Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

poks
post Aug 7 2013, 01:20 PM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jul 15 2013, 08:42 PM)
Hi poks,
no problem. try it and let us know the result
So far i can see less infection on the lower leave from 1st time application (a month ago).
previous infected leaves can reach to 3 lower leaves. now only 1 to 1 half infected leave.

2nd application done last week. most of the remaining infected area are those areas which are inter-cropped with ginger and messy.
hygiene is a must to curb this fungi.

btw, few of my oil palm are suspected to be attacked by beetle. any cheap solution? biggrin.gif
will spraying malation good enough?.....

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 6 2013, 12:53 PM)
hi fellow food manufacturers....how do you guys get around with promoting your products to the big guys like giants? what is the process, what kind of documents is usually needed, who should I talk to etc?

if you not already know I produce salted eggs,,,
well, if for me; preparing a details profile and submit to the purchasing department will do good to make them aware of your product. as far as i know, those people will need you to be at least with sole proprietorship business from what i've been told. some members might want to clarify that biggrin.gif .

This post has been edited by poks: Aug 7 2013, 01:29 PM
SUSbabyrabies
post Aug 11 2013, 09:42 AM

281 posts

hi guys, dont mind asking does anyone have any contact of reliable tube well drillers?

MrFarmer
post Aug 15 2013, 07:26 PM

478 posts

Hi guys check this out, very interesting orchids.

http://www.hellawella.com/monkey-face-nake...eirdest-orchids

I think planting orchid should be quite fun.
AD19BK
post Aug 18 2013, 09:29 PM

13 posts

Dear all,

Would like to check if anyone here have experience on vegetable farm? Reason asking is that I started a small vege farm, one of the main problems is pest control, currently using chemical pesticides, but would like to know if anyone has tried or known of any effective biological control for typical vege farm pest?

I'm thinking of using frogs and lady bug...

Any comment is appreciated.

gsdfan
post Aug 19 2013, 12:49 PM

418 posts

Dear Agri Players,

Greetings.

I'm 25 years old and graduated with a degree in molecular biology then move on and work for 2 years in this field as a research assistant with skill such as Plant and Epithelial cells DNA extraction, PCR, Laboratory and Equipment maintanence, White blood Cell culture and ELISA. Computer literated on Word, Excel, and basic statistic software like Graphpad PRISM.

2 years into in the research industry, I'm not comfortable with the payscale and stipend provided. My salary is just RM1600 per month.

May I know are there opportunities that I could pursue in this field? I'm willing to start from the bottom. Probably at entry level.

Please advise me, as I'm still young and single and I'm can travel and stay far away for work. With regards to salary, I'm inexperience I'll most probably agree with anything better than my current pay.

Please advise me, I'm based in Kuala Lumpur, University Malaya. Thank you very much.
TSParaOpticaL
post Aug 21 2013, 08:07 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Hi Bro,

frankly speaking for agriculture industry ie vege planting or herb planting or fruit planting most of the farmers cant hire outside "professional" help due to cost and their are unable to justify this cost or they themselves are lost making

you should be looking into bio-tech companies or companies that has their own lab doing tissue cultures. that would be your best bet.

or you can seek Jabatan Pertanian's help and see if they have a trainee programme that you qualify to go to as i believe fruit farming you can make a comfortable living with proper technique and technology... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gsdfan @ Aug 19 2013, 12:49 PM)
Dear Agri Players,

Greetings.

I'm 25 years old and graduated with a degree in molecular biology then move on and work for 2 years in this field as a research assistant with skill such as Plant and Epithelial cells DNA extraction, PCR, Laboratory and Equipment maintanence, White blood Cell culture and ELISA. Computer literated on Word, Excel, and basic statistic software like Graphpad PRISM.

2 years into in the research industry, I'm not comfortable with the payscale and stipend provided. My salary is just RM1600 per month.

May I know are there opportunities that I could pursue in this field? I'm willing to start from the bottom. Probably at entry level.

Please advise me, as I'm still young and single and I'm can travel and stay far away for work. With regards to salary, I'm inexperience I'll most probably agree with anything better than my current pay.

Please advise me, I'm based in Kuala Lumpur, University Malaya. Thank you very much.
MrFarmer
post Aug 21 2013, 09:35 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Aug 21 2013, 08:07 PM)
Hi Bro,

frankly speaking for agriculture industry ie vege planting or herb planting or fruit planting most of the farmers cant hire outside "professional" help due to cost and their are unable to justify this cost or they themselves are lost making

you should be looking into bio-tech companies or companies that has their own lab doing tissue cultures. that would be your best bet.

or you can seek Jabatan Pertanian's help and see if they have a trainee programme that you qualify to go to as i believe fruit farming you can make a comfortable living with proper technique and technology... biggrin.gif
I agree with Para.
The other option is that you find a partner and venture out on your own, be your own boss. Maybe set up a lab and do your own nursery.

http://etp.pemandu.gov.my/upload/etp_handb...agriculture.pdf

Good luck.
poks
post Aug 22 2013, 11:06 AM

1,567 posts

Mr Para,
update: it seems like mancozeb is still the best fungicide. I've switched from hexaconazole after infected leaves count still high. after 1 week, it seems like things are under control.

Hopefully end of this week the infected leaves will drop after 2 application in 8 days interval.

Mr Michael J,
The suspected "gros michel" after transplanted (if not mistaken early of the year)
... looks like pisang awak grow pattern biggrin.gif

MrFarmer
post Aug 22 2013, 01:49 PM

478 posts

Any guys knows the indicative price for Plastic Mulch sheet / film ?
poks
post Aug 22 2013, 01:54 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 22 2013, 01:49 PM)
Any guys knows the indicative price for Plastic Mulch sheet / film ?
is that the plastic for covering planting beds?

last i bought in february, black 0.03 x 1.2M x 1roll = RM65
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 12:54 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Aug 22 2013, 01:54 PM)
is that the plastic for covering planting beds?

last i bought in february, black 0.03 x 1.2M x 1roll = RM65
Yes. Poks
Wah, cheap wor.
Last year I inquired at my area $260 per roll silver. If it's $65, then I can consider using it. How long is the roll? 100M?

Just spoke with another supplier, he is selling the thick type 4ft X 8 ft for palm oil @ $1.50. No details on the thickness, but he said very thick. Black one side, silver one side.

Thanks Poks.

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Aug 23 2013, 12:55 PM
poks
post Aug 23 2013, 02:40 PM

1,567 posts

It's a small roll, very thin, should be 100M..

thumbup.gif no problem
Cattitude
post Aug 23 2013, 03:08 PM

527 posts

ParaOpticaL as per topic I see it is regarding agriculture thread. mind to share what are you all discussing about other than newsletter? enlighten me briefly so that I can catch up what you all discussing about. blush.gif
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 05:43 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Aug 23 2013, 03:08 PM)
ParaOpticaL as per topic I see it is regarding agriculture thread. mind to share what are you all discussing about other than newsletter? enlighten me briefly so that I can catch up what you all discussing about. blush.gif
Welcome .
I guess there is nothing specific, everything about agriculture can be discuss here. We are willing to share whatever experience that we have. Also we are here to provide moral support, as times the long and winding road could be a bit lonely.
When I got started, and got into trouble, there was no one to talk with, until I found this forum.
Cheers.
Cattitude
post Aug 23 2013, 05:46 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Aug 23 2013, 05:43 PM)
Welcome .
I guess there is nothing specific, everything about agriculture can be discuss here. We are willing to share whatever experience that we have. Also we are here to provide moral support, as times the long and winding road could be a bit lonely.
When I got started, and got into trouble, there was no one to talk with, until I found this forum.
Cheers.
I see, kalau macam ini, tolong enlighten me a bit on this matter also le? issue blush.gif
MrFarmer
post Aug 23 2013, 06:56 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Aug 23 2013, 05:46 PM)
I see, kalau macam ini, tolong enlighten me a bit on this matter also le? issue blush.gif
I read some of your concerns.
Since your passion is in agri, I'm sure there are ways to overcome your concerns
1) Security
2) Traveling
3) Interacting with Agri people and or people of other races / countries / culture.
4) That you are a female.

It could be challenging but end of the day it depends on you, yourself. Am reading some books on self improvement lately.
a) what / where (field) is your destination
b) what / where (field) are you passionate in
c) what / where (field) are you working for a living.
Should you be able to align the 3 of them, it shall make you very happy, fulfilling and wealthy.

1) Security
With many hi-tech gadgets, you should be able find some that is suitable for your uses.
Location finder, where you can be located by your smartphone. Letting your office know your traveling schedule also help. Traveling in pairs?
Anti-wolf pepper/ chilli spray rclxms.gif
Hand Gun?
Am sure you can find something that you are comfortable with.
Some think for you to think about, I read in the news paper that it's isn't any safer in the cities either. Murder, robbery, snatch thieves, kidnapping. Comparing the the news, I think there are most cases in the cities than in the estate doh.gif

2) Traveling
If you like traveling, then shouldn't be a problem. Enjoy the journey as well as the destination. You can plan your schedule to stay over night at mid size town / cities. Anyway, to small a village, they don't have a hotel anyway.
If driving is required (on/off road), improve your driving skill. You can join some driving clubs. Learn some simple car repairs, may come in handy. Makes friends with more people in the village, in times of emergency, you'll be surprised by how they go out of their ways just to help.
One time, my 4x4 truck was stuck in the rubber plantation, we went to the main road to request for help. 3 truck went in to try, couldn't get us out. Had to leave our truck there and hitch a ride back to town. Waited for another day, manage to find a friend's friend who is attached to 4x4 club. Spent half a day, with 10 chaps.Then only did we manage to recover our truck. Met the guy in town 2 weeks later in a coffee shop, bought him breakfast for he's table.

3) Interacting with Agri people and or people of other races / countries / culture.
There are good / bad people in every race. Don't mean that everyone of these people are good / bad.
There are also a lot of immigrant Malaysia that jump aeroplane to other countries to work (illegal immigrant workers).
In Sabah, I guess there are Indons, Philliphinos, but lesser Banglas. Understands their culture helps. Also you mentioned that you shall most probably dealing with the Manager.

4) Sorry not much to comment as I'm a male. I'm sure some common sense and normal precaution should take care of this. You'll a smart girl, am sure you can figure this out.

Just bear in mind that it's very challenging to move out of your comfort zone. The result is uncertain, but experience is very valuable and tremendous. Hope you find your path and enjoy your journey. Remember the answer is within the inner you. Good luck.

Disclaimer: above advise is based on my personal experience and beliefs. Am a male in my 50, with a very positive outlook.
TSParaOpticaL
post Aug 23 2013, 09:36 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Hi Cattitude,

thanks for reading about this thread.

well we actually discuss everything and anything under the sun. Agriculture & Aquaculture related are the focus of this thread.

Some are in this field (graduated in agriculture field), some like me (accounting background) and mrfarmer are from non agriculture background.

What we do basically is either share information or ask for other people's advice on how they overcome their problems.... biggrin.gif

About your issue, no offence but if you are targetting to oil palm or rubber estates i would discourage you (dont get angry) because it is really a different world out there especially you are a female because i know of estates or plantation are usually on the path less traveled. And security will be an issue and of course the travelling of far away places.

You represent a agriculture fertiliser company ?

Welcome to the thread again....

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Aug 23 2013, 03:08 PM)
brewoe_1988
post Aug 27 2013, 08:31 AM

175 posts

hi Agriculture & Aquaculture PROS, being following this thread sometimes and really interested on starting a small scale of Agriculture & Aquaculture...perhaps on my backyard....just wondering how you guys test out the product that you are are working on.. for example Agriculture...did you guys actually taste the vege or fruits before selling to market??how about those fishes?? did you guys cook and try it yourself 1st?? i kinda scare of testing fishes that i rare....for vege and fruits im ok...im interested on farming fish and duck eggs...maybe some short term vege or fruits... tongue.gif
MrFarmer
post Aug 27 2013, 10:46 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 27 2013, 08:31 AM)
hi Agriculture & Aquaculture PROS, being following this thread sometimes and really interested on starting a small scale of Agriculture & Aquaculture...perhaps on my backyard....just wondering how you guys test out the product that you are are working on.. for example Agriculture...did you guys actually taste the vege or fruits before selling to market??how about those fishes?? did you guys cook and try it yourself 1st?? i kinda scare of testing fishes that i rare....for vege and fruits im ok...im interested on farming fish and duck eggs...maybe some short term vege or fruits... tongue.gif
Hi Brewoe,
Welcome.
Yes, I do eat some of my produce, and sell off most of it. Of course I select the best and 'ripe on tree'. It taste so good and sweet.

Chicken and eats had not tested as we are building our colony. Our helper had 3 chickens and 3 trays of eats for the Raya.
Cheers
hellremix
post Aug 27 2013, 10:57 AM

201 posts

Hi all,

I am interested in breeding chicken.. do u guys know where i can start?. need to have a land that is far from people rite?. Any webpage that u guys can recomend for me to read in order to improve my understanding on the needs to enter this industry?.

Please do advise...

Thanks guys...

119 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:16 PM