119 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

ah_suknat
post Jan 22 2014, 11:13 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Jan 22 2014, 01:51 AM)
Mr Suknat,
What is the update? Now I'm also looking for financing to replant ginger.
Agrobank is one of the option in view...

Mr Farmer, still taking care of your Cavendish? I'm still looking for ways to make them ripe yellow..
I'm looking for grant not loan...already have loan from agrobank.

Agrobank is easy if you have collateral
MrFarmer
post Jan 22 2014, 06:34 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Jan 22 2014, 09:51 AM)

Mr Farmer, still taking care of your Cavendish? I'm still looking for ways to make them ripe yellow..
Had culled the Cavendish, no buyer cry.gif

Kg Teratai
post Jan 28 2014, 11:27 AM

85 posts

Wishing all happy Chinese New Year. smile.gif
MrFarmer
post Jan 28 2014, 03:48 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Jan 28 2014, 11:27 AM)
Wishing all happy Chinese New Year. smile.gif
Happy Chinese New Year!

funnyface
post Feb 7 2014, 02:43 PM

696 posts

Hello all agri-sifu~~

I am an engineer at age of 28, thinking of wanna do plantation and start my own business biggrin.gif

For those short-term crops, usually needs how long for newbie like me to able to break even the investment? Plan to do part time first for 1-2 years, and then full time on the plantation after that. laugh.gif

I have few relatives (brothers, retired parents) can help up abit for starting and jaga the plantation, target to start on a 1 acres agri land nod.gif

I should be able to survive with RM1-2k income from this agri plantation (i have other side income but slightly less than Rm1k). sweat.gif

My current job pay reasonable well, dont think is wise to quit my job and start plantation fresh with only side income though blush.gif

Usually needs how long only can generate income like RM1-2k? icon_question.gif
MrFarmer
post Feb 8 2014, 09:04 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 7 2014, 02:43 PM)
Hello all agri-sifu~~

I am an engineer at age of 28, thinking of wanna do plantation and start my own business  biggrin.gif

For those short-term crops, usually needs how long for newbie like me to able to break even the investment? Plan to do part time first for 1-2 years, and then full time on the plantation after that.  laugh.gif

I have few relatives (brothers, retired parents) can help up abit for starting and jaga the plantation, target to start on a 1 acres agri land  nod.gif

I should be able to survive with RM1-2k income from this agri plantation (i have other side income but slightly less than Rm1k).  sweat.gif

My current job pay reasonable well, dont think is wise to quit my job and start plantation fresh with only side income though  blush.gif

Usually needs how long only can generate income like RM1-2k?  icon_question.gif
Welcome Funnyface, great to hear that you have interest going into farming.

Would suggest you read up & learn up on farming first ( just like any business, knowledge & experience needed).

Jabatan Pertanian is a good start, where you can get information and they even hold courses.

It's always great to have more people to help, the more the merrier.

As with all business start-up, it really matters to keep your expenses low (unless you have a high start-up).

I would suggest that you look into high value crops as you are thinking of low acreage (1 only) and high income (1~2 K a month).

Do bear in mind that information provided, even from Pertanian is based on ideal condition, successful planting (harvesting) on the first crop (try).

Also check on your marketing plan / prices.

You shall need to have all the above in place, before you can do a projection on income.

Do keep us update on your venture. biggrin.gif
poks
post Feb 11 2014, 03:54 PM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

Hello funnyface,

I'll take things one step at the time.. target your crop, plant them, sell them and get the feel of the market..

when you think you can do it, plant larger... planting is not a problem but selling can be a big problem..

btw, can anyone help me..? how long can i pick up my banana fruit if they were exposed to mancozeb application.. Mr Para?

Mr Farmer, ginger price is good around here... replanting 2nd season happy.gif
mseong
post Feb 13 2014, 12:53 PM

Hi guys,
This is my first post and I just want to say hi & thanks to all the follow seniors/sifus whom made this thread a treasure trove of information relating to agriculture. Similar to other guys, I’m very keen to get into agriculture/(or even aquaculture) following the hype that it is the new frontier and given my disillusionment with Malaysia’s manufacturing industry which has been in decline for a long while now, no thanks in large part due to the govment’s ineptitude.

I have a background in accounting and safe to say have absolutely no technical/working experiences in this field and definitely don’t know where to start. What I do have is some land (around Klang Selangor area, free from emcumbrances, undulating slope – currently with very old palm oil). So a call out to anyone who’s interested to kickstart & venture into this together i.e. xeroxphan.

The above aside, taking into the advice of MrFarmer and Michael J, definitely makes sense to do some serious learning first. I’m checking out the DoA courses to enrol. Just interested, how did you guys begin what you were doing, mind sharing?

MrFarmer
post Feb 13 2014, 11:07 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Feb 11 2014, 03:54 PM)
Hello funnyface,

I'll take things one step at the time.. target your crop, plant them, sell them and get the feel of the market..

when you think you can do it, plant larger... planting is not a problem but selling can be a big problem..

btw, can anyone help me..? how long can i pick up my banana fruit if they were exposed to mancozeb application.. Mr Para?

Mr Farmer, ginger price is good around here... replanting 2nd season  happy.gif
I had not been doing well on Ginger. I brought in some Bentong Ginger (famous for post maternity consumption), it was great on trial, but when I do it on a lager scale, failed. I think it need a cooler environment. Anyway had to stop doing cash crops. Concentrating on longer term crops nowadays.

Great to hear that ginger price is good. drool.gif
MrFarmer
post Feb 13 2014, 11:19 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(mseong @ Feb 13 2014, 12:53 PM)
Hi guys,
This is my first post and I just want to say hi & thanks to all the follow seniors/sifus whom made this thread a treasure trove of information relating to agriculture. Similar to other guys, I’m very keen to get into agriculture/(or even aquaculture) following the hype that it is the new frontier and given my disillusionment with Malaysia’s manufacturing industry which has been in decline for a long while now, no thanks in large part due to the govment’s ineptitude.

I have a background in accounting and safe to say have absolutely no technical/working experiences in this field and definitely don’t know where to start. What I do have is some land (around Klang Selangor area, free from emcumbrances, undulating slope – currently with very old palm oil). So a call out to anyone who’s interested to kickstart & venture into this together i.e. xeroxphan.

The above aside, taking into the advice of MrFarmer and Michael J, definitely makes sense to do some serious learning first.  I’m checking out the DoA courses to enrol. Just interested, how did you guys begin what you were doing, mind sharing?
Well mseong, I did it the wrong way. I jump into Agri blur blur. After 4 years, still blur. rclxub.gif Had learned a lot along the way, lots of up & down and I see still a long way to go. You see I stayed in an apartment with zero planting skill.
Learning is part of the great challenge. Am still loving it. Was working until I lost track of time this afternoon. Only realized that it was 2 o,clock when my tummy compliant and my legs felt weak. Hey I've not taken lunch biggrin.gif
poks
post Feb 18 2014, 01:57 PM

1,567 posts

Update on my unknown banana... started fruiting rclxms.gif
Planted somewhere Feb'13 >>> Oct'13 (1st pic) >>> Feb'14 (2nd pic)

now propagating this fella biggrin.gif

user posted image[/URL][/IMG]

ah_suknat
post Feb 19 2014, 12:17 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

Anyone is going to try their luck in rural business Challenge this year...this year gov allocate rm20 million for the grant owhhh
poks
post Feb 19 2014, 11:00 AM

1,567 posts

ah suknat,

Any links or website of infos?

got it, googled biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by poks: Feb 19 2014, 11:29 AM
ah_suknat
post Feb 20 2014, 01:05 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Feb 19 2014, 03:00 AM)
ah suknat,

Any links or website of infos?

got it, googled  biggrin.gif
Very nice eh, i am going to try my luck, wish me all the best, anyone interested to join lets discuss together how to make a WOW business plan smile.gif
funnyface
post Feb 20 2014, 08:33 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Feb 20 2014, 01:05 AM)
Very nice eh, i am going to try my luck, wish me all the best, anyone interested to join lets discuss together how to make a WOW business plan smile.gif
Where is your location? biggrin.gif
poks
post Feb 20 2014, 08:43 AM

1,567 posts

Is it a reality program?

sorry ya.. i spent too much time away from tv happy.gif
ah_suknat
post Feb 20 2014, 09:55 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 20 2014, 12:33 AM)
Where is your location?  biggrin.gif
I'm in Sabah, lol
Doing salted egg, the first season winner who got rm2 million is also doing salted egg in perak.

The funds increase in 2013, more winners, and this year najib give even more, i think should have 20 winners, with grants from rm300k min to rm2 million max.

I just wish i won the last place got 300k also very happy dee sweat.gif

MrFarmer interested for a meet up to discuss? tongue.gif

Poksi stay tooo long from TV i can remember the last time I watched TV except in mamak lol

No its not reality, its real, not a show biz but a grant by gov to support youth doing rural base business like agriculture, homestay, services etc.
poks
post Feb 20 2014, 11:51 AM

1,567 posts

ah suknat,
meet up ... i'll like to join. get some ideas will be great..
can ahhh???
ah_suknat
post Feb 20 2014, 03:11 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Feb 20 2014, 03:51 AM)
ah suknat,
meet up ... i'll like to join. get some ideas will be great..
can ahhh???
Shoot....I just called them up...
They said only business that has been running for 3 years and above can enter the kategori perkembangan perniagaan which is entitled for rm300k n above grants...

For business less than 3 years can only join the kategori idea perniagaan which is only rm10k...

My business only 1 year plus..

Ciuuu.....
poks
post Feb 25 2014, 01:22 PM

1,567 posts

lol...

need more hard work in that case....

119 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled