Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY
brewoe_1988
Aug 27 2013, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 27 2013, 10:46 AM) Hi Brewoe, Welcome. Yes, I do eat some of my produce, and sell off most of it. Of course I select the best and 'ripe on tree'. It taste so good and sweet. Chicken and eats had not tested as we are building our colony. Our helper had 3 chickens and 3 trays of eats for the Raya. Cheers yup agree with fruits and vege...how about those poultry or fishes...,did you consume you own to check whether it taste nice before market it?? need some advise on who do you sell them to?? sell to wet market or sell it yourself?? p/s:any sifu here rearing duck for their eggs?? normally how much cost it need...
WongCobain
Aug 27 2013, 12:00 PM
Hi TS, im new in this side of the world.. Wanna start with keli breeding.. can anyone intro me
MrFarmer
Aug 27 2013, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(hellremix @ Aug 27 2013, 10:57 AM) Hi all, I am interested in breeding chicken.. do u guys know where i can start?. need to have a land that is far from people rite?. Any webpage that u guys can recomend for me to read in order to improve my understanding on the needs to enter this industry?. Please do advise... Thanks guys... Welcome hellremix, You can start anytime, anywhere. Depends on your scale. As a hobbyist you can even start from your house. For big scale, hey I read from The Star that Negeri Sembilan is providing incentive for big scale poultry farms. http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...es-says-MB.aspxYou can pay Pertanian a visit. Was talking with the chicken man at the market last week, selling Kampung Chicken @ $35 per kilo. You may also want to visit DQ Farm http://dqfarm.blogspirit.com/
MrFarmer
Aug 27 2013, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 27 2013, 11:03 AM) yup agree with fruits and vege...how about those poultry or fishes...,did you consume you own to check whether it taste nice before market it?? need some advise on who do you sell them to?? sell to wet market or sell it yourself?? p/s:any sifu here rearing duck for their eggs?? normally how much cost it need... I now send my produce to the wholesaler. I fell that it free me more time to expand on my farming. For Ducks & Eggs, you may want to contact Ah Suknat https://forum.lowyat.net/user/ah_suknatHe is currently doing that.
brewoe_1988
Aug 27 2013, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 27 2013, 03:05 PM) I now send my produce to the wholesaler. I fell that it free me more time to expand on my farming. For Ducks & Eggs, you may want to contact Ah Suknat https://forum.lowyat.net/user/ah_suknatHe is currently doing that. Alright bro...will leave pm to him...thanks!!
WongCobain
Aug 27 2013, 03:48 PM
hmmmm
TSParaOpticaL
Aug 27 2013, 08:22 PM
Hi Bro, welcome to the thread. my veges and fruits and chicken and fish are usually planted and reared for own consumption. so yeah because of organic fertiliser and no pesticide so the stuff taste great, and no antibiotics personally i am a Jackfruit & Papaya & Durian fruit farmer QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 27 2013, 08:31 AM) hi Agriculture & Aquaculture PROS, being following this thread sometimes and really interested on starting a small scale of Agriculture & Aquaculture...perhaps on my backyard....just wondering how you guys test out the product that you are are working on.. for example Agriculture...did you guys actually taste the vege or fruits before selling to market??how about those fishes?? did you guys cook and try it yourself 1st?? i kinda scare of testing fishes that i rare....for vege and fruits im ok...im interested on farming fish and duck eggs...maybe some short term vege or fruits... 
Kg Teratai
Aug 28 2013, 04:34 PM

Hi Para,
do you think to graft your old durian tree to musang king?
Hi All,
Any idea where can I get the grafting wax?
zkie86
Aug 28 2013, 05:12 PM
Hi. How do i start a fish/prawn in a pvc tank? Current location at kuching. Plan to try it first probally in 2 or 4 tank. How much cost do i need? PVC tank pump system/ Heater system? Fish/Prawn fry? what do i feed it with?
MrFarmer
Aug 28 2013, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Aug 28 2013, 04:34 PM) Hi All, Any idea where can I get the grafting wax? Had not came across grafting wax, but the closest I got is Tree Dressing. It's being sold at about $47 here. http://www.nufarm.com/MY/TreeDressing
hellremix
Aug 28 2013, 07:46 PM

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 27 2013, 02:59 PM) Welcome hellremix, You can start anytime, anywhere. Depends on your scale. As a hobbyist you can even start from your house. For big scale, hey I read from The Star that Negeri Sembilan is providing incentive for big scale poultry farms. http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...es-says-MB.aspxYou can pay Pertanian a visit. Was talking with the chicken man at the market last week, selling Kampung Chicken @ $35 per kilo. You may also want to visit DQ Farm http://dqfarm.blogspirit.com/Hi man, thanks for the input. I will sure take a look at the webpage given. I just want to stary with normal chicken, then maybe ayam kampung..hehe
TSParaOpticaL
Aug 29 2013, 08:18 PM
Hi Bro, yes i intend to budgraft them but not currently. maybe next or so because i am concentrating on my jackfruit, papaya & soursop now. QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Aug 28 2013, 04:34 PM) Hi Para, do you think to graft your old durian tree to musang king?
MrFarmer
Aug 31 2013, 06:25 PM
Agroworld Expo 2013 @ MITC Melaka 1st – 3rd Nov 2013 Agroworld expo 2013 is dedicated to agriculture, aquaculture and targeted to bring together 50,000 farmers, dealers from across the country to this event, agriculture, aquaculture. https://www.facebook.com/agroworld?flyingspaghettimonster=stre...location=streamAnyone been to this before? Any good?
MrFarmer
Aug 31 2013, 06:51 PM
TSParaOpticaL
Sep 1 2013, 07:30 AM
Hello fellow Agriculture & Aquaculture enthusiast ... The September 2013 Edition is OUT>..................... Read All About It............. September 2013 (Quarterly) Newsletter
xeroxphan
Sep 2 2013, 01:35 PM

Hey guys,
I have question about jobs available in agriculture. I recently graduated with an Agronomy degree from USA. What are the prospects in the field? I tried KLK, Sime Darby, but there are no openings in their plantation department. Any idea which companies I could try applying to?
TSParaOpticaL
Sep 6 2013, 12:31 PM
Anyone interested to attend ??? i am thinking of going there for a visit. QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 31 2013, 06:25 PM) Agroworld Expo 2013 @ MITC Melaka 1st – 3rd Nov 2013 Agroworld expo 2013 is dedicated to agriculture, aquaculture and targeted to bring together 50,000 farmers, dealers from across the country to this event, agriculture, aquaculture. https://www.facebook.com/agroworld?flyingsp...location=streamAnyone been to this before? Any good? Hi Bro, welcome abroad. What does your agronomy degree specialises in ?? it depends. my view on fruit tree farming are great. the potential is unlimited (i sound like MLM) but its the truth. You can head towards some big fruit producing companies or some fertiliser companies to get your basic knowledge... QUOTE(xeroxphan @ Sep 2 2013, 01:35 PM) Hey guys, I have question about jobs available in agriculture. I recently graduated with an Agronomy degree from USA. What are the prospects in the field? I tried KLK, Sime Darby, but there are no openings in their plantation department. Any idea which companies I could try applying to?
Icehart
Sep 6 2013, 05:58 PM
ParaopticalWhat do you think about the prospect of prawn farming? Previously I have access to prawn farming research via academic studies but that was in overseas and not in Malaysia. However, given the mundane task of working in office culture, I want to give it a try. Do you happen to know anyone involving in prawn farming? Your great advice is appreciated.
MrFarmer
Sep 6 2013, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Sep 6 2013, 12:31 PM) Anyone interested to attend ??? i am thinking of going there for a visit. I am also interested, unfortunately am flying back to Sabah on the 29th. Unless I buy another flight ....still contemplating.....
MrFarmer
Sep 6 2013, 09:05 PM
Check this out: Avozilla, extra large avocado. http://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/life/wei...n-sale-1.125530Would like to get my hands on these