post Sep 20 2016, 10:54 AM, updated 9y ago

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

It's here, the Nintendo Switch!!!

=======================
http://www.express.co.uk/entertainment/gam...-Neo-Pokemon-Go

With all the rumours around NX, here's what i think of it:

1) The Hybrid rumour - seems logical, they will have the advantage of:
a) Development resources all concentrate on 1 platform.
b) Appeal to both market
c) Take back gaming time from players playing rubbish on smartphone games (including Pokemon GO...), most of the time, i am playing mobile games when outside when there is nothing to do like waiting. It will be great if i can continue playing that RPG from the console i play on my TV at home!

What i don't understand is....will the handheld part and the console part each have processing power? It's a given the handheld part will have processing power, but what about the console part? If there's no processing power, then it's just a mere adapter to the TV and receiver/transmitter for the external game controllers?? hmm.gif

2) Catridges rumour - very likely since it's handheld....and memory is cheap nowadays. The rumoured is 32GB of storage for the games.

3) Processing power - i hope it is at least as powerful as a PS4 by next year. Rumour says it's only 960p for the consoles? WTF...at least 1080p lah....even WiiU has 1080p games...or are they upscaled? I am not even asking for 4k!

So there it is.

Expected NX info released date: Oct 2016.

Expected launch date: March 2017 ( as leaked by new Zelda game launch date, which is said to be launched together with the NX).

==Update 23rd Sep 2016===

==Update 26th Sep 2016===
Nintendo NX entered trail production!
http://www.techradar.com/news/gaming/the-n...at-last-1329306

==Update 7th Nov 2016===
Major leak/rumour update!
https://gamersplash.com/2016/10/31/nintendo...terview-part-5/

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 7 2016, 09:39 AM
DoomHammer
post Sep 20 2016, 11:00 AM

228 posts

Yup.. i am waiting for this
SUSMatrix
post Sep 20 2016, 11:02 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

This one confirmed i will buy at launch if they got new Super Mario Galaxy S7 Edge.

Oops.. i meant Super Mario Galaxy 3. biggrin.gif
hackinz
post Sep 20 2016, 11:04 AM

135 posts

960p... that is a real bummer!
SUSMatrix
post Sep 20 2016, 11:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(hackinz @ Sep 20 2016, 11:04 AM)
960p... that is a real bummer!
Rumour lah....not confirmed. Hope it's wrong lor.
blah2blah
post Sep 20 2016, 12:43 PM

748 posts

1) They already confirmed that it is a diff entity compared to WiiU and 3DS, so most probably no backward capability

2) You expect Nintendo console to be powerful = useless expectation, they hardly catch up with console spec wars, but they mostly are the trendsetter. eg Wii

3) Keep your WiiU as we gonna see more 2 Ninty platform for the same game, just like the announced Zelda

4) Expect alot of accessories like Wii last time.

5) With the passing of late Mr. Iwata, we're not sure where is Nintendo heading. Nothing much innovation happen when more developers are going to mobile gaming compared of bringing along portable console eg 3DS

6) I believe Nintendo also have some suffering from the disbanded developer that make some awesome game for previous gems, eg. Metroid series, Kid Icarus team. Thats why classics are awesome.They have alot of great IP on its own. Sad to see no more Advance Wars and Metroid in newer platform

7) Nintendofag like me even though not gaming anymore at least will still buy to keep. FML.
SUSMatrix
post Sep 20 2016, 02:32 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Sep 20 2016, 12:43 PM)
1) They already confirmed that it is a diff entity compared to WiiU and 3DS, so most probably no backward capability

2) You expect Nintendo console to be powerful = useless expectation, they hardly catch up with console spec wars, but they mostly are the trendsetter. eg Wii

3) Keep your WiiU as we gonna see more 2 Ninty platform for the same game, just like the announced Zelda

4) Expect alot of accessories like Wii last time.

5) With the passing of late Mr. Iwata, we're not sure where is Nintendo heading. Nothing much innovation happen when more developers are going to mobile gaming compared of bringing along portable console eg 3DS

6) I believe Nintendo also have some suffering from the disbanded developer that make some awesome game for previous gems, eg. Metroid series, Kid Icarus team. Thats why classics are awesome.They have alot of great IP on its own. Sad to see no more Advance Wars and Metroid in newer platform

7) Nintendofag like me even though not gaming anymore at least will still buy to keep. FML.
1) Dun care so much for backward compatility so much, since WiiU already can do that. Besides, i am sure there will be some virtual console games from Eshop.

2) Not expect it to be powerful lah dey, equivalent to PS4 is NOT POWERFUL at all, considering next year launch is 2017. Equivalent to a what...3-4 years old tech??? But must be at least respectable and able to do 1080p at 60fps for action games or 30fps for RPGs and non action demanding games.

3) This is a big question. I think WiiU support will die once they have the NX out. Besides, unless the NX is so sucky and even less powerful than a WiiU, i don't see why need to buy WiiU versions anymore.

4) Don't mind accessories...hopefully they can keep the price lower a bit. I have 3 WiiMote plus, nunchucks and whatsnot.

7) I am actually new Nintendo fag, i have never own a Nintendo...despite having almost all of sega consoles since Megadrive. tongue.gif Got an Xbox360, gave up on PS3. PS4/XB generation totally not interesting to me...because it plays the same games my PC does (which does it better too). Nintendo OTH, is totally different family friendlly entertainment. Even wife who don't play games likes to see the cute and beautiful cartoon characters. biggrin.gif And i have to introduce my son to what gaming is really about....not all the damn FPS or Minecraft thrash.

blah2blah
post Sep 20 2016, 02:59 PM

748 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 20 2016, 03:32 PM)
1) Dun care so much for backward compatility so much, since WiiU already can do that. Besides, i am sure there will be some virtual console games from Eshop.

2) Not expect it to be powerful lah dey, equivalent to PS4 is NOT POWERFUL at all, considering next year launch is 2017. Equivalent to a what...3-4 years old tech??? But must be at least respectable and able to do 1080p at 60fps for action games or 30fps for RPGs and non action demanding games.

3) This is a big question. I think WiiU support will die once they have the NX out. Besides, unless the NX is so sucky and even less powerful than a WiiU, i don't see why need to buy WiiU versions anymore.

4) Don't mind accessories...hopefully they can keep the price lower a bit. I have 3 WiiMote plus, nunchucks and whatsnot.

5) I am actually new Nintendo fag, i have never own a Nintendo...despite having almost all of sega consoles since Megadrive. tongue.gif Got an Xbox360, gave up on PS3. PS4/XB generation totally not interesting to me...because it plays the same games my PC does (which does it better too). Nintendo OTH, is totally different family friendlly entertainment. Even wife who don't play games likes to see the cute and beautiful cartoon characters. biggrin.gif And i have to introduce my son to what gaming is really about....not all the damn FPS or Minecraft thrash.
1) Yes WiiU got alot of backward compatibility.

2) See you're comparing with PS4 already. I never mentioned it is even same as PS4. Why you want to see 60fps when playing game, enjoy the gameplay la. Why Vita library can be much lesser compared to 3DS even though your Vita is a PS2.5?

3) Rumor did mentioned before that WiiU gonna discontinue due to lack of support from developer, as a semi-portable console for NX, seriously you think it will bypass WiiU specs? You keep a WiiU just for some exclusive title only.

4) Nintendo in Msia wont be cheaper one. Just pay the premium la. Currency sucks. No choice.

5) When you come into Ninty game, never forget to buy party games. I purposely bring my WiiU and my sealed Mario game to my friend house and play 4 player together. You cant get these experience from other console. Family bonding and friend gathering, you'll never go wrong with Nintendo. Dont forget your first Mario game you play when you're young is also Nintendo.
SUSMatrix
post Sep 20 2016, 03:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Sep 20 2016, 02:59 PM)
1) Yes WiiU got alot of backward compatibility.

2) See you're comparing with PS4 already. I never mentioned it is even same as PS4. Why you want to see 60fps when playing game, enjoy the gameplay la. Why Vita library can be much lesser compared to 3DS even though your Vita is a PS2.5?

3) Rumor did mentioned before that WiiU gonna discontinue due to lack of support from developer, as a semi-portable console for NX, seriously you think it will bypass WiiU specs? You keep a WiiU just for some exclusive title only.

4) Nintendo in Msia wont be cheaper one. Just pay the premium la. Currency sucks. No choice.

5) When you come into Ninty game, never forget to buy party games. I purposely bring my WiiU and my sealed Mario game to my friend house and play 4 player together. You cant get these experience from other console. Family bonding and friend gathering, you'll never go wrong with Nintendo. Dont forget your first Mario game you play when you're young is also Nintendo.
2) Wii U can do 60fps in some games like Mario kart 8, Super Mario 3D World (not sure, maybe) etc. If newer console cannot....:facepalm:..then might as well be a handheld and not a Hybrid. 3DS may have a lot of games, but i am pretty sure you wish it has PSVITA graphics. I only have a PSP like 2 years back...LOL. The screen makes my eyes sick. So far, all the consoles generation is more powerful than the last (even if just a little bit like GC-->Wii).

5) My first Mario game which i really play is Super Mario 3D World on the Wii U...LOL. Those older Mario games play a bit on emulators here and there. It took me a few months to finish it together with my son. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 20 2016, 03:09 PM
Baconateer
post Sep 20 2016, 03:12 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,086 posts

got rumour thy r using nvida k1 chip la..

so.. it wont or not even close to ps4 level..
SUSMatrix
post Sep 20 2016, 03:16 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 20 2016, 03:12 PM)

Also rumour it is using Tegra k2....brows.gif...

Maybe later all kantoi-ed and they use AMD.

blah2blah
post Sep 20 2016, 03:20 PM

748 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 20 2016, 04:08 PM)
2) Wii U can do 60fps in some games like Mario kart 8, Super Mario 3D World (not sure, maybe) etc. If newer console cannot....:facepalm:..then might as well be a handheld and not a Hybrid. 3DS may have a lot of games, but i am pretty sure you wish it has PSVITA graphics. I only have a PSP like 2 years back...LOL. The screen makes my eyes sick. So far, all the consoles generation is more powerful than the last (even if just a little bit like GC-->Wii).

5) My first Mario game which i really play is Super Mario 3D World on the Wii U...LOL. Those older Mario games play a bit on emulators here and there. It took me a few months to finish it together with my son. biggrin.gif
2) When they mentioned hybrid is already an obvious that it wont be more powerful than WiiU, their hybrid = can be played as a home console or portable. Unless they come out with accessories to upscale their NX to be on par with WiiU. No I dont wish 3DS graphic = PSV. As long the gameplay is good, graphic doesnt matter to me. Just like the recent news of remake FF7, I have no hype at all. I rather play it on my PS1/PSP/PSV with that blocky graphic. Classic is meant for classic.

5) Emulator? Man you missed out the Micro Genius era. Cant blame you.
blah2blah
post Sep 20 2016, 03:21 PM

748 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 20 2016, 04:12 PM)

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 20 2016, 04:16 PM)
Also rumour it is using Tegra k2....brows.gif...

Maybe later all kantoi-ed and they use AMD.

If want compare graphic/specs of the console, no need find Nintendo la. They always lembab one. Go for master race la
Baconateer
post Sep 20 2016, 03:27 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,086 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Sep 20 2016, 03:21 PM)
If want compare graphic/specs of the console, no need find Nintendo la. They always lembab one. Go for master race la
yup... nintendo very selow in graphics aspect.. but games more thn make up for it la..
kuroneko0509
post Sep 20 2016, 03:30 PM

~~sleeping anywhere, anytime, anyplace~~
969 posts

b-but there's already a NX tered ._.
oh well I guess i'll just throw that one into oblivion then

edit: also, you got confused with expected release date part. they already said the release would be March 2017 since April, not related at all with that recent 'Zelda amiibo date'

This post has been edited by kuroneko0509: Sep 20 2016, 03:34 PM
greyshadow
post Sep 20 2016, 05:18 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Probably is still similar to WiiU concept, but with some enhancements/upgrades

the processing will be done on the handheld controller/mobile gaming device, which can be taken out to play without relying on the main console
the main console box connecting to TV just act as casting medium for display on TV, and charging station for the controller

controller can act as a second screen like wii u

SUSMatrix
post Sep 20 2016, 05:32 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 20 2016, 05:18 PM)
Probably is still similar to WiiU concept, but with some enhancements/upgrades

the processing will be done on the handheld controller/mobile gaming device, which can be taken out to play without relying on the main console
the main console box connecting to TV just act as casting medium for display on TV, and charging station for the controller

controller can act as a second screen like wii u
I hope the console station is more than that....maybe 1 Tegra X2 chip in Handheld...one in station, plug in to station, instant double the performance. With a single Tegra X2 chip in handheld will also meant less power consumption and longer battery life.

Let's see if my prediction is true or not. You can replace the Tegra X2 with any chip you like. biggrin.gif

http://www.ibtimes.com/nintendo-nx-rumors-...ch-game-2407282

Note: It's Tegra X1/X2, not K1/K2 as stated earliear. K1/K2 ancient Tegra.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 20 2016, 05:38 PM
Pr1me_Minister
post Sep 21 2016, 04:57 AM

314 posts

Spec wise Ninty said they want it to be profitable right off the gate so I don't expect cutting edge tech. But since the game will be averaging 32GB I hope they give some generous storage space, or at least that newly announced 1TB Sandisk can come in handy. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 20 2016, 11:02 AM)
This one confirmed i will buy at launch if they got new Super Mario Galaxy S7 Edge.

Oops.. i meant Super Mario Galaxy 3. biggrin.gif
I hope this one doesn't bomb hahaha (gedit?) laugh.gif

QUOTE(andrewcha)
The last Advance Wars bombed hard (they even canceled the release in Japan). But the developer (Intelligent System) is still growing and busy milking the Fire Emblem franchise. Maybe they'll do a last ditch effort to revive it like they did with FEAwakening.
SUSMatrix
post Sep 21 2016, 08:23 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Sep 21 2016, 04:57 AM)
Spec wise Ninty said they want it to be profitable right off the gate so I don't expect cutting edge tech. But since the game will be averaging 32GB I hope they give some generous storage space, or at least that newly announced 1TB Sandisk can come in handy. biggrin.gif

The format is in cartridges. Means there is no need for huge storage in the console itself for installing games like a PC or other consoles for faster loading time. If Nintendo kedekut enough, they can make the developers allocate 4GB as read/write memory for save games/dlc/update etc..and they even need less storage in the console.

I see they will give 64GB to 128GB max for internal storage for the eShop games download.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 21 2016, 08:31 AM
sickboy
post Sep 21 2016, 03:36 PM

473 posts

New Nintendofags here too.

I have to get NX on day 1, and I have to get Wii U when its price drop later sometime as it has 4 Zelda titles including 2 remakes.

I'm only collecting any Zelda. All other games I just played and sold them.

Looking towards party/family feature, when I'm younger I play alone. Now I can play with wife and kid. Playstation and Xbox no matter 4k 8k resolution 100fps also cannot do that.

41 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:56 AM