16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

bobds78
post Mar 6 2017, 10:53 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(qyuu02 @ Mar 6 2017, 11:56 AM)
Hi Newbie here, never learn Photography biggrin.gif planning to buy EM10 ii with lens kit. the lens is 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 EZ Lens,

my friend said this kind of lens is not suitable for indoor? because it has f/3.5>

should i just go buy body only and buy another prime lens? or go with the kit?
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 6 2017, 12:05 PM)
just keep the kit lens for backup. The kit lens is slim and convenient.
Quite agree with BOTAK_WAI.

I would further suggest that you learn the basic with the kit lens first, test all the FOV (Field Of View) between 14-42mm, from here you will see what FOV you like best (which depends on what you shoot of course), start from 14mm (wide-angle) to 25mm (very close to our eyes' field of view) and to short tele at the 42mm.

From there you will see which FOV (mm) you shoot most and this should form the basis (among other things) of your decision for your prime lens in later stage when you are ready to try one.

Happy shooting! thumbup.gif
bobds78
post Mar 9 2017, 03:45 PM

1,777 posts

Hi! Has anybody use any stabilizer gimbal either for your smartphones or cameras? I have recently backed a smartphone gimbal called the Steadicam VOLT. It will be shipped beginning June. I hope to modify it for use on a small m4/3 body like the GM1 or GM5 or any similarly small-sized body.

Here's the link to the product: Steadicam VOLT
bobds78
post Mar 9 2017, 04:11 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 9 2017, 03:53 PM)
Never use that before but i think it stabilize video shooting a lot, effective for still image?
They are meant for video stabilizing that's the main key, don't know if it works for stills but I think it should work too, so long the cam's IBIS is turned off, probably this will work, untested though.
bobds78
post Mar 10 2017, 09:24 AM

1,777 posts

Hey sniper on the roof, if I remember correctly, you use a GM body yes? Which one is it?

Coz the smallish body weighs so little, even lighter than some smartphones! It will be perfect for handheld gimbal.

I am pondering on GoPro Hero4 silver/GM bodies. Either of this two will work great.
bobds78
post Mar 12 2017, 12:22 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 10 2017, 09:42 AM)
I have a GF7 body but have not tried any gimbals before. It's pretty light with the 12-32
I think the GF7 also very light and should balance ok on the gimbal.

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 10 2017, 11:20 AM)
Smartphone camera unable to satisfy you?
Ha ha biggrin.gif Now considering those small-sized action camera, not sure which one yet but if I can get my hands on a small m4/3 body I will sure try it on the gimbal when it arrives in July/August. Still a long way from now and I have lots of time to decide thumbup.gif
bobds78
post Mar 12 2017, 09:58 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 12 2017, 01:21 AM)
But pretty syok bringing it go hiking and beach what tongue.gif
Or even when traveling overseas or shoot an event with a handheld gimbal stabilier, better than shooting with a GX8 but whatever it is those little action cameras are good for video-shooting no doubt.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 12 2017, 01:55 AM)
I absolutely hate editing and storing videos.  laugh.gif
Me too, but shooting video will enhance your memories of the event that's why I continue to shoot video like 30% of the time. thumbsup.gif
bobds78
post Mar 12 2017, 10:34 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 12 2017, 10:16 PM)
I aim to capture decisive moment biggrin.gif rather than the whole event lock stock and barrel biggrin.gif

Watched a youtube vid recently about photos these days having a short shelf life due to the sheer volume of photos taken... Most were viewed maybe couple of times until it gets lost into the abyss of the many terrabyes of storage.

During the courting years with my missus. We have like a couple albums of photos that we still view from time to time but these days i take more than that of the family in just a month.

Videos are likely to be the same or worse. Just many many many more terrabyes.

I dread searching for the vid of a particular thing i did a couple years later.

Or maybe im just a stuborn old man.
I couldn't agree more. Those physical hardcopy of photos I took in albums and albums, you just couldn't beat those! I will print my own photos when I am retired and have plenty of time to sort new ones out, still placed somewhere in the abyss of media storage tongue.gif ha ha..
bobds78
post Mar 21 2017, 01:42 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 21 2017, 12:09 AM)
【Flash Slow Limit】

i am so stupid...now only i found out this option could be used for setting minimum shutter speed when using A mode and auto-iso.  bangwall.gif
This is in EP3?
bobds78
post Mar 21 2017, 08:36 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 21 2017, 04:48 PM)
mine is e-p3 and e-pl5 also same setting.

though the option is for flash sync speed, it is useful for hand shaking ppl like me to limit shutter speed to 1/100 before reaching maximum iso when shooting indoor with A mode.

but newer machine should have a dedicated option to set minimum shutter speed if i am not mistaken.

bro, how about panasonic setting for min shutter speed? long time no play with panasonic camera already.
Ha ha I didn't know that's been implemented since the e-p3 days edy doh.gif

During my e-p3 time I don't seem to remember I got to limit the shutter speed, most probably because I had the awesome fast 20/1.7 to take care of the speed sweat.gif

Coming to the gx8, it has a lot more settings than i like sweat.gif So what I did is to set everything up in a custom set but setting the shutter speed limit isn't one of them.

Is 1/100th enough to take care of shaking hands?
bobds78
post Mar 22 2017, 10:53 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 21 2017, 09:03 PM)
i need smaller aperture for more dof for travel photo. i feel like mind blown when i get to know this from chinese forum.

ya bro, the more high end the more setting available...hahaha.

no, 1/100 is not enough. but significantly better than 1/60.
if using speedlite i always use 1/200 indoor.
but i think most ppl here do not care if got 5-axis i.s laugh.gif
Definitely smaller aperture will help to get a deeper dof when your travelling but I always push this to auto or to just any of the SCENE mode available, more often than not this will turn out awesome photos. But of course if time permit a tripod is best but when long-trip traveling for holidays I never ever bring along a stupid tripod, not even a smallish one shakehead.gif

Even 5-axis or dual-IS like the gx8 sometimes I still don't get sharp enough photos. It does help a lot though most of the times. thumbsup.gif
bobds78
post Mar 22 2017, 03:27 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 22 2017, 02:38 PM)
Agree!!! no more stupid tripod for just few photos but burden the whole trip.

then bump up ISO. high iso with enough exposure isn't that bad for noise. even in daytime shooting with iso 400 or 800 with higher shutter speed sometimes looks better to me. sharp + a little bit noise better than clean + a little bit blur.
Yup I use the same trick too but mine can bump iso to quite high thumbup.gif Still I limit it to 6400, just to be on the save side sweat.gif

I noticed your selling off your Sigma 19/2.8, not using anymore?
bobds78
post Mar 22 2017, 09:59 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 22 2017, 04:06 PM)
i am still using old 16mp e-pl5, so i limit to iso-5000, more than that is extended iso not native iso already.

erm...actually i am looking to trade with the smallish pana 35-100mm. i am still using this on my e-p3, while another 14mm pancake on the e-pl5. Guess what, i prefer to shoot with e-p3 + sigma 19mm combo due to 2 wheel dials and i like the color rendered more. Then why not sell the e-pl5 and 14mm combo? Because i prefer the lighter weight combo on my neck for travel...hahahaha. Then why not keep both? since i have changed my phone to s7 edge, no motivation bring them along anywhere already...Maybe change to a longer focal length lens will make me wanted to pick it up and curi-curi snap amoi photo laugh.gif
Wicked intentions ha ha.. devil.gif

Bro if your selling your epl5+14mm combo, I like to get your 14mm if you don't mind selling separately. I want to put it on my GF1 for casual-trip shooting. thumbup.gif
bobds78
post Mar 22 2017, 11:58 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 22 2017, 10:15 PM)
sorry bro...no intention to let go 14mm for the moment laugh.gif

e-pl5 + 14mm is my poor man GR...lol
I thought so ha ha thumbup.gif

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 22 2017, 10:34 PM)
Someone in this forum is selling here: 20/1.7
bobds78
post Mar 22 2017, 11:59 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(pikkidok @ Mar 22 2017, 09:19 PM)
Where to buy lumix 20mm f1.7 best price?
Someone selling here: 20/1.7
bobds78
post Apr 1 2017, 09:29 AM

1,777 posts

samsungfreak I remember you sold off your Oly 12mm f2.0. What bodies were you using this lens with?

I would like to try the Oly 12/2.0 on gx8 but my only holdback now is the focusing ring switch which might not work on the gx8. So if you have any experiences I would love to hear from you. Thanks in advance.
bobds78
post Apr 3 2017, 12:28 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Apr 2 2017, 03:10 PM)
The manual clutch in all Olympus PRO and PREMIUM lenses do work in all Panasonic bodies because the mechanism is different. When you switch to manual focus using the camera, it is "focus by wire" where the focus ring and keep turning even if it reach the end (front or infinity). But once you switch the manual clutch it actually became a real manual focus lens physically and the focus ring became much stiffer, with focus range marking and it will stop at the front and infinity end.

Of course there is also downside, the clutch do move easily when you take it out from the camera bag and you wonder why it cannot AF.  tongue.gif Haha.

I didn't manage to sold mine and so it is still in my dry box. You can see the manual clutch showing the focus distance in the photo below.
Nice info there bro! I was thinking even if it (the manual focus clutch) doesn't work I can still use touch focus perhaps quicker this way than rotating the ring but of course by rotating one will look more like a pro tongue.gif . I do like rotating sometimes coz I can concentrate on focusing and steadying the cam at the same time.

I had just ordered a black unit Oly 12/2 for the gx8. I will still keep the 15/1.7 and the 20/1.7. I was contemplating P 12/1.4 but couldn't overcome the larger size it will create with gx8.

Thanks again bro for sharing.

BTW, why were you letting go your Oly 12/2?

bobds78
post Apr 3 2017, 12:06 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Apr 3 2017, 07:46 AM)
Seeing many people actually dislike the manual clutch, Olympus camera actually has a setting to disable it. LMAO.

I tried my friend Panasonic 12mm f1.4, it actually fit the GX8 well because the size is even slightly smaller (shorter) than 12-35. But I do think it is too big for my taste. However, I think 12-35 is too big for my old GX7, so I assume Panny 12 would be too big too.

Why selling Oly 12 (Silver)? Because I bought the black version.  devil.gif It is Olympus fault of not releasing black version earlier!!!! LOL.
I was already put-off by the size of the 12/1.4 just from looking at the camerasize compare site, don't want to regret later when having it. Then my next choice were P12-35, of course since it will have dual-IS on gx8 and not the O12-40. Again the size is the deciding factor. All the other MF 3rd party lenses again not in my radar due to size factor.

So my only choice left is the Oly 12/2.0. And definitely the Black version. thumbup.gif

What do you shoot most with the O12/2.0? Landscapes? Buildings? Or street? Maybe too wide for street.
bobds78
post Apr 3 2017, 03:45 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(foodskiver @ Apr 1 2017, 11:04 PM)
PL25 f1.4 is 6 years old. Is it still worth getting? Will they come out gen 2nd?
Or actually Oly f1.8 and Pana f1.7 are good enough?

Also heard there's some problem if use PL25 on OMD.
If you check out dxomark, the summilux is ahead in terms of sharpness but not by much. Again, if size is compared, the summilux is smaller. But, if price is compared, the 25/1.7 wins hands down. Photo quality of 25/1.7 is quite close to the famed 20/1.7. It also has very nice rendering too wide open. And it shoots much much faster than the 20/1.7.
If size is absolute importance, like me, the O25/1.8 it is.

Otherwise, a Summilux is still a Summilux. You won't regret having this.

QUOTE(67zai @ Apr 3 2017, 12:52 PM)
guys, wanna ask u guys for opinion. i m getting a camera for short trip and also to snap my toddler photo. im thinking of getting an used EP5. what do you guys think about the EP5? i personally likes the design of EP5 as it looks really retro. another camera which i quite interested is the GF9.. any other camera which provides excellent image quality, noise handling and colour rendering besides the OMD series? budget is a problem too biggrin.gif
Always go for the latest model if you can afford it. Choosing between EP5 vs GF9 quite simple to me. EP5 is a much higher-end model. I owned it before and I really liked it. If you don't mind it's an older model, go for it!

GF9 is more a selfie model just like the GF8 and is a good starting unit if your just into m4/3 and it will take very nice pictures too, though not as advanced as the E-p5.

Whatever your choice, both are good models.
bobds78
post Apr 3 2017, 04:10 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(67zai @ Apr 3 2017, 03:58 PM)
I previously used en5 then sold it out for xt1. But yea i dont quite like omd design though the canera itself is a beast! Also used gx1 before lol.. My dilemma now is im finding a budget friendly camera which perform the best for travel itself. I kinda like gf9 but i rmb the colour from panny a lil weird too me. Theres a green tint on it whicb i dont like..Ep5 i simply like its design even though it is older. But yea i also think always go for a newer model but looking at reviews online, seems like ep5 is much better in all aspect vs gf9.. Hmm..
Don't know about the green tint but you can always correct this in the camera or pp. I haven't had this green tint on my panasonic SOOC photos instead I find them to be a little warm compared to Olympus which is 'blue-er' and 'green-er'.

I think you have already answered yourself there: TRAVEL. Both will do fine but I think the GF9 has an edge here for selfies or wefies with its flip-up Lcd screen design, makes selfies and "wefies" much much simpler like smartphones. You don't have to carry either a mini tripod or ask some strangers to take your photo for you thumbup.gif
bobds78
post Apr 4 2017, 09:08 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Apr 4 2017, 12:32 AM)
Honestly it doesn't get use a lot compare to my other lenses due to it's wider nature. I mostly use the 12mm of my 12-35mm which is very sharp at f4. The only time I switch to 12mm is when I need to shoot at f2 under low light situation indoor. And since indoor usually consist of tighter space, it is good to be wide.

Maybe in the future I will shoot some milky way with it.  rclxms.gif
The milky way is definitely a fantastic subject. thumbsup.gif

You think the 12-35 f4 will be sharper that the 12mm at f2? Coz dxomark tested the oly 12mm and found that the sharpest aperture is f2! And this is where I intend to use it. Since you have both, can you shoot something with both lens with this criteria:

subject: brick wall, camera on a tripod

12-35 set at f4 x 1 photo

12/2.0 wide-open x same photo

12/2.0 f4 x same photo

Wah! hopefully not too much to ask eh? blush.gif

This post has been edited by bobds78: Apr 4 2017, 09:12 AM

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1646sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:50 AM