159 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.26, is this the end of DSLR era?

kiasu6
post Nov 1 2016, 11:19 AM

162 posts

im letting go a 50mm prime also...
NIKON AF-S NIKKOR 50MM F/1.8G

Anyone interested here?
mingyuyu
post Nov 1 2016, 01:48 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(leongkokloon @ Nov 1 2016, 08:40 AM)
got multiple levels of broke wor.. which level are u?  console.gif

anyway just joking... im broke too. to the extent of eating cheap rot everyday  cry.gif
when you are in uni and you have expensive hobbies (i blame biking) sweat.gif
gerald7
post Nov 2 2016, 09:14 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Oct 26 2016, 04:59 PM)
Hentam hentam liao can improve laugh.gif
Lack of studio level gears. laugh.gif

The background of the image can be better.

We were using continuous lights in taking the shot. If got more flashes and stands, we would have a slightly higher quality image. Since we were shooting at ISO 300 with continuous lights. laugh.gif

And we need larger softboxes for better light diffusion. Notice the reflections on the watches, can be improvised one. biggrin.gif

But ayam still amateur la. Still learning with master PF T.J.
For me I think between flash vs continuous light vs light painting each has its on pros & cons. In theory in my head continuous light is best as you can see the reflections and shadows as you adjust your product placement.

Flash itself is tricky and very time consuming to setup. Things like bard doors, snoot even ND filters all need to be available to shape the light.

lightpainting is good but location and post is abit daunting for me.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 26 2016, 07:05 PM)
Actually I think the only gear we lack of was a better studio diffuser (the shot was taken with an umbrella) laugh.gif We also lack a video slider for the video part of the project but that's another story laugh.gif
Maybe a telephoto lens would allow us to crop less but its not really necessary I suppose
I think the shot will be better if we have a better venue/materials to work laugh.gif The room was very cramp and hot! haha
The "ground" was supposed to be polished tile but ended up we could only afford plastic placed on a piece of black cloth.. The water droplets weren't very "cooperative" either haha
Hopefully we will do better next time. For most product/macro shoot, the most important component is still light diffusion imho
well just take note and do better. we are all always learning and improving. as long as dont give up, should be no issue

Few years back when I was in the mood of photography. I took nearly 40 mins to setup a lighting for one shot using 5 speedlite used 3 nikon and 2 canons https://flic.kr/p/nyq5RK. as long as we are satisfied. end of the day its how close you can get the image to the image in your head, should be golden
SUSpagi makan roti
post Nov 2 2016, 09:47 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Oct 31 2016, 09:48 PM)
Want to sell off my gear but not sure about the pricing. How do one normally set the price?

D7000 Body
16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G
35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX
SB600 Flash
D60 Body
replying to register my interest sir brows.gif

anyway for ur reference http://kldslr.com/Used-List
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 2 2016, 05:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Nov 2 2016, 09:14 AM)
For me I think between flash vs continuous light vs light painting each has its on pros & cons. In theory in my head continuous light is best as you can see the reflections and shadows as you adjust your product placement.

Flash itself is tricky and very time consuming to setup. Things like bard doors, snoot even ND filters all need to be available to shape the light.

lightpainting is good but location and post is abit daunting for me.
well just take note and do better. we are all always learning and improving. as long as dont give up, should be no issue

Few years back when I was in the mood of photography. I took nearly 40 mins to setup a lighting for one shot using 5 speedlite used 3 nikon and 2 canons https://flic.kr/p/nyq5RK. as long as we are satisfied. end of the day its how close you can get the image to the image in your head, should be golden
Thanks for the valuable advice man, good to have an input from a pro notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Well, we do have some studio continuous lights, but need sockets haha, so its pretty much impossible for us for outdoor shoots cry.gif

I guess in the meantime I can just stick to the gears I have and make the best of it haha laugh.gif
Thanks again for the encouragement, hopefully one day will be as good as you guys bruce.gif
SUSpagi makan roti
post Nov 3 2016, 01:02 PM

64 posts

anybody wan to join?
special invite for nikon members but not restricted to one system only la biggrin.gif

OUTING II

date: saturday 5th Nov 2016
time: 6pm - 10pm

Pm to join.

List of goers

from /k thread https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4093404
first outing being the birdpark last week blush.gif
leongkokloon
post Nov 3 2016, 03:08 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(pagi makan roti @ Nov 3 2016, 01:02 PM)
anybody wan to join?
special invite for nikon members but not restricted to one system only la biggrin.gif

OUTING II

Pm to join.

List of goers

oh noes... why this saturday... i would like to join. But already have another appointment sad sad.gif
ahquan26
post Nov 3 2016, 08:22 PM

292 posts

Hi, Nikon users, does anyone or any of your friends that previously own a Nikon DF that probably has been stolen ?

I am about to buy a used unit, beforehand, I would like to know if that unit is

*Authentic* (Not stolen). I have the serial number of the camera, if its stolen, the seller is stupid enough to reveal it to me.
Exeunt
post Nov 4 2016, 09:15 AM

828 posts

Hai everyone, anyone know can we use this multi charger to charge Nikon D60 battery? my original charger is messed up cannot charge anymore, can suggest a thiird party charger, my convocation is around the corner and i need to charge this old camera..

SUSpagi makan roti
post Nov 4 2016, 12:12 PM

64 posts

repost hehe

JohnDiew0107
post Nov 5 2016, 10:02 AM

ガンダム、行きます!
1,628 posts

QUOTE(pagi makan roti @ Nov 3 2016, 01:02 PM)
anybody wan to join?

OUTING II

Pm to join.

List of goers

too bad I have another shooting appointment tonight, enjoy guys
zzzxtreme
post Nov 7 2016, 01:42 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

v1+ konica 50mm f/1.4

wyh
post Nov 8 2016, 11:52 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Oct 31 2016, 09:48 PM)
Want to sell off my gear but not sure about the pricing. How do one normally set the price?

D7000 Body
16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G
35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX
SB600 Flash
D60 Body
how much are you releasing for 35mm and sb600?
huislaw
post Nov 9 2016, 03:09 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Nov 8 2016, 11:52 PM)
how much are you releasing for 35mm and sb600?
PMed. smile.gif
SUSpagi makan roti
post Nov 12 2016, 10:38 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Nov 7 2016, 01:42 PM)
v1+ konica 50mm f/1.4

shoot where?
drool.gif

just one thing tho.. i noticed focus point is somewhere on the cheek/neck..
its understandable since we like trained to find high contrast are to lock focus? biggrin.gif
but i recently read anyhow portrait must focus on the eye. profile - eye, sides - near eye.
esp with very shallow dof.. to me its vr hard to do sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pagi makan roti: Nov 13 2016, 10:34 AM
DS_Legacy
post Nov 13 2016, 12:14 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(pagi makan roti @ Nov 12 2016, 10:38 PM)
shoot where?
drool.gif

just one thing tho.. i noticed focus point is somewhere on the cheek/neck..
its understandable since we like trained to find high contrast are to lock focus? biggrin.gif
but i recently read anyhow portrait must focus on the eye. profile - eye, sides - near eye.
esp with very shallow dof.. to me its vr hard to do sweat.gif
Shallow DoF? You buy the 105mm F1.4? hmm.gif hmm.gif
SUSpagi makan roti
post Nov 13 2016, 12:20 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Nov 13 2016, 12:14 AM)
Shallow DoF? You buy the 105mm F1.4?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
no la.. even with 50mm 1.8 if i lock focus at nose vs right in the eye can see the diff
goldfries
post Nov 13 2016, 12:36 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Nov 2 2016, 09:14 AM)

As a strobist myself - the above is correct.

Flash you can't see it until you fired the shot, and your eyes can't tell you what it is.

Only your camera can tell.

Continuous lights on the other hand you get to know everything from your eyes.

BUT to get continuous lights that give you the same amount of output like a flash -

1. costly
2. power hungry

Even the portable ones come with battery packs that you have to lug along, they won't be light. Those lights won't be light either.

Carrying 3 flash with 3 stand is very different from carrying 3 of those continuous lights with stands (huge!) and battery packs.
mingyuyu
post Nov 13 2016, 04:58 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Its awesome when you get to combine your favorite hobbies together (mountain biking and photography) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Nov 13 2016, 04:59 PM
TSAgito666
post Nov 13 2016, 10:57 PM

11,861 posts

too bad my 2 hobbies cannot combine together.

sleep and take photo for trip. whistling.gif

159 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:16 AM