Travel South Korea V6, Seoul & Everything Korean

MR_alien
post Dec 18 2019, 05:35 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Dec 18 2019, 05:34 PM)
the exchange rate in korea for ringgit is not that good.
better to change here or use bigpay to withdraw cash there.
even for USD?
i don't have big pay but i do have a card that has foreign currency wallet function
same rate with BP

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Dec 18 2019, 05:36 PM
MR_alien
post Dec 18 2019, 05:40 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Dec 18 2019, 05:36 PM)
yes even for USD.
our ringgit is not very sought after nowadays.
even thailand dun wan to accept ringgit unlike last time.

bigpay has better exchange rate than credit cards.
no, i mean USD to WON

my card's exchange rate is same as BP but it's a preload card instead of charge by day to day rate
means if i see cheap won...say now is 3.5
i can load as much as i want into my wallet....when i'm korea and it's 3.8
i'm still using the WON that i load into my wallet @ 3.5
if USD to WON counter change rate is bad, i might just load my card with WON and use it
MR_alien
post Dec 18 2019, 05:48 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Dec 18 2019, 05:44 PM)
oh i see.
i have no idea the exchange rate usd to krw.  sweat.gif
sorry man.
just wanna know what series they accept...just in case
and at the same time, wanna dispose old note if possible as well

i just checked
BP's rate for WON is 35.63 for yesterday
my foreign currency wallet's WON rate is 35.00 right now
MR_alien
post Dec 19 2019, 11:22 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 18 2019, 09:25 PM)
pls teach me what card izit
very good function
this card

https://www.merchantrademoney.com/the-only-...p%20Up%20Banner

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 19 2019, 10:21 AM)
So far they didn't stated which series doesn't accept. Some notes that already not accepted in Msia and i use it to change it in Korea. So far no issue
thanks, i'll bring some old notes...just in case
MR_alien
post Dec 19 2019, 02:06 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 19 2019, 12:04 PM)
when is your travel date?  brows.gif
february 19th
MR_alien
post Dec 19 2019, 02:07 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 19 2019, 12:35 PM)
tQ alien hyung. i will download the app use.

a fren going on 25th. hope winter is remain fine like last week
u need to go to their branch in order to activate that "foreign currency wallet" function, else it's just a simple debit card
MR_alien
post Dec 31 2019, 10:44 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 31 2019, 06:39 AM)
how do Malaysian keep warm at this time in Korea?
layering
i saw some video indicating heat packets
MR_alien
post Jan 6 2020, 12:32 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 3 2020, 06:37 PM)
What's the transport option from Incheon to Myeongdong if I arrive in Seoul late at night (after 10pm)?
AREX or airport bus
airport bus takes u straight to myeongdong
but cost like 50% more than arex(even include the train transit from seoul station to myeongdong)

MR_alien
post Jan 12 2020, 12:07 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

anyone here shop at costco korea before?
MR_alien
post Jan 14 2020, 10:30 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 14 2020, 10:29 AM)
we cant, you need a member card to shop there.
that's why i'm asking laugh.gif
who knows someone here have card...things there seem alot cheaper than everywhere else

the card itself is universal

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jan 14 2020, 10:31 AM
MR_alien
post Jan 14 2020, 02:53 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 14 2020, 02:13 PM)
i see....
well i never did ask anybody because time is limited when on i was there.
you could easily burn a day going to costco.
seem like it's lotte mart as usual
MR_alien
post Jan 14 2020, 03:29 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 14 2020, 02:59 PM)
dun forget emart and homeplus too.
ya, i have that 2 in my list too
but seem like these 2 are harder to find
i only know there is a homeplus near gyeongbokgung only
MR_alien
post Jan 14 2020, 05:06 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 14 2020, 05:04 PM)
that one is a small called homeplus express.
lotte, homeplus and emart are everywhere on google map but most of them are the small express one.

better check out the streetview  to confirm its the big or small one bcs the small ones are not worth going to.
i know the one near lotte tower is the big one.
lotte tower at jamsil station?...i don't have plan to go to that station
the one that i saw most people go is the lotte mart at seoul station

which one do u usually go to..to get your haul?
MR_alien
post Jan 14 2020, 05:45 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 14 2020, 05:18 PM)
yup thats the one near jamsil station.

almost all of the big hypermarkets are situated away from popular tourist attractions.
so tats hard to recommend.
i recommend near the lotte tower bcs most people go to lotte world.

lotte mart at seoul station sure got a lot of people bcs its very near to myeongdong/namdaemun.

where you plan to visit around seoul while your there?
i think the usual
this is my planned itinerary for now, might change anytime

19th Feb(Wed) - Arrive 3PM, 3.28PM AREX, Train to Hoehyeon (Seoul Station then line 4 to Hoehyeon Exit 1), N-seoul Tower, Namdaemum Market Food Street
20th Feb(Thu) - Isaac Toast, Nami Island, Petite France, Gapyeong Railbike, Garden of Morning Calm
21st Feb(Fri) – Gwanghawmun Square, Gyeongbokgong Palace, Tosokchon Samgyetang, Bukchon Hanok Village, Ssamziegil Shopping Complex, Cheonggyecheon Stream(Changdeokgong Optional) >> Jongno 3-ga station(Line 3) to Chungmuro then Line 4 to Hoehyeon station/Myeongdong)
22nd Feb(Sat) – Ehwa’s Women University Shopping Street(Euljiro 1(il)-ga station Line 2 to Ehwa Women’s Uni Sta) >> Sinchon?? >> Hongdae(Line 2 to Hongik Uni Sta Exit 9) >>Dongdaemun >> Line 4(Light Blue) back Hoehyeon
23rd Feb(Sun) - GwangJang Market(City hall Line 1(Dark Blue) to Jongno 5(o)-ga Exit 8,9), Gangnam(Walk south to Euljiro 4-ga, Take Line 2 to Samseong)
24th Feb(Mon) – Lotte Mart Seoul Station(Exit 1)

MR_alien
post Jan 15 2020, 08:58 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 15 2020, 08:15 AM)
if your going to Hongik Uni station there is a Homeplus just another stop away at Hapjeong exit 1.
tats the nearest one i can think of.
thanks...see if i can made it
MR_alien
post Feb 4 2020, 09:48 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Feb 4 2020, 12:57 AM)
hi, may i know is uniqlo Ultra Light Down jacket warm enough to be wear at Seoul during winter end of this month?
i also about to bring uniqlo ultra light down...with heat tech of course
and i'm very skeptical right now

the temperature doesn't seem to be getting better(in fact worse)
most people will say january will be the coldest....february will start to fade out
since yesterday, the temperature is rated lowest at -10c
today...right now 10AM it's 0c at seoul
it's colder than during CNY or january(which is about 5-10c) rclxub.gif

and i'm going there in 2 weeks mega_shok.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 4 2020, 10:04 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Feb 4 2020, 10:00 AM)
based on uniqlo ultra light down label description in the shop, it is indicated as level 2 for warm, not the level 4. so i think it is more for spring time.
it's enough, it's just how many layers u wanna wear only
those that are living in cold countries, they would practice layering than wearing something really thick instead
MR_alien
post Feb 6 2020, 10:35 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

it's minus 6c now, it's 11AM in seoul rclxub.gif

who here in seoul now...how does it feel? laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 6 2020, 01:54 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Ninjitsu @ Feb 6 2020, 11:55 AM)
What are you wearing at this temperature?
going there in 2 weeks
i'm only bringing heat tech shirt and pants, uniqlo ultra light down, some scarf, winter hat, glove and mask to block the wind
the usual laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 8 2020, 11:53 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Feb 8 2020, 08:53 PM)
Hopefully, everything will in control. Will definitely know more in the coming weeks.
Going there for the cherry blossom?
Calling MR_alien
Pls do report on the situation once you are there. 😀😁
cherry blossom?
i'm going 19th feb...technically still winter

QUOTE(senscents @ Feb 8 2020, 09:23 PM)
The forecast are quite accurate when i'm there last mid/end of Jan but i'm at Jeju not Seoul.
The temperature are just around 6° or 7° different between early morning  and afternoon.
The coldest at around 4° and warmest around 10°.
Even in the afternoon near the sea side and wrap like a big plum dumpling, you will start to shiver if you are out there more than 15mins.
the forecast now is gone down the drain...last month i check
accuweather is saying february is upward of 2c-12c
but since 1 week ago which is sunday, the temperature has been negative the whole day...like even in the middle of the noon laugh.gif
only yesterday, it managed to have like 2c in the middle of the noon
but the 2c is only based temperature...below the real feel say "feels like -4" ranting.gif laugh.gif

in fact, the february temperature is colder than the temperature on january(it's 9c during CNY)
completely terbalik since from what i read, they say the coldest month is january...february will start to fade since close to spring

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1236sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:13 PM