41 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Nintendo Switch- The UnOfficial Thread!

SUSangelaers
post Jan 26 2017, 11:12 AM

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Jan 25 2017, 05:53 PM)
lol, what about importing one ourselves?
do we need to pay import duty/gst?
Console hardware will be imposed with a 20% import tax along with 6% GST last I checked. Ordered 3DS from Playasia and got hit by tax from mailman.

P. S. Most overseas preorder has SOLDOUT as I've checked US, UK and Japan. You can preorder them from 3rd party like Amazon but even in Amazon.jp the price is jacked up an extra ¥10,000 (MYR380)

This post has been edited by angelaers: Jan 26 2017, 11:15 AM
Mubarak90
post Jan 26 2017, 11:18 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(angelaers @ Jan 26 2017, 11:12 AM)
Console hardware will be imposed with a 20% import tax along with 6% GST last I checked. Ordered 3DS from Playasia and got hit by tax from mailman.

P. S. Most overseas preorder has SOLDOUT as I've checked US, UK and Japan. You can preorder them from 3rd party like Amazon but even in Amazon.jp the price is jacked up an extra ¥10,000 (MYR380)
Really? Meaning we will need to pay 126% of the price shown? That's quite a lot.
Upsilon
post Jan 26 2017, 11:18 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(angelaers @ Jan 26 2017, 11:12 AM)

naise, thanks
oso possibly need to do SIRIM certification too... got that when i imported my phone few years ago before gst, that's another at least RM100
did ur courier handle all that for u?

This post has been edited by Upsilon: Jan 26 2017, 11:19 AM
Upsilon
post Jan 26 2017, 11:20 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Jan 26 2017, 11:18 AM)
Really? Meaning we will need to pay 126% of the price shown? That's quite a lot.
120% + 6%, not really 126%
so in total around RM 1.7k
MattAces
post Jan 26 2017, 11:20 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Jan 26 2017, 10:57 AM)
ok, time to think about importing one hehehehehe
Not worth the trouble. The bundle will most likely be cheaper. Zelda is a locked in day 1 and they will probably make us pay around $30 for 1,2 switch, which is fair enough. Better than importing, wasting the $30 on shipping and no warranty.
SUSangelaers
post Jan 26 2017, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Jan 26 2017, 11:18 AM)
naise, thanks
oso possibly need to do SIRIM certification too... got that when i imported my phone few years ago before gst, that's another at least RM100
did ur courier handle all that for u?
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think that only applies for devices with GSM services like phone. I've imported a few electronics (except phones) before and none needed SIRIM.
SUSangelaers
post Jan 26 2017, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(MattAces @ Jan 26 2017, 11:20 AM)
Not worth the trouble. The bundle will most likely be cheaper. Zelda is a locked in day 1 and they will probably make us pay around $30 for 1,2 switch, which is fair enough. Better than importing, wasting the $30 on shipping and no warranty.
That is still extra money that I do not want to pay. What Maxsoft is doing in general is anti-consumer and is an obvious money grab. This shit wouldn't fly if it was in the US, UK or Japan.

Being complacent and justifying it as a better alternative is too Malaysian.
Upsilon
post Jan 26 2017, 11:35 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(angelaers @ Jan 26 2017, 11:25 AM)
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think that only applies for devices with GSM services like phone. I've imported a few electronics (except phones) before and none needed SIRIM.
no idea, i only imported a phone from amazon uk once
Upsilon
post Jan 26 2017, 11:36 AM

518 posts

That is still extra money that I do not want to pay. What Maxsoft is doing in general is anti-consumer and is an obvious money grab. This shit wouldn't fly if it was in the US, UK or Japan.

agree, if this is what they are going to do, imma schedule a trip to other country to get one later this year
EDIT: or wait until someone selling it on sites like lazada (:

This post has been edited by Upsilon: Jan 26 2017, 11:57 AM
Mubarak90
post Jan 26 2017, 11:36 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Jan 26 2017, 11:20 AM)
120% + 6%, not really 126%
so in total around RM 1.7k
Ah, I see. I really thought there would not be any tax charges if the item passes kastam. -.-"
Upsilon
post Jan 26 2017, 11:40 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Jan 26 2017, 11:36 AM)
Ah, I see. I really thought there would not be any tax charges if the item passes kastam. -.-"
if u get the paperwork and payment done then ur stuff passes kastam (:
MattAces
post Jan 26 2017, 11:59 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(angelaers @ Jan 26 2017, 11:34 AM)

Well, first of all, considering that there's no Nintendo of Malaysia to make a complaint, there's literally nothing we can do but NOT buy it/spend more money importing it. Also finding an import unit from US/JP is almost impossible at this point. Console market is not big enough in Asia or more specifically Malaysia for Nintendo of America to do something about it. If you are so upset about Maxsoft, vote with your money, make an online petition that will change nothing or suggest something good. To think that Malaysia wasn't even listed as one of the official launch country is enough to see how much Nintendo care about SEA. But if you plan on importing, sure, why not. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely agree with you, I've been through this EVERY single console launch because somehow they manage to screw us up, and every single discussion will involve someone saying the same thing, some rebuttal and somehow an online petition to change stuff, but the truth is, our small market don't matter to them. Look at both of the recent case of PS4 Pro and PSVR launch, both funny cases.

For what it's worth though, local shops are not announcing the bundle yet, most probably because they are trying to do something about it or appealing with Maxsoft. A lot of Malaysia stores actually got the news but haven't mention a thing about it.

This post has been edited by MattAces: Jan 26 2017, 12:52 PM
SUSangelaers
post Jan 26 2017, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(MattAces @ Jan 26 2017, 11:59 AM)
Well, first of all, considering that there's no Nintendo of Malaysia to make a complaint, there's literally nothing we can do but NOT buy it/spend more money importing it. Also finding an import unit from US/JP is almost impossible at this point. Console market is not big enough in Asia or more specifically Malaysia for Nintendo of America to do something about it. If you are so upset about Maxsoft, vote with your money, make an online petition that will change nothing or suggest something good. To think that Malaysia wasn't even listed as one of the official launch country is enough to see how much Nintendo care about SEA. But if you plan on importing, sure, why not. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely agree with you, I've been through this EVERY single console launch because somehow they manage to screw us up, and every single discussion will involve someone saying the same thing, some rebuttal and somehow an online petition to change stuff, but the truth is, our small market don't matter to them. Look at both of the recent case of PS4 Pro and PSVR launch, both funny cases.
Maxsoft is a "wholly owned subsidiary of Nintendo Japan". They are our direct link to Nintendo and they happen to be the main culprit in this issue. Luckily they have a 'complaint' address feedbacks@maxsoftonline.com which I suggest we fill it to the max with our complaint.

Besides, I don't think you give the Malaysian and Singaporean market enough credit. Why would Nintendo bother releasing a Malaysia, Singapore and UAE edition of console and games if " our small market don't matter to them." Maxsoft exists as a company to cater to the demand of these market. The problem is only a few of us complain and the rest just seems to accept it making it that much easier for companies like Maxsoft to just keep doing what they're doing.

This post has been edited by angelaers: Jan 26 2017, 12:57 PM
MattAces
post Jan 26 2017, 01:05 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(angelaers @ Jan 26 2017, 12:56 PM)
Maxsoft is a "wholly owned subsidiary of Nintendo Japan". They are our direct link to Nintendo and they happen to be the main culprit in this issue. Luckily they have a 'complaint' address feedbacks@maxsoftonline.com which I suggest we fill it to the max with our complaint.

Besides, I don't think you give the Malaysian and Singaporean market enough credit. Why would Nintendo bother releasing a Malaysia, Singapore and UAE edition of console and games if " our small market don't matter to them." Maxsoft exists as a company to cater to the demand of these market. The problem is only a few of us complain and the rest just seems to accept it making it that much easier for companies like Maxsoft to just keep doing what they're doing.
Well at least the good news is there's Hong Kong and a lot other Asia countries backing us up now. And apparently shops aren't happy about this decision too, that's why a lot of the shops are still keeping quiet. I find it weird for maxsoft to confirm a bundle without pricing and hk/sg stores immediately announce it.
Upsilon
post Jan 26 2017, 01:48 PM

518 posts

lol, we shall see what happens next, btw is this the only community where local nintendo players hang out?
nill
post Jan 26 2017, 02:08 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(MattAces @ Jan 26 2017, 01:05 PM)
Well at least the good news is there's Hong Kong and a lot other Asia countries backing us up now. And apparently shops aren't happy about this decision too, that's why a lot of the shops are still keeping quiet. I find it weird for maxsoft to confirm a bundle without pricing and hk/sg stores immediately announce it.

Maybe they hope their customers will sound Nintendo/Maxsoft for them?
blah2blah
post Jan 26 2017, 02:14 PM

748 posts

QUOTE(MattAces @ Jan 26 2017, 02:05 PM)
Because maxsoft know the kiamsiapness of Sporean that unlikely they will buy that party game in full price hence the bundle. No sane people gonna buy that party game with a hefty pricetag. Not an AAA game summore.
SUSangelaers
post Jan 26 2017, 02:16 PM

QUOTE(nill @ Jan 26 2017, 02:08 PM)
Maybe they hope their customers will sound Nintendo/Maxsoft for them?

feedbacks@maxsoftonline.com

This post has been edited by angelaers: Jan 26 2017, 02:17 PM
kuroneko0509
post Jan 26 2017, 03:10 PM

~~sleeping anywhere, anytime, anyplace~~
969 posts

maxshit being maxshit? not surprised
edit: I saw someone ask if better to get from play-asia instead... don't. their typical mark up price + getting charged with gst when entering the country is pretty much about the same or less a bit if you get that shitty maxshit forced bundle (granted that I have no idea about both pricing, but thinking of play-asia not marking up the price is a wish that never will be fulfilled, especially when the item is a hot stuff & new)

This post has been edited by kuroneko0509: Jan 26 2017, 03:13 PM
MattAces
post Jan 26 2017, 03:21 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 26 2017, 03:10 PM)
maxshit being maxshit? not surprised
edit: I saw someone ask if better to get from play-asia instead... don't. their typical mark up price + getting charged with gst when entering the country is pretty much about the same or less a bit if you get that shitty maxshit forced bundle (granted that I have no idea about both pricing, but thinking of play-asia not marking up the price is a wish that never will be fulfilled, especially when the item is a hot stuff & new)
And on top of that, the super slow shipment will kill you.

41 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:06 PM