries
post Nov 9 2016, 12:12 PM

328 posts

xj6
z800
cbr650
tnt600
cb400
gsx750/600
r6
cbr600
zx6
etc
amad108
post Nov 10 2016, 04:29 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Nov 5 2016, 01:39 AM)
i won't say 2 piston would be relaxing on the highway but it does not vibrate as much as 1 piston lol.

I've rode duke 200 and I'm currently on R25 and the vibration is massive. duke 200 would make my hands numb after 30 minutes of continuous riding (around 100km/h -120km/h) while r25 i can ride for one hour or more with less numbness on my hands.

sounds? depending on ur exhaust system, some 1 piston bike sounded so good while some 2 pistons bike sounded so bad.

no u won't get the sound like the 4 inline ones... the 4 inlines sound is..... orgasmic....
try Honda CB400 with VTEC.. even with a mere 400cc, because it is 4 piston n vtec.. the acceleration is outperform in most in it class, the sound is huuuuuu...
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 10 2016, 10:46 AM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Nov 10 2016, 04:29 AM)
try Honda CB400 with VTEC.. even with a mere 400cc, because it is 4 piston n vtec.. the acceleration is outperform in most in it class, the sound is huuuuuu...
Cb400 actually not available in malaysia if im not mistaken. And the price, well lets just say i rather buy a 600cc sportsbike for that kind of amount
amad108
post Nov 10 2016, 09:49 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Nov 10 2016, 10:46 AM)
Cb400 actually not available in malaysia if im not mistaken. And the price, well lets just say i rather buy a 600cc sportsbike for that kind of amount
can buy used from singapore then.. of coz no new here.. if there is, yeah quite expensive then..
g3n0c1d3
post Nov 10 2016, 10:14 PM

6,497 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Nov 10 2016, 09:49 PM)
can buy used from singapore then.. of coz no new here.. if there is, yeah quite expensive then..
Ah that would also be a no no. Singapore bikes are a bit hassle to deal with unless u work in singapore or u frequently travel back and forth to singapore.

ZZR-Pilot
post Nov 11 2016, 02:23 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Nov 10 2016, 11:46 AM)
Actually back in the mid 90s, MSC in PJ did import quite a number of 400cc bikes including the CB400 SuperFour.

I too owned a Malaysia registered GSXR400-RR imported by MSC. Back then these bikes would set you back around RM25k-RM30k, just under the usual 600cc models at around RM40k. 750cc race reps (remember those?) went for around RM45k... and in the mid 90s, 400cc bikes were often just mini versions of the 750cc race reps. Between my GSXR400-RR and the GSXR750 W-series everything was the same, down to the Mikuni slide carbs, just smaller. It was exquisite.

The advantage of 400cc bikes is cheaper roadtax and cheap parts in Singapore. Towards 2000, tons of 400cc bikes were being scrapped in SG and you could get all kinds of used parts for very little money. I had a complete set of spare body panels and rims.

Anyway... a lot of 400cc bikes were illegally running on SG & Thai plates, so our legit 400s were very special and very rare.

Nowadays... the era of the screaming miniature 4-cylinder race replicas had long passed. Nobody even talks about them anymore.

ZZR-Pilot
post Nov 11 2016, 02:37 PM

1,057 posts

AAAAAAANYWAY...

Some good news showed up yesterday for those who want a 250cc commuter/tourer bike but are too ashamed to ride anything related to China.

Paul Tan reported that the 250cc Kwakka X-Versys is being launched. Looks very decent, especially with a 17-litre fuel tank which should see very good range in between refuelling. Because it wears the Kawasaki badge, it will cost more than the KTNS R3... but still, a great commuter/tourer option.

But I think Kawasaki should be thankful that the local Keeway Benelli ppl are plain bloody lazy, otherwise the new Benelli TRK502 would surely tapau everything. Absolutely gorgeous adventure tourer looks and a fukking humungous cross-country 20-litre tank.

http://www.cycleworld.com/2017-kawasaki-ve...vel-bike-season
lowpro
post Jan 10 2017, 05:57 PM

180 posts

Here are more interesting 250cc - 310cc adv choices coming (if they actually come to Malaysia...)

Suzuki V-Strom 250
Kawasaki Versys 250/300 (as ZZR-Pilot mentioned)
Honda CRF 250 Rally (hmmm, wonder why they didn't outfit it with panniers)
BMW G 310 GS adventure

Could be really fun to see these qtr ltr adv bikes running around but with the economy in 'safe mode', it'll probably be tough to see any of these being introduced.

blackblackk
post Jan 11 2017, 04:34 PM

219 posts

versys 650 best for touring.
I don't recommend 250 bike.

I'm riding ninja 250, the clutch & weight is puurrrfecct.
Tried friend's z250 & r25 also not as good, r25 abit light until like kapcai.
250 bike can go quite fast .. went 160kmh before but after 110kmh it feels like stressing on the bike, abit hurting. My ninja 250 consider premium 250 bike, so I doubt the list you put there is any better.
Quazacolt
post Jan 11 2017, 07:00 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(blackblackk @ Jan 11 2017, 04:34 PM)
went 160kmh before but after 110kmh it feels like stressing on the bike, abit hurting. My ninja 250 consider premium 250 bike, so I doubt the list you put there is any better.
250 supersports are in the 160-180 region, limited only by gearing and rpm

R25 easily can peak 180-190 with only rpm limiter stopping you

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0223sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:17 AM