119 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

DarthDude
post Jan 2 2016, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jan 31 2011, 04:34 PM)
klchong:

Put it this way, tilapia production is the second largest freshwater fish production in the world. There are many buyers, and the trend, especially in the US is increasing, since tilapia is considered by many to be a sustainable fish species. Compared to pangasius (aka patin), acceptance of tilapia by the food production industry is generally good over there.

However, in Malaysia, there's still a lot of stigma associated with the fish. Many Malaysians consider tilapia a trash fish, and even a "poor man's fish". At one point, red tilapia was doing very well, being sold as "cherry snapper", until that advertisement came up informing people that cherry snapper is actually red tilapia. Pangasius on the other hand is extremely popular (sutchi, basa, "dory", etc.).

My suggestion is that you go get fries of the new hybrid variety, which is >95% male. Male tilapia grow a lot faster than females, and a lot more uniform. In addition, monosex culture tend to produce larger fish. Mixed sex cultures tend to result in over-crowding and competition for food, and therefore smaller fish. Remember, tilapia reach sexual maturity very fast, so having females in the pond is not such a great idea.

Alternatively, if you could, try sourcing pure Mozambique tilapia (Oreochromis mossambicus) and Wami tilapia (Oreochromis urolepis hornorum); cross breeding the female of the former with the male of latter will produce a >95% male population in the F1. The tedious part, however, is maintaining the pure lines of those two, in order to ensure that you have stock to recreate the F1 generations. Or you could also cross Mozambique tilapia with Blue tilapia (Oreochromis aureus). Note that having Mozambique tilapia genetics allows the hybrid to tolerate salt water conditions, and more bioaccumulation of minerals.

I guess it is alright in having the tilapia in your pond, but if you want to improve your existing stock, then I would suggest that you take our only selected broodstock; the simplest selection method is to single out the largest males by size, weight, and health, and choose mid-sized to large females of good health. Develop a breeding system, where a sample size of the offspring of each specific cross is monitored. That way you can keep improving your existing broodstock.

That saying, the next hurdle is actually marketing the fish. As I said before, local stigma of the fish inhibits marketing to quite some extent. However, a key world you should have with you at all times is this: Value-Add.

Fresh fish is without a doubt much preferred by Malaysians, but so are many fish-products. You may explore processing your larger tilapia fish for fillets, and the smaller ones for fish paste, fish ball, etc. By products, such as bones, scales, gut material etc. can be treated with softening agents (eg. papain) and processed into animal feed additives. The liquid by product from the entire process could also be further processed either as a liquid feed culture for hydroponics, or fertilizer.

On a side note, I'm personally not in favor of raising fish in earthen ponds, unless you have a separate cement/poly purging pond. One is due to groundwater leaching; there's always the danger of toxic aluminate leaching, which may not lead to fish kill, but could result in the fish flesh accumulating toxins. Second, is due to general hygiene; you wouldn't want nematodes etc. present in your fish flesh.
Hi all.... and Michael J,

I'm new here- looking for exactly these tilapia- male hornorum and female mossambicus pure breeds to try breeding the hybrids in m y home aquarium.

Nothing too ambitious, I just want to see if I can manage to get fry at all.... and if I do then maybe see if I can learn how to grade them by size etc and grow them out to table size, just for my own consumption.

Any ideas where I can go shopping?

Thanks!
Einjahr
post Jan 4 2016, 05:15 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 30 2015, 01:04 PM)
Its easy if you live in the rurals

Bsf larvae are native to our climate, I am in Sabah and I tried theme once, its easy in the first few stages, the hardest part is to make the adults mating and reproduce.

I luree mine myself.

There are many ways to create the lure bin from the net.

Easiest one is just buy a regular rubbish bin, poke few holes on the cover, hang some corrugated box as their egg laying nest, throw in some fruits that is going to rot soon or try to buu some xhicken feed and put some water to ferment them.

Don't put under direct sunlight or expose to rain, the adult will soon smelled the rotten food and will lay eggs on the corrugated box
actually, there's nothing hard about BSF adults mating and reproducing
I've successfully induced them to mating and reproducing in captivity, housed in an insect aviary under natural sunlight. Within 2-3 days after emerging from pupation, the adults will mate and lay eggs in corrugated cardboard prepared near their food source ( rotten food as an attractant). Sunlight is essential for lekking behavior by which males group together and call out to females to mate. good luck

Im currently experimenting with a commercial bin for cultivating soldier fly larve for livestock feed and processing waste. tongue.gif
maybe, BSF breeders should seriously consider chilling out.

This post has been edited by Einjahr: Jan 4 2016, 05:19 PM
iAmACN
post Jan 19 2016, 10:46 PM

60 posts

Hi Sifu Sifu, trying to venture into agriculture. The thread was started so long ago not sure how relevant the info is.

Few Concerns:
1) Keen but dont know where to start
2) Would appreciate any advice on kick starting
ajin999
post Jan 20 2016, 01:01 AM

338 posts

QUOTE(xeroxphan @ Feb 21 2015, 02:09 PM)
Yo guys, I'd like to join the farming enthusiast club. Planting chili on fertigation early Dec and we're ready to harvest early March. If u guys need any information on chili fertigation, feel free to ask. I'd like to help out if I can.

kongsi sikit update macam mana u punye cili. smile.gif
pinotnoir
post Jan 21 2016, 07:15 PM

141 posts

I have a very limit knowledge about farming industry. Only know the very basic (my dad was a farmer). After came across this thread, never thought that farming can involve high tech in equipment and technique.
nicotine
post Jan 29 2016, 01:54 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

Hi all,
i'm keen to start a small scale aquaculture poc, just wondering if i'm required a licence for it.

I'm planning to build a RAS system for jade perch with two 5000 liter tank. I would like to know the max stocking density which I could stock without causing significant stunt issue.

Not much info on google, most source say stocking density about max 40pcs per meter cube based on aquaphonics guys. Appriciate If anyone here could share some thought on this.

I'm planning to stock 500 per tank or 100 fish per meter cube.Turn over rate will be 3x or 15000L per hour per tank. Is it sufficient ?

thelws
post Jan 29 2016, 02:52 PM

291 posts

Bigger problem will be your ras system. In general 5 fish per m3 is a very acceptabl. Rate
Yveatel
post Jan 29 2016, 03:21 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Jan 29 2016, 01:54 PM)
Hi all,
i'm keen to start a small scale aquaculture poc, just wondering if i'm required a licence for it.

I'm planning to build a RAS system for jade perch with two 5000 liter tank. I would like to know the max stocking density which I could stock without causing significant stunt issue.

Not much info on google, most source say stocking density about max 40pcs per meter cube based on aquaphonics guys. Appriciate If anyone here could share some thought on this.

I'm planning to stock 500 per tank or 100 fish per meter cube.Turn over rate will be 3x or 15000L per hour per tank. Is it sufficient ?
Where you get the quotation of the RAS system? How big it will be for your 5000 litre water tank? For perch, as far as I read shows 40-50kg per cubic metre. With the perch can grows up to 800g (7 months), you can raise up to 300 fish at one time.

Reference
thelws
post Jan 29 2016, 04:42 PM

291 posts

yea... the ras system. actually i've been trying to find someone who is expert in ras. I still haven't found it yet.
nicotine
post Jan 29 2016, 05:08 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Jan 29 2016, 03:21 PM)
Where you get the quotation of the RAS system? How big it will be for your 5000 litre water tank? For perch, as far as I read shows 40-50kg per cubic metre. With the perch can grows up to 800g (7 months), you can raise up to 300 fish at one time.

Reference
I'll be building the system myself, Tank will be 10ft in diameter, 4.5ft in height. Yes based on what I had found average on... 40~50kg per cubic meter, roughly about 50-62 fish per 1k liter. But then mostly the info I had from google came from aquaponic folks which prioritize on plants.

nicotine
post Jan 29 2016, 05:10 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Jan 29 2016, 02:52 PM)
Bigger problem will be your ras system. In general 5 fish per m3 is a very acceptabl. Rate
Hmmm 50 fish in a 10000 liter tank? You sure about this?
thelws
post Jan 29 2016, 06:33 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Jan 29 2016, 05:10 PM)
Hmmm 50 fish in a 10000 liter tank?  You sure about this?
That's why I said your ras system is bigger problem. If you want to increase density you better make sure your system can handle the waste.

If your ras system is not industrial don't bother else you'll have a lot of dead fish or very slow growth.

Most people don't even know what is needed to "clean" the water. Just saying. I'm not implying that about you. But if you were an expert on ras systems you would know how much waste your system can handle and hence how much fish you could put
nicotine
post Jan 29 2016, 06:56 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Jan 29 2016, 06:33 PM)
That's why I said your ras system is bigger problem. If you want to increase density you better make sure your system can handle the waste.

If your ras system is not industrial don't bother else you'll have a lot of dead fish or very slow growth.

Most people don't even know what is needed to "clean" the water. Just saying. I'm not implying that about you. But if you were an expert on ras systems you would know how much waste your system can handle and hence how much fish you could put
I'm still designing the bio filter. The system will consist a expandable moving bed reactor where additional tank can be connected to cope with the bio load, clarifier , a tank for static media and last not least a expandable trickle/ co2 stripper to increase the total dissolve oxygen. The cost of media meterial alone would set me back around 4k. I'm still designing the filter with the capability to covert few kg of feed daily.

You seems to had experience in ras system mind to share more?
Iceman74
post Jan 29 2016, 07:00 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Jan 29 2016, 01:54 PM)
Hi all,

I have tried a roughly 2000 litre for 100 tilapia n 100 catfish fry just for fun. Made a mistake mixed them in the tank. Tilapia grow very fast n not many catfish survived. By the time my tilapia grow to 600grams, the waste produced is heavy even for 100 tilapia fish. So 500 fishes in 5000 litre tank growing, that is crazy unless u got high tech waste remover machine. Maybe u try split it up into 2 group once it get bigger. I love the feeding time. Below YouTube show can but nobody giving the trick to do it unless got $$

http://youtu.be/EGlIS-8QBgo

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jan 29 2016, 07:13 PM
thelws
post Jan 29 2016, 07:09 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Jan 29 2016, 06:56 PM)
I'm still designing the bio filter. The system will consist a expandable moving bed reactor where additional tank can be connected to cope with the bio load, clarifier , a tank for static media and last not least a expandable trickle/ co2 stripper to increase the total dissolve oxygen. The cost of media meterial alone would set me back around 4k. I'm still designing the filter with the capability to covert few kg of feed daily.

You seems to had experience in ras system mind to share more?
I am not an expert in ras. But I have been fish farming. I had to learn a bit about ras when I wanted to set up a transit pond last time.

Long story short I end up just changing water whenever my waste levels get too high.

In my pond I stock about 10000 tilapia. At the end of the harvest I can be feeding up to 140kg of food a day. And that is just for 1 pond. Find me a ras system to handle that kind of load.

On a smaller scale you would still have to be able to handle a bit more than just a few kg of food a day. You need to add a bit more because the fish breathe out waste as well and that will happen regardless if you feed them or not.
nicotine
post Jan 29 2016, 07:50 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Jan 29 2016, 07:09 PM)
I am not an expert in ras. But I have been fish farming. I had to learn a bit about ras when I wanted to set up a transit pond last time.

Long story short I end up just changing water whenever my waste levels get too high.

In my pond I stock about 10000 tilapia. At the end of the harvest I can be feeding up to 140kg of food a day. And that is just for 1 pond. Find me a ras system to handle that kind of load.

On a smaller scale you would still have to be able to handle a bit more than just a few kg of food a day. You need to add a bit more because the fish breathe out waste as well and that will happen regardless if you feed them or not.
Thank you,very informative indeed. I'll redesign my filter again to take up more bio load. Assume 1000 fish at 800g per fish feed rate at 1.5% of weight. Total load per day around 12kg upon reaching harvest size.. I'll need a filter capable in handling atleast 16.8kg with 40% overhead for additional ammonia load.

Btw, your pond earth pond or fgt? Mind to share the capacity of ur pond for stocking 10k fish? Aeration,filtering method and etc?

This post has been edited by nicotine: Jan 29 2016, 07:51 PM
nicotine
post Jan 29 2016, 07:54 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jan 29 2016, 07:00 PM)
I have tried a roughly 2000 litre for 100 tilapia n 100 catfish fry just for fun. Made a mistake mixed them in the tank. Tilapia grow very fast n not many catfish survived. By the time my tilapia grow to 600grams, the waste produced is heavy even for 100 tilapia fish.  So 500 fishes in 5000 litre tank growing, that is crazy unless u got high tech waste remover machine. Maybe u try split it up into 2 group once it get bigger. I love the feeding time. Below YouTube show can but nobody giving the trick to do it unless got $$

http://youtu.be/EGlIS-8QBgo
Thank you for sharing,Mind to share ur water turn over rate, filteration method for ur 2k liter tank? How the survival rate for tilapia?

This post has been edited by nicotine: Jan 29 2016, 08:00 PM
OptimusStar
post Jan 29 2016, 09:58 PM

803 posts

I didnt realized there was this thread in Lowyat, always have the interest to start some agro farming, but being in KL, land is the problem. If anyone can advise a good farming opportunity please let me know.
thelws
post Jan 30 2016, 07:15 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Jan 29 2016, 07:50 PM)
Thank you,very informative indeed. I'll redesign my filter again to take up more bio load. Assume 1000 fish at 800g per fish feed rate at 1.5% of weight. Total load per day around 12kg upon reaching harvest size.. I'll need a filter capable in handling atleast 16.8kg with 40% overhead for additional ammonia load.

Btw, your pond earth pond or fgt? Mind to share the capacity of ur pond for stocking 10k fish? Aeration,filtering method and etc?
The farm is earthen pond. But we have non stop water flowing in from a river source. So we never have to worry about waste. Because of the flowing water, our ammonia levels never ever reach critical levels. If they start to rise we simply open the pipe to let in more water for a few hours. In effect we're doing a big scale water change.

For aeration, we use a 2hp air blower with aerotube. It is good enough because we have constant water flow. In fact you can use this method as well instead of oxygen injection for your ras. It's definitely the cheaper solution. Pond is roughly 1 acre in size.

Edit: you seem to know quite a bit about RAS, I'm still interested to learn about the ras system. Maybe we can meet up one day and share knowledge? Where are you based at?

This post has been edited by thelws: Jan 30 2016, 07:16 AM
nicotine
post Jan 30 2016, 03:43 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Jan 30 2016, 07:15 AM)
The farm is earthen pond. But we have non stop water flowing in from a river source. So we never have to worry about waste. Because of the flowing water, our ammonia levels never ever reach critical levels. If they start to rise we simply open the pipe to let in more water for a few hours. In effect we're doing a big scale water change.

For aeration, we use a 2hp air blower with aerotube. It is good enough because we have constant water flow. In fact you can use this method as well instead of oxygen injection for your ras. It's definitely the cheaper solution. Pond is roughly 1 acre in size.

Edit: you seem to know quite a bit about RAS, I'm still interested to learn about the ras system. Maybe we can meet up one day and share knowledge? Where are you based at?
Ahh you have access to free water source. I don't have that kind of luxury as I'm converting my dad's workshop located in town area for aquaculture.

I'm not gonna use pure oxygen injection as it add up to the opex. I'll probably use a counter flow co2 stripper, if oxygen level is an issue later on, I'll just simply add throw in few o2 reactor power by air pump to further increase the dissolve oxygen.

Actually I'm still new on ras there's still a lot to learn, just started to research on this few month ago. smile.gif
BTW I'm had a full time job at KL, my aquaculture proof of concept project will be located at N9.

119 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:22 AM