16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

bobds78
post Sep 10 2017, 02:48 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(4d1n3 @ Sep 9 2017, 05:04 PM)
Anyone has Godox Thinklite TT350O? Is it worth upgrading from Kit flash for my OMD em10 mkii
I just received mine Godox TT350 yesterday.

THE GODOX TT350 is very powerful for its small size, and use only 2 batteries. No Olympus or Panasonic flashes has come close to it. I haven't tried it out yet but for the price, I really don't mind, a really bang-for-the-buck unit.

For about RM360, you can't find any better unit edy. Why not?

Sample pic TT350 O on the GX8+Oly 12/2.0; no pp, bounce off ceiling,

My new baby, Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop Pro Transparent black

This post has been edited by bobds78: Sep 10 2017, 06:04 PM
bobds78
post Sep 10 2017, 10:45 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(4d1n3 @ Sep 10 2017, 06:56 PM)
thanks guys.
@bobds78, mind sharing from where you got ur flash unit?
Hi! Here's the link: Godox TT350 O

There's an offer button too for you to try your luck, I got it for us$80 though, not too bad.

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 10 2017, 07:29 PM)
i normally +1 ev in flash when using ttl
Yeah I should have coz from the photo you can tell it's a little under-exposed.
bobds78
post Sep 13 2017, 09:19 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Sep 12 2017, 10:34 PM)
I've been really enjoying the mitakon 25mm F0.95.  Its sharp at F0.95 but I do notice purple fringing. 

Nothing to show yet here.  But this is one enjoyable lens and the focus peaking on Panasonic has been quite spot on!  No worries when doing focus pull shots for video!

Oh and yeah its a very bright lens so must get ND filters for it.
How much you got it for bro?
bobds78
post Sep 13 2017, 01:18 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Sep 13 2017, 12:14 PM)
2800 hkd. So roughly rm 1500. 

Now it sounds expensive.  But I prefer to go f0.95 lens route than go for metabones.  And it does help for low light video.  When shooting dim indoor video at f2.8 I can be at 6400 iso, but when widen it to f0.95 will be 1600 iso.

I ain't afraid of the dark no more with m43s.

Edit: Or was it from 12800 drop down to 1600.  I forgot,  but it sure made things so much cleaner.
I was looking at some sellers at taobao and it goes as low as RMB2400, quite good deal for what you get at F0.95. I think I will shoot strictly at f0.95 if I am getting this lens, f0.95 gigantic bokeh goodness all the way he he.. laugh.gif

bobds78
post Sep 18 2017, 09:39 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(undine @ Sep 18 2017, 02:52 PM)
hello gents.

some of the photos i took during my Rinjani hiking trip.

Overlooking
Never-ending Slope
The Beginning
From The Peak
Patterns
Fishing
1st Crater
From Desa Senaru

I totally underestimated the battery capacity of the new BLH-1.
I brought 4 with me, but 3 is more than enough (I didn't attempt any milky way/stars shot though, too cold and too many people walking around with their headlamps)
Wow! Nice shots!
bobds78
post Sep 26 2017, 11:33 AM

1,777 posts

A shot I took of Penang Seafront from Mansion One tower about 2 months back while on a short family holiday trip, can't remember the floor number now doh.gif The floor has an open air verandah.

Some PP done with DxO Optics Pro 9(FREE!), shot taken with the venerable Olympus 12mm f2.0.

bobds78
post Sep 27 2017, 07:16 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(meamth @ Sep 27 2017, 11:24 AM)
beautiful sunset.
Btw, mind if i ask how does the Laowa 7.5 performed so far?
Since my last post with Malaysia Day photos, I haven't had another chance using it. So far the lens is so easy to use as I had mentioned in my Malaysia Day post. One can see it has very very little distortion, so the claim of it being a rectilinear lens is very true. I haven't had the need to correct distortion so far.

If I have another chance of shooting it again this time around I wanna test it on night scenes. I haven't find any thing I don't like about the lens so far. No regrets yet laugh.gif
bobds78
post Oct 13 2017, 11:10 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 10 2017, 03:40 PM)
jangan la 12 f0.95, i baru beli the 1.4  cry.gif  cry.gif

straight do 7 or 8 or 9mm 0.95 lagi best  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Whoa! Why need a ultra-wide with a huge opening/ultra fast lens? I can think of night shots only, in which case you will still end up using 2-3 stops further to get the sharpest opening.

But a ultra-wide lens with an ultra-fast opening is damn cool man, if they can achieve it the lens must be damn large size rclxub.gif laugh.gif
bobds78
post Oct 15 2017, 04:03 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 13 2017, 11:18 PM)
Recently hipster new gadget: Yashica Y35 digiFilm
I wonder how is the photo quality, but its an interesting cam wub.gif
bobds78
post Oct 25 2017, 09:45 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(meamth @ Oct 25 2017, 12:40 PM)
It's 0.95 after all. Good for videos, bad for photos. crank it up to 1.4 or 1.8 it's good enough. Nokton for me is always for serious videographers. It's a lens with flaws, but the flaws are artful, great for videos. Some will like it, some others who seek maximum sharpness will be disappointed. if you're letting it go, let me know! biggrin.gif
+1 here, the large opening 0.95 so good for dreamy cinematic purposes definitely, if one is looking for sharpness they have to look elsewhere sweat.gif
bobds78
post Oct 27 2017, 09:55 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 26 2017, 09:22 AM)
Olympus announces the 45mm f1.2 and 17mm f1.2 lenses!

Olympus Pumps Its Primes: Adds 17mm, 45mm f/1.2 Pro Lenses

Olympus today upped its prime lens game. The company introduced two new super-fast fixed focal length Micro Four Thirds lenses: the Olympus Olympus M. Zuiko ED Digital 17mm f/1.2 Pro and the Olympus M. Zuiko ED Digital 45mm f/1.2 Pro. Both lenses offer the same superwide aperture, which is great for low-light shooting, something documentary and candid photographers will appreciate, and provides the narrow depth of field that many portrait photographers love.

Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 45mm f/1.2 Pro lens

Key features:

• 35mm equivalent focal length 90mm
• f/1.2-f/16 aperture range
• Closest focus to 1.5 ft.
• 9 circular aperture blades
• 62mm filter ring
• 0.1x image magnification

The f/1.2 aperture creates an extremely shallow depth of field, so if you focus on someone’s eyes while shooting a portrait, you will get a flattering focus fall-off from there. The rounded aperture blades will yield natural-looking out-of-focus highlights at all apertures. The 0.1x image magnification means this lens can also double as a true macro; when you factor in the sensor size, it effectively can record macro subjects at twice life-size.

The lens is constructed of 14 elements in 10 groups, including an ED lens, four HR lenses and an aspherical lens, which should eliminate or minimize any chromatic or optical distortion.

The Olympus M. Zuiko Digital 45mm f/1.2 Pro lens will be available from Adorama for $1,199.

Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 17mm f/1.2 Pro lens

Key features

• 35mm equivalent focal length: 34mm
• f/1.2-f/16 aperture range
• Closest focus 7 inches
• 62mm filter ring
• 0.15x image magnification

A good general-purpose wide-angle lens, the Olympus 17mm f/1.2 is a great choice for documentary photography, photo reportage, street photography and travel photography. Its large aperture makes it a desirable choice for low-light photography without flash; it pairs well with Olympus cameras such as the Olympus E-M1 Mark II or Olympus Pen F.

The lens contains 15 elements in 11 groups, including a Super ED lens, 3 ED lenses, 1 ED-DSA lens, 1 EDA lens, a Super HR lens and an Aspherical lens, which should greatly reduce or eliminate flaring and optical curve distortion that is common among wide-angle lenses.

The Olympus M. Zuiko ED Digital 17mm f/1.2 Pro Lens will be available from Adorama for $1,199

Sorry for another quote again sweat.gif So many many quotes already up there biggrin.gif

These 2 lenses are definitely some worst poison I have ever come across notworthy.gif In the 17mm f1.2 video Lars mentioned about "feathered bokeh" now this is a term we don't hear very often. Can anyone throw in some light here what it is? I am a bit "bokeh" about the term doh.gif

bobds78
post Oct 27 2017, 07:43 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Oct 27 2017, 06:07 PM)
look like "bokeh within bokeh", hence feathered bokeh?  laugh.gif
the F bokeh looks like more "blurry/bokehx2" than a normal (solid) bokeh  hmm.gif
QUOTE(huislaw @ Oct 27 2017, 06:13 PM)
So this is what Olympus claims:

""Feathered Bokeh

The search for the ultimate bokeh effect resulted in the creation of a beautifully defocused "feathered bokeh".

Creating a beautiful, softly blurring bokeh effect while maintaining the high resolution proper to the M.Zuiko PRO lenses: M.Zuiko PRO f/1.2 Prime Lenses

Welcome to a new world of bokeh, revolutionising the conventional concept of defocusing.""

I don't see any difference pun rclxub.gif

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 27 2017, 06:55 PM)
Still just looks like any other bokeh

The shit that they try to sell us nowadays...
I think bro your f0.95 can throw a better bokeh than any of the f1.2 PRO lenses thumbup.gif
bobds78
post Oct 28 2017, 09:55 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 27 2017, 09:40 PM)
But not as sharp cry.gif
Yup you get what you paid for blush.gif

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Oct 27 2017, 10:09 PM)
From photos I checked so far, I feel that this feather bokeh = super rich bokeh.
I guess when they chose to use the word 'Feathered Bokeh' is becoz its a new term other people haven't used before, and they want to differentiate that from the norm, examined closely, the bokeh area of those photos from the Oly f1.2 do look smooth. Apart from this, I don't seem to find anything extraordinary.
bobds78
post Oct 29 2017, 05:40 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Brico @ Oct 29 2017, 05:12 PM)
Thanks for the tip, but unable to proceed as currently having problem turning on HDR on camera. Researching Web /google for possible reasons.
user posted imaged546c81b-e96f-4968-82c7-0b12862ae772 by Eugene Tan, on Flickr
Check your MODE (the one with PASM etc) dial, some modes won't allow HDR and certain functions, so switch the MODE dial and experiment or check your manual on how to turn on HDR in your particular cam. Hope this helps thumbsup.gif
bobds78
post Oct 30 2017, 08:47 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Siwon18 @ Oct 29 2017, 07:34 PM)
Hi, I would like to  ask why my camera Olympus lcd screen suddenly went blank? Nothing shown on the screen. It was fine and I didn’t drop or hurt the camera. When I switched on morning yesterday still fine but late afternoon I want to take photo and realise nothing show on the screen. But the lens is working fine and able to capture photo just that that no image shown on the screen.

Would like to ask how much to repair? I tried updated the firmware but still not working
You might want to try removing the battery and memory card out for a moment and remount the battery, turn on and see it does anything. 2nd thing to try would be to press the Display button and see if there's anything. What body are you using?

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Oct 29 2017, 07:54 PM)
Delicious Olympus 45mm f1.2 PRO
the sharpness even at wide open, the rich bokeh, and how it render image  wub.gif

Dont have right mood to shoot with it. I do think this lens worth the high price tag.

The DOF is so thin even at that close range, reminded me of the MF Canon FD 50mm f1.4 I had before. I think the Oly 45mm (equivalent to 90mm in full frame) produces an even thinner DOF, hence the heavy bokeh.

bobds78
post Oct 31 2017, 11:41 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 30 2017, 02:31 PM)
Lumix DMC-G85 + Voigtlander Nokton 25mm 0.95 Type II | ISO 400 | 1/30 sec | f0.95

Lumix DMC-G85 + Voigtlander Nokton 25mm 0.95 Type II | ISO 400 | 1/25 sec | f0.95

Lumix DMC-G85 + Voigtlander Nokton 25mm 0.95 Type II | ISO 400 | 1/200 sec | f0.95
played around with some portrait shots and i kinda understand how to shoot wide open with this lens already.

Also shot some gravures over the weekend and from the few pics i've looked through i guess they're ok. not sharp, but the bokeh surrounding the subject was very dreamy + creamy

guess i won't be selling off this lens anytime soon  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Nice photos. the bokeh so so dreamy like I suspected, and to my eyes there are plenty of sharpness particularly in the 2nd/middle photo but I also noticed the lights bokeh are like oblong shape not round. Still awesome photos ooo wub.gif
bobds78
post Nov 19 2017, 09:30 PM

1,777 posts

DxO Optics are giving away free licence key to their Version 11 for limited time only until 30.11.2017. Glad to share it here, hope you guys like it.

Here's the link if you are interested: DxO Optics Pro 11 Free Licence
bobds78
post Nov 20 2017, 04:23 PM

1,777 posts

I was in China Guangdong province visiting 5 places and I was shooting my entire journey with the Laowa 7.5mm f2.0 only. And I really love the FOV. So nice using this lens in touring.
bobds78
post Nov 20 2017, 10:39 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Nov 20 2017, 04:48 PM)
Pics pics drool.gif drool.gif

Might wanna get one too next month
Photos are still inside the memory card yet to find some time to process them but I will post soonest I have some worthy photos.
bobds78
post Nov 20 2017, 10:43 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 20 2017, 05:25 PM)
how much again the laoya 7.5mm f2.0??

Want to sell Pana 14mm f2.5mm, Rokinon 7.5mm UWA F3.5 & Pana 25mm f1.7.  tongue.gif

just checked $699 at SG.

sell 14mm @ $200, sell Rokinon 7.5mm@$250. top up $250 = Profit?  laugh.gif
I got mine straight from the manufacturer Venuslens now selling for us$519 (for the lightweight version, the one with red band which is the one one I got too) roughly about S$700, so it's quite close but you will get yours faster from SG I suppose since nearer.

16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1985sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:34 AM