Hello all! Is it nice to go during christmas? Would it be rainy season?
Travel Hong Kong V5
Oct 8 2016, 07:33 AM
2,380 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Hello all! Is it nice to go during christmas? Would it be rainy season?
Oct 10 2016, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(nightroseblue @ Oct 10 2016, 02:10 PM) Hi there, perhaps you can visit the Big Buddha? The cable car up there is a nice ride. And the Avenue of Stars is closed until 2018. I think most people who travel in HK uses the Octopus card as taxis are expensive. Finally, I bought the Peak Tram combo online and so I'm not sure about the price difference if you buy from agents there. Do you mean the daily show is closed..or the entire place we cannot walk in anymore?Have fun in HK! |
Oct 11 2016, 07:40 PM
Oct 11 2016, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(ivzh @ Oct 11 2016, 02:41 PM) Hi all, i m planning for 1 week trip to hongkong next march in a group of 4 adults (2+2 senior citizen), 2 children (3years and 1 years old). hi! suggest to bring stroller along, i brought that when i was there with my 2 year old kid. Much more convinient as you dont need to carry the kid.Will try to make it a relax trip - may just arrange 1 to 2 attraction per day. Should i bring along with stroller? is HK stroller friendly? Since we are travel in group, does taking taxi worth it or just stick to MRT? Uber in HK reliable? How much budget i should alocate for each adults? for food and transportation/ entrace fee.. minus shopping. Which area is best to stay as a traveller? mongkok / TST / central area? mostlikely we will use airbnb How is the weather HK during mid of march? from google is 17 to 23, so is it like genting feel? or much warmer? thank you in advance ya.. I prefer TST than Mongkok as there's more happening at TST and more MTR there as well. March weather should be just nice you can google..i was there early april before, it feels like around 25 to 28 degree despite many hongkie wearing jacket. I guess u can bring a light jacket especially for the young and old When book hotel try to take note on the room size, noticed many cheaper room size are 16m2 only. |
Oct 14 2016, 12:04 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Oct 14 2016, 11:18 AM) yo, im travelling this sat too, bought SIA tickets ard 800 return to HK travelling from KL.. Where and how to book Tesla S?150 is enough if u take mtr for 2 full days.. for attractiosn, u can get a lot of combo tickets online, klook.com is one of them i also booked a travel wifi device from them for 8/day.. if u have some spare moolah, can try Tesla S pick up from airport to ur hotel, around 200, worth it if u have a party of 3.. weather forecast to be good, have a good trip |
Oct 14 2016, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Oct 14 2016, 01:11 PM) airport transfer ~rm210 Tq bro..https://www.klook.com/activity/801-limousin...fers-hong-kong/ charter tesla for 5 hrs ~ rm 850 https://www.klook.com/activity/1755-private...rter-hong-kong/ * i dont work for klook |
Oct 15 2016, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(X_hunter @ Oct 15 2016, 02:58 AM) Hi guys, I am going to HK this Dec (X'mas until New Year), first timer to HK. I have prepared the itinerary as below, could you guys give some comments? Thank you! Hi bro,Day 1 (24th Dec) - Sat KLIA - HK Airport (touch down 12.30pm) 1) Buy octopus card near the exit to the express train (train Deposit $50 + stored Value $100= HK$150, deposit can refund) 2) Buy sim card "PCCW" (7-11 or 1010) 3) Buy entrance ticket from China Travel Service H.K. LTD. (tbc) Travel to hotel via Airport Express BY Airport bus (1) Take the Airport bus A21 (at the ground of the transportation center) (2) Get off at Mody Road, Chatham Road stop (bus stop 16) (3) Turn right and walk on Chatham Road South (walk about 1 min) (4) Turn right to Hart Avenue, the hostel entrance is in Union Mansion (Hostel entrance is on Hart Avenue) " 2.30pm Check in Homy Inn Take the free map 3.30pm Ding Ding Travel - buy entrance tickets (Mongkok) 7.30pm Symphony of Lights near Avenue of Stars Once the show finishes, walk to the nearby Hong Kong Cultural Centre and the Clock Tower for the seasonal Pulse 3D light show Day 2 (25th Dec) - Sun Breakfast Star Ferry Madame Tussauds Victoria Peak IFC mall Statue Square Day 3 (26th Dec) - Mon 10.30am-4pm 1) Stanley Market 2) Stanley Waterfront and Boardwalk 3) Murray House (three-story Victorian building) 4) Stanley Beach "•Bus 6, 6A, 6X, or 260 from Exchange Square Bus Terminus (near MTR Hong Kong Station, Exit D.) 4.15pm 1) Repulse Bay Beach 2) Longevity Bridge 6.30pm Jumbo Kingdom Day 4 (27th Dec)-Tues Whole day Disneyland Day 5 (28th Dec)-Wed Whole day Ocean Park Lan Kwai Fong Hollywood Road Day 6 (29th Dec)-Thurs 9am -Depart from HK Ferry Terminal to Macau Outer Harbour Ferry Terminal (nearer to Senado Square) 10.10am - reach Macau, go to hotel (TBC), put luggage Take free shuttle bus to Grand Lisboa Hotel and walk to Senado Square. 11am-2pm 1) Tai Lei Loi Kei pork bun 2) Ruins of St. Paul’s 3) Wong Chi Kei Noodle & Congee Restaurant @ Senado Square 4) Pastelaria Koi Kei Ah Ma Statue 2pm Check in hotel 3pm Take shuttle bus back to Jetty and take venetian free shuttle bus to Venetian 3.30pm Reach Venetian Hotel, very large shopping mall, casino and hotel, just walk around to shop 1) Lord Stow’s Bakery 2) Chines Da Barran 3) Macau Tower 4) Dancing water show Day 7 (30th Dec)-Friday Morning Check out from Hotel Macau back to HK Ngong Ping 360 - Crystal cabin Lautau Island - Big Buddha Tai O Fishing Village Day 8 (31th Dec)-Sat Daytime-TBC Night -Countdown at HK Victoria Harbor Day 9 - (1st Jan) Sun Morning TBC 3.15pm TST --> HK Airport 4.15pm Reached Hong Kong Airport 7.15-11.20pm 4hr 5min HK Airport - KLIA Airport Express bus should bring you straight right in front of your hotel. Both time i took like that at TST and Mongkok.. i think HKD140/pax. But since you are arriving on xmas eve, not sure if certain road will be close. Some member here just informed Avenue of Stars is closed but i think you can watch the light show from somewhere nearby. I will be arriving on 25/Dec instead. Which flight are you flying with? Its so expensive nw compare to the last 2 times i went.. |
Oct 15 2016, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(X_hunter @ Oct 15 2016, 11:49 AM) Bro, I checked the Airport Express bus route too, but it seems that A21 bus is more convenient. Coz by Airport Express bus i need to change to another shuttle bus and walk 3 mins compared with A21 which is only 1 bus and walk 1 min only. Hard to walk in a fast paced city while dragging your luggage Haha i see.. i will be there for 4 nights only.. staying TST area this time.. hotel from cheap to expensive so many choices..BY Airport Express (1) Take the Airport Express to Kowloon Station (2) Take the free shuttle K4 and Get off at Park Hotel (3) Turn right and walk on Chatham Road South (walk about 3 min) (4) Turn right to Hart Avenue, the hostel entrance is in Union Mansion (Hostel entrance is on Hart Avenue) Yea, Avenue of Stars is closed until 2018. I will watch the light show from TST Promenade, as mentioned by someone here. I will be flying with MAS, you? How many days will you go there this time? You must be quite familiar with HK since you have already went twice before. Haih..Hotels in HK are so FREAKING EXPENSIVE Im looking at cathay pasific.. how much was your MAS? CP now is about 1250 per person return. HK hotel those very cheap 1.. look at the room size. ..some is very small.. i normally looks for those range around 800 per night.. just nice for me wife n daughter. . |
Oct 15 2016, 01:14 PM
Oct 15 2016, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(X_hunter @ Oct 15 2016, 01:16 PM) Yea, many choices but limited choices for my budget Have not book flight lol.. for room suggest if you have not decide book those free cancelation room 1st.. you can cancel if found better deal.. but room price has been increasing weekly..My MAS ticket is RM943.90 all in/pax (including selected seat), which was booked in April. Quite a good deal I think. Yea, their hotels mostly are very small unless we go for the 700 and above. Many good one sold out already for New Year, should have booked earlier You haven't book your flight ticket ah? |
Oct 16 2016, 07:52 AM
QUOTE(X_hunter @ Oct 15 2016, 08:37 PM) Maybe I try Airbnb for the last two nights, cheaper a bit. Yea man, our weak ringgit makes us pain when travelling oversea.. Bro for disney..buy online from their promo.. free 1 meal ..that you save max hkd139 per person..https://www.hongkongdisneyland.com/offers-d...5GoogMyEnOfrOfr |
Oct 18 2016, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(X_hunter @ Oct 18 2016, 09:40 PM) Bro, thanks for informing. I compared the ticket price in klook, cts and disneyland official website, this promo seems the cheapest deal among all. The website said if we buy ticket directly from disneyland website, they will send us a code and we have to redeem it at ticket booth. Do you know is it the same counter as other ppl who buy on the spot? Or got special counter for online ticket redemption? If same I'd rather buy more expensive a bit but no need queue there. Coz klook one direct e-voucher, can straight scan there and enter. yes save alot on meal.. 1 set of fried chicken would cost you about rm60-70 by today exchange. Not sure about the ticket redemption. I may buy from this site but by the time i redeem would be too late to inform you lol...may see bump into you there during xmas |
Nov 18 2016, 06:06 AM
QUOTE(saggypiggy @ Nov 14 2016, 09:22 AM) I m going to HK from 24 - 28 Nov....5 days 4 nights with 3 adults + 1 kids (8 yrs). How much to bring for meals and transport for this travelling ? Going to disneyland on 25 Nov (ticket bought online) but need to buy food in disneyland. RM5k is enough ? Did you purchase disney ticket via their website? Currently promo free 1 meal per ticket |
Dec 28 2016, 07:27 AM
QUOTE(datuk_batery @ Dec 19 2016, 03:41 PM) Hi Took the cab few days ago to tst as well. Meter shows hkd209 only but after add luggages i paid hkd249. Cheap. Airport express bus is hkd140 per person.Need your help, next year march I have trip to HK about 8 adult and 4 kids. I plan to rent minibus from HK airport to Hotel (Tsim sha shui) and Hotel to Aiport. If you have contact please shared to me |
Dec 28 2016, 07:29 AM
QUOTE(ericlooiz @ Dec 19 2016, 12:55 PM) Hi guys, going to HK next year 5-9 January. This is the itinerary I planned out by myself and some Googling. Can anybody give feedback whether it's good or not. One question. I bought my HK - Macau Turbojet via Klook. It stated there's Day and Night sailing. Anyone mind to clarifiy what does it mean? Is it 0700 - 2359 requires Day sailing pass and midnight requires Night sailing pass? Anyone care to recommend any other nice place for photography? Thanks! If you want to buy disney ticket earlier.. go to their website and look for promo. Walk in rate has increase to 589. Promo i think still can get 539 and free 1 meal tooDay 1 A22 Bus To Regal Oriental Hotel - Arrived Hotel - Off To Yick Fat Buidling (Taxi) - Snacks At Lee Keung Kee Eggette - Lunch At Java Food Market - Back To Hotel (Check In) - Out To Tsim Sha Shui Via Lok Fu Station (Walk 25 Mins/Cab 10 Mins) - Explore Tsim Sha Shui&Shopping - Victoria Harbour - Temple Street Market( Dinner-Chili Crab,Steamed Fish,Deep Fried Squid,Claypot Rice,Roast Pigeon) - Ladies Street&Arygle Street Via Jordan Station - Shopping At Ladies Street&Arygle Street (Long Jing-Curry Fish Balls) - Back To Hotel (Walk 30mins/Bus 20mins Water Supplies Department Mong Kok Office) Day 2 Breakfast At Tim Lok Yuen Eating House - Disneyland Via Lok Fu Station - Dinner - Back To Hotel Day 3 Breakfast At Tak Cheong Noodle - Victoria Peak (101/111 Bus To Garden Road) - The Peak&Madame Tussauds&Sky Terrace - Mak’s Noodle - Central Station To Tsim Sha Shui Station - Victoria Harbour - Shopping&Dinner - Back To Hotel (Tst Station To Lok Fu Station) Macau Day 4 Off To Prince Edward Station - Breakfast At Kam Wah Cafe - Beng Seng Travel(Sheung Wang Sts) Via Prince Edward Station (Collect Pass for Turbojet) - Off To Macau - Arrive In Macau (Free Shuttle Bus At The Terminal That Leads To Grand Lisboa)- Senado Square& St. Dominic’s Church& Ruins Of St. Paul’s& Monte Forte - Eat&Explore Taipa Village - Back To Hk (Macau Outer Harbour) Day Service (Mon To Fri) And (Sat, Sun U0026 Ph): 07:00 – 17:30 Or 18:00 (Seasonal) - Head To Jordan Mtr - Dinner At Australian Dairy Company - Back To Hotel Day 5 Breakfast At Tak Cheong Noodle - Off The Airport (A22 Bus) |
Feb 22 2017, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(ivzh @ Feb 21 2017, 12:44 AM) guys, iwill be travelling to HK with 2 elderly (60+ year old) and 2 kids (3 years / 1years old) on mid of march this year. To travel from airport to hotel... as long as you got more than 2ppl.. taxi is cheaper already. 1 taxi from airport to tst or hk will cost you less than hkd250 with trafficwe will stay in one of the Airbnb in grandville road, it will be free and easy trip, i will only arrange 1 tourist spot each day.. and depend on their stamina i will add in some nearby attraction. Day 1 (sat)- Reaching HK at evening .. Not too sure if i should hire a MPV or should use the Express train, guys any suggestion? Wife is more incline on the MPV, as it will reach at doorstep however, price wise, express train definitely cheaper. Day 2 (sunday)- Victoria Peak, i m looking in the Madame Tussauds 3-in-1 Combo from KLOOK, is it worth it? Day 3/4 (Monday/tues) - HK disneyland 2 days Day 5 Tai-O/Ngo ping --> any comment ya? bringing 2 elder and 2 kids? DAy 6 - Macau .. is it doable in 1 day trip from kowloon ? I actually prefer to bring my kids to Ocean park instead, however the elders wish to go macau. Day 7 free and easy Day 8 depart from HK at afternoon My previous travel to HK is 10 years ago .. i m quite nervous this time, as bringing both my kids -what is the temperature i will be expecting in mid of march? genting like temperature? -I will check-in my twin umbrella stroller (5kg), what u guys think if stroller is usabled in HK? -any recommended wifi device ? |
Apr 8 2017, 07:16 AM
Apr 18 2017, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 17 2017, 02:24 PM) Tell more about what you like to do or shop. e.g. Shopping like flea market style (petaling street kind), mid-level, or branded or high-end fashion ? I was at TST last xmas. Crowd wise i think i bearable. Just dont go avenue of stars that area. Everyelse felt like a normal hk crowdFood - char chan teng style, aircond, restaurant, fine dining. What kind of food ? asian, jap, western ? Drinks ? Coffee/tea ? Do you like clubbing/pub ? Any budget range for spendings ? Any particular interest or prefer environment/outdoor or things you want to shop ? e.g. coffee, trekking, shoe shopping, gold fish, toys, etc. ? Christmas/New Year time will be super peak and packed, plenty of mainland people and tourists packing everywhere. Will be very crowded and long queue, but it is an experience by itself. |
Apr 18 2017, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(inachi @ Apr 18 2017, 01:47 PM) Avenue of Stars? But it's already closed for renovation. If you mean along the road, then i doubt so la..Everyone sure wanna go there and take photo with the cityscape. Along the road. But it was also bcoz i was there during xmas day. So very bad especially near hotel peninsula end. Other days seems ok |
Jan 7 2018, 08:02 AM
I flew MAS, AA and Cathay to HK. I think MAS around 1k.. AA around 800++ and Cathay around 1.2k.. but varies could be due too different month of the year and different promo..
| Change to: | 0.0645sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:10 AM |