Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

poks
post Aug 22 2013, 01:54 PM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 22 2013, 01:49 PM)
Any guys knows the indicative price for Plastic Mulch sheet / film ?
is that the plastic for covering planting beds?

last i bought in february, black 0.03 x 1.2M x 1roll = RM65
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 12:54 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Aug 22 2013, 01:54 PM)
is that the plastic for covering planting beds?

last i bought in february, black 0.03 x 1.2M x 1roll = RM65
Yes. Poks
Wah, cheap wor.
Last year I inquired at my area $260 per roll silver. If it's $65, then I can consider using it. How long is the roll? 100M?

Just spoke with another supplier, he is selling the thick type 4ft X 8 ft for palm oil @ $1.50. No details on the thickness, but he said very thick. Black one side, silver one side.

Thanks Poks.

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Aug 23 2013, 12:55 PM
poks
post Aug 23 2013, 02:40 PM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

It's a small roll, very thin, should be 100M..

thumbup.gif no problem
Cattitude
post Aug 23 2013, 03:08 PM

527 posts

ParaOpticaL as per topic I see it is regarding agriculture thread. mind to share what are you all discussing about other than newsletter? enlighten me briefly so that I can catch up what you all discussing about. blush.gif
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 05:43 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Aug 23 2013, 03:08 PM)
ParaOpticaL as per topic I see it is regarding agriculture thread. mind to share what are you all discussing about other than newsletter? enlighten me briefly so that I can catch up what you all discussing about. blush.gif
Welcome .
I guess there is nothing specific, everything about agriculture can be discuss here. We are willing to share whatever experience that we have. Also we are here to provide moral support, as times the long and winding road could be a bit lonely.
When I got started, and got into trouble, there was no one to talk with, until I found this forum.
Cheers.
Cattitude
post Aug 23 2013, 05:46 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 23 2013, 05:43 PM)
Welcome .
I guess there is nothing specific, everything about agriculture can be discuss here. We are willing to share whatever experience that we have. Also we are here to provide moral support, as times the long and winding road could be a bit lonely.
When I got started, and got into trouble, there was no one to talk with, until I found this forum.
Cheers.
I see, kalau macam ini, tolong enlighten me a bit on this matter also le? issue blush.gif
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 06:56 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Aug 23 2013, 05:46 PM)
I see, kalau macam ini, tolong enlighten me a bit on this matter also le? issue blush.gif
I read some of your concerns.
Since your passion is in agri, I'm sure there are ways to overcome your concerns
1) Security
2) Traveling
3) Interacting with Agri people and or people of other races / countries / culture.
4) That you are a female.

It could be challenging but end of the day it depends on you, yourself. Am reading some books on self improvement lately.
a) what / where (field) is your destination
b) what / where (field) are you passionate in
c) what / where (field) are you working for a living.
Should you be able to align the 3 of them, it shall make you very happy, fulfilling and wealthy.

1) Security
With many hi-tech gadgets, you should be able find some that is suitable for your uses.
Location finder, where you can be located by your smartphone. Letting your office know your traveling schedule also help. Traveling in pairs?
Anti-wolf pepper/ chilli spray rclxms.gif
Hand Gun?
Am sure you can find something that you are comfortable with.
Some think for you to think about, I read in the news paper that it's isn't any safer in the cities either. Murder, robbery, snatch thieves, kidnapping. Comparing the the news, I think there are most cases in the cities than in the estate doh.gif

2) Traveling
If you like traveling, then shouldn't be a problem. Enjoy the journey as well as the destination. You can plan your schedule to stay over night at mid size town / cities. Anyway, to small a village, they don't have a hotel anyway.
If driving is required (on/off road), improve your driving skill. You can join some driving clubs. Learn some simple car repairs, may come in handy. Makes friends with more people in the village, in times of emergency, you'll be surprised by how they go out of their ways just to help.
One time, my 4x4 truck was stuck in the rubber plantation, we went to the main road to request for help. 3 truck went in to try, couldn't get us out. Had to leave our truck there and hitch a ride back to town. Waited for another day, manage to find a friend's friend who is attached to 4x4 club. Spent half a day, with 10 chaps.Then only did we manage to recover our truck. Met the guy in town 2 weeks later in a coffee shop, bought him breakfast for he's table.

3) Interacting with Agri people and or people of other races / countries / culture.
There are good / bad people in every race. Don't mean that everyone of these people are good / bad.
There are also a lot of immigrant Malaysia that jump aeroplane to other countries to work (illegal immigrant workers).
In Sabah, I guess there are Indons, Philliphinos, but lesser Banglas. Understands their culture helps. Also you mentioned that you shall most probably dealing with the Manager.

4) Sorry not much to comment as I'm a male. I'm sure some common sense and normal precaution should take care of this. You'll a smart girl, am sure you can figure this out.

Just bear in mind that it's very challenging to move out of your comfort zone. The result is uncertain, but experience is very valuable and tremendous. Hope you find your path and enjoy your journey. Remember the answer is within the inner you. Good luck.

Disclaimer: above advise is based on my personal experience and beliefs. Am a male in my 50, with a very positive outlook.
TSParaOpticaL
post Aug 23 2013, 09:36 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Hi Cattitude,

thanks for reading about this thread.

well we actually discuss everything and anything under the sun. Agriculture & Aquaculture related are the focus of this thread.

Some are in this field (graduated in agriculture field), some like me (accounting background) and mrfarmer are from non agriculture background.

What we do basically is either share information or ask for other people's advice on how they overcome their problems.... biggrin.gif

About your issue, no offence but if you are targetting to oil palm or rubber estates i would discourage you (dont get angry) because it is really a different world out there especially you are a female because i know of estates or plantation are usually on the path less traveled. And security will be an issue and of course the travelling of far away places.

You represent a agriculture fertiliser company ?

Welcome to the thread again....

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Aug 23 2013, 03:08 PM)
brewoe_1988
post Aug 27 2013, 08:31 AM

175 posts

hi Agriculture & Aquaculture PROS, being following this thread sometimes and really interested on starting a small scale of Agriculture & Aquaculture...perhaps on my backyard....just wondering how you guys test out the product that you are are working on.. for example Agriculture...did you guys actually taste the vege or fruits before selling to market??how about those fishes?? did you guys cook and try it yourself 1st?? i kinda scare of testing fishes that i rare....for vege and fruits im ok...im interested on farming fish and duck eggs...maybe some short term vege or fruits... tongue.gif
MrFarmer
post Aug 27 2013, 10:46 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 27 2013, 08:31 AM)
hi Agriculture & Aquaculture PROS, being following this thread sometimes and really interested on starting a small scale of Agriculture & Aquaculture...perhaps on my backyard....just wondering how you guys test out the product that you are are working on.. for example Agriculture...did you guys actually taste the vege or fruits before selling to market??how about those fishes?? did you guys cook and try it yourself 1st?? i kinda scare of testing fishes that i rare....for vege and fruits im ok...im interested on farming fish and duck eggs...maybe some short term vege or fruits... tongue.gif
Hi Brewoe,
Welcome.
Yes, I do eat some of my produce, and sell off most of it. Of course I select the best and 'ripe on tree'. It taste so good and sweet.

Chicken and eats had not tested as we are building our colony. Our helper had 3 chickens and 3 trays of eats for the Raya.
Cheers
hellremix
post Aug 27 2013, 10:57 AM

201 posts

Hi all,

I am interested in breeding chicken.. do u guys know where i can start?. need to have a land that is far from people rite?. Any webpage that u guys can recomend for me to read in order to improve my understanding on the needs to enter this industry?.

Please do advise...

Thanks guys...
brewoe_1988
post Aug 27 2013, 11:03 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 27 2013, 10:46 AM)
Hi Brewoe,
Welcome.
Yes, I do eat some of my produce, and sell off most of it. Of course I select the best and 'ripe on tree'. It taste so good and sweet.

Chicken and eats had not tested as we are building our colony. Our helper had 3 chickens and 3 trays of eats for the Raya.
Cheers
yup agree with fruits and vege...how about those poultry or fishes...,did you consume you own to check whether it taste nice before market it?? need some advise on who do you sell them to?? sell to wet market or sell it yourself??

p/s:any sifu here rearing duck for their eggs?? normally how much cost it need...
WongCobain
post Aug 27 2013, 12:00 PM

404 posts

Hi TS, im new in this side of the world.. Wanna start with keli breeding.. can anyone intro me notworthy.gif
MrFarmer
post Aug 27 2013, 02:59 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(hellremix @ Aug 27 2013, 10:57 AM)
Hi all,

I am interested in breeding chicken.. do u guys know where i can start?.  need to have a land that is far from people rite?. Any webpage that u guys can recomend for me to read in order to improve my understanding on the needs to enter this industry?.

Please do advise...

Thanks guys...
Welcome hellremix,

You can start anytime, anywhere. Depends on your scale.
As a hobbyist you can even start from your house. For big scale, hey I read from The Star that Negeri Sembilan is providing incentive for big scale poultry farms.
http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...es-says-MB.aspx

You can pay Pertanian a visit.

Was talking with the chicken man at the market last week, selling Kampung Chicken @ $35 per kilo.

You may also want to visit DQ Farm
http://dqfarm.blogspirit.com/
MrFarmer
post Aug 27 2013, 03:05 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 27 2013, 11:03 AM)
yup agree with fruits and vege...how about those poultry or fishes...,did you consume you own to check whether it taste nice before market it?? need some advise on who do you sell them to?? sell to wet market or sell it yourself??
p/s:any sifu here rearing duck for their eggs?? normally how much cost it need...
I now send my produce to the wholesaler. I fell that it free me more time to expand on my farming.

For Ducks & Eggs, you may want to contact Ah Suknat https://forum.lowyat.net/user/ah_suknat
He is currently doing that.
brewoe_1988
post Aug 27 2013, 03:12 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 27 2013, 03:05 PM)
I now send my produce to the wholesaler. I fell that it free me more time to expand on my farming.

For Ducks & Eggs, you may want to contact Ah Suknat https://forum.lowyat.net/user/ah_suknat
He is currently doing that.
Alright bro...will leave pm to him...thanks!! biggrin.gif
WongCobain
post Aug 27 2013, 03:48 PM

404 posts

hmmmm
TSParaOpticaL
post Aug 27 2013, 08:22 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Hi Bro,

welcome to the thread.

my veges and fruits and chicken and fish are usually planted and reared for own consumption. so yeah because of organic fertiliser and no pesticide so the stuff taste great, and no antibiotics

personally i am a Jackfruit & Papaya & Durian fruit farmer

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 27 2013, 08:31 AM)
Kg Teratai
post Aug 28 2013, 04:34 PM

85 posts

Hi Para,

do you think to graft your old durian tree to musang king?

Hi All,

Any idea where can I get the grafting wax?

zkie86
post Aug 28 2013, 05:12 PM

Hi. How do i start a fish/prawn in a pvc tank? Current location at kuching. Plan to try it first probally in 2 or 4 tank. How much cost do i need?
PVC tank
pump system/ Heater system?
Fish/Prawn fry?
what do i feed it with?

119 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0412sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:33 AM