All About Hong Kong V1
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/539412

All About Hong Kong V2
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1217081

All About Hong Kong V3
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2227408

Basic Tourist Information
Weather Forecast - http://www.hko.gov.hk/contente.htm
As weather in Hong Kong fluctuates all the time, check weather forecast before departing. Beware of typhoon during Summer season (June~October)!

MTR - One of the main transportation in Hong Kong - http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/homepage/cust_index.html

Octopus card contains a built-in microchip with your payment information. With a simple 'touch' of your Octopus at a processing machine, the payment system automatically deducts the correct amount. There is no longer any need to carry coins. Normally, it can be used in major convenient stores, supermarket, fast food restaurants as well as all public transportation except taxi. - http://www.octopus.com.hk/home/en/index.html

Official Hong Kong Tourism Board - Check out the major attractions in Hong Kong - http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/

Major Bus Service Providers - Kowloon Motor Bus http://www.kmb.hk/en/, Citybus http://www.nwstbus.com.hk/home/default.aspx?intLangID=1 and New Lantau Bus http://www.newlantaobus.com/

Official information of Taxi in Hong Kong - Know more about Hong Kong taxis to avoid being conned - http://www.td.gov.hk/en/transport_in_hong_...taxi/index.html

Ferry to Macau - Turbojet http://www.turbojet.com.hk/eng/home/index.asp and Cotaijet http://cotaijet.com.mo/

This post has been edited by northasian: Apr 19 2013, 12:52 AM
Human Nature
post Apr 19 2013, 12:54 AM

- student of human nature -
25,131 posts

New thread biggrin.gif you always pop up at the right time haha
lucaswjk
post Apr 19 2013, 01:00 AM

~im coming~
3,764 posts

posting something on V3... suddenly kena locked tongue.gif
anyway... glad that we have new thread now
TSnorthasian
post Apr 19 2013, 01:02 AM

hehehe... Thanks and congrats to you for getting the 1st post~ rclxms.gif
TSnorthasian
post Apr 19 2013, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Apr 19 2013, 01:00 AM)
posting something on V3... suddenly kena locked tongue.gif
anyway... glad that we have new thread now
Sorry about that... sweat.gif tongue.gif
XiuKeong
post Apr 19 2013, 01:03 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,421 posts

Clareen
Forgot to mention it was the Hello Kitty edition. Been surveying prices in HK for my past 2 trips. My third will be my spending spree laugh.gif
Clareen
post Apr 19 2013, 01:06 AM

Workaholic~*
2,603 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 19 2013, 01:03 AM)
Clareen
Forgot to mention it was the Hello Kitty edition. Been surveying prices in HK for my past 2 trips. My third will be my spending spree laugh.gif
Oh if hello kitty edition then the price will be cheaper alot..
temptation1314
post Apr 19 2013, 09:36 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

I'm thinking to get the wide than mini ones... what do you think?
bearbear
post Apr 19 2013, 11:34 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,058 posts

Continue with food i've tried in Macau

There is this very classic cha chan teng hidden in the city. You can google the signboard per the 1st picture and will find it easily once you reach the street. It is abit deep in but don't worry just ask around people will point you towards it.

[MOP32 for above and a drink]

It is quite famous as i find it on a few books - the sandwich with egg is a must try because the egg is very good!! (P/S Australia Milk can go fly kite compare to this tongue.gif ) The 'donut' with sugar is so so as it was cold when served.

For street food - we pass by this street full of luk luk style shop. There are at least 5 but this particular shop is very popular. I think because they are been advertised on those food hunting show in Taiwan which they play over and over again in their shop. No q required just push yourself to the front - take whatever you want and pass to them to cook it - tell them how spicy you want - pay and take your food to a side and eat!!

MOP25 for vege, fish ball, radish, pig skin. We went for spicy the first round and it was OK but when we tried extra spicy for 2nd round. Sweating like crazy biggrin.gif

Next up will be the Margaret portugese tart - MOP8 each and the q is ever long. You need to first q to pay and then q to take the tart. I went around 5PM and q for like 30 minutes. Crowd is crazy. Taste for me is just so so.

We later went up to Macau Tower for buffer dinner at 360. They have pre-reserve the table for all their guest on that day. The seating area will revolve slowly. Normal price for buffet dinner is about MOP300+ and inclusive of entrance ticket it would cost near to MOP500. We bought the voucher on groupon for HKD260 inclusive of entrance and buffet dinner. Selection is wide as expected and we are happy with the price we paid. I wouldn't go for it with the full price though.
Human Nature
post Apr 19 2013, 11:44 AM

25,131 posts

Q-ing 30 mins for the tarts is just not worth it. Might as well go for Lord's Stow or even the ones lining up San Ma Lo, no q needed.
steventan85
post Apr 19 2013, 11:59 AM

6,387 posts

seems like Margaret tart is over rated !.....LOL
bearbear
post Apr 19 2013, 12:09 PM

10,058 posts

With all the portugese influence on Macau, we just had to try the ever famous portugese meal. There are quite a few around the town especially in 官也街 opposite Galaxy but the one that we tried was about 5 minutes walk away from Lisboa.

沙利文餐廳 - We followed a book recommendation on this as a must go place for portugese meal. We read that even the portugese president came here during his visit to Macau. How true we don't know but noticed there were 2 / 3 tables of whites dining.

Apologize i don't remember the actual name of the dishes

First up is the potato - they've smashed up the potato and added some meat inside. It is then been deep fried. Nothing special for me can be skipped. Does taste bland but do try the bottle of sauce provided to give some flavour to it.

[MOP56]

This is seafood soup has a very strong flavour and will not order if given the chance again but they were generous with the amount of seafood.

[MOP50]

Main dish - Portugese baked chicken

Taste bit like our curry without the spiciness - heavy hint of coconut and goes very well with the rice. Must try for me if you visit them

[MOP155 for half a chicken - there's potato, portugese sausage, ham and egg inside]

Now we move on to 官也街 (Some refer to as street of souvenior)

It seems like seafood is a very hit thing in Macau especially around casino areas. We tried the crab porridge at one of the "famous restaurant".

Verdict?Not worth the price - it cost MOP150 for half a crab and porridge sufficient for 2. Taste wise for me is not strong enough. There are hint of crab egg roll but just not strong enough. I read on a book that when the author visit it was MOP120 for above portion and that was already on a 100% increase back in 2011. Now it went up again. shakehead.gif

Just opposite the above restaurant there is a dessert shop selling the infamous 木糠蛋糕. I later find out that many other place do have this as well.

MOP45 - basically it has plenty of biscuit crash to powder form to go with the cake. Something new to me which you can try albeit price is abit steep.

Just before you enter 官也街, there is a long street with many food as well, one of it is a cha chan teng selling tart and they do have bird nest tart.

MOP11 for bird nest tart, others MOP8

We tried and just like Margaret - it is hot and served fresh but we don't find anything special with the taste. Maybe for visual pleasure can see some bird nest lying on top of the tart.

On this particular street - there is a shop that sell shark fin noodle. We were too full for noodle so we ordered just the soup instead. We read that the owner started as shark fin dealer and always ended up with smaller pieces of fins unwanted. So he use these to cook the soup and sell with noodle.

MOP51 - Flavourful and we quite enjoyed it. Price is premium - can try if you have the time and stomach for it.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Apr 19 2013, 12:11 PM
cute_boboi
post Apr 19 2013, 12:30 PM

° 忍 °
6,416 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 19 2013, 11:59 AM)
seems like Margaret tart is over rated !.....LOL
Most Tourist stuff are... those in books, blogs, online pages, michelin's rated, etc.
Sometimes it is better to just wander around and try local food eaten by local people. It may not be the best though.
icon_rolleyes.gif
XiuKeong
post Apr 19 2013, 01:10 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,421 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 19 2013, 09:36 AM)
If cheaper than MY price, wide is better. Can capture group pictures.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 19 2013, 11:44 AM)
Q-ing 30 mins for the tarts is just not worth it. Might as well go for Lord's Stow or even the ones lining up San Ma Lo, no q needed.
I prefer Lord's Stow as well. Lesser people
Clareen
post Apr 19 2013, 01:14 PM

Workaholic~*
2,603 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 19 2013, 09:36 AM)
You're going to hk at May right? haha let me know the pricing haha i feel like get one over there also..
bearbear
post Apr 19 2013, 01:23 PM

10,058 posts

On the last day we were busy packing thus only ordered take away for breakfast. Had a quick flip thru the books and found this shop nearby Royal Hotel.

皇冠小館

They are famous with both noodle and crab porridge, once you enter you will see loads of picture / paper cut out of celebrities visiting their shop. We ordered just a wan tan noodle and century egg meat porridge. For pictures just google their name and they are famous enough for pictures to come up for your viewing pleasure. The dish i ordered cost about MOP30+ each. 竹升麵 is home made with heavy hint of alkaline taste, prawn dumpling is generously filled with prawn. Porridge wise no complaint - worth trying.

After we check out we took a bus to black sand beach (黑沙滩), was surprised to find a recommendation of BBQ stall on a book.

They have seafood, chicken wing, vege for you to choose.

Grilled fish MOP10 - Heavy hint of BBQ sauce and is surprisingly good - down side is lots of bone but for MOP10 / RM4 - no complaint.

Chicken wing - MOP8 - Fish fare better in both taste and price.

Before we head to Airport, we went to the last stop based on recommendation on the book again. This place is located on the same street as 皇冠小館 and seem quite famous with their self made ice cream.

MOP 12 for the sandwich (came with 3 flavour) and MOP10 for one scoop. Very flavourful ice cream but nothing fancy.
Human Nature
post Apr 19 2013, 01:48 PM

25,131 posts

wah bearbear...makan all the way ar tongue.gif
bearbear
post Apr 19 2013, 01:59 PM

10,058 posts

Yup really 99 makan - gf stayed there a month before so some places is recommended by the local during her stay biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 19 2013, 02:05 PM

25,131 posts

It's true, those recommended by locals are nicer sometimes and cheaper too...but when I try to locate it back in the next trip, sure sesat.
steventan85
post Apr 19 2013, 02:11 PM

6,387 posts

use gps to bookmark it....i bring along 3 extra battery + powerbank for my hp....juz in case need to use that much

162 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0694sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:38 PM