Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

MrFarmer
post Aug 28 2013, 06:58 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Aug 28 2013, 04:34 PM)

Hi All,

Any idea where can I get the grafting wax?
Had not came across grafting wax, but the closest I got is Tree Dressing. It's being sold at about $47 here.
http://www.nufarm.com/MY/TreeDressing

hellremix
post Aug 28 2013, 07:46 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 27 2013, 02:59 PM)
Welcome hellremix,

You can start anytime, anywhere. Depends on your scale.
As a hobbyist you can even start from your house. For big scale, hey I read from The Star that Negeri Sembilan is providing incentive for big scale poultry farms.
http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...es-says-MB.aspx

You can pay Pertanian a visit.

Was talking with the chicken man at the market  last week, selling Kampung Chicken @ $35 per kilo.

You may also want to visit DQ Farm
http://dqfarm.blogspirit.com/
Hi man,

thanks for the input. I will sure take a look at the webpage given. I just want to stary with normal chicken, then maybe ayam kampung..hehe

TSParaOpticaL
post Aug 29 2013, 08:18 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Hi Bro,

yes i intend to budgraft them but not currently. maybe next or so because i am concentrating on my jackfruit, papaya & soursop now.

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Aug 28 2013, 04:34 PM)
Hi Para,

do you think to graft your old durian tree to musang king?

MrFarmer
post Aug 31 2013, 06:25 PM

478 posts

Agroworld Expo 2013 @ MITC Melaka 1st – 3rd Nov 2013

Agroworld expo 2013 is dedicated to agriculture, aquaculture and targeted to bring together 50,000 farmers, dealers from across the country to this event, agriculture, aquaculture.

https://www.facebook.com/agroworld?flyingspaghettimonster=stre...location=stream

Anyone been to this before? Any good?
MrFarmer
post Aug 31 2013, 06:51 PM

478 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...t-festival.aspx
Pineapple takes centre stage at festival
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 1 2013, 07:30 AM

2,348 posts

Hello fellow Agriculture & Aquaculture enthusiast ...

The September 2013 Edition is OUT>.....................

Read All About It.............

September 2013 (Quarterly) Newsletter
xeroxphan
post Sep 2 2013, 01:35 PM

104 posts

Hey guys,

I have question about jobs available in agriculture. I recently graduated with an Agronomy degree from USA. What are the prospects in the field? I tried KLK, Sime Darby, but there are no openings in their plantation department. Any idea which companies I could try applying to?
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 6 2013, 12:31 PM

2,348 posts

Anyone interested to attend ??? i am thinking of going there for a visit.

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 31 2013, 06:25 PM)
Agroworld Expo 2013 @ MITC Melaka 1st – 3rd Nov 2013

Agroworld expo 2013 is dedicated to agriculture, aquaculture and targeted to bring together 50,000 farmers, dealers from across the country to this event, agriculture, aquaculture.

https://www.facebook.com/agroworld?flyingsp...location=stream

Anyone been to this before? Any good?
Hi Bro,

welcome abroad.

What does your agronomy degree specialises in ?? it depends. my view on fruit tree farming are great. the potential is unlimited (i sound like MLM) but its the truth.

You can head towards some big fruit producing companies or some fertiliser companies to get your basic knowledge...

QUOTE(xeroxphan @ Sep 2 2013, 01:35 PM)
Hey guys,

I have question about jobs available in agriculture. I recently graduated with an Agronomy degree from USA. What are the prospects in the field? I tried KLK, Sime Darby, but there are no openings in their plantation department. Any idea which companies I could try applying to?
Icehart
post Sep 6 2013, 05:58 PM

14,901 posts

Paraoptical

What do you think about the prospect of prawn farming? Previously I have access to prawn farming research via academic studies but that was in overseas and not in Malaysia. However, given the mundane task of working in office culture, I want to give it a try. Do you happen to know anyone involving in prawn farming? Your great advice is appreciated. smile.gif
MrFarmer
post Sep 6 2013, 08:32 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 6 2013, 12:31 PM)
Anyone interested to attend ??? i am thinking of going there for a visit.

I am also interested, unfortunately am flying back to Sabah on the 29th. Unless I buy another flight ....still contemplating..... rolleyes.gif
MrFarmer
post Sep 6 2013, 09:05 PM

478 posts

Check this out: Avozilla, extra large avocado.
http://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/life/wei...n-sale-1.125530

Would like to get my hands on these nod.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 6 2013, 10:13 PM

2,348 posts

Hi Bro

the prospect is good for prawn farming as most of our prawns are exported to EU & USA. But please head over to Jab Perikanan for Business Advice and proposal. they are best to help you.

but also beware that currently USA might impose "Anti-Dumping Duty" due to some unscrupulous
companies getting cheap quality prawns and resell as Malaysian prawns.

this industry has good potential.

i would like to apologise because i am not able to give your more in depth advice because i am currently in Fruit Farming, and that's my forte

Hope this helps

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 6 2013, 05:58 PM)
Paraoptical

What do you think about the prospect of prawn farming? Previously I have access to prawn farming research via academic studies but that was in overseas and not in Malaysia. However, given the mundane task of working in office culture, I want to give it a try. Do you happen to know anyone involving in prawn farming? Your great advice is appreciated.  smile.gif
Icehart
post Sep 6 2013, 11:11 PM

14,901 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 6 2013, 10:13 PM)
Hi Bro

the prospect is good for prawn farming as most of our prawns are exported to EU & USA. But please head over to Jab Perikanan for Business Advice and proposal. they are best to help you.

but also beware that currently USA might impose "Anti-Dumping Duty" due to some unscrupulous 
companies getting cheap quality prawns and resell as Malaysian prawns.

this industry has good potential.

i would like to apologise because i am not able to give your more in depth advice because i am currently in Fruit Farming, and that's my forte

Hope this helps
Thank you for your advice. smile.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post Sep 15 2013, 06:36 PM

2,348 posts

welcome bro...

how is everyone's farm doing ???

its the raining season....
Darkmage12
post Sep 19 2013, 11:38 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

Anyone here has an aquaculture farm which is larger than 100 acres?
mono_stereo
post Sep 20 2013, 12:17 PM

QUOTE(AD19BK @ Aug 18 2013, 09:29 PM)
Dear all,

Would like to check if anyone here have experience on vegetable farm? Reason asking is that I started a small vege farm, one of the main problems is pest control, currently using chemical pesticides, but would like to know if anyone has tried or known of any effective biological control for typical vege farm pest?

I'm thinking of using frogs and lady bug...

Any comment is appreciated.

What you are referring to sounds like a permaculture practice, that is, using nature to work for itself. I am planning a similar venture where I grow my own food supply and sell the surplus to the local community. No middle man. Thus far, the idea of permaculture has been about cultivating abundance though the 'commercial' aspects have not been laid out in solid terms but it is possible. It would be a market of its own, not centralized like those mega supermarkets. Commercial systems have no regards for seasons. If they want tomatoes to be supplied, they would want it all year round. That is not sustainable nor is it natural.

It may not be appealing to those who'd like to earn mega big bucks from agriculture but it's rewarding and definitely leaves a positive impact on health and environment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZDnKwHQBp8

If you are interested in a permaculture course, there will be one held locally. I highly recommend as it will adjust your mindset about what should be prioritized. It's an intense 2 weeks course. I did mine last year and have no regrets. Hope this helps.

http://murujan.com/2013/08/15/permaculture...-malaysia-2014/
MrFarmer
post Sep 21 2013, 04:23 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 15 2013, 06:36 PM)
welcome bro...

how is everyone's farm doing ???

its the raining season....
Well, the forecast says it'll rain, but unfortunately it didn't reach our farm. Had not rained for a week, but before that was raining almost every night. So much so that it's affecting some of my papayas on the lower field. Production had dropped as flowers dropped a lot due to the heat and rain. Had also culled off the round varieties.

Weather is extremely hot, the field dries up and harden with 3 days no rain.

Working on the remaining area to be planted with papaya. Preparing seedlings, which should germinate when I go back to the farm end of the month.
On a side line, transplanting so Gaharu, grafting some Jackfruits, propagating lime, germinating some soursop, avocados & durians (Musang King drool.gif
Life as a farmer is hard, but is great!
MrFarmer
post Sep 21 2013, 04:41 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(mono_stereo @ Sep 20 2013, 12:17 PM)
What you are referring to sounds like a permaculture practice, that is, using nature to work for itself. I am planning a similar venture where I grow my own food supply and sell the surplus to the local community. No middle man. Thus far, the idea of permaculture has been about cultivating abundance though the 'commercial' aspects have not been laid out in solid terms but it is possible. It would be a market of its own, not centralized like those mega supermarkets. Commercial systems have no regards for seasons. If they want tomatoes to be supplied, they would want it all year round. That is not sustainable nor is it natural.

It may not be appealing to those who'd like to earn mega big bucks from agriculture but it's rewarding and definitely leaves a positive impact on health and environment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZDnKwHQBp8

If you are interested in a permaculture course, there will be one held locally. I highly recommend as it will adjust your mindset about what should be prioritized. It's an intense 2 weeks course. I did mine last year and have no regrets. Hope this helps.

http://murujan.com/2013/08/15/permaculture...-malaysia-2014/
Yes, I do agree that Permaculture is beneficial to the environment. It's like working in harmony with nature. Flowing with the tide of nature. I am sure the newer generation of of farmer is working towards this direction, in our own little ways.

You may want to check out DQ Farm. They are on a commercial scale.

As for me, I've just started on farming, first 3 years was a tourist farmer and only last year was on an crash intensive learning. Am still trying to get my basic right. Once I learned up, shall definitely look into agriculture in an organic and permaculture way.
MrFarmer
post Sep 21 2013, 04:50 PM

478 posts

Jackfruit

Hi Guys, would like to start a discussion on methods / ways of marketing Jackfruit, fresh / processed, flesh & seeds.

So far, I seen fresh, cut up and selling by weight. Packed and sold in fruit stall and supermarkets.

Processed as chips

Process as Jams, cakes, ice creams.

What other ways?
mono_stereo
post Sep 21 2013, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Sep 21 2013, 04:41 PM)
Yes, I do agree that Permaculture is beneficial to the environment. It's like working in harmony with nature. Flowing with the tide of nature. I am sure the newer generation of of farmer is working towards this direction, in our own little ways.

You may want to check out DQ Farm. They are on a commercial scale.

As for me, I've just started on farming, first 3 years was a tourist farmer and only last year was on an crash intensive learning. Am still trying to get my basic right. Once I learned up, shall definitely look into agriculture in an organic and permaculture way.
Thanks. Yes, I've contacted DQ farm before asking if they'd let me do 'attachment' so I can learn. Unfortunately, the farm is not open for public visit, much less an internship. However, they are sharing their practices on their FB page so that's a consolation. blush.gif

119 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:19 AM