a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

Flight to beijing affected?
inachi
post Aug 23 2017, 04:58 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

https://www.flightradar24.com/data/airports/hkg/arrivals

by looking at this, i think more flights are allowed to take off/land..

compared to morning, when almost all flights are canceled.
Oriental
post Aug 26 2017, 08:32 PM

81 posts

How is the situation in HK now? I am going there end of next week, really hope everything is fine confused.gif
inachi
post Aug 27 2017, 01:43 AM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Oriental @ Aug 26 2017, 08:32 PM)
How is the situation in HK now? I am going there end of next week, really hope everything is fine  confused.gif
looks like situation got better already..are you going for holiday? not sure if everything has back to operational.
Oriental
post Aug 27 2017, 08:54 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Aug 27 2017, 01:43 AM)
looks like situation got better already..are you going for holiday? not sure if everything has back to operational.
Yes going for holiday. What do you mean things are not back in operation?
Also how is the flu situation there? Anyone knows?
sweet_pez
post Aug 28 2017, 09:23 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Oriental @ Aug 27 2017, 08:54 PM)
There was a typhoon and alot of the operations such as transport were suspended. Can't possibly drive a taxi/ bus through that crazy disaster.

Right now flu is the least of the concern.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/regional/20...phoon-recovery/

http://www.hko.gov.hk/wxinfo/dailywx/wxwarntoday.htm
http://www.hko.gov.hk/wxinfo/currwx/tc_gis_e.htm

Oriental
post Aug 28 2017, 09:33 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 28 2017, 09:23 AM)
There was a typhoon and alot of the operations such as transport were suspended. Can't possibly drive a taxi/ bus through that crazy disaster.

Thanks sweet_pez. I thought that Macau is the one badly affected. Didn't know that transportation in HK was affected too?
sweet_pez
post Aug 28 2017, 10:21 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Oriental @ Aug 28 2017, 09:33 AM)
Thanks sweet_pez. I thought that Macau is the one badly affected. Didn't know that transportation in HK was affected too?
Read the STAR article I shared. It says Hong Kong AND Macau. Suggest you monitor the situation daily and then see how. Even if the typhoon settled by next week, there's a lot of 'restoration' work needed to be done; shops/ attractions may not be open and price could easily be high due to shortage of resources for a period of time.

Even though my trip is towards end of Sept, I'm having alot of doubts.
imran85
post Aug 28 2017, 04:37 PM

92 posts

Anyone here have any experience arriving at 11.40 pm and with big group getting transport? My family's flight is expected to arrive at 11.40 and need to get transport for (around 12 of them) to town. Any tips?
sweet_pez
post Aug 28 2017, 05:28 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Aug 28 2017, 04:37 PM)
Anyone here have any experience arriving at 11.40 pm and with big group getting transport? My family's flight is expected to arrive at 11.40 and need to get transport for (around 12 of them) to town. Any tips?
Taxi?? If you're staying in a hotel, check if they include transfer. I think that's the best way.
sacwoc
post Aug 28 2017, 05:28 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 28 2017, 09:23 AM)

There was another typhoon with cat 8 yesterday. First time in dont know how many years two big typhoon hit HK. Things not that bad in HK as most tourist spot are back to normal, though there are clean up of falling branches that are still ongoing. Most places impacted are residential place that are near coastal area rather than tourist spot.
inachi
post Aug 28 2017, 10:10 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Oriental @ Aug 27 2017, 08:54 PM)
not sure how bad the damage was. just in case if some places are still closed when u are there
sweet_pez
post Aug 29 2017, 09:45 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 28 2017, 05:28 PM)
There was another typhoon with cat 8 yesterday. First time in dont know how many years two big typhoon hit HK. Things not that bad in HK as most tourist spot are back to normal, though there are clean up of falling branches that are still ongoing. Most places impacted are residential place that are near coastal area rather than tourist spot.
Serious sacwoc ? Friend was screaming to go for dimsum, and I'm wondering if all the eateries and attractions are operating as usual.
imran85
post Aug 29 2017, 09:46 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 28 2017, 05:28 PM)
Taxi?? If you're staying in a hotel, check if they include transfer. I think that's the best way.
Ok. Though i am more keen for like small bus or vans to cater them all in 1 group.

sacwoc
post Aug 29 2017, 09:57 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 29 2017, 09:45 AM)
Serious sacwoc ? Friend was screaming to go for dimsum, and I'm wondering if all the eateries and attractions are operating as usual.
AFAIK its open. When it was Cat 10 last week, I also went out yum cha. smile.gif
sacwoc
post Aug 29 2017, 09:57 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 29 2017, 09:45 AM)
AFAIK its open. When it was Cat 10 last week, I also went out yum cha. smile.gif
Oriental
post Aug 29 2017, 11:04 AM

81 posts

From what I have read elsewhere, seems like it's back to normal in HK. Maybe only some areas still cleaning up tree branches etc, but those aren't in the usual tourist spots.
sweet_pez
post Aug 29 2017, 11:34 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 29 2017, 09:57 AM)
Aiyoyo that's dangerous. I'd rather stay in and enjoy a cup of coffee, or catch some TVB drama hahahaha.
Which part of HKG do you stay?

So Tim Ho Wan will be open ya?! And Tai Cheong egg tart also tak tutup kan. Can't wait to try biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Oriental @ Aug 29 2017, 11:04 AM)
From what I have read elsewhere, seems like it's back to normal in HK. Maybe only some areas still cleaning up tree branches etc, but those aren't in the usual tourist spots.
That's really... fast. Talk about efficiency.
ukiya
post Aug 29 2017, 11:36 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Aug 29 2017, 11:34 AM)
Aiyoyo that's dangerous. I'd rather stay in and enjoy a cup of coffee, or catch some TVB drama hahahaha.
Which part of HKG do you stay?

So Tim Ho Wan will be open ya?! And Tai Cheong egg tart also tak tutup kan. Can't wait to try biggrin.gif
That's really... fast. Talk about efficiency.
Many of them back in action. Resume daily life.
They are pretty efficient in recovering from disasters.

52 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:09 AM