16 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

bobds78
post Jun 20 2018, 02:46 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(nanadeadbeat @ Jun 20 2018, 01:37 PM)
is anyone compared the two Samyang Fisheyes (defish) and Laowa 7.5 before?

i read an article, they mention fisheyes after defish get wider image, not sure count also usable corner or not.

for widest after the fish eyes i only have 17-40 f4 L
The below video shows clearly the samyang (or Rokinon) 7.5mm fisheye is wider by quite a bit, not sure about the corners after defish.

Samyang/Rokinon 7.5mm vs Laowa 7.5mm

I have recently used the ef-m 11-22 on a recent trip and i am quite impressed by its performance, for the value and small size, it's an awesome lens.
bobds78
post Jun 20 2018, 10:46 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(nanadeadbeat @ Jun 20 2018, 01:37 PM)
is anyone compared the two Samyang Fisheyes (defish) and Laowa 7.5 before?

i read an article, they mention fisheyes after defish get wider image, not sure count also usable corner or not.

for widest after the fish eyes i only have 17-40 f4 L
Have a look of this video here on the Rokinon/Samyang 7.5mm f3.5, at about 1'46, the reviewer shows a video taken with the lens where distortion occurs if the angle is moved to up and down but the interesting thing is, IF THE ANGLE IS KEPT HORIZONTAL, THE IMAGE IS RECTILINEAR, VERY DIMINUTIVE DISTORTION AT THE SIDE, ALMOST UNNOTICEABLE!! wub.gif That means when shooting landscapes and even people, if the angle is kept at horizontal, a near perfect rectilinear image is possible!! And the price is much cheaper!

SAMYANG/ROKINON 7.5mm

bobds78
post Jun 21 2018, 10:58 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jun 21 2018, 10:11 AM)
so this is where water level comes in handy.
Keeping distortion minimized is the trick, unless purposely desired. A water level will definitely helps too.

QUOTE(nanadeadbeat @ Jun 21 2018, 10:28 AM)
what i like this samyang is its sharpness.

forgot i did defished on this photo or not.

Click Me
Looks good, your photos.

The 7Artisan 7.5mm f2.8 is another interesting option, smaller in size and much cheaper!
bobds78
post Jun 21 2018, 11:07 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jun 21 2018, 11:03 AM)
dang it! all this talk of wide angle lens is making my hands itchy.
poison! poison!  shakehead.gif
Very STRONK eh? devil.gif

This post has been edited by bobds78: Jun 21 2018, 11:08 AM
bobds78
post Jun 23 2018, 09:37 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Jun 22 2018, 12:13 PM)
ah here's from my Flickr profile (https://www.flickr.com/people/incubusskj/)

2 Panasonic Lumix DC-G9 Bodies
8mm f1.8 Fisheye Olympus
8-18mm f2.8-4.0 PanaLeica
12-60mm f2.8-4.0 PanaLeica
12mm f1.4 PanaLeica
15mm f1.7 PanaLeica
25mm f0.95 Voigtlander
25mm f1.4 PanaLeica
35-100mm f2.8 Pana X
42.5mm f1.2 PanaLeica
60mm f2.8 Macro Olympus
75mm f1.8 Olympus
100-400mm f4.0-6.3 PanaLeica

the Panasonic Malaysia guys kinda know me as the PanaLeica fanboy from up north liao  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Wasai! Even pros tak tahan you liao rclxs0.gif
bobds78
post Jun 23 2018, 11:00 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Jun 23 2018, 09:57 PM)
I casual only abang sweat.gif
Casual Ya right, more like the opposite of casual = aficionado, or should I say, devotee? passionate about your pastime, so do we thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bobds78: Jun 23 2018, 11:01 PM
bobds78
post Jun 26 2018, 10:12 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jun 26 2018, 10:10 AM)
if incubus_skj is casual then all the rest of us are noobs.  laugh.gif
bobds78
post Jun 27 2018, 02:59 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jun 27 2018, 08:47 AM)
you pay the price for phenomenal photos = size and weight.
m43 is all about compactness and acceptable compromise on ISO noise and DOF.
IQ in proper lighting m43 will give FF a run for their money.

only 3 type of person are in this thread.

1) those who have strong resistance to poison.
2) those that are already poisoned.
3) people who are evil poisoners.

brows.gif
bobds78
post Jul 13 2018, 11:09 AM

1,777 posts

Anybody interested in Pana gx8 and a Laowa 7.5mm f2.0 lens? I am considering letting go to fund for other stuffs sweat.gif

Pm if your interested thumbsup.gif

No, I am not leaving M4/3 just yet tongue.gif
bobds78
post Jul 13 2018, 05:21 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Jul 13 2018, 12:26 PM)
Laowa lai how much
Check inbox bro biggrin.gif
bobds78
post Jul 14 2018, 04:28 PM

1,777 posts

I will be listing the Laowa 7.5mm f2.0 lens tomorrow so if you guys want to grab it it will be available just in this forum for now.
bobds78
post Jul 16 2018, 09:44 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jul 16 2018, 08:17 AM)
getting hooked on the canon eh?  brows.gif
Ya Sort of, I haven't been using a modern Canon SLR or mirrorless before so I want to see for myself what's the big deal. So far the image quality is a big step-up as I had expected.

I was quite frustrated with micro 4/3 Image Stabilisation implementation really, the gx8 costs me 2.8k and it has not much IS and I don't find much difference in using it vs my other m4/3 body the G6. I did see some improvement in IS when the compatible lens in this case my 45-150 OIS is mounted. But using a non-IS lens it's back to square 1 again. So I wasn't really impressed, and 4K video to me isn't really important. The 1080p resolution I gotten from my M50 seems better than the 4k I have gotten from my gx8 anytime. Sounds like a big statement but that's what I observed, probably the m50 has a better 24mp resolution and a better digic 8 engine.

I wanted to step up to G9 (congrats to inkubus_sj) but just couldn't bring myself to spend that much $$ on one single body, the way I see it, the G9 has definitely an improved processor to realise the full potential of the old 20.3 MP sensor and at the sametime employed a full 5-axis IBIS but I don't see how the difference in gx8 3-axis IBIS vs the 5-axis IBIS of the G9 has resulted the g9 marketed with more than twice the price of gx8. Panasonic has upped their game alright but at the same time upped their price reaching almost to an untouchable level bangwall.gif

If both Panasonic & Olympus continues to upped their prices unscrupulously they will see more people moving towards Canon mirrorless, the m50 is a huge huge hit mind you and that's just the beginning to show how good they can make a mirroless body.

bobds78
post Jul 16 2018, 10:43 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jul 16 2018, 10:20 AM)
bro its understandable.
if we want to take our photography to to next level the only way forward is move to bigger sensor.
it is not bcs of better resolution or processing engine you are getting better pictures, its because of the bigger sensor.
the first thing u notice when using bigger sensor is your pic / video is much much cleaner.
you need to compare 4k with 4k video.
lower resolution video will always look better because many of the defects are not magnified unlike 4k.

for me if i want to move forward its going to be FF.
but i always hold off getting a FF bcs my m43 go out with me more than my DSLR/APS-C, although the DSLR/APS-C can take better pics than m43.

m43 image stabilization complains? tell me all about it - im still using the first generation 2-axis IBIS.
you can google all the horror stories abou it.  laugh.gif

yeah agree with you on the pricing especially the lens.
if they can bring down the prices of the lens many will consider using m43 instead of other mirrorless APS-C.

You will find canon tend to take cleaner pics at lower ISO than other systems but high iso will lose out.
I like shooting at iso200-400 using a canon compared to other systems.
For video people critical work for 4k-4k comparison is necessary I agree, but to an ordinary peasant like me who uploads an occasional post to youtube or forum or own home tv 1080 enough liao leh, though 4k if available is a bonus for me biggrin.gif

To move forward, small bodies mirroless is the way to go. I was considering Sony FF and again held back due to their pricings, irrespective of bodies or lenses . Canon OTOH, is rumoured to come up with FF mirroless in the near future! If this is the case, with their humongous lenses base and 3rd parties, it would change the face of the industry altogether. And they are making headways already.

So I pretty hope our beloved m4/3 will also step up.

Again the G9 I think is priced for professionals, and not for enthusiasts like me. vmad.gif
bobds78
post Jul 16 2018, 11:04 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 16 2018, 10:49 AM)
no choice bro…the trend makes their pricing.

less and less ppl getting entry level due to the convenience of smartphone. so the only way they milk money is from high end.
Agreed nod.gif

True that is another area where smartphones will take away a whole chunk of compact cameras business. Sad as it is but that's what it is. Phone camera nowadays is so convenient and some can take pretty darn good photos. Technology rules! sweat.gif
bobds78
post Jul 16 2018, 11:06 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jul 16 2018, 11:03 AM)
Nikon rumored to be launching 2 FF mirrorless end of this year.
Nikon has discontinued their Nikon 1 series bcs cannot compete with m43.  laugh.gif 
yes true.
for social media smartphone is still king.
for photography enthusiast there is still no replacement for a proper camera.
thumbsup.gif
bobds78
post Jul 16 2018, 11:23 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Jul 16 2018, 11:11 AM)
the only way Nikon can fight is if their current FF lens mount is native to the new FF mirrorless line (and not just compatible via slow focusing adapters)

otherwise they can close shop on that department also lol
That's so true, all future mirrorless FF should be based on their existing lens mounts most definitely, Canon for one will allow users to tap into thier vast array of EF lenses!
bobds78
post Jul 16 2018, 11:56 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 16 2018, 11:33 AM)
canon still using own lousy sensor?
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jul 16 2018, 11:38 AM)
i hope not if they wan to survive the war with sony.  whistling.gif
Canon has been developing their own high-end sensors for sure. We should see groundbreaking new tech in their FF mirrorless, rumoured to debut next year 2019. Sony is selling 2nd-rated sensors to other camera makers and keeping top notch sensors for their own cameras. That's why panasonic is now making their own sensors and promises to give better results.
bobds78
post Jul 16 2018, 05:10 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 16 2018, 03:49 PM)
Highest end smartphone like iPhone X and Pixel series even can capture 4K video better than system camera.
I shot below with Pixel XL ( 1st gen ) single hand-held, the software IS are crazy.

I hope they goes both way, launching new mirrorless lens that's compact and lightweight, while have option/adapter for their vast range of FF lenses.
They need to dedicate their resource and determination, not the half ass job previous. Time to replace their low to mid range DSLR with mirrorless  biggrin.gif
Wow! Simply Wow!! The IS is amazing!
bobds78
post Jul 17 2018, 09:43 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 16 2018, 10:43 PM)
It's almost magical when stationed, but quite weird ( robotic feel ) when panning.
My another demo.

Forward shooting is quite impressive but the sideway pans is.. ya, very robotic doh.gif

Then make sure you don't pan with your wrist but turn with your body instead thumbup.gif
bobds78
post Jul 17 2018, 02:33 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 17 2018, 01:54 PM)
empty pool  biggrin.gif  i think it was noon.
Use my EM1 for smoother transition, quite stable also. I know some pro using EM1 for video, even to shoot commercial.

Shoot with EM1 + 40-150mm PRO + EC14, handheld  biggrin.gif  Issue is focusing, stabilization superb  rclxm9.gif

Just realized I'd shamelessly promoting my video  tongue.gif

16 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.1540sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:17 AM